Malaysians to be ‘gifted’ with higher car prices, rakyat should not have to bear Proton’s problems – Najib

Malaysians to be ‘gifted’ with higher car prices, <em>rakyat</em> should not have to bear Proton’s problems – Najib

On Monday, prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad said the government is reviewing the National Automotive Policy (NAP), and that it could impose new conditions on the importation of foreign vehicles as a means to prioritise local brands. Obviously, this has attracted a lot of commenters, with the latest being former prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak.

In a post on his official Facebook page, Najib said Malaysia is a signatory to various free trade agreements and that encouraging protectionism will trigger a response from other countries that leads to higher prices for Malaysians as well as less competitive exports.

“It is an irony when the rakyat voted on the promise of lower petrol prices and abolished tolls do not get it but will be ‘rewarded’ with higher car prices,” read the post. “When I was elected was prime minister, high car prices and the protection of Proton were among the main complaints and burdens of the rakyat,” it continued.

Focusing on the issue of car prices first, Najib said that during his administration, there was never once he had suggested a policy to raise car prices. “I know that high car prices are a burden to the rakyat, especially for lower- and middle-income groups. Those who are rich can afford to purchase cars with cash but lower- and middle-income groups need to obtain a loan,” he said.

Malaysians to be ‘gifted’ with higher car prices, <em>rakyat</em> should not have to bear Proton’s problems – Najib

As an example, a car sold at RM20,000 will be more expensive due to various taxes and policies, resulting in buyers having to take a nine-year loan at an interest rate of 4%, paying RM28,000 by the end of their loan term. The higher prices, coupled to maintenance and yearly insurance costs add to the buyer’s burden.

“I’m of the view that this situation faced by the rakyat as unfair because the rakyat have the right to lower car prices equipped with modern features, including safety. In the past, this was also the stance of Pakatan that promised to reduce car prices but today, after obtaining power, they’ve forgotten,” said Najib.

He goes on to explain how his government aimed to right the legacy problems, including removing the 10% import tax for cars coming from Japan and introducing the Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) incentive. The distribution of franchise approved permits (AP) to middlemen, a practice of the previous Tun Dr Mahathir administration, was also ended, and are now given directly to vehicle assemblers and distributors. Efforts to restrict selling prices also ensured no seller could make exorbitant profits.

Bringing the goods and services tax (GST) into the discussion, Najib said the GST had a role in reducing car prices when it was introduced, where car prices with 6% GST were lower compared to prices with the previous (but soon to return) 10% sales and services tax (SST).

The result of these efforts, Najib claims, is lower car prices during his administration compared to 20 years ago. Along with the increase in wages, lower car prices also allowed the rakyat to a wider array of choices. He says this is illustrated on the roads today where there are a variety of cars seen compared to in the past where only Protons and Peroduas dominated the streets.

Najib did admit that Barisan Nasional’s pledge to reduce car prices by 30%, as part of its 13th general election manifesto, did not cover all kinds of cars. “There are those in my government that voiced their concern that lowering car prices too quickly would add pressure on banks, used car dealers and the value of household assets; a few model prices were down 30%. As a whole, car prices were reduced at different levels,” he said, adding that several public transport projects were initiated at the time too.

On the issue of Proton, Najib refuted claims that he was not supportive of the national carmaker. “I must state that my government provided a RM1.1 billion R&D grant and RM1.5 billion soft loan to Proton, even then only when they proved they had a sustainability plan that was feasible,” said Najib.

“When I was elected prime minister and before my relationship with Tun Mahathir became tense, the government provided support to Dr Mahathir for his electric car project. From a request made by Dr Mahathir, a RM270 million grant was given to Proton in 2010 to establish a joint venture with a company in the United Kingdom (Frazer-Nash Research) owned by his friend, Kamal Siddiqi, to develop electric cars and lorries,” he recalled.

“However, the investment failed and the government decided not to provide any more grants. This had made Dr Mahathir angry,” he continued.

In his post, Najib said he was still supportive of Proton but is of the opinion that the rakyat should not have to bear Proton’s problems and the company must compete on its own capabilities like Perodua. “If Perodua can become a top car brand in this country, there’s no excuse for Proton not to reach a similar position,” he stated.

