Ford Ranger sales up 9% in Malaysia during Q1 2018

Sime Darby Auto Connexion (SDAC) has announced a 9% year-on-year increase in Ford Ranger sales for the first quarter of 2018, delivering 1,451 units to customers. “The ‘Built Ford Tough’ Ranger is continuing to attract a wide range of loyal customers across the country,” said Truong Kim Phong, managing director of Asia Pacific Emerging Markets at Ford Motor Company.

The encouraging sales performance has also helped the Ranger acquire a larger share of the pick-up segment at 15.3%, which is a gain of 1.3% from the same period last year (Q1 2017). “Ranger’s bold design and its unmatched versatility, safety and capability is really helping drive its popularity in Malaysia,” said Syed Ahmad Muzri Syed Faiz, managing director of Sime Darby Auto Connexion.

The Ranger line-up was recently bolstered with the launch of the new 2.2L WildTrak, which is one of several variants available for the pick-up. Other debuts this year include new colour options for the 2.2L FX4 as well as the range-topping 3.2L WildTrak.

“We are confident that the Ranger will continue to drive our momentum in Malaysia. We also plan to introduce more global Ford vehicles, as well as continue to enhance our customer and ownership experience, including the ongoing expansion of our dealer network,” added Muzri. The company officiated a new Ford dealer facility in Kuching just a few days ago.

GALLERY: Ford Ranger 2.2L WildTrak

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• jamal on May 03, 2018 at 12:25 pm

Syabas Sime Darby Auto Connexion!

• Habisla Hailutx!

• Raptorian on May 03, 2018 at 12:52 pm

Waiting for ranger raptor.

• gajahmada on May 03, 2018 at 12:57 pm

But Ford car sales is still at an all time low. They only sold 3 cars in the month of March. Even Jaguar, Audi and most Chinese car makers sold more vehicles in that month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Richard Tido on May 03, 2018 at 1:59 pm

Ford Ranger saved SDAC from going bankrupt. Pity buyers of Fiesta, Focus and Kuga. The cars are worthless now.

Even mondeo, selling for RM220k, now worth RM30k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Dont lie sohai! on May 03, 2018 at 7:32 pm

Dei johnny boy…show me whre to get tht for 30k…of else fakenews jail waiting for u tamby

• Same L0rr on May 03, 2018 at 2:49 pm

But hailat is far better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • All boring reviews from PT today…..yawnnnn…ok..no further comment

• Eternalgl0ry on May 04, 2018 at 7:19 am

Without Ranger model. Ford probably gone by now

So Ford please sell your pickups cheaper and affordable. Don’t go overboard and price it like a 7 seater suv

• Tai Hong Sau on Oct 01, 2018 at 10:00 pm

i want to express my frustration and deliver my dissatisfaction toward the car I have bought from FORD dealer and I have made the complaint to the managing director of the said dealer SNS Kembara Utama Sdn Bhd.

Firstly, I bought Ford Ranger on 2017/08/19. (Vehicle type: Ford Ranger 4×4 XLT – 2.2L Auto, with the registered number AKT9108.

I contacted the Zone Manager- Dennis Fong on 2017/08/24, and he told me the problem was caused by the nature design of the Ford Ranger misty windshield, which sounds very ridiculous to me.

I sent my car to said dealer for diagnosis and checking from time to time, but they were yet to solve my problem, eventually they had lost their patient and initiative to entertain me, after that, another Zone Manager named Anbananthan Kandasany, contact me on 2017/11/08, he told that the issue regarding to my car has reported to Ford Ranger Thailand and he did not come back and feedback to me from then.

I continued to make complain to SNS Kembara Utama Sdn Bhd, and the managing director Syed Nasrul Azmi, told me the same story that he has reported my car issue to Ford HQ, and he also told me that there were no solution to settle my issue according Sime Darby Head of Aftersales named Wan Shariman Adbul Rasbid and he was not able to do anything to it.

I felt that I was cheated by Sime Darby Ford and I truly disappointed on their after sales service, and the way they handle my complaint. To purchase this particular Ford Ranger from SNS Kembara Utama Sdn Bhd can be described as disaster to me. Well, they are not professional enough as they proclaimed.