KLIMS’18 show to highlight the electrification of cars

Electrification is the wave that’s sweeping over the auto industry now, and the upcoming Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show 2018 (KLIMS 18) won’t be left out. Organised by the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA), KLIMS’18 will run from November 23 to December 2 at the Malaysia International Trade and Exhibition Center (MITEC).

Themed “Beyond Mobility”, preparations are underway for auto marques to showcase their latest technology and products. One of the highlights of the show is the electrification of cars, MAA says.

“The auto industry is a revolution in motion. Technological advancement and innovative initiatives of the world’s brands are powering a mobility phenomenon that have changed the way a car drives. Consumers are also demanding better user experience, safety features and energy efficient vehicles on their powertrains,” said MAA president Datuk Aishah Ahmad.

Honda, the top non-national carmaker in Malaysia, will be showcasing its “Next Generation Advanced Technology” at the show. “KLIMS’18 is a great platform to showcase our advanced engineering and future vision in Malaysia. We are proud to be the pioneer in bringing hybrid into the Malaysia market and followed by “Sport Hybrid” where Malaysia is the only country outside Japan to introduce it,” said Toichi Ishiyama, MD and CEO of Honda Malaysia, referring to the current City and Jazz Hybrid.

“Honda will further excite the Malaysian market with our advanced technology innovation as we strive to provide the joy and freedom of mobility to everyone. We are committed to produce vehicles that are fun-to-drive, environmentally friendly and class-leading safety technology. Honda assures that it is not going to be just about the vehicles, but the advanced technology beyond it,” he added.

Market leader Perodua may not be having electrified cars anytime soon due to its market positioning, but the Myvi maker will preview some new vehicle trends. “As Malaysia’s number one Energy-Efficient Vehicle (EEV) manufacturer, Perodua will be highlighting its technologies in this area at KLIMS’18, as well as displaying vehicle trends designed to excite the young as well as the young-at-heart. There will be something for everybody!” said president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh.

“Perodua will be showcasing a host of vehicles and technologies that extend beyond the vehicles themselves to suit modern lifestyles and global trends. People are at the heart of everything we do at Perodua. All our KLIMS’18 displays are directly geared towards the needs, wants and aspirations of the public,” he added.

Electrification will benefit the environment. “KLIMS’18 is a platform to gather key industry players to advance the automotive market in Malaysia. Sustainable mobility can be realised through a collaborative approach between auto-makers, fuel companies, associated industries, end users and regulators. We should pursue an automotive market in Malaysia that is beneficial for personal mobility and the economic prosperity that vehicles bring, while minimising the impact to the environment,” Aishah said.

According to the “Global Electric Vehicle Market Outlook 2018” report, EVs have a market potential of about 25 million units sold by 2025, with over 400 models expected to be made available then. In 2017, electric cars reached the 1.2 million sales mark with more than 165 models on sale. However, the term ‘electrification’ also includes hybrids and is not limited to full EVs.

MAA is targeting over 100 exhibitors and over 350,000 visitors for KLIMS’18. Confirmed brands include Daihatsu, Ford, Honda, Hyundai, Infiniti, Isuzu, Kia, Lexus, Mitsubishi, Nissan, Peugeot, Perodua, Proton, Toyota, UD, Kawasaki, Honda motorbikes, 3M, Elite Looks, and V-Kool, among others

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• The gurl skirt so short no problem?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 24
    • The gurl skirt longer than gymnast attire so no problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
    • azrai on Jun 06, 2018 at 7:44 am

Mens will surely ‘electrified’ and ‘electrocuted’ to see those short circuit…opss short skirts..

• holofanboi on Jun 05, 2018 at 4:55 pm

Danny Tan you mah man! See? Paultan DOES listen to its readers!

Blondies aint my thing at file-photo-3, but oh well thumbnail is 8/10.

Seriously though, I wonder if promoting electrification in a country as small as ours is a good idea. I mean, a large chunk of our economy is oil-based no? Wouldn’t that affect our economy like…forgot what those European countries that recently had its income from automobile sector affected thanks to 50% electrification.

Would be weird if down the line MAA is indirectly responsible for reducing income derived from automotive sector lol.

Disclaimer: I did not bother to check any of my sources. My opinion is both uneducated and ignorant :3

• Producing Oil is already a sun set industry whether you are aware or not .

ICE causes air pollution and is more TOXIC compare to a smoker sitting next to you .

Look at China and India air pollution cause by ICE — diesel . – you could hardly enjoy fresh air.

This is the FUTURE –EV ( need electrification infra ) whether you like it or not.

This is the PAST —ICE ( not relevant anymore especially diesel) that you had to forgo forever.

• Holofanboi on Jun 05, 2018 at 9:04 pm

I see. Dont get me wrong, im all for electrification for its benefits.

• kzm (Member) on Jun 05, 2018 at 9:23 pm

nowadays not so oil dependent. If not mistaken less than 30%.

• It went down to 14% in previous gov. Now looks like gonna go back to 50% again. Imagine if the oil prices drop once more…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
      • Mohd Azwan on Jun 06, 2018 at 9:19 am

Everything went downhill with the previous corrupted Government

• Leafable on Jun 05, 2018 at 4:58 pm

If you slap a 100% tax on these EV same as ICE car. No average Joe will able to afford it and will continuing to buy ICE cars. Give EV incentives if you really want your citizens to keep up with time.

• They need to continue previous gov of incentivising EV/hybrid/PHEV to be assembled here.

• kzm (Member) on Jun 05, 2018 at 9:25 pm

that what EEV incentive is for to give lower tax as long as the locally made.

• I share the same sentiment. If I were the manufacturer, I would think why would I showcase my e-car here when no one can really afford it.

• Alldisc on Jun 05, 2018 at 6:17 pm

Imo the best route for perodua to go EV or hybrid is to MoU with proton. Make 1 car together, same platform but different body so proton can earn from royalty paid by p2. Remember, proton has a range extender knowledge born as actual car (saga REEV, exora REEV).

• Proton already has electric cars since 2017

https://paultan.org/2014/10/14/proton-ev-2017-under-rm100k/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
      • Yeah, but that oso means they can license the tech to P2. While P1 can aim for more advanced EV tech https://paultan.org/2018/05/30/geely-bo-rui-ge-more-details-revealed-next-proton-perdana/
        Win-win for all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • Mohd Azwan on Jun 06, 2018 at 10:11 am

still spreading fake news. Proton announced electric Iriz 5 years ago. Sampai sekarang pun habok pun tak ada……oh wai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
        • P1 EV just waiting for green light to go into production. No problemo.
          P2 EV habuk pun tarak. Kena tunggu donate from Toyota museum dulu… oh wai

• kzm (Member) on Jun 05, 2018 at 9:27 pm

Ain’t gonna happen..

• thepolygonal on Jun 06, 2018 at 8:50 am

Proton Harapan.

• Hope they bring in tesla, lynk&co, zero motorcycle, kymco electric scooter and more

• where is MAI? disbanded? no news recently?