“The latest reports that Malaysia could resort to policies of the 1980s and 1990s is worrying. I urge the new government to make the necessary considerations because implanting (these policies) will surely burden the rakyat, yet again,” Najib added.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Ben Yap on Jul 31, 2018 at 10:57 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 203
    • Are you talking about high car prices now? What TDM is suggesting of even higher car prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 7
      • Janji ditepati on Jul 31, 2018 at 11:48 am

Najib did admit that Barisan Nasional’s pledge to reduce car prices by 30%.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
        • lilytan on Jul 31, 2018 at 12:07 pm

Najib is right. Any plans for proton or any local manufacturer should not come at the expense of the public. To level the playing field, help proton but dont suppress its rivals. It will only makes proton weak, not stronger.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 4
          • Iklim on Jul 31, 2018 at 12:30 pm

Malaysians not ‘gifted’ with 9% GST on May09, DannggG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
          • kzm (Member) on Jul 31, 2018 at 1:28 pm

9%? I’m pretty sure oni 6%…

• 9%? Another dupe trying to rewrite history again?

• Grease monkey on Jul 31, 2018 at 2:50 pm

Agree with jibkor

• Manada turun woiii

2013 Saga 1.3MT baru – RM 32,837.
            2018 Saga 1.3MT baru – RM 35,590

Naik RM2,753 (8.39%) ade la!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
          • Where u dapat RM 32k wei? Even Saga SV 1.3 MT is priced at RM 33.9k (-4.9%). But to compare like for like, u shud have used Saga FLX 1.3 MT priced at RM 38.6k (+8.4%). So means it turun 8.4%, not naik 8.4%.

• Terminus on Jul 31, 2018 at 6:15 pm

According to “Click to enlarge” above. Zmry & PT got it right. Up 8.39%.

• The prices in P1 articles dun seem to reflect this thou, perhaps PT oso got infected by Excel malfunction disease?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 31, 2018 at 9:23 pm

The price in the table is accurate, as that is the figure without insurance (like for like comparison to new prices).

The price quoted in the launch article was OTR with insurance.

• I see Haf bro. But then the comparison was against Saga SV for 2013 which isnt the mainstay spec back then, SV was really pisspoor equipped compared with current base Saga3. The correct one shud be Saga FLX MT version. Apples & apples bro. Cheers!

• karim on Jul 31, 2018 at 1:29 pm

which is as simple as reduce 15% of excise duty in the first year, then 5% in the following 3 years bringing a total of reduction of 30% in the tax bracket.

car prices remain to follow the docket list, as well as the dealer distributor margin.

lets say a perodua myvi costing 15k, 75% excise duty is 11.25k. total is 26.25k.
          add GST, margin (with buffer for discounts) and that will bring all in to 40k.

a reduction of 30% on excise is mot huge an impcat, its less than 4k for this specific model.

• Oxford on Jul 31, 2018 at 8:54 pm

He’s now at his most righteous in 10years. Ironically wearing the oppo hat.

• He has alwiz been that way. U just never listened thats all.

• PH won the election not by u alone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • digidigi on Jul 31, 2018 at 12:44 pm

what car are you driving? Lol if a bmw318 selling for 300k you still can afford ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Not that I’m supporting either but Jibby where is the promised of 30% reduction of car price since you promised 5 years ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 32
    • He promised car-free travel, but u pipu voted him out. So now u can enjoice higher car prices. Congrats.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 34
    • Norlia on Jul 31, 2018 at 11:19 am

Not to be a spoilsport in the game of whack-an-ex-PM, but in a way the prices did come down nearly 30%. If you think about it, a Honda City Espec has as much space and equipment as the previous gen Civic and if compared their prices (80k vs 110k) the difference is about 28%. So you do get an equivalent car for near 30% reduction of car prices. Just want to point that out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 33
      • Suriati on Jul 31, 2018 at 12:08 pm

Agree. Persona has as much space and equipment as the previous gen Perdana. (60k vs 120k) the price difference is about 50%. Car prices did actually come down. 2 cents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 6
      • 12yrsold john on Jul 31, 2018 at 12:09 pm

U do know the materials in the Civic & City are very different Right!! Take eg, the dash of the Civic is much softer compare to the City not to mention the weight, width, legroom & engine too.

