MRT capable of reducing cost of living, says KPDNKK

The Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) transportation system isn’t just friendlier for the environment, but it’s also capable of reducing the cost of living for Klang Valley folk, according to domestic trade, cooperatives and consumerism (KPDNKK) minister Datuk Seri Hamzah Zainudin.

He said the 51-km long Sungai Buloh-Kajang (SBK) line, which first started limited operations in December last year before being fully opened to the public last month, had been proven to have reduced people’s transportation costs.

“This transportation concept is comparable to the ones overseas, and tourists who are interested in sightseeing can also travel around easily by the MRT,” he was quoted as saying in a Bernama report.

Hamzah said that he had the opportunity to meet with some MRT users and most of them gave positive feedback on the service. “One person informed me that he managed to reduce his daily transportation cost,” he said.

The service is also expected to reduce traffic in the Klang Valley – last month, MRT Corp said it projected that there would be 160,000 fewer vehicles entering KL daily with the SBK line up and running, based on an estimation of 400,000 MRT riders per day.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Agreed, no more overpriced unsafe vehicle, no more excess roadtax, no more ridiculously and mysteriously priced fuel that change without transparent calculations, no more tolls, no more whining about jams, no more expensive car maintenance, no more buying cars for the minister (110% tax structures), and no more road bullying. Welp, just hope the MRT could be on time and doesnt break down frequently.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
    • As if your home is in front of the station, walking distance and life only to and forth that, no balik kg nor vacation nor outstation outside kl

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
      • As for commuting from home to the station, there are many ways to deal with it. Such as bike, but if the bike seems soooo “uncool” for some people here (even the japanese utilise bikes for most of their commuting), you can always opt for motorcycle, which is cheap to buy, cheaper to maintain, and cheapest roadtax (I think its only RM2). So, why developed countries can do it, and not Malaysia. As for the hot weather, I believe most workers here go out from house as early as 7 O’clock which is still cold

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
        • komarad on Aug 21, 2017 at 10:31 am

well, your bike will be stolen when you park at LRT/MRT station, better use the feeder bus…

• How about that on Aug 18, 2017 at 3:10 pm

Remove GST can definitely reduce cost of living

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • Then where to get money for build more MRTs and busses?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
        • Learn frm da best, learn from 1mdb.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
          • Should learn from develop countries with good public transport system……. opss.. all of these Countries have GST at higher rates.

• Albert Yong on Aug 18, 2017 at 3:30 pm

How can it reduce? Majority in Malaysia got 6 kids. Some even got 12 kids also.

So, if a family of 6 kids with Papa and Mama travel, that is 8 people. If you do the maths, a trip from Kelana Jaya to KLCC to and fro will cost a bomb.

So how? How to reduce cost?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
      • By making all of them carry TnG card. Its useful & convenient.

• Emartee on Aug 19, 2017 at 6:34 pm

Lol i forgot when was the last time i saw a family with 6 kids. And you said it is majority? Sure or not?

• A normal car can’t carry that many children either, and you wont go out without bringing anything don’t you?

• horrayooi on Aug 18, 2017 at 1:36 pm

Abolished GST is a better alternative.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 14
    • Then where to get money to build more MRTs and busses?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 13
      • James on Aug 18, 2017 at 6:46 pm

Lesser corruption will bring in more money, thats for sure

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
        • tiadaid (Member) on Aug 19, 2017 at 7:30 pm

Sweden, Norway & Denmark all have low corruption wouldn’t you agree?

So why then are they taxing their citizens so much from income taxes that’s far higher than Malaysia, to VAT/GST that’s like 3x higher than Malaysia.

Explain that, genius.

• Did you look at their welfare?

• tiadaid (Member) on Aug 22, 2017 at 3:50 pm

You proven my point John – eradicating corruption alone isn’t going to free up money for welfare programs.

• mastermind on Aug 18, 2017 at 1:49 pm

stupid statement, use motorcycle more cheaper than use train

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
  • inb4… oh wait, car is depreciating asset.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Kuinosan on Aug 18, 2017 at 1:58 pm

Ya. It will work if the tickets are priced for the people and not to burden the people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • alldisc on Aug 21, 2017 at 1:30 pm

Everything around the MRT station will increase in value. Especially house pride and rentals. How to say reduced costs?

