Mazda 6 2.2L SkyActiv-D diesel launched – RM203k

IMG_6758

At long last, Bermaz has launched the diesel-powered version of the Mazda 6 sedan. Only one variant is on offer here, and it arrives here as a fully-imported model from Japan (CBU). The Mazda 6 2.2L SkyActiv-D is priced at RM202,830 (OTR without insurance), which is RM8,183 more than its 2.5L petrol-powered sedan equivalent, and comes with a three-year warranty and three-year free service.

The main draw of the diesel-powered 6 is of course what lies under the hood – a 2.2 litre direct-injection, twin-turbo SkyActiv-D inline four-cylinder diesel engine, which drives the front wheels through a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission with manual shift mode. The same powertrain is also found on the diesel-powered CX-5, which also makes its launch debut today.

With a 14:1 compression ratio, the oil burner churns out 173 hp at 4,500 rpm and 420 Nm of torque at 2,000 rpm, which beats the torque generated by the 2.5 litre SkyActiv-G petrol engine also used on the 6 by 170 Nm, although there’s 12 hp less.

Mazda 6 2.2L SkyActiv-D official 4

Mazda’s i-Stop engine idling stop system is also part of the powertrain setup, to help save fuel where possible. Unfortunately, the i-ELOOP brake energy regeneration system, which is found on the 2.5L Mazda 6 models, isn’t to be found on the diesel-powered 6.

With the powertrain description out of the way, the rest of the car is pretty much identical to the Mazda 6 2.5L SkyActiv-G sedan (no wagon version offered). The diesel-powered 6 wears the same look as the recently-facelifted model, with a slatted grille and chrome surrounds, reshaped front bumper and 19-inch wheels finished in gunmetal grey. Four colour options are available here – Soul Red Metallic, Snowflake White Pearl, Meteor Grey and Sonic Silver Metallic.

Lighting equipment include adaptive LED headlamps, LED fog lights as well as new LED tail lamp graphics. The former comes with an automatic on/off function and auto levelling. Rain-sensing wipers and power sunroof are also part of the equipment list. So, how do you tell a diesel-powered 6 from a petrol-powered one? You’ll have to look just below the right tail lamp, where the ‘SkyActiv D Technology’ emblem can be found.

Mazda 6 2.2L SkyActiv-D official 6

The cabin of the diesel-powered 6 is pretty much identical in terms of equipment to the petrol option. Items like Mazda’s Active Driving Display, automatic dual-zone climate control, leather upholstery, power front seats (eight-way with memory function for the driver, six-way for passenger) are all present here.

Entertainment is handled by the MZD Connect infotainment system, linked to a seven-inch colour touchscreen display and an 11-speaker Bose surround sound system. Aside from a wide range of inputs (Bluetooth, CD, MP3, USB, AUX), GPS navigation is also available.

It’s the same thing when it comes to safety kit as well, with the diesel-powered 6 getting the full suite of i-ActivSense safety features – Lane-Departure Warning (LDWS), Lane Keep Assist System (LKA), Rear Cross-Traffic Alert (RCTA), Smart City Brake Support (SCBS) and Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM). Also on are six airbags (front driver and passenger, front sides and curtains) and a tyre pressure monitor.

We’ve driven the Mazda 6 2.2L SkyActiv-D diesel in Malaysia – you can read our review here.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Frankie Tan on Jul 20, 2016 at 10:02 am

However the new order of the day is small cc with 1 or twin scroll turbo ! Moreover our diesel composition is not getting any better over time in relation to modern sophisticated diesel engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Frankie Tan on Jul 20, 2016 at 10:06 am

However the new order of the day is small cc with 1 or twin scroll turbo ! Moreover our diesel composition is not getting any better over time in relation to modern sophisticated diesel engine
      Morever diesel-engined tatters sound & ekzos smell are some of the unchanged characteristics besides oilly pump gun

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
      • The performance is not that impressive, torque goes down not flat.

• Operation Manager on Jul 20, 2016 at 1:22 pm

How about Mazda3 facelift…? What spec we get…?

• Diesel Power vs Downsizing on Jul 20, 2016 at 11:28 am

These downsizing turbo frenzy (small cc + turbo like you said) which infected all across marque around the world is just a big LIE.

It had nothing gonna do with environmental preservation or energy conservation. It is just a brainwash doctrine orchestrated by a cohorts of marque spearheaded by VW in the 2000’s to appease to EU policy makers, green governments and environmentalist to create a false sense environmental concern.

The main motif of all these downsizing trend is just to SELL MORE CARS UNDER THE CURRENT TAX STRUCTURE, pure and simple. Don’t believe? Just line up any NA Japanese cars of the same segment, ie, the Altis, Civic NA, Mazda 3, Nissan Slyphy vs their European downsized counterpart, notably the Focus 1.5, 308, Jetta, Golf, C class etc… and do a fuel efficiency test.

The NA lineup will beat the downsized European counterpart in REAL WORLD fuel efficiency, with the same driver, same driving habit and same route. Go try it, you will be surprise to find out the truth.

