Big Blue Taxi wants the gov’t to stop supporting Grab

In a report by Berita Harian, Big Blue Taxi Services wants the new Pakatan Harapan government to restrict Grab Malaysia’s operations in the country.

The company’s advisor, Datuk Shamsubahrin Ismail, said the government should not provide any support or cooperate with any e-hailing service provider as they (taxi drivers) have been treated unfairly in the past. He claims that before the existence of Grab, the company previously known as MyTeksi had manipulated taxi drivers for their own personal gain.

“Once in the past, taxi drivers fully supported MyTeksi’s efforts but once it reached a high level of success, the company introduced services where vehicles without proper licencing were allowed to ferry passengers,” Shamsubahrin said.

“The move caused taxi fleet operators and drivers to lose their source of income, not to mention the [e-hailing services] operated without regulation. The taxi industry is keen to modernise and is agreeable to use technology to improve its service but many things must first be revised, including the management of the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD),” he added.

Shamsubahrin also called upon prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad to look into the issues relating to the taxi industry, e-hailing and land transport laws. “We agree that ride-sharing services are under the purview of SPAD and local industry players, but on the condition the vehicles used must follow the same rules as a regular taxi,” Shamsubahrin noted.

In a previous report, it was already announced that all drivers providing e-hailing services are subject to the same regulations and requirements as taxi drivers as of April 6, 2018. Under the new regulations, e-hailing drivers will need to undergo evaluations involving their background, traffic offences, health, training level and vehicle roadworthiness.

The change has already been in the works since December last year, where discussions to replace/update the Public Service Vehicle (PSV) license were made, following amendments made to the Land Public Transport Act 2010 and the Commercial Vehicles Licensing Board Act 1987.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Free RM800. Apa lagi mahu
    https://paultan.org/2018/04/16/spad-sediakan-kad-bantuan-teksi-1malaysia/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • Richard Sambrani on May 22, 2018 at 4:01 pm

This attitude of always wanting gomen to help must stop. Demand and supply now. You work hard, you earn better pay.

The problem with Big Blue and the boss is, they don’t want to work hard. They want to lepak and relax. Hello friend, Government has changed. No more freebies. No more special treatment. Up to you guys to work hard.

Nobody is stopping you from joining Grab. I do Grab also and I earn about RM5k a month. Why don’t you guys join Grab instead of cry baby all the time wanting bantuan? We Malaysians must get out of this mentality of freebies.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 4
      • Kacaknova on May 22, 2018 at 7:04 pm

The problem with Big Blue boss to jaga own daughter^^

• Upgrade Traditional Taxi on May 23, 2018 at 9:43 am

PH government should look into the setup structure of commercial license, ownership of taxi, rider insurance and fare, vehicle cleanliness, annual inspection etc.

Ensure overall quality of taxi services is upgraded. Retain them as special category on Grab or even introduce another mobile app for taxis :)

• PH gov shud be like BN gov, cares for taxi drivers and the poor

• The Transporter on May 22, 2018 at 7:06 pm

100% agree…taxi or big blue to pampered

• Richard Sambrani on May 23, 2018 at 10:31 am

lazy and always want bantuan

• SWEE HIN KHAW on May 23, 2018 at 10:34 am

It is not easy for Grab drivers, they have to work at least 10 to 12 hours to earn 5k to 6k per month and not the actual amount. Minus out petrol, maintenance and 25% commission to Grab, left 1 third of the amount earn. Example if you earn 6k after minus out your actual nett earning is 2k. So it is worth. And on top of that Grab drivers have to submit their earning to the income tax and you can only use 1 third of your petrol n maintenance bills to deduct for income tax. So I think it not fair. I think the new government should look into Grab drivers problems. The New government should give more license to these type of companies so that more jobless or retired people can earn extra income for their own rather then depending of their children. But government should ask these companies to reduce their 25% to 10% commission to these companies.

