Toyota C-HR preview heads to 1 Utama, Johor Bahru

The next dates and venues for the Toyota C-HR public preview have been announced, with the crossover hitting the Klang Valley and Southern regions in September. The car was shown at Toyota showrooms, shopping malls and the Toyota Gazoo Racing (TGR) Racing Festival at the Batu Kawan Stadium in Penang last month, and public response has been very good so far, according to UMW Toyota.

Kicking off proceedings in September is a roadshow at the LG Oval of 1 Utama Shopping Centre from today, September 6 until Sunday, September 10. The following week, it will move to the AEON Tebrau Centre Court in Johor Bahru from September 12 to 17.

Visitors should note that the car shown at these previews is not of local specification – it’s actually an Australian base model powered by a 115 PS/185 Nm 8AR-FTS 1.2 litre turbo engine. The real deal will come with a 1.8 litre naturally-aspirated Dual VVT-i engine, paired to a CVT and front-wheel drive.

We’ve already provided a full photo gallery of the car, as well a detailed walk-around video tour for you to check out below.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Proton oh Proton on Sep 06, 2017 at 1:09 pm

guys just for show only not for book… hahaha

• nemesis on Sep 06, 2017 at 1:16 pm

for time being appreciate all toyota lovers to refrain from buying this car….please pressure toyota msia to add value to their line up….1.8liter cvt?!! come on…kia sportage can give 2.0 turbo diesel 185hp/400nm…toyota can only give a 140hp/180nm with cvt only?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • Steam No More on Sep 06, 2017 at 1:40 pm

Was there during lunch just now. Not impress at all since years after HRV

• R there any toyota lovers left?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • LONG LIVE TOYOTA ! THE KING ..SALUTE on Sep 06, 2017 at 3:06 pm

Tons of us around dude…Camry is a no brainer ok…it wins on grounds …best in RV and low maintenance as well..this beu is its cousin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
    • In ur dream

• sportage is same segement with CRV and Toyota RAV4. the CHR is smaller. something like Honda HRV.

• Chrohchr on Sep 06, 2017 at 1:19 pm

Where is the price? Toyota wanna play kiddy game?

• thepolygonal on Sep 06, 2017 at 1:25 pm

A good marketing idea turned bad due to displaying wrong item (different spec), no indicative pricing and dragged too long.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • azhar on Sep 06, 2017 at 1:39 pm

preview here & there later people fed up switch to others…hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Just launch the car! This is getting very tiring.

• Tease here, test there, hide & seek everywh… oh wai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 13
  • Not Toyota Fan on Sep 06, 2017 at 2:32 pm

Most of them wondering how to trade in Vios for this. Trouble is, UMW will price it out of their pockets. Too bad, coz that’s the only target audience UMW will get.

• Enough of all these previews. No need to have previews in JB as those from JB can see Singaporean registered CH-R that is actually driven than parked in some shopping centres and moreover it’s not spec for Malaysia. It’s just a waste of time. Getting tired of all this so called teasing from Toyota Malaysia. I will wait and buy the Subaru XV.

• Yesterday once more on Sep 06, 2017 at 4:05 pm

Spot on! Wtf that need to preview everywhere! Cannot sell means cannot sell Liao!

• Maybe 1.2L turbo on Sep 06, 2017 at 2:52 pm

Maybe toyota should seriously consider offer 1.2l turbo instead of 1.8L or 2.0l, since local market prefer down size engine and cheaper road tax for 1.2l turbo.

• JasonX on Sep 06, 2017 at 4:47 pm

Since when? People say 1.0 no power… go buy 1.3 … then for others 1.3 no power.. go buy 1.5/1.6 … for D segment… 2.0 too small prefer 2.3 and above.

If you need to see that little bit of road tax price, you are not the target market.

• 1.2L for 1300kg SUV consider underpower. Furthermore no fuel saving

• applegreen on Sep 06, 2017 at 3:00 pm

Price could be okay but then if u want folding mirrors u must pay extra $ plus gst, u want extra usb port? pay more. U want surround camera? pay pay pay

• DonkeyKong on Sep 06, 2017 at 3:03 pm

I would encourage people to check it out. You’ll be appalled at the quality of the interior materials. Seriously, it’s much more worth it to get a Honda HRV. A Hyundai Tucson, heavily discounted, would be an extremely good alternative too. The Tucson’s interior feels like it’s on a car that is 2-3 times more expensive than the CHR. It really is *THAT* bad.

• Malaysian didn’t know about car. They willing pay money for logo and appearance.

• Richard Lum on Sep 06, 2017 at 7:02 pm

We wait & get Proton Bayu SUV. Why uolls sapott Honda Hyundai?

• Ben Yap on Sep 06, 2017 at 3:33 pm

don’t need to waste time and money. just go and get the HRV. It’s cheaper and power delivery almost the same.

• Yesterday once more on Sep 06, 2017 at 4:02 pm

That steering wheel is so proton! Good on you toyoda, very nostalgic interior indeed!

• U wrong. That is original Toyota design. Meant Toyota itself lousy. Proton got better steeering design than this crap.

• R u saying Toyota so lousy that they need to copy crappiest of P1 steering design?
      Or
      R u saying Toyota so lousy that they design such lousy steering?

So which isit?

• 12yrsold on Sep 06, 2017 at 5:28 pm

Now U all know why Toyota is not selling well compare to Honda. Because they are too S L O W in rolling out new models to Malaysian.

• They thought they can still flog them dead horses by badmouthing other brands. Big mistake.

• Ahmad Ariff on Sep 06, 2017 at 5:42 pm

to pay for a car at this price you would expect all the grey colour interior parts to be of the same shade of grey if not very similar.. what i see is a dozen different shades of grey colour in the car !!!…. i can understand if its a sub RM70k car than its accaptable lah sikit… ini Rm160k car punya so plasticky interior & of a dozen shades of grey.. my goodness…

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 06, 2017 at 10:28 pm

actually i dont know why toyota so honest bring a low spec car to show…so far at the roadshows in mid valley etc the response i hear from other viewers were mostly disappointed…

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 07, 2017 at 12:10 am

Saw this when I was in Australia 2 weeks ago and it’s smaller than I expected it to be.

• Valerie Neo on Sep 09, 2017 at 4:27 am

Quite disappointing, really… marketing blown out of proportion, because actual product does not live up to it’s marketed greatness!

• Naeem on Sep 10, 2017 at 7:39 pm

This car open price in usa 22.500usd version 2.0 petrol engin xle become almost 100k but when come tomalaysia they wante sell 160k