PT TALKS: Tax holiday – no GST + Raya promo, best time to buy car? Lesen kopi-o culture finally over?

Come tomorrow, the Goods and Services Tax (GST) will officially be zero-rated. With the Sales and Services Tax (SST) set to be reintroduced on September 1, that gives consumers a full three-month ‘tax holiday’ window. Those looking to buy a car can save thousands, so is now truly the best time to buy that new/dream car?

More interestingly is the issue of kopi-o license. Newly-appointed transport minister Anthony Loke announced that a new automated driving examination process will be implemented soon, with the aim of eradicating the blatant culture of bribing as well as pakej sampai lulus or ‘guaranteed to pass’ packages.

It has been three weeks since Pakatan Harapan took office, and much has happened since. In this episode, we discuss the two most talked-about topics in the automotive industry. Of course, feel free to chime in – we’d love to hear your thoughts and opinions. For now, enjoy the video!

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• tokmoh. on Jun 01, 2018 at 4:50 pm

Of course it is the best time, now or never.

Please abolish auto license. It’s flooding the road with lazy, couldn’t care less drivers. Force everyone to train with manual car to make them take driving seriously.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
    • Betui Tok. Thank u Pakatan. Best time to buy a car, Rakyat can save thousands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • Save in 3 months, merana in 4.5 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 24
        • apamau on Jun 01, 2018 at 6:05 pm

Deswai dunwan Br1m, oni syiok 3 months.

• tukar on Jun 01, 2018 at 6:07 pm

Rakyat sudah merana for 60 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
        • John Palat on Jun 01, 2018 at 6:09 pm

I hope they reduce prices for licence class D
          RM30 per year is pretty heavy for most of us

• Yet most of u have no problem downing bottles of $20k Romanee-Contis on monthly basis. Where did the priorities go?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
      • Suhaimi Sulaiman Rahman on Jun 01, 2018 at 5:47 pm

Previous korup gomen has caused a lot of accidents in Malaysia. Yes, you take money and let an amateur on the road, accidents happen. Deaths happen.

Bertaubat lah JPJ. Dosa teruk ni

• This nick dah kena kantoied by other readers dude. Time for another change. Hahaha!

• Richard Sambrani on Jun 01, 2018 at 5:21 pm

I am so happy got no kopi o licence. They are the No 1 cause of accidents in Malaysia

But there is something more of a bigger concern. Official figures state that there are 4 million Motorists with NO LESEN at all using our roads. In a country where there are only 10 million motorists, this means that 1 in every 2.5 road users have no lesen at all

No wonder accidents are skyrocket high. Cause you got so many road users

I am glad Government is cleaning up the country. Pls clean up JPJ first. They let this figure balloon up to 4 million from 20,000 in the 90s.

It is scary to note there are 4 million motorist that have no lesen and don’t know how many motorist also Kopi o Lesen. So, total berapa ni????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
      • John Palat on Jun 01, 2018 at 6:17 pm

JPJ and PDRM have been living on these offenders for 60 years.

Time not only to clean the offenders. Time to clean the enforcers too

• TruthHurts on Jun 01, 2018 at 5:01 pm

Such a horrendous speech translation. Please buck up since your audience is not only local

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • Suhaimi Sulaiman Rahman on Jun 01, 2018 at 5:43 pm

The speech is fine. Nothing wrong with that. Stop finding fault yea. Now no more corrupted Government. We all live in harmony happily

• benzs on Jun 01, 2018 at 5:44 pm

Minister of Transport. Please ensure everyone using signal, ensure all brake light properly light up and banned heavily tinted and loud exhaust. All those issue must be everyone dislike in Malaysia. Me my own feel very uncomfortable during daily driving. How do u feel for all drivers out there?

• Lol, actually license kopi o never exist. Most people got cheated by the cheater. They pay for certain amount of money to get the license. But the agent whenhrn they got the money, they will run away

• Yup. Just a tactic to instill hatred onto previous Gov.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Geng Cukur on Jun 03, 2018 at 11:18 am

So u saying clone cars with duplicated roadtax disc is a job of middlemen with access to JPJ system?

• I am a proud 1993 Honda Accord owner, nearly 400k on the odo. It’s Time to revisit car scrappage scheme. Have annual MOTs. With reasonable rates. Then we can have both safe drivers and safe cars. Link with insurance companies. Old cars that meet the requirements should be allowed on the road. I see some driving around in such holey cars, that I think these drivers believe they are holy! Not to mention the multi coloured exhaust fumes. If there is enough demand for repairs and check ups, competition among service centres and mechanics will drive costs down for the motorist. It’s still a numbers game. The only impediment is corrupt practices. Just my 2 sen worth..

• I have another idea to prevent more accidents among the youths.
    Simple , if the police caught rempits racing on public road , be it a car or a bike, confiscate it and demolish it in front of the public. Get the press to observe too. Cases like the son curi curi take the father’s bike out to race, the police should not entertain if the father want to claim the bike back . If you cant even take care of your own son , you should not even be granted possession of a bike.
    First, you get to reduce bikes and cars on the road instead of the old vehicles scrap scheme which is unfair to low-income earners but law-abiding citizens.
    Second, you get to teach these “tidak-apa” attitude parents to be responsible for their children and not allowing them to endanger themselves and other road users.
    Third, this is not penalizing the rural folks. As long as you obey the law, you are safe.

• Ruzlina on Jun 07, 2018 at 9:50 pm

JPJ has got to do clean up on those without license. I had 2 incidents in the past 10 years where the a motorbike and a car driver without license hit my car. Although minor accident, still they were not supposed to be driving and endangering other motorists.

• Ruzlina on Jun 07, 2018 at 9:52 pm

Was deciding to buy car during CNY promo. Lucky me I waited for Raya promo. Got GST zero some more. Getting my new car next week!!!