• Agains, all empty claims without proof. bangkit & Ubah la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 11
    • Obviously you never drive 3 hours everyday in jam. Nowadays lesser cars

• Ah Kow on Aug 18, 2017 at 2:12 pm

Off topic question, is it me or the traffic in KL city had smooth out a little. Does anyone else felt the same. Not saying that there a no jams at all, there are but not as bad as before, after MRT had started in KL City.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 16
  • Good Riddance on Aug 18, 2017 at 2:31 pm

Hahah KPDNKK…meanwhile petrol price mechanism

• pengguna proton kecewa on Aug 18, 2017 at 3:05 pm

credit where credit’s due. it’s started since the extension of LRT and connection made between STAR/PUTRA. it does ease the traffic a little bit & provide options for Subang folk to use the LRT instead of depending on ridiculous KTM’s service. Glenmarie has been success story, there is serious spillover of car parking and it became a target for car battery thief. However the same issues arises – last mile connection. bus service is inconsistent/ Grab & taxi would not be economic

• Bernard on Aug 18, 2017 at 3:25 pm

How about safety and security, cleanliness, polite and courteous staff and customers, clean toilets, no eating drinking in cabs, lining up, clear sign boards, reasonable ticket prices, ease of access and parking, excellent maintanance etc etc?
    If all that is present , then maybe there is a future after all and finally we can compare to Singapore but to compare to a Scandinavian state the standards must be higher…

• Err. All those that can be done by KVMRT alredi there (courteous staff, security, safety, cleanliness, ore signboards being done as we speak, tickets price is reasonable for the distance, easy access- yes, parking yes- once provider buck up and complete PnR, maintenance).

The rest is depend on mentality of MY pipu which KVMRT cant control.

• My england is bad on Aug 19, 2017 at 8:39 am

Haha that guy never been in MRT but talk kok and complained much. Try first then you know la

• Ksatria on Aug 18, 2017 at 4:14 pm

Cost of living is getting higher not just in one specific region in Msia!!
    What about the rest of us who’s paying the same car/petrol prices? When will the gomen will wake up & start developing public transport to ease rakyat’s burdern??

• bl00dsuck on Aug 18, 2017 at 5:02 pm

~RM60 reduction in cost for me every month. this is before the current 50% discount

• They need to impose a fee for all cars entering KL. Also make car parking fees very expensive to deter people driving to the city.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • Bullshit on Aug 18, 2017 at 7:31 pm

Ridiculous and utterly baseless. If words are tangible, I’d spit on that statement.

I live in Bandar Sri Damansara and work in Section 16 PJ. I’m glad that there’s an MRT to Phileo Dsara as it’s just across the highway, but my joy was short-lived when I saw the rates I’m subjected to. Breakdown:
    1) Parking full day @ Sg Buloh – 4.30
    2) Train fare (return) – 7.00
    TOTAL = 11.30 per day

Let’s compare with driving:
    1) Toll – 4.20 (return)
    2) Petrol – est. 5 (return), assuming my worst FC of 15km/l from my HYBRID. Total distance (return) is 30km, so around 2L fuel is needed per day.
    TOTAL = 9.20 per day

Now, before all you bashers start barking about why I gotta drive to the station:
    #Fact 1 – no feeder busses serve Bdr Sri Dsara
    #Fact 2 – RapidKL busses only serves Bdr Sri Dsara to Metro Prima Kepong, not Sg Buloh
    #Fact 3 – cycling is absurd on a trunk road full of Duke Highway constructions

So how does it lower my cost?

The line 2 in future might be better for us at this area, but bear in mind we have to switch lines at Sg Buloh again. Now it already takes 30mins per way to Phileo; with the future line change needed I might take an hour to travel a driving distance of 15km.

Don’t get me wrong; I truly appreciate the existence of such facilities. But it really doesn’t justify a “convenience” tag..

I have no solution for the government, as this draws back to proper town planning years back. There’s no point in raising it up now for there’s nothing to do, but when such remarks are passed by a Minister, it just sickens.

• I think for Sri Damansara, the wait is a lot longer for a mass transit solution. SSP line is supposed to have two stations for Sri Damansara SSP02 and SSP03 and thats target to be operational in stages from 2021.

On comparison – You may include the parking in phileo (if any), depreciation and maintenance cost, in addition to the acquisition cost (but this may not be avoidable…).