• YB Albert on May 22, 2018 at 7:21 pm

The days of the normal taxis are numbered.
        Just,too bad some people cannot understand the current changes to consumer taste.
        This guy is still using the manual typewriter,under the coconut tree,expecting handouts and windfalls.
        Just ignore him.Wasting out time.

• We must have gratitude, Malaysians must have gratitude, u help me, i help u, fair what?

• Better taxi driver join Grab instead of paying expensive taxi rental..Better pay for car installment I think cheaper than you paid to taxi company

• MeToo on May 22, 2018 at 4:47 pm

Paul Tan, stop using this guy’s pic on your website, its extremely offensive.

I’ll stop visiting your site if this continue.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 9
      • LibMal on May 22, 2018 at 8:27 pm

who are u to dictate PT

• kingslayer on May 23, 2018 at 10:13 am

I guess one of the arrogant supporters that democracy is one way street and that will be their way. sigh… and they think they should dictate any discussion on topic..

• Betui. The new Gov shud provide as much assistance to our taxi industry as our old Gov. Stop Uber Grab

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 82
      • YB Albert on May 22, 2018 at 7:16 pm

Folks.this John fella has a doctorate in reverse psychology….keeps talking garbage.
        Maybe he lost a lot of “cash is king” contracts since his former idol is facing graft charges.
        Just ignore his comments,read the next one.
        Pakatan needs positive,constructive criticism.

• hisyam on May 22, 2018 at 7:42 pm

Betui. Big Blue Taxi advisor had been accused of conspiring to topple Grab. He broke down when he recounted his time running away. He felt guilty when he was told that his men who were working for him had been incarcerated. But he said no problem’, because he was willing to do it for the country

• Rakyat Anti Taxi Penipu on May 22, 2018 at 9:12 pm

Oi taxi driver, stop whatsapping and go do an honest hardworking job and stop cheating people

• Yes…. they should assist taxi by allowing individual to apply and own taxi without needing to finish any contract with any taxi company…. any department still protecting the taxi company owners?

• BS - Y, 2018 on May 24, 2018 at 12:44 am

Please don’t BS if you are not comfortable to stay in this technological era. Malaysia is developing too slow because of people with rotten mindset like you. Stop your jealousy and move on – improve yourself – the community deserve better. Don’t force regulation out of jealousy dude.

P/S: I’m borrowing your thread because i couldn’t see my new post. maybe it’s rejected.

• Afrojoe on May 22, 2018 at 3:36 pm

Ppl want grab, why in the 1st place you want gov to stop supporting it?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 3
    • We all want our old teksi back. We don’t want Uber or Grab. The old teksi was the best for Malaysia. Comfortable, cheap and friendly…..oh wai!

Uber and Grab is foreign companies. We only support local drivers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 70
      • Chock on May 22, 2018 at 9:41 pm

Grab is as local as you are. Owned by Tan Chongs son.

• Deano on May 22, 2018 at 9:45 pm

Cheap and friendly is it…? Your brain is on your backside is it?

• ZafriQ on May 23, 2018 at 12:24 am

Kau suka2 nak stop…dlam kalangan anda sndri buat spoil bisnes taxi…no meter..extra charge…kurang sopan..macam2 maslah..lepastu bila bisnes bru msuk,anda nak blamed or complaint other side ..Please look into your team side before complaint other..Peace!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • Mr MeMe on May 23, 2018 at 1:05 am

Cheap indeed. I totally love how cheap the charges for taxis are.. dahlah without meter. Charges done using calculus eventhough these pak teksi never pass mathematics. Grab on the other hand tak tau kira. I kena offer by taxi drivers from JB larkin to JB sentral for rm20 je while grab charged me for ridiculous rm7. Totally dont understand how Grab kira matematik. A+B X C =rm20 la. Ni pon nak ajar.

