Mercedes-Benz, Geely parts sharing possible – report

A further Daimler-Geely partnership could be on the cards, following Zhejiang Geely Holding’s purchase of a 9.69% stake in Daimler AG. The German automaker intially was less than keen on the idea, having turned down an earlier offer from Geely to take up a 5% stake via discounted share placement for concerns of diluting existing Daimler stocks.

Now though, it appears that Mercedes-Benz and Geely could jointly develop a platform for electric vehicles, according to Manager Magazin. In a report, it is said Geely is keen to develop a new electric vehicle architecture which it plans to offer to other automakers, and is considering joint production of battery cells with Daimler as well.

The rumoured joint effort could also see Daimler supply Geely-owned Volvo with engines and other components, the German publication reported. As part of this suggested supply deal, Daimler would need to purchase a small stake in Volvo Cars, it added. “This is pure speculation which we will not comment on,” a Daimler spokesman told Reuters, while Volvo declined to comment.

Any industrial joint venture between Mercedes-Benz and Geely will be less than straightforward, due to the former’s existing partnerships with Chinese manufacturers BAIC and BYD, both competitors to Geely. Daimler had earlier announced plans to manufacture EVs with BAIC, where both companies might invest more than 11.9 billion yuan (RM7.35 billion) for a new plant in China.

Though Daimler CEO Dieter Zetsche has welcomed Geely chairman Li Shufu as a new shareholder, any industrial partnership will depend on whether or not current partner BAIC agrees.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• TUU DIAA on Apr 20, 2018 at 4:09 pm

Geely Volvo Lotus Mesidis > All

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 277 Thumb down 128
  • Who ever say Geely got no control over Mercedes is delusional. Cash is king!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 426 Thumb down 188
    • camtakpro on Apr 20, 2018 at 9:02 pm

Geely Chinas king!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 248 Thumb down 24
    • Ken Hong on Apr 21, 2018 at 8:17 am

try to read the article before shooting your mouth.

Finally it is said “This is pure speculation which we will not comment on,” a Daimler spokesman told Reuters, while Volvo declined to comment.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 192 Thumb down 1
      • John Ohwai on Apr 21, 2018 at 8:35 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 224
        • If thinking Geely will not have a say in Mercedes make you feel better, than go ahead.

The nicest thing about in denial is that failure comes as a complete surprise rather than being preceded by a period of worry and depression.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 152 Thumb down 3
        • Graduan Bijak on Apr 21, 2018 at 2:40 pm

same like our local education system….just read one or two lines then tembak. This is why students always fail

• Haha still in denial, go on keep refresh and like your own comment.
        First say no chance at all, now say pure speculation, next will be no choice but have to let Geely do whatever they want.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
      • John Ohwai on Apr 21, 2018 at 2:55 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 149
        • Basherlogic on Apr 23, 2018 at 4:01 am

If folliow your logic even Toyota Tak malu rebadge mazda2 in USA and got bailed out too

• Darul Ismail on Apr 21, 2018 at 8:56 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 194
      • tokmoh. on Apr 21, 2018 at 3:56 pm

BAIC 2017 sales : 566,856 units
        BYD 2017 sales : 403,496 units

Geely 2017 sales : 1,247,116 units

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHHAHA

You are fake news, a simple google, first result already shows you are liar, mr kunta/periasamy/baghawan/etc dupe.

Ah john, feels so good to see the haters pissing their pants in fear of the might of Geely, they’d have to desperately lie and downvote the truth.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 206 Thumb down 82
        • John Ohwai on Apr 22, 2018 at 9:51 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 160
          • Topkek on Apr 23, 2018 at 4:06 am

Before deny about sharing tech, later talk about tumpang glamour pulak

Mana satu nii??? It is too obvious you are more interested in bashing rather than looking at positive side in auto industry. Basher is basher

• tokmoh. on Apr 23, 2018 at 11:54 am

Eh eh, kata Geely sampah, just 4th tier junk manufacturer even BAIC, BYD also better than them.

Suddenly when I showed the truth, claim Geely so great that Proton just wanna tumpang their glory?

Proton doesn’t tumpang Geely’s glory, Proton IS Geely. CEO also Geely mali.

Meanwhile, u wanna tumpang some small fry so-called better than “4th tier” Geely, tsk tsk, siapa malu now?

• Yes tokmoh. And the nicest thing is to see the haters keep refreshing and down our comment, mental collapse?