If U still think a 2018 City is as big as a 2013 Civic, I suggest U check again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 14
        • Let me chip in cuz I made this argument b4. If u compare both base version at the prices she mentioned, they used the same materials: hard plastics everywhere. And Civic FB was the cost cutting generation then, so quality of materials was pisspoor. In terms of interior space, they r almost comparable since FB is shorter & lower than previous gen FC. FB engine of cuz is bigger which makes the car heavier, FC oso more so its relative. But the number of gadgets & safety in City makes FB cry in shame.

• Afeeq Hasan on Jul 31, 2018 at 2:24 pm

Space and equipment? Anyone can make there be bigger space without adding much costs. As for equipment, as technology advances and time passes, newer technology is passed down to cheaper cars. Just because the space and equipment is better than before, doesn’t mean the overall package is on par. A City and Civic are not in the same level even if they have the same equipment (I.e. safety sense – which btw is standard in countries like the US but not in Malaysia because they have to keep prices low due to the insane taxes). Do you get what I mean?

• That what he mean. U did not get all in City years ago as City today for almost the same price.

• sam123 on Jul 31, 2018 at 11:00 am

“Kita juga menghentikan amalan ketika pentadbiran Tun Dr Mahathir yang memberi AP francais kepada orang tengah, dan memberikannya kepada pembuat kereta dan pengedar secara terus dan memperketatkan harga jualan bagi memastikan mereka tidak membuat untung melampau.”

Hi guys, is this true?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Diss-illusions on Jul 31, 2018 at 11:43 am

For every open AP you have to pay RM10k. It wasn’t free. The free APs were franchise APs which were given to the distributors as well as those that import CKD kits (needs AP too for this).

Question now is, what happens to the open AP? Is it going to be free?

• U still trust them? Hahahaha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
      • Ketat on Jul 31, 2018 at 12:36 pm

Omg. Title also macem entertaiment tabloid.
        “Siti ditampar teman lelaki?”
        “Aishah kahwin lagi?”
        “Pelakon sado diugut?”

HahahahahAh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • hahaha on Jul 31, 2018 at 2:19 pm

BS… AP implementation is pretty much similar to his predecessor. no change. in fact there is nothing done to make the switch any earlier.

• johnnas on Jul 31, 2018 at 11:10 am

Semua PM sama saja but I do admire his move on Proton and implementation of GST.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
    • The implementation of GST is correct but the way they spend on GST is wrong!.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 6
      • Better than spending on the selected few exclusive Kawans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
      • DonkeyKong on Jul 31, 2018 at 6:06 pm

Among the things that GST was spent on:

– BR1M handouts
        – Penang flood mitigation assistance
        – Offsetting the cost of Pan Borneo Highway project that benefits largely the B40 population
        – Offsetting various public transport infrastructure costs like MRT2, MRT3, LRT extension, LRT3, etc.

So, what exactly was GST collections poorly spent on? There would have probably been some leakages but to consider the entire GST collection wasted rather than seeing the benefits that it provided?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
  • Najib is bodo. Its not P1 thats the problem, cuz its on the road to recovery with Geely. Its P1 2.0 thats the problem. No wonder he got kicked out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 32
    • People do not want P1 2.0 because of P1 1.0. Whatever it is P1 is a bad mantra.

• Izham on Jul 31, 2018 at 1:06 pm

I put it to you that you are bodo. Which administration opened up for Proton to be teamed up with arguably the best partner (in Geely)? Instead of a certain Tun who opposed the move yet admitted the Boyue was a good car.

• Tepuk tepukk tepok
        Macam nie la baru betul stail pembangkang.

Hidup Bapak Najib! Kekal pembangkangg oi!

• Ithnin Rashid85 on Jul 31, 2018 at 11:16 am

Do i care? i buy car once every 9 years….not everyday…S#upid punya statment dari pembangkang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 47
    • U shud cuz its not just car prices only that will go up. If vehicles (inc trucks) prices goes up, then prices of goods and produce goes up, and cost of living goes up. MY will become rich cuz only the rich can live here then. Congrats MY pipu!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 7
      • maslan on Jul 31, 2018 at 11:57 am

with GST or car prices, prices of goods should still be cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
        • Without GST, general prices din went down. But when SST comes back, for sure prices of everything will shoot sky high. New MY is making the rich richer and the poor poorer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 9
          • john.

You really have no idea of what you are talking about, do you?

You have an opinion on everything, without the knowledge to back it up.