• Billy Tan on May 23, 2018 at 2:34 am

Comfortable with the smell, dust in the n broken outlook of it? Cheap…..the biggest crooks who have attempted to con tourist and locals alike? Friendly….lol…with drivers who act like gangsters? It’s the biggest joke of the century la bro!!! Stop living in that dream world of yours!!!! Those crooks out there r to be blamed for ruining their own rice bowls!!!

• This is bcoz it only enriches the rich, which what the new Gov is doing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 40
      • Welcome to the VUCA world bro, if you don’t change, you will lose out. If you taxi just want to remain as it is, then sorry… will be lose out.

• GiMatiBigBlueTaxi on May 22, 2018 at 3:39 pm

“condition the vehicles used must follow the same rules as a regular taxi”
    this should be the other way around. are you kidding me??!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
    • Totally agree with you..Anyway, I last used taxi in 2014 and that’s it. Never looked back

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 22, 2018 at 3:40 pm

eh why this fler not in jail

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • troyer on May 22, 2018 at 3:42 pm

Dr. Evil is back! It’s time for Austin Powers to solve this problem once and for all!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Leafable on May 22, 2018 at 3:45 pm

Aiyo its 2018 lah. Get over it if you can’t evolve just give up and be a farmer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Richard Sambrani on May 22, 2018 at 3:51 pm

Cannot la abang. You see Pakatan is straight and honest. They follow due process and they are not into dedak. I think you think Pakatan Harapan is like your old buddy BN where money talks.

Now it is clean times bro. Pakatan will see what is best and cheapest for the rakyat. This is why 30 million people voted for Pakatan to replace a highly corrupted dirty regime. Because we wanted everything to be clean.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 12
    • Sori ahbeng. It was Big Blue help that made it possible. So now he wants his reward from taikor Bapak. Tenkiu Dr evil for helping Bapak!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 21
  • Malaysia dah ubah la bro… bila you nak ubah???

• vVivi Zurianti on May 22, 2018 at 4:09 pm

pffft…..just let the market and passengers decide what cab they want to take, ok?? it’s their money and their choice…

For me, i support Grab. Other taxi are usually poor service and smelly….Some not follow meter, etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
    • I agree wid you. “Old” taxis r not only smelly. They r dirty n they r likr “crocodile” bcos at one time I tried asking d “old” taxi driver how much wld it cost for a ride fm Avenue K to Rubber Research Institute. He replied RM10/-. I politely told him Tq as a Rapid bus was coming my way for which I paid RM1.00. Serve them right now they hv competition from GRAB. (Clean, efficient, reasonable n cheap rates n most important – no smell.)

• NAZRI on May 22, 2018 at 4:26 pm

bodo ke apa ni?

• Majority of the passengers claim that Grab is much safer and cheaper compare to the taxi services. That’s the reasons for your market demand dropped. Pls review your own strategy instead of ask for market monopoly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • SALang on May 22, 2018 at 4:43 pm

Proper rules and regulations need to be set and follow.. not only Grab but Blue Taxi too. Can Blue Taxi replace all aging vehicle to newer and safer one?
    Before make noise and seek assistant, why don’t look into yourself first. Why people want Grab service and not Blue Taxi service.
    If simple question able to be answer, then you know what to do and don’t bullsxxt around.

• hondaman on May 23, 2018 at 10:26 am

Big blue does not own any taxis, they are agent for the taxis like the e-hailing companies.

• Najib yang lain. on May 22, 2018 at 4:50 pm

Kesian. I think they need to do some restructuring. Need help from genius. Need some serious hard work.

• A.Jazlan on May 22, 2018 at 4:52 pm

For me its just simple. The more competition, the healthier the business and it is also good for end users.
    Come on taxi drivers. If your services are good enough why are you so scared about your competitor?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Ben Yap on May 22, 2018 at 5:28 pm

it’s been quite some time since I see his face in the paultan. i had another good entertaining read.

