BMW Malaysia sold over 4,500 CKD hybrids – highest share of BMW hybrids in ASEAN and the world

BMW Group Malaysia has announced that it has assembled and delivered over 4,500 units of hybrid vehicles to date. The electrified line-up is comprised of the 330e, X5 xDrive40e and 740Le xDrive, all of which are assembled locally and recipients of the Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) incentive.

The PHEVs represent a whopping 50% of cars the company has sold to date (from January 2017), which is the highest share of hybrids in the world for the BMW Group in terms of percentage. To that end, Malaysia is the leading market in ASEAN and the fifth largest hybrid market in the world for the Bavarian company. Malaysia is also the second largest market in the world for the X5 xDrive40e. So much for poor economic sentiments, eh?

Similarly, BMW Group Malaysia’s managing director and CEO, Han Sang Yun said global sales of hybrid BMW models in the first three quarters of 2017 have already exceeded the record achieved throughout the whole of 2016. “In the month of September, electrified vehicles sales topped the 10,000 mark for the first time in a single month. Here in Malaysia, we are the most successful premium hybrid brand,” said Han.

Favourable hybrid-friendly tax incentives brought about a unique situation in Malaysia, where the BMW 330e, X5 xDrive40e and 740Le are all priced lower than their petrol-only alternatives. For example, the 740Le is priced at RM598,800, with a whopping RM255,000 saved from tax breaks. The petrol-only 740Li goes for RM788,800.

This isn’t specific to BMW either. Back in 2014, it was revealed that 47% of all Audi A6 Hybrids built globally were sold right here in Malaysia.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• intermilan on Oct 24, 2017 at 6:22 pm

The ultimate hybrid driving machine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • intermilan on Oct 24, 2017 at 7:20 pm

Hello.. that nick is already taken since long time ago. Perhaps you can choose other nickname.

Btw this is just another indication of rich people r getting richer and most probably, poor people r getting poorer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
      • Operation Manager on Oct 24, 2017 at 9:24 pm

This is very sad… LUXURY of EV/HYBRID like BMW AUDI 3STAR all given 33% price-CUT. But Hybrid Honda City/Jazz given price-UP with +2k~+5k, where Honda EEV incentives goes…? 30millions people suffering from mai-miti pricing …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
        • https://paultan.org/2017/09/07/honda-city-hybrid-over-rm100k-without-tax-breaks/

• It is not mai-miti pricing. It is Honda pricing. Same goes to Camry Hybrid, it is Toyota pricing. Tax break is not according to brand. Why Honda n Toyota need to sell cheap if people still q to buy their hybrid with 9 years loan?

• asam pedas on Oct 24, 2017 at 7:09 pm

clap hand. the rich are able to purchase hybrid vehicles with huge tax incentive while the middle class can continue to dream. only in malaysia. yes I’m butthurt…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
    • Malaysia Oh Malaysia on Oct 24, 2017 at 7:17 pm

In Malaysia, the rich get to enjoy EEV. They can buy S400Hybrid discounted from RM880k to RM580k.

The Rich also can buy X5 40e, discounted from RM588k to RM388k

The Rich also can buy XC90, discounted from RM600k to RM390k

The Rich also can buy BMW 740Le discounted from RM880k to RM598k

The normal people out there can buy Honda City Hybrid….non hybrid RM80k. Hybrid pulak shoot up to RM90k.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 2
      • David on Oct 24, 2017 at 7:37 pm

The Rich pay less tax. only in malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
      • contender on Oct 24, 2017 at 7:53 pm

Agreed so why normal people buy Honda City Hybrid ? doesn’t make sense to buy normal car for Hybrid but yes much cheaper with incentives for higher end cars hybrid

• Rightwinger on Oct 25, 2017 at 6:47 am

Better them buying those hybrids at lower price than buying other larger capacity guzzlers. Better more high-end hybrids than more AMGs and the like.

• 12yrsold on Oct 25, 2017 at 9:27 am

In short, people who can only afford a City hybrid are being taxed higher in terms of percentage compare to Premium brands. Thanks for the comparisons provided.

• Don’t look at it that way la. The hybrid incentive means you can be a bit less rich to buy it.

The truly rich aren’t buying hybrids or CKD cars at all.

Or you can say hybrid incentive is a trap because when it breaks down, only the dealer can service it. Even if you sell it before warranty ends, people will hesitate to buy a 5 year old hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • Peter on Oct 24, 2017 at 8:23 pm

So what?. they worked hard for it they deserve it!. Its not their problem the middle class cant afford these cars. Work harder earn better. Dunno why u all so jealous of rich people’s success.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 15
      • Rightwinger on Oct 25, 2017 at 6:48 am

They’re jealous because they’re commies.

• 12yrsold on Oct 25, 2017 at 9:40 am

It is not a case of middle class(us) vs Rich(them). It is about a “level” playing field. The EEV incentives should be spread EQUALLY.
        If U give 30% incentive to the German manufacturers, U should apply the same for all vehicles. Is that too much to asked ?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
        • Henry on Oct 25, 2017 at 10:24 am

Really? Do the rich and poor pay the same percentage of taxes?