Pitiful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 27
          • TheStar had a FB discussion regarding SST vs GST. Go and see urself the comments from the netizens lar! Stop living in ur own PH propaganda bubble.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
          • So you are saying that prior to the GST being implemented, prices were “sky high”, (your words), then prices dropped once the GST was brought in.

OK, an interesting perspective.

Now that the GST is being abolished and replaced with the SST, you say prices will be “sky high”, which apparently you were OK with during the majority of the Najib regime.

For the record, were you for GST when it came in, or were you still peddling the same rhetoric about that?

As for your other quote, “The rich richer and the poor poorer”, that’s exactly the same guff that gets wheeled out all over the world from those who have nothing tangible to say about the state of their country’s economy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
          • Since when did I say prices were skyhigh preGST? Read properly. Prices werent terrible preGST, neither was it terrible postGST. But for sure now prices WILL BE TERRIBLE postSST. And in SST, its not gov that will benefit but those who do business unscrupulously.

Ur gov lied and says removing GST, prices and cost of living will go down which it din. So now SST gonna come in, can they make certainly sure prices wun go up even 1sen? Not unless this is a DPRK country lar! And GST is the better of the 2 systems, as acknowledge by majority of countries. Free, of cuz, is best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
          • You asked…..”Since when did I say prices were skyhigh preGST?”

You said…”But when SST comes back, for sure prices of everything will shoot sky high”

Surely you are advocating that once SST returns it will have a bad effect on the economy, hence your “sky high ” comment. That also must mean that prior to the GST, when we already had a SST system, prices must have been “sky high” in those times too.

Same tax system, right?

Keep the blindfold on and retain those thoughts of the glory days under Najib. Ah, those were the days, eh? What was it you said about the rich getting richer? Yes, I fully understand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
          • Ur logic is weak. Ur argument to back it up is fallacy.
            Read “Prices werent terrible preGST, neither was it terrible postGST. But for sure now prices WILL BE TERRIBLE postSST.” Everybody, even the man on the streets r predicting prices will go up once SST is back. U speak of blindfolds but its u who r wearing it without realising. U agree the rich will get richer? Perhaps cuz it will be u pipu who benefits from Price Hikes postSST?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
          • You asked….” U agree the rich will get richer?”

No.What has implementing the SST got to do with wealthy people getting wealthier? The figures bandied about are that SST will bring in around RM20+ Billion less than the GST, therefore giving the people more disposable income. Even your hero, Najib, agrees there is this amount of shortfall. And what will happen with the extra cash the people have, yes, they will spend it, pushing the economy and also giving the government more taxes from their purchasing power.

You stated….”Perhaps cuz it will be u pipu who benefits from Price Hikes postSST?”

U pipu? People like me? And what type of special person am I to benefit from the SST? Unfortunately I’m not in the bracket like some, who can afford to have my personal jewellery supplier send me over RM60 million worth of stock to pick and choose from. Perhaps we should ask “pipu” like her to advise us all on how to plan a household budget on an MP’s salary, so that we can indulge ourselves with all the finer things in life. It would be a riveting read. With that type of insight, we wouldn’t need to worry about a SST or GST affecting our weekly budget.

I won’t be holding my breath waiting for the book.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
          • Ur calculation is too simplistic. Just cuz gov got less in taxes via SST, u assume that pipu pays less. Have u ever considered that pipu pays more but then gov gets less taxes? So where do u think the rest went? Of cuz to the pockets of those who can afford sophisticated methods to hide profits which the rich r capable of, thereby making the rich even richer. Can u see this now after removing the blindfolds?

Again we knows u pipu r sapoting this becoz u alls gains the most from SST. Alredi we see ur vile tentacles coiling around the vast reserves that Najib & AAB painstakingly built after having to pay off Bapaks misadventures to the tune of 300b. Perhaps u shud ask him how he got away with it?

• RejimKejamGanas on Jul 31, 2018 at 8:12 pm

@BJ, when the govt introduced the GST, traders unscrupulously jacked up prices, providing all kinds of stupid excuses. The KPDNKK, being spineless, did not go out and perform the enforcement as they are supposed to. Now, with the GST gone, with little to no effect on existing prices, do you think the traders won’t jack up prices by using the SST as an excuse? Whether the govt collects 1Billion or 21Billion, do you think the traders care? History will just repeat itself, the useless piece of rubbish that is KPDNKK, still needs to do its job. I can assure you that come SST, traders will still jack up their prices because of not only the SST, but because of weak currency exchange as excuse. Just watch! In reality GST had little to do with it.

