In July 2017, Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh said that the company is seriously considering the introduction of a compact SUV. It was as strong a hint as possible from a traditionally tight-lipped company on an upcoming model, which would most likely light up the sales charts.
“SUVs seem to be the flavour of the day,” Aminar said then, adding that “it is not out of our range and we’re studying the feasibility of introducing such a model.” The P2 chief also added that the company is now putting more resources into product planning as well as understanding consumers’ tastes.
The topic of a Perodua SUV surfaced in this morning’s BFM 89.9 Breakfast Grille, but Aminar gave away little. “We have just launched the new Myvi, the focus is on the new Myvi. Having said that, the SUV remains on our radar chart. We’re still studying what’s the trend, what’s the market trend like. What are the consumer sentiments towards the SUV? So it’s still too early. It’s still at an investigative stage,” he said on air.
Pressed further on Malaysians’ appetite for SUVs, which is growing along with the global trend, he said: “Initial studies seem to suggest that, but whether it’s concrete, whether it’s a conclusion, we have not reached that level yet. I’m saying that also because if you were to look at what we have achieved in 2017 – compact vehicles, hatchbacks, our Bezza and the rest – they are still doing relatively well. So still too early, but we do know there seems to be that appetite. So it’s something that we are watching very closely.”
Some might say that Perodua leads the market by default, as it markets the most affordable cars in Malaysia. The common perception is that people buy Perodua cars just because they are cheap and reliable, but as the 85:15 1.5L:1.3L ratio for Myvi bookings show, certain demographics are willing to shell out more for good features at good value.
The overwhelming and unexpected demand for the Myvi 1.5L is a “good problem to have” for Perodua, as the Perodua chief puts it, but cost and price are always important factors for a manufacturer of affordable compact cars.
“Price is always an important factor. It is a decision making factor. But having said that, we would still like to make it as affordable as possible. Cost is an issue, cost is something that we need to manage. Cost is something that we have to work with. Not just us internally. It’s our suppliers, it’s our vendors, it’s our principals,” Aminar said.
He added that the psychological price point for Perodua cars is RM60,000. “If you look at the models we are offering so far, the four models, those are all below RM60,000. We believe that at this point in time, that seems to be that psychological line. But having said that, cost is something beyond our control; materials and the rest. If it has to come to that, we have to make certain decisions. We have to make certain adjustments,” he said.
Will you be willing to pay say, RM70,000 for a Perodua SUV with the Myvi’s powertrain and features? The new Daihatsu Terios was recently launched in Indonesia to take on SUV-flavoured MPVs such as the Honda BR-V and Mitsubishi Xpander. The twin of the also-new Toyota Rush is a high-riding seven-seater with our Myvi’s powertrain.
At last year’s Tokyo Motor Show, Daihatsu revealed the DN Trec Concept, which is a more refined version of the Daihatsu FX Concept that was showcased at the 2015 GIIAS show in Indonesia. It looks production-ready. This one’s a five-seater car-based crossover that could be a budget rival to B-segment SUVs such as the Honda HR-V and Toyota C-HR. Throw in the Myvi’s powertrain and this could well be a modern day Perodua Kembara. Which would you prefer?
GALLERY: Daihatsu Terios
GALLERY: Daihatsu DN Trec Concept
BS la for sure they will be coming out with one. Every other manufacturer is doing it coz they know it’s going to sell
When Perodua comes out with their own SUV, it might be based on the Rush. Real Toyota design and real Toyota VVTI engine. Or even RAV4.
I rather trust in Japanese quality sold all over the world.
Boyue is not sold anywhere in the world EXCEPT China. I wonder why?
Why all the negative vibes about Proton’s intention to bring in the Boyue? I think its better you google & read reviews from Middle East auto journalists regarding the Boyue.. and also PT’s Jonathan Lee’s review. Boyue is C-segment class, while Rush/Terios is B-segment. Different interior size, refinement and road manners.
Although Perodua has Toyota’s DNA, it does not mean that its’ refinement, driving experience and quality really matches its Japanese big brother (although P2 can close the gap). People also need to know that Myvi’s 1.5 NR-VE engine is a lower cost version of Vios’ 1.5 NR-FE. No wonder the Myvi has less than outstanding refinement as compared to the Vios.
Perodua boss is very clever. He knows Perodua cars have a psychological price point of RM60k.
SO, Perodua is cautious to venture into waters above RM60k
Proton too have a psychological price of RM60k. Malaysians refuse to spend anything more than RM60k on a Proton. This is why 75% of Proton’s total sales are Saga and Persona.
The bulk of the remaining 25% is Perdana, which is 100% ordered by the Government.
But somehow, Proton thinks their RM99k Boyue will sell very well
“psychological price point for Perodua cars is RM60,000.” exactly nailed it.. rule of selling something… know your customer… after knowing your products.. that is.
My old Kembara was around RM55k if not mistaken… or was it RM45k. At that price point… that is the only mini cutey SUV available at that time.
P2 failed with Nautica 2008 price at RM89K++, they learned not to fall into same hole twice after 10 years.
Yes, pls redesign the interior
Perodua Kembara 1.5L 3 variants, circa 55k-65k Q3 2018.
Perodua is a highly focused company. They know what they want. they don’t beg for bailouts.
Proton needs to learn from Perodua how to run a business. Look at Perodua. Even now they are monitoring the SUV market cause they know demand is there.
I won’t be surprised if Perodua comes out with a car 100x better than China made Boyue.
