GIIAS 2018: Wuling Cortez MPV – a 1.8L Innova fighter

At last year’s Gaikindo Indonesia International Auto Show (GIIAS), we detailed the Wuling Confero, the SAIC-GM venture’s maiden product in the republic. That one shocked the core Low MPV market (Toyota Avanza, Daihatsu Xenia, Suzuki Ertiga, Honda Mobilio) with space and pricing, which was not much higher than smaller 1.2L Low Cost Green Car MPVs Toyota Calya and Daihatsu Sigra.

Here’s the Chinese carmaker’s second shot at the Indonesian MPV market, and the Wuling Cortez takes aim at the segment above – the Toyota Innova class. Development work was done in Indonesia, where the carmaker has a US$700 million plant with an annual capacity of 120,000 vehicles. It was introduced late last year and the official launched happened in February.

The Cortez measures 4,780 mm long and 1,816 mm wide, which makes it a useful 250 mm longer and 125 mm wider than the Confero. Its 2,750 mm wheelbase is just 30 mm longer than the smaller Wuling’s, which means that most of the extra length is in the rear overhangs.

The Cortez is powered by a 1.8 litre engine with 129 hp and 174 Nm, paired to either a six-speed manual gearbox or a five-speed i-AMT automated manual transmission with Eco and Sport modes. There’s also the option of a 1.5 litre engine as found in the Confero – the 110 hp/142 Nm DVVT comes with the sole choice of a six-speed manual. While the Confero is driven by the rear wheels, the Cortez is front-wheel drive.

It’s still a boxy MPV, but the Cortez looks more premium than the Confero. Like the DFSK Glory 580 SUV we showed you earlier today, this Wuling also has an Audi Q5-style rear wrap-around hatch. Seems like the Q5’s backside is much desired in China.

The more upmarket intent is more apparent in the cabin. You would have seen the horizontal dashboard somewhere before, but it looks decent, and rather advanced even, with a “blackout” AC panel, big colour multi-info display, floating screen and electronic parking brake. That analogue dash clock is rather gaudy in a car like this, though.

Wuling’s big 7/8-seater MPV is quite well equipped. The base 1.5 S Type comes with projector headlamps, a 3.5-inch MID, rear blower, USB ports for all rows, ABS/EBD and dual airbags. That’s basic, but the 1.5 and 1.8 C Type adds on LED daytime running lights, foglamps, electric folding wing mirrors, aeroblade wipers and a shark fin antenna to the exterior.

The Type C’s cabin comes with an eight-inch touchscreen entertainment system with Mirrorlink and Bluetooth, reverse camera, audio and call steering buttons, soft touch instrument panel and semi-leather seats. It’s also equipped with a tyre pressure monitoring system and four-point reverse sensors. The 1.8 Type C adds on an electric parking brake, brake hold, hill hold control, brake assist and ESP.

The range topping 1.8 Type L you see here steals the show with all the above plus auto LED headlamps, LED rear/brake lights, exterior chrome trim, sunroof, “luxury meter cluster” with seven-inch colour MID, GPS, auto AC with heater, electric front seats, leather wrapped steering, ambient lighting, side airbags (four in total), seatbelt indicators for all seats, front parking sensors (two points), auto wipers, remote opening sunroof and six speakers.

The Wuling Cortez starts from Rp 218 juta (RM61,553) for the 1.5S and tops out at Rp 264 juta (RM74,542) for the 1.8L Lux+ AMT. The warranty package is three years or 100,000 km, plus five years or 100,000 km for the engine and transmission. Like the Confero, buyers get plenty of car for the money with the Cortez. Would this make headway in Malaysia?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Bernard on Aug 10, 2018 at 2:36 pm

It will take some time getting used to the name ‘Wuling’ ….. hahahahahahaha

• John Baoteng on Aug 10, 2018 at 5:55 pm

Exactly the reason why Proton should not exist anymore.

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Aug 10, 2018 at 2:37 pm

While China was improving their cars so much, we in Malaysia were minum teh 8X a day, makan kuih lapis and tari menari in kenduris.

Don’t forget, China auto industry was so backward 20 years ago and we were leading.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 20
    • Why bring Perodua into the picture? They have nothing to do with this China car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • Bodo tak tau sejarah on Aug 12, 2018 at 7:48 pm

What shit u talking? Its TDM that copy China Automotive Policy where they forced foreign car maker to set up joint venture with state company. Just google VW China in 1984.

• NicoC on Aug 10, 2018 at 3:38 pm

Don’t forget, very early we oredy smelled opportunities in China auto industry. Had cooperation JV w Youngman Automobile China & Goldstar Heavy Industrial.

• Lolwhut? on Aug 10, 2018 at 4:03 pm

Lapis lazuli, hmmmmm.

• Lets See on Aug 10, 2018 at 4:13 pm

This is a car site. It is not a teh 8x or kuih lapis or tari menari site. You want to talk about teh 8x or kuih lapis or tari menari go to that site.

Here we talk about cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
    • JOACHIM on Aug 10, 2018 at 4:48 pm

20 years ago, we were still depending on outdated Japanese hand-me down models, while China were manufacturing indigenous tanks, ships & airplanes. Cars? Pfft!

Get it into your head, we were never leading except for one man’s propensity for self-gratification mega projects.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Sapot Cortez! Conqueror of South Amerika!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 14
    • John May 9 Nangis on Aug 10, 2018 at 3:23 pm

This is a car site. We talk about motoring issues. We don’t talk about Conqueror of South America (spelt with a c)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
      • At least got same same name as Hernan Cortez lor. Ur teh, kuih lapis, tari menari go nothing to do with this article. So like someone above said, u can take ur bollocks go somewhere else.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 12
  • I like it

• Mikey on Aug 10, 2018 at 3:27 pm

No wonder Murican(Trump) are afraid of China. They are invading the world with so many affordable(some call it cheap) vehicles. Lucky for P1 otherwise Habislah Kita.

• Ben Yap on Aug 10, 2018 at 3:40 pm

the 1.8 engine is so so weak. it’s much weaker than the 1.8 civic FC.

the power output is similar to a 1.6 engine only.

• indonesia tiada kereta nasional dan harga kereta lebih murah di sana. di malaysia bilalah mahu murah sama macam sana. tak perlulah suruh tinggal di indo pula. kereta murah boleh simpan duit beli banglo 3 tingkat pula..haha..

• There is a newer wuling Cotez with 1.5 liter turbo engine. Priced at only USD 19000. The interior is luxurious and with complete specs. This will kill japanese brand.