• Marcel on May 22, 2018 at 5:38 pm

Why should we stop Grab service? The power on consumer hand and at least we have choice. No single org conquer the business or in other words, no monopoly

• Study what makes people prefer Grab and e-hailing services and try to adapt what you have discovered into your own business model to be more appealing to the masses. Fail to adapt and you are destined to fail. Who am I kidding? This guy won’t take advices like that. Otherwise, he won’t be b*tching about the same issue over and over again.

• Zaman makin maju ke depan. Tapi mamat ni fikiran kolot nak monopoli sorg. Haha. Kenapa tak minta gov hapuskan lesen psv je. Kenapa nak menyulitkan keadaan? Sekarang grab dgn taxi guna apps yang sama. Cuma bergantung dgn customer nak naik grab atau teksi. Itu pilihan pengguna. Sepatutnya fikiran tu luas sikit. Dgn adanya grab kes jenayah makin kurang. Dah jarang kita dgr kes ragut berlaku skang ni. Sebab penjenayah2 dah takde peluang nak meragut merompak perempuan malam2. Kalau rasa bawa teksi susah nak cari makan kenapa tak bawa grab. Kamon la. Ade otak fikir sendiri mcm mana nak cari makan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Fucukyongtaufoo on May 22, 2018 at 6:08 pm

Big blue taxi still wants to collect money from taxi driver ni…. Haih…

• Chong pang ching@francis chong on May 22, 2018 at 6:11 pm

We will only take grab coz it has help us a lot in many ways ..we are low income people cant afford to take taxi but wt grab it helps us to move around in a very affordable fare…not like u taxi

• MengeGrab la bro. Boleh Cari makan.

• Petoron Sagu on May 22, 2018 at 6:55 pm

Pls grab this guy ball…… We are happy with grab. Taxi too expensive and car condition not good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Maria malindo on May 22, 2018 at 11:26 pm

Setuju. Improve urself first before want to point to others. Kaji kenapa org lagi suka grab dari teksi. Pengalaman saya, pemandu teksi ramai yg memilih, tak ikut meter, kereta berbau, kurang ajar dan report pun tak berguna. Kalau grab, bayaran fix, ikut jalan yg ditetapkan waze…tak adalah bawa tawaf jauh2. Kereta bersih dan mereka boleh di vuat laporan jika kurang ajar ke kotor ke. Kalau tak puas hati..register urself to drive geab. Dont find enemy. Semua org cari rezeki..come on..

• Someone on May 22, 2018 at 8:12 pm

I’m grab driver and ex uber driver. Hate to say this, but had to agree with this fellow. Gov should do something, grab treated their drivers( they called us partners)poorly. Took high commission from us and banned for silly mistake sometimes from fake reports.

• Steven on May 22, 2018 at 8:37 pm

If taxi use meter and change their attitude, any e hailing company won’t be a threat for them. So stop whining and move forward.

• Ian Yeoh on May 22, 2018 at 8:42 pm

Convention taxi don’t like to use meter and simply charged whereas Grab has a fix rate. By the way, if convention taxi cannot make a living, join Grab and Rakyat also changed government.

• Ultimate Warrior on May 22, 2018 at 9:25 pm

Another fellow want a cheap publicity. Sure grab can follow taxi rules but first taxi MUST put on your meter !!! No excuses. You dont want grab or e-hailing car so that taxi can continue to charge high fare as they like like last time even double at nite. Stop cry like a baby. Earn your living with your sweat and not by mouth baa baaa baaa

• Steven on May 22, 2018 at 9:25 pm

Stop whining and move forward. They deserve it coz is themselves who throw their own rice bowl. If taxi uses meter, no e hailing company will be a threat to them.

• the consumer behaviour have change rapidly…with the use of technology, consumer like to be in control..they no longer want to wait in taxi stands. Taxi company and old style taxi driver still didn’t change..

this is what happen to umno/bn in ge14..u don’t change, the rakyat remove you..