Of course, Malaysians will go for a Daihatsu/ Toyota VVTI engine as opposed to China made Boyue
Terios = New Alza
DN Trec = New Kembara
Dn Trec does NOT appeal to my eyes, IMHO – just take Idiyaz Baharuddin’s design, make that a 3-row, 7-seater car and coin that as THE direct successor of BOTH the Kembara AND Alza – problem solved!!! Janganlah ingat rakyat Malaysia bebal dan bodoh….at least with a 7-seater SUV, there can be MUCH MORE flexibility to be BOTH a formidable 5-people carrier with some luggage as well as a simple 7-passenger transporter (around 4.4x metres of car length) – fine with that idea??
& daihatsu tanto = New Kenari.
To be honest, I’m not a big fan of Proton. But I’ve got to say that Proton blew away a great opportunity when they launched the Preve. I’ve always looked at the Preve’s design as the ideal SUV for Proton at that moment. All Proton needed to do was to jacked up its suspension and fitted all weather tyres and have the body kitted up with skid plates front and back, and Proton would have had a handsome urban utility vehicle in its range of models. And I’m confident it would have sold well!
Suprima S Turbo crossover.
I thought I’m the only one that thought of this. Suprima S would look nice as SUV.
Yup. Instead they bothered with the Ertiga.
They brought in a competitor for their own mpv, the Exora.
Numbnuts.
Anything above RM60K, better buy Toyota Honda.
Anything below RM60K, better buy Perodua.
Suzuki vitara all grip is better than any daihatsu suv. Pity proton no longer has tie up with Suzuki.
Proton, with its People’s Party behind it, will begin to unionize and produce a winning machine for the proletarian, whetever the Bao Teng badged version of the Boyue will be. Comrade CEO Li has said that It will have State of the art Swedish technology and can be obtained with relatively minor labour. Any Bourgeois product from Perodua will be futile against it.
Bad jokes aside, looking at Perodua’s reluctance to explore furthur from its “Small car, big value” concept of vehicles and Proton’s usage of the Boyue as a canvas base for its SUV, I can say that whetever both makers version of an SUV, will be very different, much like the Alza and the Exora. One is a light and relatively small, the other a lot larger than it.
Perodua’s CEO is just beating around the bush, given how little is leaked on both the Bezza and Myvi before official teases, Perodua is probably well in advance of its SUV development along with Daihatsu (Which incidentally, has no Terios replacement)
No doubt Terios coming real soon.
https://paultan.org/2017/11/23/new-2018-daihatsu-terios-makes-debut-in-indonesia/
P2 waiting and seeing how Boyue will fair first. P2 alwiz behind tunggu dan lihat reaction. Just like they wait and see how popular Iriz is with its safety features, b4 throwing everything into new Mivi to stem the loss.
If its true its an effective strategy. Also when was the Iriz ever popular?
Geely group profit up 266%
Fortune 500 ranking up to 343rd from 410th, and climbing
Volvo pecah sales record 3 years in a row
Majulah Geely family.
Just so happens SUV is Volvo’s core strength, can see it trickled down to Geely and soon, Bao Teng. Oh Aminar, fear the might of Geely, you may be coy and laughing now, but Bao Teng WILL HAVE THE LAST LAUGH. Both in SUV market, and new powertrain far superior than yours.
Geely > all
Bao Teng > all
people will still buy a perodua SUV if the price below rm80k. Naughty Car didn’t sell well previously although it was a good SUV (plus CBU somemore) because pricewise, it was competing directly with rush with 7 seats.
It means that if Proton Bayu price is above RM60K it will be an utter sales failure tak laku.
perodua will surely come out with a 1.5 engine shared by the new myvi which is underpowered.
Datuk Aminar, please don’t recycle the Kembara name. Those that have owned the previous Kembara can tell you the horror stories regarding the repai & servicing.
Launch the SUV with a new name for a fresh start.
to use the original name is better, this is where ppl will realise that the new Kembara is better than the old one. Besides, what new name is there for Perodua to use? Myvi has no meaning in any language whatsoever. so does Alza and Axia. but P2 is good at this too.
What horror?! Own a Kembara Y2003 and still running great! Never have issues with repair and services.
Oh one more thing… bring back the Kancil name by CBU the Daihatsu Copen. That one niche market boleh price around RM61k sure still people buy cause the next car that is a 2 seater with open hard top is the MX-5 at north of rm200k. Bring it in before Honda decides to bring in the S660.
Recond S660 rm130k.
Initially studies? Jeez yes there juat might be a global trend for SUVs since about.. 3 years ago.
If they were to produce an suv .. I wish it’ll not be powered with the same engine that the current gen Myvi’s having .. it doesn’t seem right ..
The Haval M4/H1 have been selling very well quietly in Malaysia. You see it on the road everywhere nowadays. With the fuel efficient engine & AMT gearbox, it will be hard to beat in fuel economy. Mine is now 3 yrs old & it has far lesser problems than my one yr old Bezza. In fact the Bezza 1.3MT lost to the Haval 1.5MT in fuel efficiency despite Haval being 500kg heavier.
Only if it comes with turbo and wet dual clutch, 6 airbags, ASA and 5 years full manufacturers warranty. Otherwise don’t go near 70k.
Brother is a family car…. not sports car…
They should make a pick up Bezza…. Well, just my imagination. If they want to make an SUV, it has to be at least has a powerful engine, 4wd and a big boot. If you ask me, they should make the replacement for Perodua Rusa instead.
The Nautica was quietly discontinued in 2009, slightly less than a year after its launch. Only a mere total of 489 units were ever sold.
good luck
Be it P1 or P2. If they were smart, they’ll have to read and analyse all comments made in this as well as other forums. Like to the real people who are gonna buy your products not your boot licking execs!