GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz C200 AMG Line – RM255k

A couple of weeks ago, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) introduced the C 200 AMG Line, providing entry-level premium sedan buyers a new, sportier option. We’re now providing you a full gallery to give you a closer look at what the new variant offers.

We’ll start the pricing, which stands at RM254,888 on-the-road without insurance; MBM also offers Agility Financing rates from RM2,548 per month. This puts it right in the middle of the local C 200 range, being RM1,000 dearer than the Avantgarde model and RM3,000 cheaper than the better-equipped Exclusive.

More importantly, the car costs a whopping RM33,000 less than what was previously the cheapest AMG Line variant, the C 250 AMG Line. Included is a four-year, unlimited-mileage warranty.

Power comes from an M274 2.0 litre turbo engine producing 184 hp at 5,500 rpm and 300 Nm of torque from 1,200 to 4,000 rpm – 27 hp and 50 Nm down on the C 250. The nine-speed 9G-Tronic automatic gearbox was introduced on the C-Class this year, and so equipped the C 200 zips to 100 km/h in 7.2 seconds before hitting a top speed of 237 km/h. Fuel consumption is rated at between 5.6 to 6.1 litres per 100 km.

As you’d expect, the C 200 AMG Line gets the full AMG Line package, which includes more aggressive front and rear bumpers, deeper side skirts, larger front brakes with cross-drilled discs and the 18-inch five-spoke AMG alloy wheels from the C 250. You’ll also receive an AMG Line interior with sports seats and a flat-bottomed steering wheel with paddle shifters, as well sports suspension that is lowered by 15 mm.

Apart from that, kit count is identical to the Avantgarde model, including LED High Performance headlights, push-button start, genuine leather upholstery, black open-pore ash trim, an analogue clock, dual-zone automatic climate control, roller blinds for the rear side windows and rear windscreen, Parking Pilot, the base Audio 20 CD infotainment system with a 7.0-inch centre screen and a reverse camera.

Compared to the C 250, you lose out on adaptive LED Intelligent Light System headlights with Adaptive Highbeam Assist Plus, keyless entry, a panoramic sunroof, a 13-speaker Burmester surround sound system and a powered bootlid with handsfree opening. Safety-wise, all C-Class models get seven airbags, ABS with EBD, stability control, Active Brake Assist (autonomous emergency braking) and Pre-Safe.

Browse full specifications and equipment on all Mercedes-Benz C-Class models sold in Malaysia and get the best deals on a new car on CarBase.my.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Graham on Nov 01, 2017 at 12:38 pm

Premium timeless Avantgarde beauty. Only RM2900 installment, salary 9K can afford.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
    • want to drive benzzzz on Nov 01, 2017 at 3:34 pm

salary 9k after epf and income tax left 7k… pay installment 3k left 4k, petrol 500 rent a room 500…. left 3k enough to survive for most ppl but car dont repair dont service don need to pay insurance dont fallsick and dont get married

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
      • hipstario on Nov 01, 2017 at 4:34 pm

there alwiz credit kad or parents donation if emergency living expenses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • Rajan on Nov 01, 2017 at 3:38 pm

spend rm255k but still live in a rented house. typical msians

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • Abang Sajjad on Nov 01, 2017 at 3:59 pm

with a 9k mothly salary, u should be looking at cars around 100-130k. This merc is for those earning rm20k above.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
      • A Zaman on Nov 02, 2017 at 1:11 pm

With 9k salary, should get a car with 5 year loan less than RM60k. After that, can start investing in a property instead. A property, not properties if u don’t have any

• Heskey on Nov 03, 2017 at 8:35 am

My salary 30k but only drive a teana… Should I upgrade?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 01, 2017 at 1:16 pm

no keyless entry? and only 4 years warranty?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • norah on Nov 01, 2017 at 1:50 pm

cheapo uncle car. Not worth the money. Plastics everywhere for the brand. Small sized S class. For the money i go buy Kia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
  • Ikuttrend on Nov 01, 2017 at 2:16 pm

If my salary is rm29000 i would consider buy this..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Get Real on Nov 01, 2017 at 3:04 pm

My salary 50k , still not buying this ? Why have to be 29k can consider this ?

• HondaCitySUX on Nov 01, 2017 at 3:03 pm

This model is obviously for those who cant afford the Real AMG model, C63 AMG S.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • unknown on Nov 01, 2017 at 3:40 pm

bmw330e or c200 amg line???

• 12yrsold on Nov 01, 2017 at 3:43 pm

In short, what MBM is trying to say :-

1) Buy this C200 AMG if U want to save RM33k to have the AMG look without paying extra.

2) Stick a 250 behind. No one will know or can tell the difference unless U go into details.

3) It is the cheapest entry-level premium sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Entry-level premium sedan. 316i the best value

• 12yrsold on Nov 02, 2017 at 11:10 am

The latest entry 3-series is the 318i. With 1.5 liter & 3 cylinders “only” is not exactly your typical Entry-level premium sedan. Maybe U can compare with the 320i.

• Worth buying…atleast get the look of AMG Line…300Nm good enuff

• heybadigol (Member) on Nov 02, 2017 at 11:16 am

The AMG kit looks nice. But the Avantgarde suspension is less stiff. Of course, the Exclusive has the most comfortable ride, at the expense of handling.

• amir ahmad basir on Nov 02, 2017 at 2:11 pm

As long as you can pay the car,9K is already sufficeint

• SawMinThant on Nov 03, 2017 at 12:04 pm

Very easy ,simple,comfort design, I very ” like drive all MB.

• 10% downpayment and 3 years agility financing will costs you RM4k per month. 30k mileage option.

• But…MBM shud reward the keyless entry oredi without it, sooo cacat….even very cheap car owner oso no need to bring out the key fob….so malu

• How they get this figure by instalment starting from 2.5k per month. I used their official website calculator to make the calculation and I still can’t get this figure.