Gov’t to improve transportation network in east coast

The government says that it will strive to improve land connectivity in the east coast states to offset the loss of the East Coast Rail Link (ECRL), which has been shelved, The Star reports.

Transport minister Anthony Loke said these states would not be neglected despite the government’s decision to axe the ECRL, which was announced by prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad earlier this week during his visit to China. Mahathir said that the project had to be cancelled because of the country’s need to manage its finances.

“The decision to scrap the ECRL was made by the cabinet due to cost factor. But I would like to give an assurance to those in the east coast that we will never neglect you,” Loke said. He said that the government will continue to rehabilitate the existing Gemas-Tumpat single track railway line and improve the road network in the east coast.

Rail concessionaire KTM was forced to temporarily close the Gemas-Tumpat line after sections of the track, the signalling systems, stations and also the Kemubu Bridge were destroyed or badly damaged as a result of severe flooding in late 2014. The stretch was reopened in June 2016 following repairs, but the number of services have been limited.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Bruno Mars on Aug 23, 2018 at 11:14 am

Another illogical comment from Loki. How do you “improve” public transportation bu cancelling the said public transportation? Don’t talk about Gemas-Tumpat because that was already ongoing project before you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 10
  • Apa lagi pembangkang mahu? on Aug 23, 2018 at 11:30 am

Already built them Lebuh Pantai Timur from Karak to Kuala Terengganu and Central Spine Road from Kuala Pilah to Gua Musang. What else these opposition state want?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 33
    • Ghani on Aug 23, 2018 at 12:01 pm

How about better public transportation?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Besta on Aug 23, 2018 at 9:11 pm

Good better best. https://paultan.org/2017/04/04/malaysian-public-transport-rated-best-value-in-asean/

• Happy on Aug 23, 2018 at 10:43 pm

“One landmark project is the Sungai Buloh-Kajang mass transit line, a driverless commuter rail system that will connect an area north west of the capital Kuala Lumpur with Kajang, a fast-developing town located to the south east,”

Meaning if we stopped doing so, we lose that advantage. Hey Presto! MRT3 is cancelled, LRT3 is downsized, ECRL is cancelled, HSR is cancelled! What a coincidence, shooting both foot at once!

• Red jacket on Aug 23, 2018 at 1:23 pm

I’m sure brain dead like you don’t get what ECRL is all about. It’s not only for people to balik kampung. If you study more about the route and cargo points you’ll know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • nak buat pandai tapi kurang bijak on Aug 23, 2018 at 6:19 pm

Genius, those ship will transfer their container to train and travel over land to Port Klang. If you study about time management you would know how long the time frame needed to do such operation.

• EDITOR on Aug 23, 2018 at 10:39 pm

It’s faster for those containers to travel from Shenzhen by train to Port Klang and ship out, than going around the Straits by sea.

• Think again on Aug 24, 2018 at 8:15 am

I guess u never consider traffic for passenger commuter train and capacity of cargo train in compare to cargo vessel.

• JOACHIM on Aug 24, 2018 at 3:32 pm

Editor was rite, and im guessing you never seen those snaking freight train lines that are prevalent in US/Canada/EU. ECRL is primarily for freight movement rather than people but the fact that its there makes it easier to travel. Too bad all that is a pipe dream now.

• No point on Aug 24, 2018 at 8:40 pm

Do you ever see US/EU/Canada map?

They are landlock and we are not, our coast to coast only the most 300km width.

• JOACHIM on Aug 25, 2018 at 1:02 am

Dumkopf! The freight isn’t coming from one side of Peninsular to the other! It’s from Shenzhen, Xian, Kunming, Shanghai, etc. Do you think these places are in Malaysia?

• Day bodo memanglah bodo on Aug 25, 2018 at 3:12 pm

Dumkopf, after Kelantan is Thailand not China. Check the map again and most China industrial area at coastal area not landlocked Xian. After train is not efficient as vessel where it can easily haul 500container in a trip where train the most only 100car. Dont forget you need to consider traffic of passenger train.

• Slirh on Aug 23, 2018 at 11:45 am

Dear Minister,
    I am all ears for a concrete plans to improve the East Coast connectivity to the West Coast and Southern areas. A lot have been said ie double tracking for east coast rail from Gemas, a new highway and rail tracks connection to Johor Bharu/Singapore, LPT3 (announced but no detailed plans as yet) etc.
    its time for the Minister in charge to act and deliver concrete plans to rakyat. Also, please stay out making political comments ie previous govt’s at fault or this new govt will deliver etc. We the rakyat needs to see Affirmative Plans supported by real budget allocation and periodic reporting in the Parliment detailing the Actual vs Planned progress. All these honeyed talks are over and you are now have been voted in and chosen as the minister. So buck up and deliver your promises as a Minister

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • Outalingam Crap on Aug 23, 2018 at 3:56 pm

Slirh, I can quite agree with you – how about linking up Mentakab KTM Station with towns like Maran, Gambang, and Kuantan all the way up to Kota Bharu WITHOUT any need of electrification of tracks? Methinks that should save quite a fair bit of our Government budget for transportation because electrification in primarily vital to the West Coast railway

• Emergency Cost Rail Lie on Aug 23, 2018 at 12:04 pm

What Anthony is saying is we don’t have to spend RM80 bil to upgrade from existing rail infrastructure. Plus ECRL would have cost us RM1 bil a year for maintenance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • Vader on Aug 23, 2018 at 3:45 pm

What Anthony is saying is they do not have money to spend on East Coast people, but got plenty to spend on forgiving speed demons and new national car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
      • you pick on Aug 23, 2018 at 6:28 pm

3rd national car need less than RM1b and can create for 90% local and decade.

ECRL need RM65b and only create job for 50% local and few years. This not include another RM15b of interest and RM0.3b of annual maintenance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
        • Chavez on Aug 23, 2018 at 10:46 pm

What RM 1billion? Experts have calculated that both national car projects costed us a grand sum of RM 200billion!

ECRL will be the economic multiplier the likes of which we never seen before, on par with Keppel Harbour on a certain island.

• Universitas Lanka Asoka on Aug 23, 2018 at 1:30 pm

how about amphibian transportation network for east coast? river ferry cum buses that are annual monsoon flood weather proof?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • How reliable is monsoon flood throughout the year?

• Outalingam Crap on Aug 23, 2018 at 3:53 pm

How do you build that kind of transportation to ferry flood victims?

• Techron on Aug 24, 2018 at 4:25 pm

Just improve the tumpat -gemas track. Lots of kelantanese people use that tumpat gemas train everyday as early at 4 am in the morning to go to school, to work. People in the rural area also use the train as their main transport to go to market for selling their goods like vegetable and fruit. From what i know, many childrens use the train to go to school in rural area and also some of them commute between tumpat, wakaf bharu to go to work in dabong and kuala krai everyday. An improve transportation by the train are very needed by them.