Peugeot 308 facelift introduced in Malaysia – RM130k

Last month, we discovered a brochure for the facelifted Peugeot 308 on social media, and now local distributor Naza has followed that up with an official introduction for the updated C-segment hatchback. The car is being displayed in both cooking THP and hot GTi forms, but it’s the former we’re looking at here.

Priced at RM129,888 on-the-road without insurance, the THP model retails around the same level as before, which came in at RM132,888 with insurance and the old goods and services tax (GST). Included in the price is a five-year/120,000 km factory warranty and three years’ 24-hour Peugeot Assistance.

On the outside, the changes amount to a repositioned lion badge, which has moved from the bonnet and into the taller, more upright grille, along with a sportier front bumper with larger, more prominent air intakes. Full-LED headlights remain, but the triple-claw tail lights are now always on, and while the striking 18-inch Saphir two-tone alloy wheels remain, they now sport a darker black finish.

Inside, you’ll find an enhanced i-Cockpit infotainment system, with a capacitive touchscreen (still measuring 9.7 inches) and Apple CarPlay, Android Auto and MirrorLink connectivity. In terms of kit, the THP model loses out on a panoramic glass roof, the massage function for the seats and Alcantara seat trim (it’s still part-leather) of the pre-facelift model, and the multi-info display is now of a lower resolution.

However, the car still gets keyless entry, push-button start, dual-zone climate control, six speakers and a reverse camera. Safety-wise, six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, stability control and hill start assist come as standard, but unfortunately, the previous car’s Driver Assistance Pack, which added autonomous emergency braking and adaptive cruise control, is missing here.

Under the bonnet, the familiar 1.6 litre THP turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine is retained, but it gets a boost in power from 152 PS to 167 PS at 6,000 rpm, although torque holds station at 240 Nm at 1,400 rpm. There’s still an Aisin-sourced six-speed automatic transmission, and as such it doesn’t get the new electronic gearlever – that’s only reserved for the eight-speeders offered in other markets.

The 308 THP will be on display at 1 Utama Shopping Centre until October 28.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Joseph on Oct 24, 2018 at 2:32 pm

308 interior better build than new A-Class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
    • Suffian on Oct 24, 2018 at 3:41 pm

Yeah. I thought I was the only one who notice it. Interior quality better than new A Class. Reasonable price for extra power and who needs panoramic roof anyway?

• Korean cars nicer in terms of fit&finish

• Jonn Dol on Oct 24, 2018 at 5:57 pm

“Korean cars nicer in terms of fit & finish”

Must be dreaming eh?

Very very close to the Germans in terms of interior design/built quality.

• Peugeot 308 @ RM130k. better top up for trueblue conti the A-Class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
          • John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 25, 2018 at 8:17 am

Any Peugeot, there is a secret to buying. If you really love Peugeot so much and sayang it so much, then, be clever at how you buy this car.

If the car is RM130k now, wait one year and buy it in mudah. It will be RM60k. More than half the price.

You will still be safe cause still got 4 years warranty left.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 24, 2018 at 7:12 pm

Good car but bad customer service and after sales. Run by a bunch of lazy people who are utter lazy and always expecting bantuan all the time.

Pity such a good brand but brand collapsed in Malaysia because those running the show are so lazy and have this lepak attitude

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
    • anonymous on Oct 24, 2018 at 4:10 pm

better build, in term of what?

• Jonn Dol on Oct 24, 2018 at 6:00 pm

At least the Pug has a proper Physical Dials than the giant I-Pad thing on the A-Class.

• Brian on Oct 24, 2018 at 9:39 pm

Looks like a Korean instead

• Wow downgrade specs. Nice

• Pyraxle on Oct 24, 2018 at 3:07 pm

Lots of downgrade from pre-FL. What a rubbish

• sayasukapeugeot on Oct 24, 2018 at 3:47 pm

Bro Jonathan ar, we still get the six speed automatic lo

• News flash to those who are misinformed. On the contrary, the New Peugeot 308 is a step-up from the previous edition. The new goodies include: 15 PS more than previous edition, re-profiled exterior and the latest technology for connectivity and such. So how can one simply imply that its a downgrade…brainless!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 23
    • Bro... on Oct 24, 2018 at 4:37 pm

It loses out on Alcantara seats, massage function, panoramic sunroof, autonomous emergency braking (AEB) and adaptive cruise control. All for a higher price. So, upgrade or downgrade?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
  • fastest way to throw money..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 24, 2018 at 5:07 pm

i didnt know peugeot malaysia still exists

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 13
  • Ruslan Bahari on Oct 24, 2018 at 7:11 pm

That’s because you only buy Axia and Saga. That’s your price range.

• ahseng23 on Oct 24, 2018 at 9:13 pm

With same price but remove Panaromic roof, AEB and alcantara seat? These are the few key reason I bought the car and now it’s all gone? Haha I think they trying to preserve my car value lol

Oh the six speaker they have now, is it the high end sound system that I’m enjoying now?

• AEB is gone? Real backwards brand.

• FudgeMeSideways on Oct 25, 2018 at 8:28 am

Havu seen 2014 208 on mudah? Its RM25k. It retailed at over RM80k. Similarly, a 2013 Exora which retailed at circa RM67k is at RM35k.

• fattah on Oct 25, 2018 at 7:35 pm

when it be on sale?

• This is a good car in terms of price 130K; You cannot compare it with A -class because two cars has a 100K difference. As for Kerean car, regarding of fame, quality and performance, Korean is inferior to 308.