2017 Vespa Vietnam-assembled scooters to be in Malaysia by September with resultant price drop?

For the scooter market in Malaysia, Vespa has been, and still is, the scooter to have, due to its brand recognition and styling that many riders adore. However, the price point for Vespas has been out of reach for many, due to the machines being imported CBU from Italy.

However, there may be good news in the offing for Vespa fans, with the assembly of the 2017 Vespa GTS 300, along with the GTS 150 and GTS 125, in Vietnam. Intended for the Vietnam and Thailand markets, the GTS 150 and GTS 125 are equipped with an all new engine, the i-Get, which was developed based on feedback from Asian-region riders.

As for the GTS 300, it carries an Italian-built Quasar 300 engine, which is imported into Vietnam and mated to the locally-produced chassis. With the assembly of Vespa scooters in ASEAN, Malaysian distributor Naza Premira estimates that the price of the GTS 300 – currently retailing at approximately RM36,000 – will see a substantial price reduction, thanks to the ASEAN Free Trade Area agreement (AFTA).

According to Vespa Vietnam management, speaking to our colleague Hazril Hafiz of paultan.org’s Bahasa Malaysia section, there are currently no plans to export the Vietnam-assembled scooters to Malaysia, with current production targeted towards first Vietnam, then Thailand. These two countries are the biggest consumers of sub-250 cc scooters in the South-east Asia region.

However, it was said that depending on demand from the two markets, there is a likelihood the Vespa 300 GTS might make it to Malaysia as early as September. Hazril was given to understand the Vespa GTS 300 will be brought into Malaysia, followed by the GTS 150, and unlikely the GTS 125 will be imported.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Frm Vietnam nice body design figure, well received in bolehland..

• polla on Jul 19, 2017 at 1:06 pm

is this a V4 of inline-4? why 36k???

• BOYRACER on Jul 19, 2017 at 2:11 pm

It is CBU from Italy that’s why.Pls read the whole article before posting some silly question.Btw it is not an inline-4 or V4.It is actually V-twin divide in half.

• Ahmadjr on Jul 19, 2017 at 1:49 pm

Nanti bergayalah pakcik2 pergi mengeteh. Pakai vespa berseluar yankee

• vespa vietnam on Jul 19, 2017 at 3:02 pm

Find this article a bit confusing…From what I known, Vietnam has been assembling/producing some vespa scooter models since early 2010, not just these newer models…some of these are imported CBU from Vietnam to Malaysia…Correct me, if I am wrong…

• Bernard on Jul 19, 2017 at 4:32 pm

Any guy riding this is going to be bullied on the road …….

• Anonymous on Jul 19, 2017 at 8:34 pm

But dude… Tom Hanks in Larry Crowne proved to us that… “A man on a scooter can achieve anything.” …heheheee… :)

But at that price point… I’ll stick to my Scomadi.

• You are right. Vespa Vietnam factory started assembling Vespa 150cc in 2009. Later, various model of 150cc were assembled in Vietnam. The GT300 was previously imported in CBU. That is why the price was 36k. With zero import duty under ASEAN trade in Good and Services Agreement- ATIGA (replacing AFTA since 2010, the saving will come form zero import duty. If I am not mistaken the imort duty is 30%. I reckoned the price will be in the raange of 25k-28k.

• Anonymous on Jul 19, 2017 at 8:31 pm

Price drop from Naza…? I doubt they’ll drop much to make any much difference.

• English teacher on Jul 20, 2017 at 3:45 pm

What is the meaning of “resultant price drop”? In the title?…is thre such a sentence?

• You are right. Vespa Vietnam factory started assembling Vespa 150cc in 2009. Later, various model of 150cc were assembled in Vietnam. The GT300 was previously imported in CBU. That is why the price was 36k. With zero import duty under ASEAN trade in Good and Services Agreement- ATIGA (replacing AFTA since 2010, the saving will come form zero import duty. If I am not mistaken the imort duty is 30%. I reckoned the price will be in the raange of 25k-28k.