MRT has served 7.4 million passengers since Dec 2016

The Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) Sungai Buloh-Kajang line has ferried around 7.4 million passengers since it began operating, Bernama reports. Phase one of 51 km-long stretch of urban rail began operations in December, and phase two was opened to the public in July.

According to Rapid Rail CEO Datuk Zohari Sulaiman, during the period, an average of about 100,000 commuters used the MRT each day on working days while on weekends, the number rose to around 140,000.

“The station getting the most number of passengers is Bukit Bintang, which takes people to the Kuala Lumpur Golden Triangle area where there are well-known shopping complexes like Pavilion and Lot 10,” he said. He added that the number of passengers is expected to increase during the 2017 SEA Games (KL2017), which runs until August 30.

The MRT is projected to reduce traffic entering KL daily by 160,000 vehicles, based on an estimated 400,000 riders per day. It’s also expected to reduce up to 34,400 tonnes of carbon dioxide emissions yearly, and the train service is also capable of reducing the cost of living for Klang Valley folk, according to domestic trade, cooperatives and consumerism (KPDNKK) minister Datuk Seri Hamzah Zainudin.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• this morning breakdown cause many late 1.5 hrs to work, world class?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
    • Henry on Aug 22, 2017 at 3:40 pm

Yet YB nvr mrt to work..

• Ohwai on Aug 22, 2017 at 7:03 pm

Tell that to rich pipu. Would they follow?

• Syiok Syiok Sendiri on Aug 22, 2017 at 11:23 pm

Does the CEO himself take LRT and MRT? The answer is a big NO. He goes about with his driver and his S400h everywhere.

Does any minister take MRT? Not even one. All go in big rombongan in entourage of about 5 or 6 cars with outriders

In UK, Ministers sit in the London Underground tube to go to Parliament. No entourage or bodyguards. No driver. No limo

• Tokok on Aug 23, 2017 at 4:46 pm

Agreed, but Msia takboleh la, banyak penyamun di sekitar Msia, UK lain cerita, kalau menteri ambik LRT tanpa rombongan pasti kena samun atau diculik. Long story short ini semua salah menteri menteri yang tidak menjaga ekonomi dan hal ehwal sosial negara yang menyebabkan peningkatan kes jenayah. Karma la tu.

• Nazee on Aug 22, 2017 at 3:48 pm

The best part is being stuck inside while listening to the voice over and over again saying a million times “we are better than new york, better than hong kong.”

Man, grow up and get some manners in your speeches, even in the unlikely event we are better there is no need to broadcast it in the train for the amusement of the tourists and annoyance of the locals.

• topkek on Aug 22, 2017 at 4:28 pm

Wait MRT : 8.15am
      Time in : 8.30am
      Arrive : 9.45am

Of course late, kek

• Yes. World class like Southoverlordland. The more breakdowns, the more world class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • Dedak In The House on Aug 22, 2017 at 8:44 pm

Heard from colleague, breakdown.. more frequent nowadays.. emergency bus was not activated.. forced people to take comfort taxi/grabcar..

• SMRT breakdowns is becoming norm there but basher dunno cuz living in cave.

• Syiok Syiok Sendiri on Aug 22, 2017 at 5:27 pm

JAguh Kampung say World Class. Same like Proton say BMW of Asia….better than BMW and Volvo

• Basherlogic on Aug 22, 2017 at 7:06 pm

But if follow basher logic, more sales mean better. Means proton saying is right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • Low2215 on Aug 22, 2017 at 2:50 pm

Sounds like a loss making business , 7.4 millon passenger , assuming each pay RM 3 , so MRT has made about RM 22 million. Damn ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
    • Ohwai on Aug 22, 2017 at 3:22 pm

It is okay. Just like Proton, lose RM4 mil per day but janji can feed the 12,000 workers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • And yet we have pipu who complains too exp.

• Dedak In The House on Aug 22, 2017 at 8:46 pm

What? Can see more hondas and toyotas in PPRT Housing area.. how come car be expensive in msia???

• MY on track to be developed nation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • Ohwai on Aug 22, 2017 at 3:19 pm

Dont be so proud MRT. Off the 7.4 mil, 5 million of them are Bangladeshis and Indonesians. They don’t own cars.

So, how is it going to reduce cars by 160,000 vehicles?

Don’t bluff us. Go ride in the MRT and see, 80% all foreign workers. So how dei?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 24
    • tiadaid (Member) on Aug 22, 2017 at 3:48 pm

That’s why DBKL should seriously consider congestion charges for private vehicles entering KL. That’s one way to push people to start using public transport.

• Tokok on Aug 23, 2017 at 3:13 pm

Gov got no time to consider congestion charge. Straight increase petrol price.

• So much negative aura from some My pipu.. haih.. Complaint saja tau. If the passenger is foreigner, whats the problem. They pay to use it. MRT not plan to only used by my pipu. Ya.. i’m proud of MRT. Jelly?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 17
    • Starts with you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
    • obviously on Aug 22, 2017 at 4:29 pm

Obvoiusly you never been in one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
    • Ohwai talkingkok on Aug 22, 2017 at 4:37 pm

Traffic have reduced quite a lot…use to take me 1 hour to bukit bintang …now 30-40mins…so unless all those foreigners are driving to work everyday …which u can use yr pea brain to conclude..dont talk kok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 15
    • U tryin to say them 5mil foreign workers r smarter than 7mil pipu staying in klang valley? What happen to all that education & degrees & superior brain?

or

U tryin to say that 1st world leaders that using public transport daily must be same level as their foreign workers? Despite all them having more credibility than u ever will have?