On the contrary, diesel engine is a real fuel saver, and big torque too! But some people in Malaysia still tend to look at it in a negative light, maybe the stigma of the oil burner as being dirty and noisy is still being embedded in many Malaysian mind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
        • To your suprise,my 308 turbo can achieve 19 to 20km/L on highway which my civic 1.8na could never can,even near.

• Diesel Power vs Downsizing on Jul 20, 2016 at 1:40 pm

Why don’t you mention your city fuel consumption? You drive at highway 24/7?

• W204 C63 AMG on Jul 20, 2016 at 1:54 pm

Highway a turbo is always more efficient when it can cruise at a lower rpm. In city is a diff story altogether.

• W204 C63 AMG on Jul 20, 2016 at 1:58 pm

Plus it’s not fair to compare a 1.6 turbo with a 1.8 NA. A more appropriate comparison is with a 2.0 NA. The 2.0 NA will be more efficient in a city or mainly city drive compared to the 1.6 turbo. Your 1.6 turbo will most likely spooling up its turbo most of the time in city stop and go drive. Turbo spool up = more air for combustion = more fuel is burned.

• Loler on Jul 20, 2016 at 9:06 pm

Obviously pipu cheaters with cars they dun even own

• Thou your argument is valid, you have to factor in the increase performance a Turbo gives. Turbo has alot more Low end Torque in a same way as a diesel, but in lower numbers. The only thing I have with a Turbo is probably reliability and I am not talking about 1-3 years, but in the 10 years as most Malaysians tend to hold it for.

I am not a proponent as although it is a reduction to CO2 which means that Polar Bears and the Maldieves can breath easier, us in the city will suffer a spike in NOx, Nitrogen Monoxide which is much more harmful, diesel exhaust particles poses the highest cancer risk of any toxic air contaminant ever. Paris, a city largely chattering with Diesel, has once momentarily overtook Beijing as the most poluted city in the world, Cancer cases in UK and France have risen since the movement to Diesel in 1997.

Also, thou I am not able to prove this, but Diesel is also louder than petrol, noise polution increases with the number of Diesel cars. I was standing next to a Diesel BMW and was suprise on how loud it was.

I am supporting Toyota’s and Volvo’s move towards hybridization, Electric motor can easily be as torquey as a Diesel from standstill which can make up for the lack of Torque a petrol engine lacks. VW latest cock up and EU’s push now for stringent NOx emission already proves that the Diesel engine has reached its peak of evolution…. But than again this is Malaysia, who cares about health anyways, we already do not care of safety in the first place.

• BeemerFreak on Jul 20, 2016 at 5:48 pm

Bullshit, never drive turbo before want to talk cock

• Akmal B. on Jul 20, 2016 at 10:47 pm

Let’s talk real world here ok?

Corolla Altis 1.8G, 139hp, 173Nm = 7.2L/100km
          Jetta 1.4 TSI, 150hp, 202Nm = 7.1L/100km

Fuel consumption data obtained from fuelly.
          Engine performance data is mr. Google.

If you’d put more thought into it before typing maybe you can clearly see the vast gain in performance by turbocharger-downsizing.

Turbocharger definitely increases the fuel efficiency of a car. What fuel efficiency truly means is; how much energy the engine can convert from the fuel and convert it to usable power. Don’t mistaken fuel efficiency with fuel consumption. So, in real world, you use less fuel to get more power. That’s the underlying motive of turbocharging. The tax structure is a boon to both end users and the automakers.
          If you’re asking a 1.5L 150hp capable car to have the same fuel consumption as a 1.5L 110hp capable car, then my friend, you’ll have to look at the differences from another angle.

• nosushi on Jul 21, 2016 at 10:36 am

So jepunis cars drink fuel like lembu minum air!

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 20, 2016 at 10:34 am

Oh My Oh My, where is Najib’s promise? RM203k? Does the Government of Malaysia not understand Malaysians are suffering with high cost of living. A mazda 6 in the US is only US$22k for a high spec unit with 10 airbags. That is hardly RM80k.

Come to Malaysia, the spec is reduced but prices jump to RM203k.

Najib does not understand the sufferings of the people in Malaysia. he still insists that he buys RM1 for a whole chicken and that he himself plants kangkung to help with the cost of food in Sri Perdana. Where is your 30% car price reduction promise tuan?

Hello Bermaz, do you know, most people with their 6% corporate discount can get the C200 for RM220k OTR? and the C180 for RM200k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 12
      • Hazlinah on Jul 20, 2016 at 11:12 am

Don’t blame Najib. It’s all Proton fault. Proton creator started all these high car prices thing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
      • kzm (Member) on Jul 20, 2016 at 11:38 am

why u compare to US get thumb up when i compare with US got thumb down? i just compare thai Accord price with US price…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
        • Bro. He use cheat mode to ‘Like’ sendri. Dun take the votes personally.

• Again, no one forcing this down anyone’s throat. If you don’t want to spend RM200k on a car, spend less.

