Honda Malaysia confirms another Takata airbag-related fatality – City owner was sent recall notice

Honda airbag

Honda Malaysia has issued a statement confirming another Takata airbag-related fatality, when a Takata single stage (SDI) driver’s airbag inflator in a 2009 Honda City ruptured during a crash in Johor on September 24, 2016, resulting in the tragic death of the driver. No official cause of death has been yet determined.

The vehicle involved in this crash was included in a Malaysian product recall announced on July 10, 2015, requiring replacement of the single-stage SDI driver’s front airbag inflator. A notification letter was sent out to the owner related to the recall, but the company’s records indicate that the recall repair was never completed.

The vehicle involved in this crash was also included in the Takata single stage (SPI) passenger’s front airbag inflator recall announced on June 23, 2016. Honda has confirmed that the passenger’s airbag inflator did not rupture while it deployed, and functioned in a proper manner during the crash.

The company says it is communicating with the authorities and representative of the driver’s family. Out of respect for the family, Honda will not provide any personal information. It added that the current selling line-up of Honda models do not have the same type of Takata airbag inflators as previous models affected by the recall/s.

honda-city-2009

Honda Malaysia continues to urge owners of Honda vehicles affected by the Takata front airbag inflator product recall to get their vehicles repaired at Honda authorised dealers as soon as possible. Vehicle owners can check their vehicles’ product recall status at www.productrecall.honda.com.my or www.honda.com.my or call Honda Malaysia’s toll free number at 1-800-88-2020 or visit any Honda authorised dealers.

The company added that it has enforced its notification activities on Takata front airbag inflator recalls via press releases, advertisements, inclusion in roadshows, personal calls and SMS, as well as direct mails, to keep customers informed and urge affected customers to do the replacements.

To date, it has issued more than 735,400 letters to affected customers, sent 35,800 emails to owners, phoned more than 54,000 customers and sent 730,000 SMS messages to owners. Additionally, it has also invested in a public advertising campaign, organised outreach campaigns and issued notices on its official website to ensure that all Honda customers are aware of the recall.

The company has also been increasing its activities for airbag inflator replacement enhancement, which include improving stock availability, and increasing service capacity via Service Central Hubs, Mobile Hubs and prioritising replacement activities at dealerships.

Honda-Airbag-Hub

In August, Honda Malaysia announced it had secured 100% of Takata driver front airbag inflators and as of September 27, the company has completed the replacement of more than 157,000 units of Takata driver front airbag inflator, which translates to a 60% completion ratio. For the City model, Honda Malaysia has completed about 33,600 units of Takata driver front airbag inflator, with a 66% completion ratio.

As of September 27, the Northern (Penang), Southern (Johor) and Central (Selangor) Service Centre Hubs (SCH) as well as Mobile Hubs (MH) have completed the replacement of more than 10,800 Takata front airbag inflators in affected Honda vehicles. In all, the total number of Takata front airbag inflator replacement jobs that have been completed stands at more than 211,000 units, or a 54% completion ratio.

Once again, please check if your Honda vehicle is affected at www.productrecall.honda.com.my and take immediate action if a recall has been issued.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

The comments highlight frustration over Honda Malaysia’s handling of Takata airbag recalls, with many owners experiencing delays and lack of stock for replacement parts, especially on the passenger side. There is blame directed at Honda for not effectively reaching or informing affected owners, especially second-hand car buyers, and criticism of the slow response from authorities and regulatory bodies. Some comments emphasize that Honda is more transparent than other brands, but many feel that owners are neglected or unaware, risking their safety. A few comments discuss the tragic fatality, questioning if the airbag malfunction was the cause, and call for stronger government intervention. Overall, sentiments are predominantly critical of Honda’s recall management, with concern for vehicle safety and accountability.

• Atoyot on Sep 28, 2016 at 7:26 pm

Relevant authorities should be actively involved in this matter. Surely they can reach out to more customers and improve awareness. Can even penalize ignorant customers. Don’t just wait for manufacturers to submit updates.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Pinky on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:12 pm

Everybody is involved in the Takata scandal, but I see only Honda cars that are causing the fatalities.
      This is weird ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
      • V ery W orried on Sep 28, 2016 at 10:18 pm

No more City… Persona… cheaper safer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
        • How much is posona 80k??
          go to hell lah 80k i rather get mose safe and trustable Japanese than that ugly shit call potong posona

• Yong Tau Fu on Sep 29, 2016 at 9:52 pm

Really bro? Didn’t you read the news?

• Ollie on Sep 30, 2016 at 3:20 pm

Pinky, Honda is the only one being transparent. The others know of deaths but not revealing. Esp TOYOTA

• No need relevent authorities involve in this matter. Honda have issued recall notes to their customer, even for own safety they ignore it. What is so special for these Honda customer when you need the authorites to act? You got notice you go and replace. If not, that’s your own problem.

• Most people don’t understand, …what if they are 2nd hand owner? They will never receive notifications from honda, cus the car was register under the first owner, most of us won’t Care to change the car ownership in the honda database … As long as the car card is ours …

• Yong Tau Fu on Sep 29, 2016 at 9:55 pm

That’s why you should service your car at honda sc, that way you information will be in the system.. Stop sending your car to the workshop out there just to have a cheaper service price..