I’m a part time e-hailing driver too, ironically today one of my rider is a taxi driver..he send his taxi for service, since his car will be ready in few hours he wanted to go home first..and he uses a ehailing service..he told me it’s hard to get a taxi there..

• Panglimo jobok on May 22, 2018 at 10:03 pm

I drove klia limo taxi long time ago. Ferrying my customer from airport to their desired destination. Always get an unpleasant comment about our taxi service. Overcharge or reluctant to use meter are some of issue raised by these customer. My sincere advise to all cabbies. Treat the people who enter your car as a customer. Not as a passenger. E hailing service is one good option to commute.it is user friendly and reliable. Happy grabbing.

• Grab have any foreign drivers?
    Grab drivers also all malaysian lah…. get your facts right…. let govt allow any individual to own a taxi without need to complete any contract with taxi company…. why must they protect taxi company? They have been too good for too long

• Abu Garcia on May 22, 2018 at 10:16 pm

Taxi drivers needs crash course and be more educated drivers; ie Defensive Diving, etc. Enroll them in Hospitality Classes so they treat riders fairly and with courteous. Hygiene Classes so they learn to clean their taxis properly and always keep neat appearances for the sake of industry, dumbass – not just for riders. Assistance + enforcement by LTD (screw you SPAD) to ensure they ALWAYS comply with taxi worthiness criteria; ie AC in good working condition, maintenance plan; and for the love of god, provide them with proper C segment cars for the benefit of both riders (bigger is better) and taxi drivers (pity them too as some of them drive 10-12 hours daily). Best examples are out there, just look at taxis in Japan, S.Korea and and you’ll see what I mean. Current taxis in MY are in dire conditions, the drivers are grumpy, rude and always ask for extra fares – fcuk it im taking e-hailing for now until they improve!!

• The taxi service here had earned themselves a bad reputation and the public has moved on. Is this guy just back from being lost in space? Fighting for something most people don’t want? Bro, either join Grab, innovate the taxi service or go into a different business.

• Not only big blue taxi need to earn a living…..there grab taxi need to earn a living too….dont be too selfish

• If you guys can provide:
    1) calculate taxi fees in meter, not simply tell how much for the trip (which higher at least 50% then meter);
    2) better skill of drive (customer feel safe and comfortable) when sit in the taxi;
    3) better service like in Singapore taxi. Everyone will don’t care take a taxi/grab.

if you guys can look seriously on the above problem, i dare to say your business will better or same with Grab services.

• Taxi..”Going where? There ah, Rm40.00″

• Mr MeMe on May 23, 2018 at 1:06 am

Cheap indeed. I totally love how cheap the charges for taxis are.. dahlah without meter. Charges done using calculus eventhough these pak teksi never pass mathematics. Grab on the other hand tak tau kira. I kena offer by taxi drivers from JB larkin to JB sentral for rm20 je while grab charged me for ridiculous rm7. Totally dont understand how Grab kira matematik. A+B X C =rm20 la. Ni pon nak ajar.

• Kampung Guy on May 23, 2018 at 1:21 am

Evolve or Extinct ..your choice. Don’t ask what your country can do for you but ask what you can do for your country

• KETUMbit on May 23, 2018 at 1:48 am

Dangerous driving, muke langsi, bad customer service, still this fellow want demand more to government ke? Pft 1st of all, upgrade ur service, upgrade ur reputation, upgrade ur worker. I know i sound harsh because not all tje taxi driver are jahat. Some of them are friendly. Buuuuut if the bad outnumbered the good fellow, what is the appropriate action ur as a taxi industry player/company/NGO need to do? Think please think. Sap gam kuat ke? We common people want to use grab/uber services because tje drivee are also common people. Not like taxi, given all the privileges by the government but still not up to the par. Woi buat malu diri sendiri la. Besok tolong tutup company sendiri ok sbb takleh accept kenyataan yang servis korang mmg tak bagus. Witj that kind of mindset, you boleh pergi jahanam la.

