PT TALKS: Q1 2018 sales – biggest winners/losers? Borgward and G20 BMW 3 Series – good/bad?

In continuing the PT Talks video series, Hafriz Shah and Matthew Tong discuss the three hottest automotive topics in the past week. The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) recently released the collective sales results for Q1 2018, which shows Perodua achieving a 41.1% market share – an all-time high for the Malaysian automaker.

The stats reveal Proton’s diminishing market share, while a few premium car brands recorded an increase in sales. Also part of the discussion are Borgward’s maiden debut in ASEAN, as well as the new G20 BMW 3 Series rendering.

Will Borgward be off to a good start, considering that a local production facility will be established for the region? And will the new BMW 3 Series come with a fresh new dose of the desirability factor that Mercedes-Benz is exploiting so well with its crop of cars? Find out what we think in the video above.

As usual, let us know what you think in the comments section below. In fact, chime in – what do you think we should talk about in our next episode? Until next time, enjoy watching this one.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Put on some weight la wei! on May 08, 2018 at 7:51 pm

Boggo if price 50k can sell…over…no need bring come here..

• Mike Lam on May 08, 2018 at 8:17 pm

So shy after reading this line…..”The stats reveal Proton’s diminishing market share”

Also, the MAA’s comment…”National automaker Proton also suffered a slump in overall numbers, with 12,843 units recorded in Q1 this year. That’s 6,533 units less than the year before, representing a 33.72% drop in volume. Its market share also dropped from 13.8% to 9.5% for the first quarter”

This is a disgrace. A bigger disgrace is, sales from 200,000 in 2009 can fall to 50,000 this year. And Proton predicts sales by 2020 will be 200,00 back again.

That is just 1 year 6 months more. How can it jump from 50,000 to 200,000????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
      • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 146
        • matt hardy on May 08, 2018 at 11:23 pm

”The stats reveal Proton’s diminishing market share”

Hahaha… It’s Proton that’s having waterfall sales, not Toyota! Shame on u john for spreading fake news

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 178 Thumb down 1
          • Junkard on May 09, 2018 at 12:03 pm

Toyota depends on commercial vehicles , look at passenger vehicles, pipu already rate vios altis Camry as junks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
          • Mike Lam on May 09, 2018 at 1:22 pm

does not look like Toyota have waterfall sales. Toyota seems to be improving.

And Toyota UMW owns Perodua. They are having a great time with sales.

Looks like Proton got waterfall sales

Myvi alone in 2 months is the SAME as PRoton’s entire range of cars for 1 whole year.

So malu.

• P Junkard on May 10, 2018 at 1:28 am

Honda and P2 no need to depend on commercial vehicles to beat P1. Stop using commercial vehicles as excuse! Proton is rubbish junk that nobody wants, just like BN. Period

• Shahrir Ahmad on May 10, 2018 at 10:41 am

Proton will soon be private. Mahathir was against Geely taking over.

Pity, cybertroopers also will be out of job.

• yawnz on May 12, 2018 at 1:34 pm

Basher sudah habis modal, you said about P2? Pipu buy coz it is cheap. Honda? Pipu buy coz it is non national that is times better than junk Toyota.

• Mike Lam on May 09, 2018 at 1:20 pm

Stop blaming the world after you were caught 2 days ago with your comment at 1300 thumbs up.

We are fed up with your fake news john and the many times you have been caught…even writers are fed up of you

• Shahrir Ahmad on May 10, 2018 at 10:47 am

cannot understand how a single post can have 2300 likes

• Mike Lam on May 09, 2018 at 1:25 pm

john, have you taken your meds? Please take your meds okay!

• Stefan on May 09, 2018 at 6:25 pm

zulfahmi dropping out of Moto 2 post, john’s comment has 1600 likes. I think we know who the culprit thumbs up his own post is

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on May 09, 2018 at 4:10 pm

Please stop blowing up the heads of our beloved PT heroes! Photo makes this classy blog looks like cheap Hong Kong tabloid

• H'din on May 08, 2018 at 10:14 pm

Pls add VW Tiguan n Subaru Forester in your SUV incoming review

• Michelle on May 09, 2018 at 1:27 pm

Hope the fake john does not come here and downvote everybody and create many dupes in support of dying Proton

• Topkek on May 12, 2018 at 1:36 pm

Why only John? If basher downvote or upvote you dun mind pulak

• Jimmy on May 08, 2018 at 11:19 pm

BX5 and BX7 exterior designs are more elegant than many SUVs.
    Youngsters like fanciful futuristic designs.

• Amran on May 09, 2018 at 8:08 am

Oh wai proton?! Please not campro & punch cvt!

• Nosushi on May 09, 2018 at 12:05 pm

Yes please because jepunis car always left far behind, it feels like a snail to P1

• NoPotong on May 10, 2018 at 1:46 am

But still can overtake P1 like overtaking the Gov

• Lotusftw on May 12, 2018 at 1:38 pm

Jepunis car is not worthy, you have to modifiy gao gao to make it good

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on May 09, 2018 at 11:12 am

Since Haval H6 will not be coming to Malaysia, may consider Borgward. Shall wait to test drive it.

• Will Mac on May 09, 2018 at 9:57 pm

The interior of the new 3 series just doesnt look right to me. It’s like BMW made a last minute attempt to improve it. I hope next yrs 4 series will be better inside.. hopefully my next car.

• Bernard on May 12, 2018 at 1:53 pm

Talk about reducing car prices by 50%

• Perodua is like PH
    Proton is UMNO.

You know what i mean..

• Hmm... much Hmm... on May 14, 2018 at 7:58 am

Hmm… Not a guy that watches two blokes sitting on a sofa talking about cars… Podcast while driving will be best! Please make a podcast of this!