• QUEPHILIC on Oct 10, 2016 at 4:18 pm

Second hand owner also get the notification by Honda. I heard they are collaborating with JPJ to get the latest owner of the car.

• hang on. Does that mean the 2009 City has been recalled twice? My aunt only got one recall notice for her City.

• Dedak in the house on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:03 pm

Is she waiting for red carpet then she will go? At first u can blame the car maker, but now the blame should be on car owners..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
      • A friend on Sep 29, 2016 at 4:35 pm

Dont be to quick to judge. Heard he went to Honda but keep saying no stock.

• You know the problem, no need for notice. Just go to their service center and do the checking and replacement.

• Akira982443 on Sep 28, 2016 at 7:51 pm

Honda Malaysia, please stock up the airbags 1st before asking ppl to replace the airbag at your SC. Hopeless company

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 17
    • PlainBS on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:04 pm

Already stocked up, the most important airbag to be replaced is at the driver’s side. Customer shouldn’t wait for the stock for passengers side.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
      • Derek on Sep 29, 2016 at 10:52 am

Not exactly true. If you go to their website none of the Service Centre has stock. The air bag stock is listed. I even got a letter few days back reminding me to replace airbag BUT they clearly mention no air bag stock.

• PlainBS on Sep 29, 2016 at 11:47 am

you need to go to their hubs instead of dealership. that’s the only place where they have abundance of stocks.

• Encik Kunta on Sep 28, 2016 at 7:53 pm

So quick for Honda to wash their hands. In other words, Honda is trying to blame the owner. What if the owner had bought 2nd hand? And the letter had gone to the wrong address ie previous owner?

Or what if the owner has died but the son is driving the car? Or the owner is bedridden and not able to read any letters but the family is driving the car?

Honda seems to be washing their hands. They will get away with it cause Honda is DRB GLC in Malaysia. Even if the family sues Honda Malaysia, the chicken judge will throw the case out of court for fear his promotion to the high Court of Court of Appeal will be jeopardized. He will never go against the gomen.

Honda Malaysia should pay a couple of millions to the owner as compensation. They should have called each and every owner as well as contacted JPJ to track down every single affected car and get in touch with the owners specifically.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 63
    • Kinte on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:02 pm

Can’t you even read the article above???
      Honda has done everything its can do reach their customers; advertisement, campaign, sms, call, letter, mobile hub, dealer etc, etc. But some customers are ignorance. And the local authority did not really helping. Please don’t blame Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 27
      • Tan chih kiang on Sep 28, 2016 at 11:34 pm

Yup..they do sent the letter. But stated currently no stock available. So if something happened while waiting for the replacement…who is at fault then? HM? The owner?

• Kinte on Sep 29, 2016 at 9:45 am

According to Honda, 100% stocks are available for driver side airbags.
          For passenger side one, some models need to wait.

• engdau on Sep 29, 2016 at 10:13 am

For front passenger side, no stock is available at all for those affected models. That means “None at all”. It was confirmed from their official Honda website as at 27/09/2016.

• Careful with your statement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • PlainBS on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:07 pm

Ya right, owners should have no awareness after reading so many news and stay put and wait their turn to be the next victim.

So that they could claim Millions from Honda. Brilliant idea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • tokmoh. on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:52 pm

I’d say the govt should’ve intervene.

Like with Note7 recall, the US govt has a body (Consumer Product Safety Commission) to assist Samsung to make sure every single Note7 owner is reached, aware of the recall and exchange the defective unit.

Here, miros, mai, jpj all goyang kaki. As regulatory body, they have the power to enforce, to get owners to stop and change their airbag. But they don’t care, people die also they act like not their problem.

• Guys, pls dun entertain this nutjob. His dupes have been permabanned few times, thats why he create more dupes to bypass PT checks. Just dun respond to him and dun care about disliking his comments. He spend his time constantly liking his own posts so that he can wank to them.
      Ignore him, and he’ll disappear just like Sammy.

• nabill (Member) on Sep 28, 2016 at 10:37 pm

if this guy gets a rm1 for every thumb down , he will get very rich….and please please , dont ever get married and bread children..please,our society is already full of ur lovely species…PLEASE DONT

• Sendiri mesti responsible on Sep 29, 2016 at 12:30 am

Org lain jugak salah. Sendiri mesti betul. Judge salah. GLC salah. Authorities salah. Sudah boleh check online lah whether your chassis number kena or not. Or you can check when you go and service your car at Honda. Now who else you can blame? A

• common sensor on Sep 29, 2016 at 7:38 am

talk is cheap; your “if”, “seems”, and “should” are baseless ..

• Comment orang otak udang

• What is the problem with these Honda owners? If not receave any notice just go and check la. Aiyo.. does’t matter you are 1nd or 2nd owner

• Ollie on Sep 30, 2016 at 3:22 pm

PLease rewrite your same comment and replace with TOYOTA. Those goons have more cars with faulty airbags than Honda, but quietly making dunno because people like you don’t know and are ignorant.

