SPIED: Tesla Model 3 spotted testing, interior shown

After a protracted drip-feed of information, including news of ongoing styling revisions on the Tesla Model 3, we finally have images of the junior executive electric vehicle out in public, as well as some of its interior. Starting from US$35,000 (RM155,300), the Model 3 will come in single-motor RWD and dual-motor AWD versions, as with its bigger brother, the Model S.

As indicated earlier, The Model 3 will not receive an instrument cluster in the traditional sense, instead displaying all vehicular information – and more – on a large, centrally mounted display, akin to the unit in the Model S turned landscape. Tesla CEO replied to a tweet on this matter: “The more autonomous a car is, the less dash info you need. How often do you look at the instrument panel when being driven in a taxi?”

Also seen here in the pictures is the presence of a BMW F30 3 Series, possibly driving together with the Model 3 for benchmarking purposes. This isn’t the first Model 3-3 Series encounter, though – BMW released a video seemingly taking a shot at Tesla for the long wait its customers have to endure for the Model 3’s release, with the 330e playing its role as the electrified experience already on sale.

The Model 3 is tipped to have a range of 344 km in base form, with pricier versions with higher specifications said to be capable of more than 800 km. With greater battery capacity comes greater performance, too, and like the Model S, the Model 3 has been confirmed by Musk to feature Ludicrous Mode. Pricing for this option has yet to be released, however the same on the Model S and Model X is a US10,000 (RM44,390) option.

GALLERY: Tesla Model 3

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Mikey on Apr 07, 2017 at 11:35 am

Tesla CEO replied to a tweet on this matter: “The more autonomous a car is, the less dash info you need. How often do you look at the instrument panel when being driven in a taxi?”

But john said this tweet is NOT replied by Elon Musk. He said the reply was done by his assistant with his blessing. Who do we believe ??!!

• Mikey on Apr 07, 2017 at 11:42 am

With a starting price from US$35,000 (RM155,300), the Model 3 is way out of our(M’sia) league. Will there be a Model 1 & 2 in future ?
    Hope Tesla make it BIG so that they will make a smaller & cheaper version for us otherwise this is another car 4 us 2 see but not 2 own.

• Elon Musk is overestimating autonomous rising…It is too early for people to accept their life taxied by their own car or even what to completely depends on it, he should include back the conventional driving sense.

• U just simply made a judgement without proving it. What u get the statistic from?

• No need any statistic just go to any car forum or car spies website, most commented what I’ve said.

• Earthling on May 05, 2017 at 8:06 am

I say let the stupid people be subject to natural selection. Human driver has way much higher accident rate than autonomous vehicles. If they really love their lives they should not drive.