According to a report by Motorsport.com, Vietnam could host a Formula One race in the future. Sean Bratches, F1’s managing director of commercial operations, revealed the push for another race in Asia comes in light of Malaysia’s departure from the motorsport.
Although no specific details have been revealed for now, it has been suggested that a street race in Hanoi will be likely should there be a Vietnamese Grand Prix. It was reported earlier this year that a deal with Vietnam was almost finalised by former F1 chief Bernie Ecclestone, but was later turned down as he felt there were enough races in Asia.
Aside from Vietnam, talks of a second race in China were also on the cards, a market that was considered to be important by Liberty Media. Preliminary plans include a street race in Beijing, one of the world’s most populous cities.
Bratches previously stated the number of races will be capped at 25 per season, and next year’s calendar currently has 21 races on it (not finalised). This opens up the possibility of adding four more races, and more than 40 venues have expressed an interest in holding a F1 race.
where’s the coconut CEO? Free pun tak mau…. Vietnam is getting more advance and have more biz sense then coconut CEO. So shameful
Typical Malaysian. Here you make noise about wastages etc, and then when wastages are being cut you make noise also.
When F1 was running for 19 years have you ever been to it? Have you ever bought the grandstand tickets without discount?
If you never went to see F1 at all or never bought undiscounted grandstand tickets, maybe you should keep quiet.
Another loss to Malaysia. Just like how we lost BILLIONS to Thailand and Thailand became the Detroit of Asia with so many car companies opening plants there.
Infact, we lost hundreds of USD Billions (RM Trillions) in investments plus hundreds of thousands of jobs to Thailand.
This F1 is another example of how Malaysia is losing money, brain drain and investments to other countries.
Wait, werent u the one that bash gov for using ur “taxpayer money” (lolz!) to sponsor F1? So why…
Ya, the same way they said back in the 80s, Pg bridge was going to be a waste of rakyat money and the ferries were adequate…
Their barking is worse than their bite
Meanwhile Vietnam organizer gips free tickets to VN gov bigshots and VvIPs
Why complaint every year say that F1 is waste of money? now say this.. why don’t u support F1 races in Sepang all this while, 18 years to be exact?
19 years actually.
yes 19 years
According to resident basher, Ticket prices for F1 globally is expensive. Deswai pipu gave up and go to other races, like MotoGP wor
Going into losing money business is just coconut sense. Bashers complain about wasting their taxpayer money, yet u want us continue money losing business.
Back then people complain hosting F1 in Sepang is huge waste of money.
Oh look, now SIC leave F1 also complain.
The same story with KLIA, MRT on their backyard, KL118.
Malaysian just opposing regardless any issue to make them feel better. Fell like they’re the good guys. funny.
Problem with MY pipu is, the more educated they become, the lazier the brain to think. They let others to think for them and then follow with emotions.
Deswai these illogical reasoning happens. Emotions supersedes logic.
This is the same guy who says Malaysia has the cheapest petrol and cheapest car prices in the world. Emotions supersedes logic…
Correct, emotions supersedes logic, like when the oppos were claiming the building of Penang bridge back in the 80s was such a waste of rakyat money….
for those coconut keyboard warriors. if u have a bit more brian will know what I’m saying…
sadly… mostly otak kosong. put words in other ppl mouth with own pathetic narrow minds.
that’s why we can condole to such low quality leaders and managements.
In Vietnam, no need to have F1. Their roads everyday is like F1 with motors & basikal, but 10X more exciting.
Vietnam pipu see F1 right now will bored to sleep.
After Singapore scrap their race, we can held the night race in Johor bahru, we got more more rich china people here visiting
The decision to cancel F1 is perfectly OK and I have no problem with that, but the ‘free also do not want’ statement on that decision is not only arrogant but gives the impression that the decision to cancel F1 was not solely a business decision.
He probably meant the ticket sales revenue still cant recoup cost of organising the race, much less the ‘donation’ to Bernie et al…
You have to read the full article to get the context. He stated how hard it is to get people excited for F1 nowadays with the show being boring snoozefest (check out the Japanese GP, the only exciting thing was Vettel retiring). Despite that, venues are expected to fork millions for the rights to host the race, millions to promote it, and millions more to organise th race it self. And in the end you only get 40,000 people to come.
That’s what he meant by not wanting F1 even if it’s free. Unless those Liberty Media folks reverse course and fix some of the damages that old rat-faced arse called Bernie Ecclestone had done, they are in for a bumpy ride
He he he. “If” Vietnam were to host a F1 race, who is going to “sponsor” the race ?? Anyone here think Vietnam have a “Godfather” go around throwing tens of million ??! I don’t think so.
You have so little knowledge of the business world, don’t you?
they don’t need a “Godfather” to throw around tens of millions…someone just need to convince the communist party politburo that this is good for and it’ll be a reality…by someone i mean maybe a general’s son or relative of someone high up in the party ranking..that’s pretty much how it’s run over there…
as for money, they can always ask PetroVietnam to throw in some sponsorship money
He he he. lets see “if” F1 will come to Vietnam in future. Only time will tell. I will be HAPPY to be WRONG on this occasion bcos I will remember better when I’m wrong & learn a thing or 2 from U & NAP. Cheers