Toyota Vios Challenge celebrity race drivers preach road safety during Road Smart & Road Fit Tour

Road safety is certainly something that should not be taken lightly, a message that Toyota Vios Challenge celebrity race drivers were more than willing to preach during their ‘Road Smart & Road Fit Tour’ talks with college students.

During the first leg of the Road Smart & Road Fit Tour, Diana Danielle, Danny Koo, Venice Min, Geraldine Gan and Shawn Lee visited KDU Penang University College to impart some critical road safety knowledge to students, such as the importance of seat belt usage, remaining fully aware and focused when behind the wheel, and avoiding distracted driving.

“Although each of us wants to win the race, we were trained to be aware of the other participants on track. How we drive and the actions we take in the race may affect or endanger the other racers. Therefore, we cannot just be selfish and merely focus on our own needs and desires, but to create a safe environment for others as well,” said Danny Koo.

“Our racing environment is made as safe as possible but when we drive on public roads, we are exposed to many more dangers. There are other road users, pedestrians, young children playing or buses stopping; there’s potential danger everywhere. We need to be aware that they all share the space around us and we must be mindful of their safety as much as our own,” added Diana Danielle.

To reduce the effects of road accidents or even avoid them entirely, carmakers have developed various safety systems like vehicle stability control, traction control, electronic brake-force distribution and strong vehicle bodies to better protect occupants. A large majority of vehicles, including those from Toyota, are equipped with said safety features today.

However, more needs to be done to reduce the number of road accident cases in Malaysia, which has not dipped despite improvements in vehicle safety and road infrastructure. It is reported that 7,152 people lost their lives on Malaysian road last year, about 19 deaths daily due to road accidents.

Therefore, the human element needs to be well educated in order to sculpt better drivers, exactly what the Road Smart & Road Fit Tour aims to accomplish. “Young drivers remain impressionable and can be inspired to become responsible and safety-conscious road users. Through these talks, we hope that they will develop a safety-first attitude every time they start the engine,” Ravindran Kurusamy, president of UMW Toyota Motor.

He added that Toyota hopes to impart the wisdom and learnings of the Vios Challenge celebrities who have a big fan following among young Malaysians. The students from KDU will also be participating in the Toyota Gazoo Racing (TGR) Racing Festival in Batu Kawan, Penang from August 12-13.

Aside from stage performances by the students, there will be a variety of other activities set to take place during the weekend. The highlight is of course the first race of the Toyota Vios Challenge race series but visitors will also get the chance to see the C-HR in the metal as well. Entrance to the event is free to all members of the public.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• safety 1st on Aug 02, 2017 at 2:35 pm

Life’s all about happiness.
    Always be happy. Own a Safe, fun & reliable Toyota. CH-R, Worth the Wait.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • New perisamylorr?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
      • nuffsaid on Aug 02, 2017 at 8:46 pm

Syiok sendiri racing, nuff said

• karam singh on Aug 03, 2017 at 5:35 am

Safety ? just put on the stability control & still 2 airbags. LOL.
          ONLY 3 years warranty / 100k km coverage only ?
          If being reliable why don’t boost 5 years/unlimited or 7 years to prove it is the most reliable.
          Boooo for being overpriced yet very stingy on equipment,safety & warranty.

• OitOit on Aug 03, 2017 at 8:10 am

Get your fact straight mate. now its 5 years warranty. Its all over the place, even in your cave

• Boo Honda for lowest in class service. No class.

• Will be same, send u to underworld if u want to wait CHR

• Toyota Vios Betul2 Onz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Betui Betui Buang at 1st corner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • That’s right, i saw too many times. Happened in front of me, luckily i just hit the fell down bumper on the road. Bad Vios…the driver sure regret bought Vios if he still alive

• Kuinosan on Aug 02, 2017 at 2:59 pm

Come on Toyota Malaysia, first you sell cars that are old but packaged to look new to your customers. Now you offer these rookies whom presumably are celebrities to kick off your super racer Vios campaign? Who are these kids you call celebrities anyway? Why do you continue to insult the intelligence of consumers? Please be sincere for once and launch a new vehicle with integrity and sincerity. TQ

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • hyin21 on Aug 02, 2017 at 4:29 pm

let’s not get too frustrated with them. just let them do business the way they want it, unless you have invested in the company

• Preach road safety? Then why Trash Rubbish Dustbin Sportipu Keli Vios is same same price with City Vspec but safety features like shiet?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Boring Samy on Aug 02, 2017 at 3:28 pm

Stop complaining and work harder if u think everything is exp. #I hope also people stop complaining about the price of cars. We have the cheapest car prices in the world. Let us be grateful

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
      • Cheap, yes. But ur vios is going down drain when pipu flock to same same price City.

• 12yrsold on Aug 02, 2017 at 4:11 pm

john has run out of ideas. He is always using Vios & Toyota as his punching bags by using Honda to bash T because he is jealous that young people can drive better car than his Gen-2(he personally admitted).

• Yes I personally admit, no matter how much toyota dress up dinosar vios, my 9 yearold Gen2CPS is sooo much better than it. Drives better, handles better, cornering better, looks better, heck, even quality is better cuz i dun have tin orchestra on my roof during rain & no killbags problem.

• bmpower on Aug 02, 2017 at 8:38 pm

Yes Gen2CPS left hand signal, same same Bmw.

• Yeah, and I can see why. With my dominant right hand alwiz on steering, my left hand can use for signals and gear change (its a manual btw), thereby I alwiz in full control of my car even when signal to change lane at high speeds. It just feels so much more natural and I can see why contis oso does it.

• Delloid on Aug 02, 2017 at 10:31 pm

Power window lagi jammed ka?

• Nope. Repaired 1 rear window once 4 years ago. But until now no spoil. Driver window used every single day for TnG, no problemo

• Ruslan Bahari on Aug 03, 2017 at 10:57 am

Happy driving brader. Gen2CPS rev like Vtec, Lol terbaik

• Ohwai on Aug 03, 2017 at 12:13 am

john is a loser. Ignore him

• passion on Aug 02, 2017 at 3:34 pm

the women are pretty. that is good enough.

• walao on Aug 02, 2017 at 4:16 pm

that girl in the middle is hawt

• What have you done to Toyota Global image ?

• Maggi Laksa Semalam on Aug 02, 2017 at 8:03 pm

Toyota Vios.
    The ultimate car,
    for ultimate Ah Beng.

• At least they are doing it at a college and the students show interest. Proton can only can attract mat rempits and dispatch workers.

• magpie on Aug 03, 2017 at 10:56 am

Later when they know Vios is syiok sendiri car they sell it back, malu betul

• Telling students they can drive fast & racing cuz now got a bit extra safety features is of no helps. At least P1 teaches their customers to drive safely even when their cars has 5star ANCAP.

• choha on Aug 02, 2017 at 9:13 pm

racers preaching road safety???
    hahaha

• Race masuk longkang lagi ke???