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on Jul 20, 2016 at 6:21 pm

Almost completely agree, USA market has their own manufacturing plants where most parts of the cars plus raw ingredients to manufacture the car is localized. This means those companies do not need to pay import duties for parts or raw materials. This greatly reduces their cost plus duties which then is reflected in their prices.

Say if Mazda is to manufacture 99% of the car locally, which means from engine to electronics is completely manufactured here is Malaysia. The full Japanese spec car with all the remaining taxes wouldn’t exceed RM140k. The question is why would Mazda and all it’s affiliated supplier do it? Setting up few dozen companies, distributions and plants with the required capabilities plus hiring at least 40,000 employees so we could get cheaper cars. Even Toyota’s + UMW isn’t doing that here because the returns for doing so isn’t justified. That’s what they are doing in Thailand though, that’s why cars in Thailand is far cheaper than ours. Makes you wonder why Auto City didn’t happened in Malaysia huh?

• Mazda is a cheap brand but luxury price.

• old horse on Jul 20, 2016 at 10:04 am

alright! at the C class and 3 series price range!

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 20, 2016 at 10:42 am

Don’t forget, most Malaysians can get 6% corporate discount on BMW or Mercedes. Tak masuk akal, buy a Mazda for the same price of a price of BMW or Mercedes.

Btw, if you are crazy about Diesel, MBM is selling their E300 Bluetec Hybrid for RM250k brand new to clear stock.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 20, 2016 at 10:08 am

but why would you buy this over a bmw 316i….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 11
    • CarGuy on Jul 20, 2016 at 10:17 am

316 is just boring

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 20, 2016 at 10:41 am

it is boring, but tat this price range…very hard to convince people to adopt this car instead of a bmw or c class or audi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Because a 316i (in Malaysia) is seen as a compromise. With the Skyactive-D, you’d be seen as a thrifty owner who understands value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
      • Yippie on Jul 22, 2016 at 11:07 am

Stupid, u r just like comparing LV with coach. The lousiest LV is better off than the highest coach. There is and always will be hierarchy in everything. Lay man will just see u in a Mazda and him in a BMW, automatically he is associated with success and u lesser. Pity, but majority human think in that way. Eventually, u feel empty and doubt of your choice.

• Paul Walker on Jul 20, 2016 at 10:30 am

Can someone decrease the car price please…..
    Lower income group desperately want to user imported card rather than buying Perodua & Proton….life is short and car price at Malaysia is ridiculously high…LGE & LKS from Penang can meiii decrease the car price??..we vote for you…

• Crossed 200k mark for a Jap car is a NoNo, somemore the 6 has been released for 3 years.

By topping up another 30k can you a brand new C class, so what’s the point to buy this 6?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • This was always a great looking car, and now with proper torque AND economy, it may yet zoom off the showroom floors. But perhaps their CX5-D will outdo this sedan, given the preference of families to go with SUVs.
    Well done, Mazda and Bermaz…

• cendol (Member) on Jul 20, 2016 at 11:21 am

Too expensive?

Buy Bezza, or is it Bezza also too expensive for you all?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • Nelson on Jul 20, 2016 at 11:26 am

It got two Turbo, but not a twin turbo. Size diffen between the turbo.

• W204 C63 AMG on Jul 20, 2016 at 2:00 pm

2 turbo with the same size = biturbo. 2 different size turbo = twin turbo.

• smoke on Jul 20, 2016 at 11:48 am

316i anytime!! Anytime!!!

• gaviny on Jul 20, 2016 at 12:08 pm

BMw 316 is most embarrassing BMW to own, literally says i just want the BMW badge but cant really afford it.

the competitor to this is the 320d.

• applegreen on Jul 20, 2016 at 12:52 pm

200k better get wrx. Better look, even lenglui love it

• embee on Jul 20, 2016 at 1:06 pm

Im shocked at he ommision of the i-Eloop system in the diesel variant….!

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 20, 2016 at 1:11 pm

Very nice to finally see a model with the same full spec list as its overseas siblings. The new 6 even puts luxury sedans to shame.

• The price is too cheap, 2.2 only RM202K, why not to RM299K with 20,000 km warranty or 2 years manufacturer warranty? or may launch Mazda HP scheme, you buy back with guarantee price, for sure this will boost up your sales for your intelligent marketing strategy.

• Bernard on Jul 20, 2016 at 2:03 pm

RM203?? I cant believe that car prices are this high!

• Kelvin Chin on Jul 20, 2016 at 2:49 pm

Simply nice and affordable !!

• Alex L. on Aug 21, 2016 at 9:21 pm

Bermaz. Bring in the 1.5 Diesel and 4WD. Enough of 2WD. I mean there are ppl who will appreciate the 4WD like me. The old RAV4 and Vitara 2 door sell so well because it is small + 4WD. Just like Kembara and Jimny. Now that class/category is totally gone. I’m a CX-5 user myself and I wanna have another CX-3, but no such option for now. Disappointing. CX-3 is my only hope in this era. Glad Mazda still make such cars, but disappointed with Bermaz not bringing in.