Valtteri Bottas to race for Mercedes-AMG Petronas Motorsport in 2019, option for a further year in 2020

We’re only halfway through the 2018 Formula One World Championship, but Mercedes-AMG Petronas Motorsport has already confirmed its driver line-up for the 2019 season. Shortly after securing Lewis Hamilton’s services until end 2020, Valtteri Bottas has now signed a one-year contract extension with the team, with the option for a further year in 2020.

Since joining Mercedes in 2017, Bottas has secured three Grand Prix wins and various podium finishes helped the team to a fourth consecutive constructors’ championship. Bottas was previously part of the Williams F1 team, which adopted Mercedes engines from the 2014 season.

“It is great news that I will be racing for Mercedes in 2019 and it is nice to announce it here in Hockenheim – not just the home race for Mercedes but also the circuit where I took my first ever single-seater wins back in 2007. This year, with a full winter of preparation, I have been able to make a good step forward – and I believe that there is still more to come,” commented Bottas.

“We are very pleased to extend Valtteri’s contract with Mercedes for another season at least – and to be able to confirm an unchanged driver line-up for 2019, ahead of our home race in Hockenheim. Valtteri’s performances have been excellent this season and, if not for our mistakes and his misfortune, he could be leading the drivers’ championship at the moment,” said team principal and CEO Toto Wolff.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Logical. Who wud get off a winning team like AMG-Pet? Even if hes not main driver, if he shows capability like Nico, he can oso cilok Lewis to the title.

• Holofanboi on Jul 21, 2018 at 1:09 pm

I know F1 is all about number 1, but he is amazingly consistent in getting no.2 and maintaining it. A great points securer imo.