• LOL

You state….”Again we knows u pipu r sapoting this becoz u alls gains the most from SST. Alredi we see ur vile tentacles coiling around the vast reserves that Najib & AAB painstakingly built….”

There you go again with your “u pipu” comment. People like me? Where do I benefit from the demise of GST and the introduction of SST?

For the record, I have lived and worked in 3 different countries in my career and I definitely have no political allegiances. In fact, I have a very low respect for many politicians, no matter what party they belong to. Many get into the political game with good intentions, however they are soon influenced to go along the party line and the reasons for them initially wanting to become a politician soon disappear.

As for the previous Malaysian administration, please do not insult me or the other readers by saying they did a wonderful job.

As for the current administration, it’s far too early to have any opinion on how they will perform, however I doubt very much that they will turn Malaysia into the land of milk and honey.

Reality is, that happens nowhere.

Just try to refrain from flogging a dead horse by trying to convince everyone that Malaysia was a wonderful place under the Najib administration. It wasn’t.

And it probably won’t be under TM’s administration. That’s life, unfortunately.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
          • I din say they did a wonderful job but at least their efforts were more pipu oriented, equitable and poor-friendly than his predecessor/successor. If u choose to remain in lalaland wearing blindfolds then its ur choice but the rakyat has awoken to the nightmare they have wrought.

• I remember there was a Mahathir’s pet project by the name of Inventqjaya in Cyberjaya. That company was awarded a 400 million in grant to advance research in battery tech. It was all over the news to supposedly showcase the success of Cyberjaya in the early days.

Well, as any pet project, the pet eventually dies. A pet is only a subject of personal gratification. You can never make money out of it.

Apparently, the CEO, some shady Arab figure (always an Arab) took off with the rest of the money meant for research after 1 or 2 demonstration in front of média. Now that place is leased by CUCMS.

If Mahathir counts this as part of a 1 trillion government debt, I wholeheartedly agree.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
    • RejimKejamGanas on Jul 31, 2018 at 8:15 pm

Keep in mind, in all such endeavors, Mahathir’s nominees and proxies always take their cut. This is then channeled back to him. This is the real reason, not because he was completely clueless.

• Change on Jul 31, 2018 at 11:24 am

There is a reason why we need to change government every 5 year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • MyDedak on Jul 31, 2018 at 11:31 am

Najib yg bermuka tembok. Dulu kamu pun tak ada bikin apa2. Subsidi lagi tarik. Sekarang mau cakap pandai. Buzz off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 55
    • Subsidi tarik but he gips MRT1 & 2, LRT1 & 2 extensions, LRT3 (full capability, not cost down price up version), HSR, & ECRL. PH promise of Rm1.50 petrol not yet gip alredi talking about car price increase. Still want him to buzz off?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 23
      • Lancermania on Jul 31, 2018 at 6:13 pm

ermm, all tis project benefits West Malaysia onli, what about East Malaysia whr the govt earn the most frm thr? thr is nt even a rail road at sarawak..

• U tarak tengok Pan Borneo kah? Supposedly shubd be the longest free highway in MY but perhaps now, Bapak toll will charge for it.

• Oh and Sarawak wuz supposed to have LRT. Now… uhuhuhuhu

• DonkeyKong on Jul 31, 2018 at 6:08 pm

Org kampung tak terpelajar mcm ko ni la yg undi PH masa PRU14 tu.. masih tak menyesal pasal bodoh sombong sangat..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • LOK CHYI YEU on Jul 31, 2018 at 11:39 am

This one really perfect smack in tun M face. I also don’t like the stupid proton thing. How many more years should we protect it? Forever won’t grow up. And I think Geely is perfectly capable of doing their business compare to tun M way, they can turn Volvo super profitable in such a short while, where last time Proton took over lotus they both die even miserably

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • Leonardo on Aug 01, 2018 at 8:48 am

Obviously you do not understand the politics here. I don’t think TunM wants to help Proton , now that it is owned by Geely. Since Najib is an Opposition now, he just wants to discredit Tun who started Proton (and Perodua) and mentioned Rakyat’s money just to stir angry response from people who is in the dark, or pretended to be in the dark. The new Govt no longer give any funding to Proton after the Geely takeover.
      BTW companies like DreamEdge is also eagerly waiting for the 3rd National car? (Actually Naza and Inokom is also a National Car, which many Malaysians overlooked).