• 12yrsold on Oct 25, 2017 at 2:50 pm

I think U have comprehension problem. Where did I say – “the rich & poor pay the same percentage of taxes”

• Henry on Oct 25, 2017 at 4:47 pm

If the incentive is spread evenly, a middle class bloke like you can buy a Beemer Hybrid, yes?

Like I said, the poor (or middle class if you insist) don’t pay the same amount of tax. Why should you (or they) enjoy the same benefits.

This is the real world.

• kzm (Member) on Oct 25, 2017 at 3:57 pm

u cant..those luxury brand have bigger range of price to play with. Those car RM100k below don’t have that.

• Henry on Oct 24, 2017 at 8:49 pm

You can always buy an affordable Hybrid like the Honda Jazz or City Hybrid. Or the Hyundai Ioniq. What is there to butthurt?

Water finds its own level, understand?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • while small people got hammer by GST buying a stockin, rich people got incentives in hundred thousands buying a luxury vehicle

• Aero (Member) on Oct 24, 2017 at 7:51 pm

Congrats to BMW Malaysia on this newest milestone achievement.

Between BMW and Mercedes-Benz, it BMW which has invested more in local assembly operations. Nine BMW models are assembled at the Inokom plant, namely the 1, 3, 5, 7, X1, X3, X4, X5 and X6. The outgoing MINI Countryman was also assembled here, but the current generation is fully-imported from the Netherlands.

In comparison, Mercedes-Benz assembles just four passenger cars at their Pekan plant (C-, E-, S- and GLC-Class). However, more Mercedes-Benz cars were assembled than BMW cars last year (8,181 vs. 7,889).

I’m still looking forward to a news update on BMW Malaysia’s left-hand drive export plans. It’s been more than a year since the original announcement, and 2018 is just around the corner. What’s up ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Basically for the hybrid car they has to pay 66% of the non-hybrid car.. If by that portion for the honda jazz hybrid, the price could be RM60k. But it turn out otherwise. So much of Malaysia’s government hybrid-friendly tax incentives. What a unique situation in Malaysia. Hahaha. More discounted tax for the richest and oppress the others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • Ask Honda n Toyota why still sell for high price for their hybrid. Why sell cheap if can sell with high price and people still buy it with 9 years loan.

• Germans on Oct 24, 2017 at 10:49 pm

Wow! 2nd largest market in the world for X5 hybrid! The Germans in Munich must be amazed by our spending power. Ringgit Manyak power!

• High Cost on Oct 25, 2017 at 6:49 am

Without the EEV Incentives, doubt the cars will sell this well. This indicates purely that the car prices are over inflated in Malaysia because of protectionism of Proton. In the end, its the consumers that suffer. Let’s hope Geely can turn Proton around and compete on global playing field and rid of protectionism.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • thepolygonal on Oct 25, 2017 at 9:01 am

Don’t perasan.. it’s not because we like the car but it’s because of the tax incentive. Nanti budget 2018 tak tau ada continue incentive tak, if not… I am afraid the sales will…

• tiadaid (Member) on Oct 25, 2017 at 9:18 am

I don’t know why people are moaning about the Honda City Hybrid’s price. Don’t you people know that bread & butter cars like the City etc is no longer taxed to the hilt unlike CBU luxury cars? That’s why you don’t see much difference between City V & City Hybrid prices compared to BMW’s hybrids.

Seriously, Malaysian netizen critical thinking skills are absolutely zero.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • masam manis pahit on Oct 25, 2017 at 10:13 am

got money buy hybrid lor. No marney drive a beat-up proton like me lor….

• i dont think these buyers had economy in mind when buying. just that the prices are lower

• fadzili Rahman on Oct 25, 2017 at 11:08 am

this is a good news but we all know people in Malaysia buy the PHEV and never even charge the car. they buy them because they are cheaper. its an economical move. see Porsche also has PHEV Panamera and Cayenne but they are very expensive due to not qualifying for tax incentives as they engines are V6. BMW Smart as their engines are all 2L 4Cyl even for PHEV. that is why same as what Mercedes is doing now.

• BowArrow on Oct 25, 2017 at 11:30 am

… “In the month of September, electrified vehicles sales topped the 10,000 mark for the first time in a SINGLE MONTH..” that means bmw sell 10k (330e .x5 40e 740le) in one month?? or total hybrid vehicle(combine other brands) sold is 10k?? if so how did bmw get other’s brand hybrid sale figure??

• How much does it cost to replace the battery on the 330e?

• Paulncoxk on Oct 25, 2017 at 1:13 pm

You did not ask when u bought the car? Or you did not buy the car at all?

• The price of a 330e is quite reasonable with final amount of 265k, considering a honda city would costs almost 100k.

• John Wong on Oct 25, 2017 at 4:41 pm

How can 30 public charging stations inKL n PJ cater for 4,500 BMW electric cars plus hundreds of Nissan, Volvo, Mercedes Electric cars???? Impossible!! Most of us stay in condos, n condo management threatens to clamp my car if I use its power point in basement car park to charge my BMW X5 40e. So it’s always a hectic race to be the first to get to public charging stations in limited malls, have to compete with other 4,500 cars