AWAS – 251,193 summonses issued since April 15

The Road Transport Department (JPJ) issued a total of 251,193 summonses through its Automated Awareness Safety System (AWAS) from its start of operation on April 15 until yesterday, according to Bernama. From that total, 229,319 were issued for speeding offences and 21,874 were for running traffic lights, said JPJ director-general Datuk Shaharuddin Khalid.

Out of the RM37 million in fines which have been racked up, only RM5.3 million has been collected to date, comprising 29,957 individual summonses and 5,735 company summonses.

“We are not just focusing on the amount of summonses paid, but also on acting sternly to ensure that motorists will adhere to the traffic regulations. We installed those cameras to remind them not to drive beyond the stipulated speed limits. That is why several metres before any camera, there will be a ‘speed camera ahead’ signboard, but many motorists tend to ignore that,” Shaharuddin said.

The AWAS setup integrates the AES (Automated Enforcement System) with the Kejara demerit points system, and as of August has 21 AES cameras in service; eight are in Perak, three in Kuala Lumpur, and two each in Putrajaya, Johor, Selangor and Terengganu, while Kelantan and Kedah have one each. JPJ announced in July that it will be installed a further 50 AES cameras by the end of this year.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• We installed those cameras to remind them not to drive beyond the stipulated speed limits.That is why several meters before any camera, there will be a ‘speed camera ahead’ signboard, but many motorists tend to ignore that,” Shaharuddin said.

It is in the law that you must notify the people there are cameras.

• The Saint on Oct 11, 2017 at 2:47 pm

I kena many AES summons and I totally deserved them. Why? It was because I ignored the warning signs just before the AES cameras………my bad……….lol

• pengayuhbasikal on Oct 11, 2017 at 2:49 pm

Meanwhile each time after major accident, the authorities will update us that the bus driver had 24 outstanding traffic summonses issued between 2007 and last year, and a total of 117 traffic summonses have been issued to this particular bus company. And this loop repeats itself the next accident happened…

• KUDOS TO AWAS on Oct 11, 2017 at 2:56 pm

Fuel prices are slated to increase week on week hence its only prudent tht we drive slow to counter all risk of summons and lost of lifes..

• longjaafar on Oct 11, 2017 at 3:50 pm

It’s nice to send out summons, but they must ensure that those that are summoned really pay them. That’s where it hurts….their pockets.

• stefan on Oct 11, 2017 at 3:50 pm

JPJ should not be in the business of enforcing the speed limit! Leave this only to the traffic police.

• Not Toyota Fan on Oct 11, 2017 at 4:14 pm

But moto still gets away scott free with impunity. Malaysian moto are very special, no need follow the road laws, in fact can break any road laws, like a boss.

• ?? i dont understand…we motorist is the one being summon by AES? where got can break road laws…mybe cyclist bcoz no engine…but all motorist…cars, taxi, bus, lorry,…all subject to AES

• Ben Yap on Oct 11, 2017 at 5:24 pm

those speeding ones are usually vios and myvi drivers.