Fast & Furious 8 breaks global box office record with $532.5 million opening weekend, bests Star Wars

It’s another successful outing for Dominic Toretto and family, as the eighth instalment in the Fast and Furious franchise, The Fate of the Furious, raced to a global box office record for an opening weekend, collecting an estimated USD532.5 million (about RM 2.35 billion) worldwide.

The figure bested last year’s blockbuster, Star Wars: The Force Awakens, which collected USD529 million (about RM2.33 billion). Not only that, the film saw its largest intake on the foreign market (outside the United States), earning USD432.3 million (about RM1.9 billion) internationally after releasing in 63 countries, beating out Jurassic World.

However, the film opened to just USD100.2 million (RM441 million) in North America, which is a significant drop from the previous film, Furious 7 that collected USD147.2 million (RM649 million). The amount is even lower than earnings from China, which netted USD190 million (RM874 million), setting records for the biggest three-day opening weekend in history and the top debut for a Hollywood film in the Asian country.

In the family’s latest outing, Toretto betrays his team to work for international cyberterrorist Cipher, and it is up to characters played by Michelle Rodriguez, Dwayne ‘The Rock’ Johnson, Tyrese Gibson, Jason Statham and Ludacris to decipher (pun intended) and hopefully stop whatever Charlize Theron’s character has planned.

There’s plenty more Fast and Furious action to be had as well, with the ninth film set to be released on April 19, 2019, followed by a tenth (and maybe final) instalment arriving on April 2, 2021. What did you think of the The Fate of the Furious or Fast and Furious 8, as it is known here?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Mikey on Apr 18, 2017 at 12:36 pm

If anyone wants 2 see Cars specifically racing/soup-up cars, actions, explosions, Muscles, Babes, Tech(CGI) & more speeding, look no further.

The Fast & Furious 8 is ARRIVING at a theater near U starting from tomorrow. See U there. This message is brought 2 U by non other than PT.org. He he he. CHEERS …

• K Kinte on Apr 18, 2017 at 1:27 pm

Fast and Furious can do better if they use Proton cars. They can even rake in RM1 billion, not 532.5 million.

Cause Proton cars, according to our Ministers are at par with BMW and Volvo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Mikey on Apr 18, 2017 at 3:30 pm

Bro, that 532.5 million is for an opening weekend only la. I know U are ‘trying’ 2 be sarcastic but 2 be good in what U want 2 do, U also must get the currency right la. US532.5 million is much more than 1 billion ringgit la.

• alldisc on Apr 18, 2017 at 1:54 pm

If u have hair, u ain’t fast. Look at FnF guys… Botak guys are the fast ones.

• Mikey on Apr 18, 2017 at 3:33 pm

alldisc. U mean they both drive so fast that all their hair “flew” off isit ?! Now that is funny. He he he.

• Hey Mikeyboy, already started last week. Don’t know what ya smoking…

• Mikey on Apr 18, 2017 at 3:41 pm

It’s all your fault. When I ask U not 2 smoke too much, see what can happen 2 secondary smoke ?! Hehehe.

• Bro, that 532.5 million is for an opening weekend only la. I know U are ‘trying’ 2 be sarcastic but 2 be good in what U want 2 do, U also must get the currency right la. US532.5 million is much more than 1 billion ringgit la.

• The more they move away from cars, the more money it makes. Might as well remove the cars completely. Make tons more money then.

• Nancy Liu on Apr 18, 2017 at 4:12 pm

Betui.. applies to P1 orso

• stasta on Apr 19, 2017 at 12:12 pm

FnF9 will happen in space. dominic toretto and the rock will drive spaceships alongside the avengers.

• Dominic Toretto on Apr 18, 2017 at 12:53 pm

Gerald it should be bears Star Wars not bests Star Wars

• Proton tagline on Apr 18, 2017 at 1:26 pm

Ask any racer. Any real racer. It don’t matter if you win by an inch or a mile. Winning’s winning.

• SW8 be like; “hold my beer”.

• Film asspert on Apr 18, 2017 at 3:10 pm

The film is way overrated all bcoz of its trailer edit power. Skip.

• Statistic Oni on Apr 18, 2017 at 6:36 pm

Proven: Botakman makes car faster…..

• Jimmy on Apr 18, 2017 at 11:30 pm

In a World without Physics; is the director Einstein II?

• Bernard on Apr 19, 2017 at 6:36 pm

It goes to show silly nonsense is what the movie going audience love except for certain more advanced countries …

• i like