• So, u said before this taxi drivers have been treated unfairly? How about those passengers that have been treated unfairly by taxi drivers? Taxi drivers brought this unto themselves.. back when there is only taxis around, u guys took it for granted the same as najibs regime before they lost pru14 and when u lost the battle u blame others?

• Why this guy again?

This fella WANTS the gov to stop supporting grab. Wait. What is this attitude? Entitlement? Think he can get anything he wants and throws tantrum when he cant get it? Hello. Old man already. still behaving like an imbecile?

• Korean Fan on May 23, 2018 at 4:01 am

Mimpi la. Janji dicapati.

• Behomoth on May 23, 2018 at 5:33 am

Negara membangun lain perlukan grab kenapa nak tutup grab pasal zaman ni zaman teknologi tinggi orang dah tak gunakan cara kuno nak cari teksi lagipun rakyat nak berjimat cermat perlukan pengangkutan murah kesana sini bukan nya macam teksi yang ada kalinya tak guna meter cas penumpang hingga penumpang rasa tertekan guna teksi ,saya sebagai rakyat perlukan grab untuk kemudahan kesana sini lagi pun grab mudah diperlukan hanya tekan butang saja boleh dapat teksi dgn hanya menunggu teksi di rumah,diharap kerajaan fikirkan lah untuk buat tindakan pada grab.

• Behomoth on May 23, 2018 at 5:37 am

zaman sekarang zaman teknology kenapa masih ketinggalan

• Gorgoroth on May 23, 2018 at 5:39 am

tanya rakyat dulu

• Ronny on May 23, 2018 at 9:52 am

Sya support grab all the way. Taxis r far too expensive for me. Grab cars are new and clean. Drivers very polite and trustworthy. Grab drivers movement are being monitored by software app for riders safety. I dont think taxis have such apps for riders safety.

• arowana on May 23, 2018 at 8:47 am

better ask MACC to investigate all these people who bising2..

• how many of us have those awful experience being rejected by a taxi driver before?those were the days without grab..we had to ask from one taxi to the other, asked about price, asked about are they willing to take us..
    thank God for technology, thank God for grab , I don’t have to tolerate their arrogant attitude(of coz NOT all but some really are nasty) now..
    it’s peoples’ money, let rakyat decide what to take..if you can’t cari makan by driving a taxi, you are feel free to join Grab!

• No Way.Grab must still be around.Blue Taxi can join Grab.Grab us much cheapet than taxis.Allow individuals to get taxi license.Need new revamp of taxi ownerships.

• isuzuki on May 23, 2018 at 11:47 am

Stop?? Why?

• Grab is lembuu..siapa bawak grab dia bodo…terbaikk dato tepat sekali

• Guest on May 23, 2018 at 2:03 pm

Bus Terminal back to home,

Grabcar vs Taxi
    RM4 vs RM20

Choose yourself

• Grab is Class 1 n Taxi is Class 4 . If they want us ( grab ) follow all the procedure as them ( taxi ) so we can also claim as Class 4 n get all the previllege as taxi. Will they agree? I guess they will loncat like monkey….taxi will lost forever bcos grab is much much much more better then taxi

• Behomoth on May 23, 2018 at 4:13 pm

PH please ignore this,grab is the best!!

• Guest on May 25, 2018 at 10:14 am

This BIG BLUE TAXI is the pest of taxi, from KLCC to Pavilion want to charge RM50. It is them who helps Grab grow rapidly.

• I’ve been a passenger of taxis before grab came in. I used to walk from taxi to taxi. They just sit in there cars n give a fixed price. They rather not move if the price is not agreeable. I know not all of them are like that. But most of them are. Happy that grab come in. Now we don’t hv to worry 24/7. A cab is just minutes away. Bravo grab.