Tesla Model 3 shown, won’t get an instrument cluster

Tesla CEO Elon Musk has given us our first look at the upcoming Model 3, whereby an early release candidate is seen driving off in a brief video uploaded to his official Twitter page.

At first glance, the car appears nearly identical to what was shown in the past but upon closer inspection, the prototype’s front end certainly appears sharper and less stubby compared to the pre-alpha prototype unveiled in April 2016. Also visible are cameras that are part of the car’s Autopilot sensor suite.

Aside from the video, Musk also tweeted that a performance version of the Model 3 with dual motors and all-wheel drive will also be offered in the future, along with a right-hand drive version.

Tesla Model 3 shown, won’t get an instrument cluster

As for the interior, the Tesla CEO has confirmed that the Model 3 will not come with a conventional instrument cluster nor a head-up display. Instead, a large centre display will not only show drivers their current speed, but also provide access to the car’s other functions. According to Musk, “you won’t care” if the car doesn’t have such familiar items in the cabin.

This interesting user interface is designed with self-driving in mind, with Musk replying to a tweet addressed to him: “The more autonomous a car is, the less dash info you need. How often do you look at the instrument panel when being driven in a taxi?”

However, with limited production of the Model 3 set to take place later in July, it remains to be seen if the required software for the levels of autonomy touted by Musk will be ready in time (pending government regulations). The company is gradually introducing software updates to the cars fitted with Autopilot 2.0 hardware, the latest being Autopilot 8.1.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kelab tak malu kunta on Mar 30, 2017 at 10:48 am

A real revolution in car industry

• arowana on Mar 30, 2017 at 11:08 am

bold move.. but this car is freaky without much info & controls from the driver..

• Mikey on Mar 30, 2017 at 11:30 am

WOW, Mr Elon Musk actually take his time to answer questions asked from his busy schedule & point blank too. This is a HALLMARK of a Leader.

• Normally these personalities dun ownself interact on social media. They have PR pipu to do it but with their blessings.

• Mikey on Mar 30, 2017 at 11:57 am

Will U let your PA or PR people use your personal FB, Twitter or Instagram ??!

• U dunno how these pipu operates. Deswai u still not at their level.

Oh except for Trump. He does his own social media.

• Mikey on Mar 31, 2017 at 8:00 am

I ‘may’ not be at their level. Are U ?

• U won’t get that with Proton CEO

• Musang King on Mar 30, 2017 at 4:11 pm

U won’t get that with PM either.
        Jangan persoal

• He dun need the distraction. He got his hands full to make decision for FMS.

• passion on Mar 30, 2017 at 3:11 pm

P1 CEO? busy fire fighting. all pulling out. its OVER!!!