2018 Yamaha MT-09 now in Malaysia – RM47,388

After a public unveiling last year at EICMA, where paultan.org featured the 2018 Yamaha MT-09 SP, the 2018 Yamaha MT-09 has been launched in Malaysia and priced at RM47,388 including GST. This updated naked sports bike now comes with a quickshifter, traction control, three riding modes and adjustable suspension.

Still carrying the 847 cc, inline-triple, the MT-09 produces 115 hp at 10,000 rpm and 87.5 Nm of torque at 8,500 rpm. Power still gets to the ground via a six-speed gearbox, with Yamaha’s Assist & Slip (A&S) clutch that reduces clutch lever effort and prevents rear wheel slip during hard downshifts.

New for for 2018 is the LED projector headlamp assembly that resembles the unit from the MT-10 litre-class naked sports bike. Also revised is the rear tail light assembly with LED lighting in two rows.

ABS and traction control are now standard on the MT-09, along with a quickshifter for clutchless upshifts. Suspension on the MT-09 has also been upgraded, and now features both compression and rebound adjustment in the 41 mm diameter upside-down forks, while the rear has a monoshock adjustable for pre-load.

Fuel for the MT-09 is carried in a 14-litre tank, and seat height is set at 820 mm. Braking is done with dual 298 mm diameter brake discs in front and a single disc at the back, with wet weight claimed to be 193 kg.

Described as the “ultimate streetfighter” by Datuk Jim Khor, managing director of Hong Leong Yamaha Malaysia, the MT-09 represents a renewed thrust into the local big bike market by the official Yamaha distributor. Citing market figures showing Yamaha having 28% of local market share of motorcycles above 200 cc locally, Khor said Yamaha Malaysia is evaluating the market demand closely for big bikes.

During a press conference, Khor said the MT-09 is a CKD model, allowing for competitive pricing. However, the upgraded MT-09 SP, as well as the MT-10, would not likely be brought in due to it being a CBU model and unlikely to have competitive pricing in the local market.

The same answer applied to the last of the supersports machines, the Yamaha R-6, which is the last currently available pure sports bike in the market after the demise of the Honda CBR600RR and Suzuki GSX-R600. “A lot depends on market demand, and whether we can support the bike properly as a CKD unit, so we shall see,” said Khor.

In the Malaysian market, the 2018 Yamaha MT-09 goes up against the Triumph Street Triple S, priced at RM49,000, Kawasaki Z900 at RM49,158 and the Honda CB650F at RM44,995. The 2018 Yamaha MT-09 will be available at authorised Hong Leong Yamaha dealers at the end of January.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Speedo on Jan 12, 2018 at 8:34 pm

(Like) P2 Myvi 1.3 Premium 47k.
    (Dislike) Yamaha MT-09 SP 47k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 101
    • Sam 'john' Loo on Jan 12, 2018 at 10:21 pm

Real macho man usually choose big bike with manual clutch. Myvi, PUIK (no more 1.5 manual), another PUIK.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
      • johnissohai on Jan 14, 2018 at 2:36 am

yea..i like to see those real macho man hiding under the bridge during heavy rain..lel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 30
    • Henry yap on Jun 11, 2018 at 9:39 am

Myvi sure lose mt 09 at sprint, when traffic jam myvi can’t move, but mt 09 can.

• AmbitiousRider on Jan 12, 2018 at 8:45 pm

Do test ride it in the night Mohan since people complain the LED lights not usable in the night.

• AmbitiousRider on Jan 12, 2018 at 8:48 pm

Do test ride it in the night Mohan since people complain the LED lights are unusable in the night. Would like to know the review from you.

• Mohan K Ramanujam (Member) on Jan 12, 2018 at 10:18 pm

Will make it a point to do so, thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
      • TreeHugger on Jan 15, 2018 at 12:57 am

Mohan, could u also do a shootout of this MT09 vs the Street Triple S? When I started following paultan.org many years ago there were many interesting and informative shootouts in the Driven series. I believe many people enjoyed and learned a lot watching them especially prospective car buyers. I wonder why paultan.org no longer do shootouts?

• Maria on Jan 12, 2018 at 9:03 pm

They should bring economy and mini mt series like 15 and 25 in MY. Not all of us can afford this bike. Plus there is a market for both bike. Hopefully they would consider those 2 bike this year

• sub_zero on Jan 15, 2018 at 6:42 pm

the MT 125 is for european market only

however it’s bigger sibling is FZ 150i which share similar engine (minus 1 gear)

as for MT 25 doubt HLYM want to cannibalize the FZ 150i market and the R25

• Hanh Ng on Jan 13, 2018 at 12:24 am

Finally it is here, wonder if the mt-09 will be better than the street triple s in term of value for money.

