VIDEO: Why you absolutely have to use a child seat

It’s 7pm, which means the long Merdeka and Hari Raya Aidiladha weekend has already kicked off for most of you. Many will be taking advantage of the break to head back to their hometowns, and unfortunately that’s also usually when we see a spike in the amount of road accidents.

This is why it’s especially important to keep you and your loved ones safe during the drive home, and it’s also why we’re continuing our public safety video series on child safety seats, created in collaboration with Proton. Today, we’ll be having a look at what happens if you don’t secure your child properly.

To demonstrate, we have two teddy bears – stand-ins for actual children, for obvious reasons. One is properly strapped into a child seat inside a Proton Ertiga, while the other is left to roam around freely inside the MPV. An emergency braking manoeuvre from 50 km/h is used to simulate a moderate accident.

As you can see, this results in the unrestrained bear to be thrown violently, hitting the back of the front seat with considerable force – and if that bear was to be sitting in the middle or at the front, it would have hit the dashboard or even out the windscreen.

VIDEO: Why you absolutely <em>have</em> to use a child seat

By comparison, the harness, specially designed to distribute the forces across the strongest parts of a child, keeps the other bear in place, minimising the impact as well as the risk of injuries. That’s as clear a proof as any of how a child seat saves lives.

Let’s make child seat usage a habit, and share the video to raise awareness on child seat usage. If you missed any of the previous videos in the series, you can also watch them below to find out why child seats are important, which ones to buy and how to install them.

Proton is now offering a child safety seat worth RM1,000 at just RM299, with every purchase of a new Proton. You can also purchase the seat separately for RM599. The promotion is subject to stock availability and other terms and conditions.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Have a safe journey home, from UMW Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • My england is bad on Aug 31, 2017 at 11:31 am

Butthurt la tu coz p1 got free promotion

• Periasamy on Sep 01, 2017 at 2:20 am

We can educate people but Malaysians will be stubborn. Why we cannot make it law like Australia? Parliament and Ministers all sleeping? Or all busy lepak overseas with their gf?

Make it law to have car seats.

Also, if we make it law, hopefully duit kopi PDRM enforce the law instead of taking money everytime and letting offenders go off the hook

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • If u need laws to force u plotek ur kid, then ur not fit to have kid. Please dun procreate.

• Harap ada versi BM, Mandarin dan Tamil untuk semua yang tak reti bahasa omputih untuk faham kenapa child seat ni penting. Hmmm, cerita pasal child seat, ilmu asas kenapa kena pakaikan tali pinggang pun tak reti. Orang Malaysia bukan main lagi suka telefon pintar, kereta pintar, teknologi pintar tetapi budaya tak pintar pintar lagi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • kzm (Member) on Aug 30, 2017 at 8:15 pm

Ade lah pergi jer paultan versi BM/Chinese takpun pergi terus youtube paultan.

• Not sure on Aug 30, 2017 at 7:08 pm

Thanks for keeping up with this psa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • I have to say the emergency brake footage did not make it compelling enough to convince someone to install a child seat. The bear gently tilted forward and fell. It is just too mild. If I have no knowledge of car seat safety, this video will not convince me, honestly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • kzm (Member) on Aug 30, 2017 at 8:09 pm

lol..

• They shud replace bear with baby crash test dummy

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 04, 2017 at 12:51 pm

While at it, why don’t add some theater to it. Get a dummy that would explode spilling brain, guts and blood on impact. That sure will etch a lasting image.

If that don’t scare parents, I don’t know what else will.

• heyheyman123 on Aug 30, 2017 at 7:58 pm

At least Proton have more safety features than Perodua

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 7
    • ex-VGM staff on Sep 04, 2017 at 9:18 pm

But every time proton sold 1 car, perodua registers 3 cars.

• So? Just means only 1quarter of new car owners will escape from accidents/injuries/death on roads.

• SUPPORT CHILD SAFETY SEATS...ITS A MUST!! on Aug 30, 2017 at 8:45 pm

Fatboy has put on every kilos again this week..in tandem with the MALAYSIAN fuel prices..petrol + diesel …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
  • Next:why you should wear seat belt while driving

• old horse on Aug 30, 2017 at 10:45 pm

sadly, even PT good initiative for years, i still see parents letting their child PLAY inside the car when driving, kids moving from back to front…

• safe and save on Aug 30, 2017 at 11:40 pm

definitely proton the safest car money can buy

good job proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • Iso fix is much more safer compare to seatbelt version as it give better protection especially during side impact collision. It is not as safe as seatbelt

• Manja on Sep 02, 2017 at 12:11 am

The only reason not to use a child seat is because you are a lazy and dumb parent. You would rather your life be a bit easier than your child’s life safe.

• Agreed. Just like that periperi above, who wants law to force him otherwise its gov fault. Twisted logic parenting.

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 04, 2017 at 12:48 pm

Missed opportunity to increase the impact of the PSA.

If Paultan had put in a heavier bear, one that better simulates the weight of a toddler, the results would be even more eyeopening.

A toddler can very easily get itself hurt badly by slamming into the front passenger seat, risking head or neck injuries. Even with an emergency stop.

A proper child seat can also protect in an instant of a side impact (ie. T bone), as many good seats are tested for side impact crashes. So while one can be a careful driver, but you can’t say that about everyone else.

• komarad on Sep 05, 2017 at 5:59 pm

when the adult never use seat belt you expect them to buy child seat? good luck…