SPIED: Peugeot 3008 1.6L THP on a trailer in Malaysia

The second-generation Peugeot 3008 has been sighted in Malaysia, but don’t expect to see the SUV in showrooms anytime soon yet. The two examples spotted on a trailer bear French registration plates, and are likely to be left-hand drive units sent here for training and evaluation purposes.

The newly-crowned European Car of the Year is expected to make its Malaysian debut sometime in the second quarter of the year, and we will be getting variants equipped with the 1.6L THP 165 S&S and a six-speed automatic transmission.

Trim levels haven’t been announced for our market, but it’s likely Nasim will be selling the car in its Allure trim level, which is that worn by the spied units. The latter sits midway in the five trim levels available for the car, with the GT Line and GT placed above it.

Pricing – even indicative – still hasn’t been intimated, but as reported last year, it is expected to progress on from the RM159k asked for the first-gen facelift. Buyers can expect a swanky interior, dressed up with new premium materials and trim, and fronted by a visually stunning i-Cockpit dashboard.

Key items include a high-resolution, configurable 12.3-inch display screen that makes up the instrument cluster, a centrally-mounted eight-inch touchscreen and six elegant piano-key toggle switches that offer direct and access to the main control functions (radio, climate control, navigation, vehicle parameters, telephone and mobile applications).

No word on specifications for the MY model, but there’s a panoramic sunroof and a hands-free tailgate available for the 3008, and the options list also includes a 10-speaker Focal Premium hi-fi audio system and a Driver Sport Pack. Whether the latter duo makes its way here remains to be seen.

Earlier in the month, the 3008 was crowned the 2017 European COTY, garnering 316 points from the judging panel to finish ahead of the Alfa Romeo Giulia (second place, 296 points) and the W213 Mercedes-Benz E-Class (third, 196 points).

GALLERY: Peugeot 3008

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• suomynona on Mar 20, 2017 at 1:23 pm

Finally :D

• Madeyy on Mar 20, 2017 at 1:36 pm

Rebadged P1 Suv.

• nobody on Mar 20, 2017 at 2:19 pm

Sexy beast

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 20, 2017 at 2:31 pm

red one reminds me of cx3

• passion on Mar 20, 2017 at 2:50 pm

buy this and use till the end of its life. just standby another car at all times.

• Peugeot owner on Mar 20, 2017 at 4:17 pm

Be prepared, be very prepared.

I love the car.

But it is so problematic, from the a/c to absorbers to gears.

Be prepared.

• Mikey on Mar 20, 2017 at 5:44 pm

I’m wondering IF this(3008) newly-crowned European Car of the Year will sell well in M’sia ? With all the tech & gizmos, this SUV sure looks handsome.

It looks way better in the interior, solid, spacious, dressed up with new premium materials/trim, fronted by a visually stunning i-Cockpit dashboard. If I say this Pug looks better than the new CRV, how many will agree ??

Pls don’t ask me anything on the RV & servicing as I don’t own one & I certainly am NOT a salesman 4 Peugeot.

• suomynona on Mar 20, 2017 at 9:35 pm

I would say Price plays a main factor. They gotta nail it right for the car to sell well. RM159k is the current model’s price tag, if they’re gonna increase it, I’d say don’t go beyond RM170k (hopefully that’s not too ambitious). Maybe have at least 2 variants or more available, don’t think that would hurt, some wouldn’t mind lower specs (maybe). The negative would be that the previous gen 3008 damaged its reputation for being problematic (or so they say), so maybe we won’t see many of these otr as they once was with the previous gen :/

Many lovely bells and whistles, I can’t wait to see it in person!

P.S: I agree, this 3008 looks better than the new CRV!

• Kunta Kinte on Mar 20, 2017 at 7:43 pm

Nice design. The front looks really handsome and somehow gives an impression of solidness.

• SuperDuper on Mar 20, 2017 at 8:43 pm

Split personality? Bash one time, praise another time?

• john is otak batu on Mar 21, 2017 at 9:44 am

Y u have so much heart pain/passion on his attitude! Let it be! BTW get a life of your own ler!

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 20, 2017 at 11:18 pm

Naza really needs to improve their after sales unit. It’s partly driving the second hand value down.

• As long as its French, it will not be welcome here.

Go away French brands. We dont like your Peugeots, Citroens and Renaults here. Shooh, shooh, pergi berambus.

• Honest Raj on Mar 21, 2017 at 8:32 am

Should stay on the trailer

• SadekSegaraga on Mar 22, 2017 at 9:04 am

Cool Navigation, but will it get removed when arrived in Msia? since most of new car have navi removed

• Good handling, good safety, good audio, comfortable ride, but nightmare aftersales services, low reliability, AC systems including cooling coil, compressor, condenser all will give you headache, Panoramic roof is not suitable for our hot climate weather, services provided my several SCs was very bad, Very low RV despite very well maintained 3008 but offset by joyable ride. Bought Jun 2011, sold April 2017 for RM27k (best RV I can get)