• Jojmbul on Jul 31, 2018 at 11:42 am

Rakyat have to give in to bapak’s ego.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Observers on Jul 31, 2018 at 11:50 am

Congratulations guys.. Enjoy the gift from our new government. Good job and enjoy it ok.. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
  • Now i know the reason why honda can sell more car than proton.

Under tun M, it is a dream to buy import car. With a low or middle income, most of malaysian only can afford iswara,wira or kancil.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Yes Najib.

Tepukkkkkkkkkk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • Circle of Life on Jul 31, 2018 at 11:59 am

Dr M loves giving grants to friends… and doing other totalitarian things… and anyone who says no he will destroy… and put u away… unless he needs your help to take down the next person… then he will team up… get you out of jail… and get you a royal pardon…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
  • U-Tun on Jul 31, 2018 at 12:14 pm

Maybe should start counting the perwaja, bnm forex, IPP, tolls scandals etc.. I guess it comes to 400 billions in today’s money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Elwin Tan Guan Huat on Jul 31, 2018 at 12:20 pm

Najib janji manis… Alot
    If najib winning this Election will be More Worst… To our country. Maybe the car price os highest then PH.
    Najib word cannot trust anymore…
    Byebye najib…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 38
    • Only speculation. Never did happen in his 9 years in charge. What we do know is, when SST comes in car prices will definitely be higher, when NAP 2.0 comes in non-national cars will definitely be higher. This is just history repeating itself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
  • applegreen on Jul 31, 2018 at 1:06 pm

Obviously most contents from Najib FB was not from his own mind. Surely somebody gave infos to him. If you ask Najib directly about national automative industry he will cry “Saya tak tahu” “Saya tak tahu”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
    • DonkeyKong on Jul 31, 2018 at 6:11 pm

“I don’t know” is the words that come out of Tun M’s mouth 90% of the time. Speak to Najib personally for once, and you will realize that he is well-informed and can articulate well. It’s the same as KJ, Rafizi, Azmin, etc. They may say stupid things in news reports, but speak to them in real-life, and they’re actually quite smart.

But Guan Eng on the other hand… ini, manyak susah… he’s as dumb in real life as he appears in mass media..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • Gabriel on Jul 31, 2018 at 1:18 pm

Judging from what the current government is doing, i realised that the policy under Jibby is more rakyat friendly. In a way it is good that the PH is now in gov, so that we can judge their performance vs BN. But for now, I can see more pluses from the previous gov in comparison to the new one.
    I’m still waiting for Penang Bridge toll abolishment which was promised by our current Finance Minister. Tipu or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
  • Desmond on Jul 31, 2018 at 1:28 pm

Our beloved Tun will know how to administer to have everyone happy not the gst administered.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • Bhadarul Baharain Sulaiman on Jul 31, 2018 at 1:58 pm

Najib, for an indivudual who has run the Malaysian economy aground, please keep yr comments to yourself.

You still behave like you r the PM of Malaysia. You r not even leader of pembangkang.

I suggest that the media forget abt this individual named najib. The amount of suffering you hv caused malaysians is unimagineable!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 26
    • So now he is ex-PM he got no say kah? What about that certain ex-now-current-PM who u pipu sapoted like a zombie who truly ran the economy to the ground that it took 20 years to repair just for him to come back for 2nd round again? MY pipu mudah lupa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
    • Motlu on Jul 31, 2018 at 5:26 pm

NaJib, fOr aN iNdIvIdUaL wHo hAs rUn tHe MAlAySiAn eCoNoMy aGrOuNd, PlEaSe kEeP yOuR cOmMeNtS tO yOuRsElF

YOu sTiLl bEhAvE lIkE yOu R tHe PM oF MAlAySiA. YOu r nOt eVeN lEaDeR oF pEmBaNgKaNg.

