Perodua eyes 2-3% sales growth in 2018, parts exports

Perodua has led the Malaysian auto market for over a decade, but the Rawang-based carmaker is showing no signs of complacency. On the product front, Perodua has just launched its best and most homegrown model yet in the 2018 Myvi, and with a full year of Myvi sales to look forward to, the company is looking at a 2-3% growth in sales this year.

The 2018 outlook was shared by Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh on this morning’s BFM 89.9 Breakfast Grille. At the same time, the P2 chief says that 3-4% growth in total industry volume (TIV) for this year is possible.

Official 2017 figures for both Malaysia’s TIV and Perodua’s full year sales are not out yet, but P2’s 2017 sales target was 202k units, while TIV is expected to hit 590k units. Full year results should be released by the carmaker later this month.

In 2016, Perodua sold 207,100 cars and recorded its highest ever market share of 35.7%. Moving forward, the company is not expecting much upside when it comes to market share. “If you look at the domestic market, we are about to reach maturity. 35%, it’s going to be tough going beyond that,” Aminar said, adding that the one million units TIV by 2020 bandied about some time ago by the Malaysian Automotive Institute (MAI) is “challenging”.

However, the profile of Perodua’s customers has been seeing some shift, brought about by the new Myvi. “For the new Myvi, there seems to be less first time buyers (FTB). We’re beginning to see more of the additional car buyers (ACB) and replacement car buyers (RCB). Because of this, the demographics of the customers seem to be a little bit different. We’re hoping that with this, we’ll be able to mitigate some of those issues with regards to hire purchase,” he added.

Hire purchase issues have long been a challenge to Perodua. Prior to the launch of the Myvi, Aminar told paultan.org that 85% to 90% of Perodua’s customers take loans, and while bookings are strong, the conversion rate (from bookings to sales) remains low at 48%.

While the carmaker fully understands the responsible lending policy by the central bank and Malaysian banks, it wishes for more flexibility from lenders. Perodua has already been instructing sales personnel to not just collect as many bookings as possible, but to do some filtering of customers, in terms of their financial profile and capability. Higher quality submissions should improve loan approval ratings from the banks. Typically, ACBs and RCBs have better financial standing that FTBs.

Exports is a question the media regularly throws at Perodua, and Aminar has always been consistent. “Export is not an easy business. It’s still something that we are learning. We want to bring ourselves more to global standards and hopefully that will be a launching pad for us to look slightly more into the export market,” he said, admitting that P2 has been focused on the domestic market.

“We have been engaging with the government, sharing with them some of the challenges that we’re going through. I believe the government understands the situation that we are in. So apart from CBU car exports, we’re also now talking about exporting parts and components, which are less challenging compared to CBU. That’s an area we are currently looking at seriously,” he added.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Vios GX on Jan 02, 2018 at 6:42 pm

To achieve the higher goal and target, all P2 salesman promoting, P2 engine = Vios engine..
    It is totally different engines, and yet many buyers believed in..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
    • Honda skyactive on Jan 02, 2018 at 6:52 pm

More likely the same engine with different tuning. No way it is totally different engine.

Just like ati radeon hd5770 and hd5750 gpu. Still in the same family

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
      • Accordana got honda enjin.
        Lanspira got mitsu enjin.
        Er3 got suzuki enjin. P1 winlialorr Rofloll

• Yusof Talha on Jan 02, 2018 at 7:50 pm

We are proud of you Perodua. You are so focused and hardworking. Infact, unlike other car companies in bankruptcy and do not have to pay tax, Perodua pays a lot of taxes.

Infact Perodua spends billions in taxes which goes to LHDN and eventually comes back to fellow Malaysians.

We are proud you have done well Perodua. Even without Government help and Government orders, you can sell 200,000 over cars.

Imagine if Perodua also had Government orders….sales would be 300,000.

I think it is high time the Government rewards Perodua by changing Government cars to Perodua. Even PDRM, TUDM, TLDM, Tentera, Kastam, Immigresyen and hundreds of other Government departments should start using Perodua cars as a sign of support for hardwork and as a sign of reward to Perodua.

We are proud of you Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
        • Minyak kuat on Jan 02, 2018 at 9:14 pm

Start seeing many Myvi on the road. The car looks so so. Okd Myvi looks bettee

• amirul on Jan 02, 2018 at 9:31 pm

Govt should reward cash grants to Geely Baoteng mgmt to speed up r&d & sales chain.