In my case – to get to work will require me to:
      Toll – 4.50 X 2 = 9
      Petrol – 15km X 2 = MYR4 (same as you i think)…
      Parking – MYR20 per day…
      Total is MYR33

Versus MRT which is about MYR11 per day (inclusive of feeder bus).. That’s a savings of 2/3 of transportation cost minus the maintenance and depreciation. Parking is horrendous .. where i work.. unfortunately…

• My england is bad on Aug 19, 2017 at 9:16 am

Bought expensive hybrid car then blame MRT cost high. Only rm2 difference dah kecoh satu dunia. Very kek

• BULLSHIT on Aug 19, 2017 at 3:44 pm

Ah…hi there typical basher; who only looks at what is negative in comparison to what’s the realistic ideal solution. An expensive hybrid car doesn’t mean ppl aren’t ENTITLED to an affordable and convenient solution. If i go along your logic, why don’t KL ppl with KL addresses pay for 4.50 per litre? Whereas ppl with Klang addresses pay the current 2.40 per litre? Well, since its only 2.00 difference no?

Well done to your logic. Keep cronies in power

• My england is bad on Aug 20, 2017 at 1:48 pm

Bodo you count hybrid car petrol cost plus installment vs chapalang cheaper 5 ANCAP star p1 you can save thousands for petrol every year. Go get used hybrid car then change the battery. That is only way you can have gaya but not papa kedana. Malu konon nak pakai kereta p1 p2. Puihhhh

• Quote:
      “Let’s compare with driving:
      1) Toll – 4.20 (return)
      2) Petrol – est. 5 (return)
      TOTAL = 9.20 per day”

I’m sorry, but maintenance, tyres, wearparts, interest for car loan and depreciation in value are missing in your calculation…

• Bullshit on Aug 21, 2017 at 8:27 am

#Fact 1: Yes it’s missing.
        #Ques 1: We’re talking physical and every day incurred costs. How do I measure if the drive to work used more tyre wear vs drive to Mid Valley? Or if my car depreciated by xx% today? Hmm..

#Ques 2: Should I sell my car to reduce my cost, considering I have MRT now?

#Ques 3: Can I claim back the past years in which I had no public transport access?

• slirh on Aug 18, 2017 at 8:22 pm

What we need is an integrated and comprehensive transportation masterplan which is planned and execute properly. Please keep those pesky politicians and non-related personnel from these policy and planning exercise. Secondly, the moment implementation is about to be done, again politicians with their stu*id company(ies) having to experience whatsoever coming into negotiated tender. Which inflates the prices. Then coming in the maintenance contract that is written for their owner to have cash into their accounts till kingdom come, while the facilities, equipment etc are facing deteriorating consequences.
    What i am saying is, to please have a system where it is designed and run and maintained by professional teams. Which later would create a bigger job market for our young ones. Can we do away with politicans/ministers/ wananbes spewing promises where they themselves are not accountable for.

• Problem is, its not politicians from gov side causing all the listed problems. Its politicians from Other Side. Case in point: TTDI station.

• Self service on Aug 19, 2017 at 11:26 am

Ask the ministers, deputy, director, dept head from civil servants, etc. to walk the talk. Ask them to take take bus, MRT…..Go ride motobike.

Then, sell off their official merc cars. Fire all their driver. No need to provide police riders/escort oso.

Save more money, right?

• Topkek on Aug 20, 2017 at 2:25 pm

Since when merc is minister’s official cars? When perdana accord launched tau pulak nak bash

• tq gomen on Aug 19, 2017 at 4:23 pm

This mrt is a blessing…we must thank a great gomen of malaysia…tq all menteri..hope u aso use it …dont be lazy…wake early like us

• tq gomen on Aug 19, 2017 at 4:26 pm

This mrt is a blessing…we must thank a great gomen of malaysia…tq all menteri..hope u aso use it …dont be lazy…wake up early like us..like 6am k

• Yang Benar on Aug 19, 2017 at 10:55 pm

I doubt it. Not saying that I don’t appreciate it, but there are many factors contributing to cost of living. Yes I save petrol and toll. But is that enough to offset increased cost for food, groceries and pretty much everything I else need to buy? Remember pretty much every manufactured product and services are affected by GST. We can see that effect now. What are the chances of my salary increasing faster than my expenditure? Bank FD rates are dropping which means no point saving what little I have after my monthly expenditure. Inflation is already happening. Is cheaper transportation going to increase my salary and lower price of goods and services? If the answer is no, then the MRT alone is not going lower cost of living! Lowering the GST and eradicating corruption will.

• pondan2 on Aug 20, 2017 at 3:23 pm

same as the Joker who say Get will lower price

• So you say buying and driving car is cheaper than public transport?

You are the joker here

• pondan2 on Aug 20, 2017 at 3:24 pm

same as the Joker who say GST will lower price