• MoSalah on Apr 22, 2018 at 10:30 pm

C’mon guys, petrol price alredi skyrockets to all-time high in 4 years. Yet still Unchanged here, thats 3 weeks in a row. So juz chill it & enjoy the imminent soon

• Robert Lam on Apr 22, 2018 at 9:48 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 160
        • uncle kok on Apr 23, 2018 at 4:09 am

Then you show us established in number rather than talking kok here

• tokmoh. on Apr 23, 2018 at 12:29 pm

Net profit for the year ended 31 Dec 2017 :

BYD : RMB 4,916 million (audited)
          BAIC : RMB 5,048 million (unaudited)

VS

Geely : RMB 10,735 million (audited)

You see Mr Robert, Geely cannot possibly be this profitable if people don’t trust their product. So how u wanna twist to say profitability of the company is not a measurement of how established they are?

Also, Geely OWNS Volvo, damn straight they can claim Volvo is their very, veeery established brand.

BYD and BAIC, ironically tumpang JV with outsiders. Who’s the one tumpang-ing who now?

• 12yrsold on Apr 21, 2018 at 2:50 pm

Actually it is a both parties are beneficial from this. Congrats to Geely and Mercedes!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 136 Thumb down 0
  • To all those bashers (ekceli only one in PT) and naysayers. HAHAHAHA!

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 152 Thumb down 142
    • Why suddenly the guy with many dupes become so quiet? Did he just ate his own words and become speechless?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 38
      • Ken Hong on Apr 21, 2018 at 8:23 am

please try to read the article better. This is the problem with low proficiency of English language in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
        • John Ohwai on Apr 21, 2018 at 2:57 pm

China and Geely are doing all the hard work. Infact, they are doing ALL the work.

So why P1 fanboys so excited and sharing the success of Geely and China?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
          • bosch on Apr 23, 2018 at 4:12 am

Those tech is to be learned , even your VSA cannot is not plug and play and requires various tests

• bosch on Apr 23, 2018 at 4:13 am

Those tech is to be learned , even your VSA is not plug and play and requires various tests

• Get a life on Apr 21, 2018 at 7:44 pm

If you are having too much free time, go do something that is beneficial. It is too obvious you are liking and replying to your own comments with different dupes. Such a sad life.

• Robert Lam on Apr 22, 2018 at 9:52 am

Poor get a life aka john, I think people know about your dupes bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • Ken Hong on Apr 21, 2018 at 8:21 am

Try to improve your level of understanding and English

Finally it is said “This is pure speculation which we will not comment on,” a Daimler spokesman told Reuters, while Volvo declined to comment.

Dailmer already confirmed in a press statement that they will not be sharing any technologies with Geely despite Geely being a shareholder.

I think press statement from Daimler is firm unlike a rumour from a mere magazine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
    • Darul Ismail on Apr 21, 2018 at 8:52 am

OMG….please read the whole article. And open the kamus and try to find the meaning of speculation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 5
    • Graduan Bijak on Apr 21, 2018 at 2:43 pm

I am a lecturer in local u. This is the main problem with students. Read one line…..then tembak. Then when fail, complain lecturer not good

Pls read whole article or question before you give your answers

• A lecturer with the words ‘then tembak’? blame the students or lecturer for poor english?

• azrai on Apr 20, 2018 at 4:44 pm

Later Malaysian will afford to drive Proton with Merc & Volvo parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 31
    • Fayrroze on Apr 21, 2018 at 4:26 am

Yep. but pipu cant afford to maintain Proton with Merc & Volvo parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 30
      • Darul Ismail on Apr 21, 2018 at 8:59 am

Even Proton parts many Proton buyers cannot afford and has the highest tarik balik by banks than any other car brands in Malaysia

You think Proton buyers can afford Volvo and Mercedes parts?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 27
    • John Ohwai on Apr 21, 2018 at 8:37 am

later cannot afford to buy Merc and Volvo parts…they then beg kerajaan for bantuan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
  • The kop 555 on Apr 20, 2018 at 8:24 pm

In 5-10 years time we won’t be surprised at all if the c class will be rebadged as s60. And Volvo s80 rebadged as the CLS. Hahahaha.. The power of silk road.

• 12yrsold on Apr 21, 2018 at 2:49 pm

It’s a win win situation. I must say this is good for Mercedes-Benz as well.