I sUgGeSt tHaT tHe mEdIa fOrGet aBoUt tHiS iNdIvIdUaL nAmEd nAjIb. THe aMoUntT oF sUfFeRiNg yOu HaVe cAuSeD mAlAySiAn iS uNiMaGiNeAbLe!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • For once I agree with Jibby.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Hi guys,

Whatever it is. Most people think that “barang” will turun harga under new gov. From what i know,items prices will always increase every year. The only difference is how much increases per year? There is no such thing that “barang will turun harga every year”. Right? Gst? From what i see most people after gst implemented didnt drop the previous tax that applied coz font want rugi. And as for KDNKK or gov dun have any idea or how to control.or maybe they dun want to do their job.

I agree with what najib said, (even tho i dun really like him). And, from what i can see, najib did quite alot of improvements before within 9years. UTC (really convenient because gov service are available until night), RTC, MRT, Klinik 1malaysia/they open gov clinic until 10pm as well. 1Azam, n i can see it is useful for many people in every state.

Mahader in 22 years? Yes he did quite well also. Petronas, Klia, putra n cyber. All based in selangor/kl area. But how about Rural? Sarawak? Sabah? Kelantan or PAS area? i can see those places were almost untouch. Most of it. Maybe and hopefully this time he will help other states as well.

to read alot of good comments here. That reflected who and how we (malaysian) think.

Thx

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • RejimKejamGanas on Jul 31, 2018 at 8:30 pm

East Malaysia did not even have an interstate highway until Najib came along. The LRT under Tun was just treated like spoils by his cronies to milk the public. Najib came along and fixed that, integrated monorail, LRT, Kommuter into what we have today. It was Najib’s administration that begun the real turn-around of Proton, not Tun. Mahathir only cares about his cronies becoming rich by supplying to Proton. With Geely in the picture now, it is becoming difficult for this daylight robbery. So he wants to create another Proton, so he and his friends can continue to rob use blind.
      I dislike the “cash is king” idiot as much as the next Malaysian, but it was Mahathir that created the mess we are in today. The only real difference between Mahathir and Najib, is that Mahathir is better at conning Malaysians.

• Yeah, spot ON jibby. This is what we want, good opposition. If current PH falls on their promise, we change again. Ppl power

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • But why we need to suffer 5 years 1st? Just so we cukur for what he did?

• MenteriPasola101 on Jul 31, 2018 at 6:14 pm

Yes , last 60 years feels like heaven in Malaysia, hidup Kak Mah

• Kira la brape byk gov sudah bagi duit sama Proton. Lepas tu u kira brape byk Proton sudah bayar tax sama Gov. Saya yakin Proton bayar tax lagi byk kpda gov. Tak perlu ckp gov bantu Proton dgn duit rakyat

• azhar on Jul 31, 2018 at 3:45 pm

coming from a PM who promised 30% reduction of car price!!

• Kalim on Jul 31, 2018 at 3:45 pm

I don’t see why buying a proton would be to bear proton’s problems and why malaysian are considered ‘blessed’ by high imported car price. We were given choices, if we were to buy Proton not because we were ‘forced’ to help proton but because we wanted the car. Buying product would means its cheaper, and benefits the country financial state by reducing Ringgit flow outside. Not to forget the parts of imported cars will come from ourside as well. Najib previous regime put malaysian in dept without our knowledge, that one we have to bear the cost wether we like it or not. I wonder why should we let him roam free on this land he betrayed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Debt by whose definition? Certainly not the International Economists and authorities, and the ratings agencies. No sane person will belip if a richman were to say hes poor when they know he got billions in the bank; Bapak is prime example. But majority MY pipu belips this lie, so proves that most MY pipu not of sane mind.

• Amroz on Jul 31, 2018 at 6:28 pm

Our big bike price are more than our neighbours. Their internet is faster.Their religious freedom is better. Now we have higher car price for prize ! If PH is a responsibility government, get rid of old diesel trucks and two stroke motorcycles !

• Madiganung on Jul 31, 2018 at 6:54 pm

PH ..gagal ..
    marahkan Tidak selamatkan proton sampai memberontak terus ke Sokong Bershit jilat ludah bersengkongkol dengan DAP ….
    Dasar kaki kroni ….
    Hidup UMNO ….
    Hidup PAS ….

• I’m not gonna take economy lessons from this guy that’s for sure.

• Better than the guy who screwed up our economy for 22 years, thats for sure.

• Jim Lee on Aug 01, 2018 at 12:11 pm

Why are we still listening to this guy?