2018 Yamaha MT-10 – coming to Malaysia this year?

For fans of Yamaha’s naked sports bike, the Yamaha MT-09 and Yamaha MT-07 have been very popular in Malaysia, but what if we told you, there is a distinct possibility the much-vaunted, must lusted after, 2018 Yamaha MT-10, might just make it to our shores? This has been a question we have asked for some time, and we can tell you that Hong Leong Yamaha Malaysia might, just might, possibly maybe, bring in the MT-10.

This, of course, hinges on several things, one of which is pricing, depending on the various duties and taxes imposed. The other is demand, basically from the MT fans who keep clamouring for this hyper naked machine to be brought in with the million dollar question being, would you buy it?

The MT-10 carries Yamaha’s lauded Crossplane 4 engine, taken from the Yamaha R-1 superbike and detuned to produce power in the low- and mid-range. Placed in an aluminium Deltabox chassis, the MT-10’s inline-four power plant produces 158 hp at 11,500 rpm and 111 Nm of torque at 9,000 rpm and comes with three ride and traction control modes.

Weighing in at 210 kg, the MT-10 is slightly on the heavy end of the spectrum as far as big naked sports bikes go, but we can say this, the MT-10 has a huge helping of roll-on torque in the upper gears that makes over-taking effortless and front wheel shenanigans a giggle.

We know this because paultan.org has been given the privilege by Hong Leong Yamaha to lay our hands on the only officially imported MT-10 in Malaysia, and a full review shall follow shortly. In Malaysia, the MT-10 goes up against the Suzuki GSX-S1000 at RM78,000, the BMW Motorrad S1000R at RM92,900, the Ducati Monster 1200 at RM119,000, the KTM Super Duke R at RM118,000 and MV Agusta Brutale 1090 at RM93,000 as well as the Kawasaki Z1000 at RM82,000.

Triumph Malaysia is not bringing in the 2018 Speed Triple and all seems to have gone quiet with Aprilia Malaysia and its Tuono. So, that leaves it in your court, dear reader. What do you like about the 2018 Yamaha MT-10 and what do you want to know about it?

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• 12yrsold on Apr 02, 2018 at 5:10 pm

Great news for people who can afford one but not great for people who can see ONLY.
    Since paultan.org has been given the privilege by HL Yamaha to ride, maybe Mohan can give his EXPERT opinion for poor people like me how this bike feel.

• suherman sadelan on Apr 02, 2018 at 6:50 pm

I have deposit on the new 09. And if this news isn’t a belated April Fool’s joke (a cruel one at that haha) then I’m going to find myself seriously in 2 minds. Thus Mohan, could you review the 10 in comparison to the 09, and what does the 10 feel like for daily driver duties (highway + KL city centre traffic).

Much thanks in advance. And thank you for the big headache.

• the driver on Apr 02, 2018 at 9:16 pm

My 5 sen worth would be, what bike are you currently riding? The latest MT-09 is a great bike and cheap to boot whereas the MT-10 is a much more expensive bike and frankly speaking a bit much because you may never have that much opportunity to give it everything (full throttle, most of the time!) unless on a track – then you will meet the go fast boys on their bespoke ‘racing ‘ bikes..
      Which most riders never explore the limits much except on empty, straight roads which is rare in M’sia.
      Besides, IMHO the trple has more character compared to an inline four .

• suherman on Apr 03, 2018 at 11:09 am

Solid points the drive, appreciate you chiming in. I agree, the 10 sounds too much for daily driving. A solid 250cc or even the 07 would be enough.

But I’d also say that even with the 09 the opportunities to stretch it’s legs is limited considering how the CP3 builds up speed. And yes, it’s got a nice character (that cool turbine/wheezing intake sound and torque everywhere). Guess that’s why most reviewers say that it’s the most fun engine (though not the most complete package).

Torque>top speed ftw.

But then again, that CP4 is no ordinary I4 :)

• IwantMt03 on Apr 02, 2018 at 8:08 pm

We want MT-03 please. Cant afford MT-10. MT-03 is one beautiful naked bike out there.

• HLYM would rake in more money if they focus on bringing in the new MT07 first. But there’s no doubt that the MT10 would be selling as well, but probably not as much as the 07.

• suherman on Apr 03, 2018 at 11:13 am

Great point Jang. That new 07 has been getting solid reviews with the suspension updates (among the other updates). Could have had a nicer front light rather than that hand-me-down though…

• Ben Yap on Apr 03, 2018 at 5:08 pm

with that bike, i can beat many rempits on the road and putting all of them to shame.

• Michelin on Apr 03, 2018 at 5:30 pm

HLYM, where is Tracer 2018?

• Valentino Marquez on Apr 11, 2018 at 10:12 am

Yamaha will not beat Kawasaki and I think they have no intention to or doesnt care about Malaysia market. Yamaha seems like making Malaysia as a second class market. Look at MT series version of 07 and 09. Malaysia always get it late. These are CKD model but yet still cannot beat Kawasaki Malaysia price. Not just the price, but the warranty only last 1 year or 10,000 km which is ridiculous for the amount of money stamp on the bike. Don’t forget on how many time R25, Y15, 135LC got recall. It does not stop there, if you are buying Yamaha bike by credit loan, always the Yamaha model got imposed with higher interest rate compared to Kawasaki. Honda does not care about Malaysia market as Thailand is their safe heaven. MT-10 to Malaysia? We can just dream. Oh, does yamaha fix the issues of wobbling in Tracer and headlight of the newly release MT09? Will they bringing in MT07 new model this year or at least have the balls to announce the release date? They just dont care~

• Sam Law on Apr 15, 2018 at 9:43 pm

Plssss bring in the MT10 ! Yamaha … i’ll be your 1st customer … it’s such a positively reviewed bike worldwide n i believe it should sell loads in Malaysia if it’s priced reasonably

• Mdhamidon ahmad on Jun 26, 2018 at 8:06 pm

So how much the MT10 price?

• I am a fan of MT-10, and have been waiting for good news that says, “Finally, you can get one at any Yamaha dealer!” I wish the good news came sooner than later, because I don’t know how soon I will be moved by HONDA CBR1000R. I know, I know, this bike is different from MT-10, …

• Estimosis on Dec 31, 2018 at 2:15 pm

Buy this model in 2019, normally get discounted price or free full Akra System worth RM4k++. And maybe they throw in a pair of pannier in the package too.

• Anonymous on Aug 22, 2019 at 10:54 am

In Singapore we alrdy have mt 10 and my10sp
      And it cost a bomb here range between 30-40k price tag. As i can say i rode the bike in SG and malaysia till Thailand it was a comfortable bike.. sadly i have to change bike due to wife complaints of hard riding mode. So i switch to gs1200. Damn but i still miss the bike. Miss my mt10sp.

• Anonymous on Aug 22, 2019 at 10:55 am

In Singapore we alrdy have mt 10 and my10sp
    And it cost a bomb here range between 30-40k price tag. As i can say i rode the bike in SG and malaysia till Thailand it was a comfortable bike.. sadly i have to change bike due to wife complaints of hard riding mode. So i switch to gs1200. Damn but i still miss the bike. Miss my mt10sp.