• Forgot86 on Jan 14, 2018 at 12:52 pm

Mt09 definitely better value considering all the upgrades that came with it with higher torque n hp output. Unless we compare with the high spec street triple, then its another level of riding experience and a higher price tag.

• casual rider on Jan 13, 2018 at 12:27 am

ABS and Quickshifter as standard will make this bike a good buy at that price

• Zhafri Z9 on Jan 13, 2018 at 1:39 am

I love to see ur test ride video soon…so excited with this mt09

• Ridz1 on Jan 13, 2018 at 10:24 am

“However, the upgraded MT-09 SP, as well as the MT-10, would not likely be brought in due to it being a CBU model and unlikely to have competitive pricing in the local market.”

So sad MT-10 still not brought in. I want naked 4 inline crossplane bike!!

• This bike is really good value. Those features are really great add ons.

• suherman on Jan 13, 2018 at 11:30 pm

I have been waiting for HLYM to bring in this bike, even thinking that they might drop some of the updates to keep the pricing competitive.

ABS, TC, A&S clutch, QS, rebound & compression adjustments on forks and shock (+preload) AND undercutting the new Z900 and Striple S. Improved throttle response (smoother mapping), revised bodywork and full LED lights. I do hope they have Race Blu as a colour option.

Mohan, I am very much looking forward to you having a blast on the bike soon, and pouring over your thoughts on the throttle response and the suspension improvements.

Hand on heart, this looks to be my upgrade this year. Kudos HLYM, kudos. Here’s hoping that the market surprises you enough that bringing in the MT10 will be feasible.

• kowreck on Jan 14, 2018 at 2:46 am

i dont think the r6 is the last available pure sports bike. how about the zx6r? i think it still being brought in officially by kawasaki.

• suherman on Jan 14, 2018 at 11:48 am

Don’t think the ZX6R is brought in officially. And…it hasn’t been updated in a long while. With the CBR600RR discontinued and no immediate successor to the Daytona 675R, the 2018 R6 does really sound like the last competitive supersport that’s been updated.

And no way Yamaha Japan are going to allow the R6 to be a ckd unit. Just like they’re not going to allow the R1, MT10 or SuperTenere etc to be ckd’ed. Not the premium/halo bike’s…

• kawaguy on Jan 15, 2018 at 11:18 am

FYI. ZX6R is being sold by all the official Kawa dealers.

• sub_zero on Jan 15, 2018 at 6:47 pm

ZX6R is Officially sold by Kawasaki Malaysia, for a long time already

Kawasaki still had deal with Modenas which result Kawasaki to fully bring many of it high end CBU model at affordable price compare to other big three

and they pretty even sold the H2 model here too

pretty much you out of touch on malaysia motorcycle industry

• How I wish I can get it headlamp and fit on my 2014 mt09.. hope it fit

• wonder why Hong Leong Yamaha is not bringing in the XSR700 or XSR900?

• panjang on Jan 15, 2018 at 6:37 am

So which one will be the ultimate naughty machine…MT vs Street Triple vs Z9?

• tuk tuk tuk on Jan 15, 2018 at 9:20 am

This is OCt 2016 reveled model. The Oct 2017 reveals model came with Öhlins adjustable rear shock. Should we get a better updated product at Boleh land

• Andrew Mohan on Jan 15, 2018 at 10:12 am

When MT-07 2018 will be launched. Any news guys….
    Waiting for it…

• James on Jan 17, 2018 at 11:56 am

2 weeks ago, went to HL-Pg @ Anson road after hearing there was a price drop on the old model and RM1000 rebate. I asked when the real 2017 (current) model coming. Top salesman there has no idea what I was talking about.
    QS not much use, the acceleration is fast enough, why want to make it quicker ? We need slipper clutch instead.
    High chance I will get this “new model” if there is no waiting list. If must wait 2-3 months, z900 will be added instead. CNY new bike :)

• suherman on Jan 17, 2018 at 2:12 pm

Good news Jason, the new bike has both QS and slipper clutch so win win. Am in the same boat as you Jason, but the Z900 doesn’t excite me at all. So get a can of Wonda Coffee, stay strong bro, wait for the new 09!

• So.. will the MT09 SP version avaiable in Malaysia any time soon?

• MR.RON on Nov 20, 2023 at 6:51 pm

Hi guys , im looking for mt09v2 unregister,show car display also can , still available ? anytime can email for me