So mana ni?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 19
  • Jibril on Aug 22, 2017 at 3:30 pm

I wonder when the feasibility study for Penang tunnel will be ready? Money paid but still no report. It is odd that the feasibility study for the tunnel is being done by the tunnel developer after the award of the tender.

MRT starting to make money already…we penangite demand better leaders.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
    • Dedak In The House on Aug 22, 2017 at 8:49 pm

Its consession.. state goment doesnt need to pay a cent.. unless they blame fed goment hold the approval.. go head go stern, state goment win..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • Its concession. Then when tol mahal blame the fed. Haih..

• shibby on Aug 23, 2017 at 8:57 am

they paid by selling off land worth up to 6 billion ringgit , and then gave consession up to 30 years for toll collection, furthermore the feasibility studies costs the state gomen rm300 million, and its being conducted AFTER the land was sold BY THE SAME COMPANY that was awarded the project,

Get your facts right

• Syiok Syiok Sendiri on Aug 22, 2017 at 11:25 pm

Look at Penag…how they have progressed. It looks like Singapore. So clean. So many investors want to invest in Penang cause got no dedak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • Yes we looked. Chockfull jam with cars and now they make narrow lanes more narrower with that rarely used bike lane. Pipu tension high like mad. State got no money nor land and environment is down the drain. When see into the drain, can find the pipu running the state.

• Malaysia is good on building things, but no maintain later, few years later all look old and breakdown often.

• Ah Kow on Aug 22, 2017 at 3:40 pm

Hope the number increases or AT LEAST maintains after 31st Aug where passengers have to pay the FULL price from Sept onwards.

• BigFish on Aug 22, 2017 at 4:11 pm

Oklah tak payah bailout.

• komarad on Aug 23, 2017 at 9:54 am

nak bailout macamana fully owned by MOF. bukan swasta mcm Monorail dan Putra LRT dulu…

• 12yrsold on Aug 22, 2017 at 4:48 pm

According to minister Datuk Seri Hamzah Zainudin, the train service is capable of reducing the cost of living for Klang Valley folk.

I could not agree more. Now U can go to parliament & ask all your friends to take the MRT so that Malaysian can save some $$$ & U all can claim that U have done your part which is reducing traffic & carbon dioxide emissions. Don’t just talk OK?!

• IKendo on Aug 22, 2017 at 7:27 pm

MRT is for pipu not for them la stupid. If it is built for them i am more than happy to increase the ticket price 10x

• 12yrsold on Aug 23, 2017 at 8:57 am

He he he. I agree with U 100% when U say – MRT is for “pipu” not for them la stupid. I presume “them” refer to – Half past 6 ministers. Tell me who is the STUPID one here?!

• U the one, if u think serving a couple hundreds pipu is better than serving MILLIONS.

• Ah Kow on Aug 22, 2017 at 5:02 pm

Correct me if I am wrong
    7.4 mil might seem like a big figure but don’t get carried away.
    Dec 2016 – Aug 2017 = 270 days (30 x 9mths)
    7,400,000 passengers/270 days = 27400 passengers per day (approx.)

My question is, out of 27,400 passengers, how many of them WERE public transport users before MRT was built(LRT, MONOREL, BUS).

If 27400 were previously motorists then, MRT sure did a great wonderful job, but if most of them switched from LRT or bus then it is not really helping the road traffic. Does anyone get me?

• Ohwai on Aug 22, 2017 at 7:24 pm

Bodo even if the MRT has same destinatio as LRT or bus it can beat the traffic jam. Who wants it more than motorists?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • Ohwai tak cebok on Aug 23, 2017 at 2:45 am

Eh, then u want MRT to stop at ur mom house ah?

• Ah Kow on Aug 23, 2017 at 8:08 am

Your comment shows that your mentality is equivalent to john. Maybe you are john. hahaha juz sayin

• Ohwai is new dupe for caveman basher aka part time toyota SA. Get ur persons right.

• Bullshit on Aug 23, 2017 at 9:08 am

Do you really have to be that rude by starting the sentence with the word you used? Have some class or this country will never go beyond 3rd world.

Oh wait you’re comfortable there, I forgot…

• Mummy Yummy on Aug 22, 2017 at 7:57 pm

Given choice, NOBODY wants to take MRT……

Why?

Slow, Late and Smelly….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • Dun compare our MRT with that “slow, late and smelly” down south

• lorlor on Aug 23, 2017 at 8:22 am

OMG have you been in one? Talk kok here wasting time lor

• Bullshit on Aug 23, 2017 at 9:12 am

Have you tried? Did you get onto the right one?

Honestly I’d rather endure slow, late and smelly rather than being at risk of heart attack from Malaysian drivers not using signal, etc.
      Maybe you’re one of them cuz you like to be fast, and flicking a switch reduces your speed

• Ah Kow on Aug 23, 2017 at 2:10 pm

You step on shit or your mouth got shit? Deswai smelly lor

• so… 1 day i took mrt, that makes me 2 time i enter and exit a station.
    does that makes me 4 different persons (since i enter/exit 2 diff stations)
    20 * 4 = 80 diff person in a month excluding weekends
    80 * 8 = 640 from Dec – Aug
    how in the world they came out with that number?
    just want to make a news…. i see

• English pegi mana? Its passengers, not person.

If u ride to, its 1 passenger there.
      If u ride back, its 1 passenger back.
      So total is 2 passenger rides.
      Sometimes a person ride to, but not back. So its considered 1 passenger.

Paham?