• YB Albert Kunta on Jan 02, 2018 at 9:36 pm

If Gomen remove high car taxes on vios and city,Perodua and Protong will suffer.
          Due to one man’s ego,we have to pay thro our nose for a simple Vios or City.
          Perodua has been diligent and hardworking,alto it still enjoys perlindungan.
          If gomen convert orders to perodua ,then protong can die faster,even with Geely.
          Perodua ,anyway ,congrats.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Zuchie on Jan 02, 2018 at 7:00 pm

it was the same engine but the different only the gear box. For Myvi they are made small gear box.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • 3SZ-VE on Jan 02, 2018 at 7:17 pm

Double indeed, why must claim used Vios engine,haihh..

• Sama Kunta Loo on Jan 02, 2018 at 9:48 pm

But if you ask, why 1.5 myvee doesn’t have manual, you will get a fantastic reply ‘Kepala Bapak Kau, idiot, who want to buy manual cars these days’.

• poker pai on Jan 03, 2018 at 9:02 am

Its like playing poker.
        Why wanna flush all your cards at once.
        P2 holding the trump card.
        This is marketing strategy my fren.

• littlefire on Jan 03, 2018 at 10:48 am

Technically is the same thing, the engine head is the same for Vios & new Myvi as both engine code started with 2NR (Dual VVT-i). The only difference is the engine block below which Toyota is using Aluminium (FE), while Daihatsu/Myvi is using High-Tensile Steel (VE).
      https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_NR_engine#2NR-FE

High-Tensile Steel is cheaper to produce and If you ask me which engine can last longer and less issue, i can tell you that High-Tensile Steel block can last longer due to easy re-workable especially if overheat. Compare to Aluminium block, once overheat is better to scrap it and get a new or secondhand engine to replace due to lower strength & melting point for aluminium.

The only advantage Aluminium compare to high-tensile steel is less weight, better fuel consumption & power output but if you compare both engine the gain is not significant.

As Perodua would want to aim for lower cost, durability and easy maintenance in long run, high-tensile steel block is still the best to go. *Even gearbox is still using back the ancient 4-speed Auto you already knew which route they are going.

• Vios GX on Jan 03, 2018 at 7:45 pm

Vios got higher Horsepower and better Torque.. Myvi engine from same family, but different engine specs requirements..

• Avatar 168 on Jan 03, 2018 at 7:51 pm

Myvi is using Old revised Toyota Advanza and lower HP and old torque.. See yr Wikipedia or Google..

• John Baoteng on Jan 02, 2018 at 6:52 pm

Fun fact:
    Perodua Axia sales > Proton total sales

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Yusof Talha on Jan 02, 2018 at 8:14 pm

Fun facts……

New 2018 Perodua already sales 28,000. Just 1 and half months only. So, in 3 months, sales would be 60,000

Same as 1 year total sales of ALL Proton.

Fun facts……..

• nizam80 on Jan 02, 2018 at 9:33 pm

And P1 got alot more showrooms than P2

• Yusof Talha on Jan 02, 2018 at 11:01 pm

Fun Facts….

Mitsubishi in Thailand has 6000 workers, they produce 320,000 cars per annum

Proton in Malaysia has 10,000 workers, they produce 60,000 cars per annum

• yawnz on Jan 03, 2018 at 2:36 am

Pipu buy P2 coz it is cheap not because it is good

• leoRNado on Jan 03, 2018 at 11:28 am

another idiot!.

Myvi 1.5 Adv = RM56k
            Iriz 1.6 prem = RM56k

which one cheaper?. Re-take math paper dude!

• Basically, less than half of their stupendous figures only matters. Lolz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Soon NISSAIN Almari will go into Oblivion if they don’t buck up and produce new modern model instead of dinosaurs…already their sales are significantly down…

• YB Albert Kunta on Jan 02, 2018 at 9:45 pm

I saw a new Myvi top specs on the road today.Omg..it cost a whopping RM57K..
    Without high car taxes,this rm57k will get u a Vios or City.
    All because of one man’s inflated ego,the rakyat have been punished with Protong’s poor quality and high car price for a mini car called Myvi.
    Rm57K for a Myvi is shambolic and insult to thousands of hardworking Malaysians who got little choice apart from P1 and Vios/City which cost rm20k higher.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1