• wayang on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:22 pm

None of those keyboard warriors who advocate for more airbags are here to give their opinions on how to solve this issue.

Ive long argued that having more airbags doesnt mean a car is safer than one with lesser airbags.

And those who advocate for more airbags are indirectly contributing to the issues
    Those who works or worked in the automotive production knows why
    However those who knows are usually gagged by NDAs signed

Next scandal VSCs ;)

• TheDean on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:46 pm

Death-causing faulty and little noise. VW only cheated on mileage and big broohaha. One would think to avoid Honda like the plague now but nooo…..?

• Some one shud start a meme:

Jepunis “quality”

• Ah Kang on Sep 28, 2016 at 10:25 pm

Honda Malaysia done a great job. Unlike Toyota and Nissan, didn’t even received any notice from them. Had to go to their website and check, call them to reconfirm and made appointment. Both of my car, Vios and Navara affected by the Takata airbag.

• Littlebear on Sep 28, 2016 at 10:25 pm

Replaced my driver side airbag. However, passenger side still waiting for replacement since 2 months ago.

• engdau on Sep 29, 2016 at 12:02 pm

Imagine that I have been waiting for passenger side airbag replacement since June 2016. Honda Malaysia had yet to stockpile the relevant part. Saw their website today and discovered that “0 stock” for all service centres.

Do you dare to fetch and place the passenger at front seat? If we allow our passenger to sit behind by vacating front passenger seat, our teksi drivers might punch us by thinking that we (Honda driver) are the driver of Uber/ Crab. Both sitting arrangements, which one to practice?

• bystander on Sep 29, 2016 at 12:32 pm

That’s a poor justification. These are secondary concerns that you value over people’s lives? Getting punched might happen but at a much lower chance. Be realistic.

• Civic 06 user on Sep 28, 2016 at 11:48 pm

I received at least 2 mail notices, 3 phone calls and 2 smses asking me to go. I went to the PJ service hub 2 weeks ago and waited 1 hour to change both sides. No complain. Thumbs up for the effort.

• pineapple pen on Sep 29, 2016 at 12:34 am

Once bitten, twice shy..if u can say that to proton, say that to takata

• master takeo on Sep 29, 2016 at 12:42 am

What about Honda recond cars?

• Jon Lee on Sep 29, 2016 at 1:06 am

Honda owners won’t care about an airbag issue, as long as their RV doesn’t drop.

• Who's fault? on Sep 29, 2016 at 1:35 am

As a Honda driver, they have called me several times and also sent numerous texts. Unless they are living under a shell, all Honda owners SHOULD BE AWARE of the airbag malfunction plaguing their cars.

• pineapple pen on Sep 29, 2016 at 1:57 am

Once bitten twice shy..u can say that to proton, now say it to takata..

• tak ndak sushi on Sep 29, 2016 at 4:58 am

The reliability of sushi cars.

• what i understand for this case the airbag functioned normally and the inflator did not ruptured. So the death could not be blamed on the airbag ?

• Ahmad on Sep 29, 2016 at 10:33 am

read it carefully, the driver side rupture, however the passenger.

• Still waiting for passenger side air bag replacement. Call up Honda Malaysia only to get the assurance it will be within this year!!!

• I am the friend on Sep 29, 2016 at 2:29 pm

I am a friend to the victims family. They told me replacement airbag was out of stock. I wonder which story is correct. Honda?

• Decent on Sep 29, 2016 at 2:40 pm

“….a Takata single stage (SDI) driver’s airbag inflator in a 2009 Honda City ruptured during a crash in Johor on September 24, 2016, resulting in the tragic death of the driver.”

However the news then says:

“No official cause of death has been yet determined.”

And then this:

“Honda has confirmed that the passenger’s airbag inflator did not rupture while it deployed, and functioned in a proper manner during the crash.”

Such incongruous writing!!

• LittleMin on Sep 29, 2016 at 4:42 pm

It simply means the DRIVER side airbag inflator is ruptured while the PASSENGER side inflator is not ruptured. And the cause of death can’t be determined yet is it due to the airbag inflator ruptured.

So hard to understand meh?

• Zainol Amin on Sep 29, 2016 at 6:00 pm

Hi, I’m the cousin of the victim.
    “No official cause of death has been yet determined.”
    How can the news says this? It is clearly stated in the ‘Sijil Kematian” that the cause of the death is NECK INJURY. The car is still in good condition. Even the windows (at the driver side) is not shattered. Yes, Honda is washing their hands off but we’re still fighting for it.

For those who said that it’s the victim’s fault at the first place, I just want to remind you guys. “What would you do/say if THIS happened to your family?”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • haneef man on Sep 30, 2016 at 8:37 am

Bro, sorry about what happened to your family, but please don’t put the blame on someone else shoulder. cant you read the note “A notification letter was sent out to the owner related to the recall, but the company’s records indicate that the recall repair was never completed.” so still want to put blame on HM? come on its typically a M’sian mentality, as long as it doesn’t involves u “nvm laaa..”

• HondaWaitTakata on Nov 22, 2017 at 2:44 am

Bro, the victim wait for airbags replacement . No stock at that time. Thats why they sue honda japanese and takata japanese.