Proposed taxi driver protest on October 24 postponed

The proposed taxi driver protest, which was originally scheduled to take place at Padang Merbok on October 24, has been postponed. According to a report by The Star, the postponement will be indefinite as the organisers have not obtained the approval from the authorities.

“We will abide by the law and the police requirements. Tomorrow’s demonstration will be postponed,” said Datuk Shamsubahrin Ismail, the founder of Big Blue Taxi and the person behind the planned protest. As reported previously, taxi drivers in the country have voiced their displeasure towards e-hailing operators like Grab, claiming that their presence has disrupted their rice bowl.

Shamsubahrin explained that the protest would be held in order to meet with transport minister Anthony Loke and land public transport agency (APAD) CEO Mohd Azharuddin Mat Sah to ensure the authorities followed through on their promise to ensure a level playing field for taxi drivers and e-hailing operators.

Of course, the transport ministry had already confirmed that it would implement reforms in the interest of parity, with no intention of abolishing e-hailing services outright. The process will be implemented in stages to ensure a smooth transition for all parties, and will begin on January 1 next year, to be completed within a period of six months.

Among the amendments include the use of vehicles that are not only approved by the government, but also subjected to insurance and tax requirements akin to taxis. E-hailing service providers must also hold a Public Service Vehicle (PSV) license, background and health checks, as well as a test of vehicle roadworthiness. Some of these proposed regulations were made by then caretaker prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Abdul Razak.

In the past few weeks, disgruntled taxi drivers have been more vocal about their diminished income due to e-hailing operators, and have held a protest in front of the finance ministry on October 17. This was followed by a dialogue with prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad in Langkawi on October 21, which turned ugly when taxi drivers caused a scene and staged a walkout.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Not Me on Oct 24, 2018 at 11:29 am

I cant believe this, they are like pest…but salute their neverending spirit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • Kadir Salleh on Oct 24, 2018 at 11:50 am

these people were so used to easy life before where corruption talks. Easy life. Now suddenly they have to work hard….they are not used it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • hesyamudin on Oct 24, 2018 at 2:41 pm

When you’re up, your friends know who you are. When you’re down, you know who your True friends are. Just stay humble like me

• Just read ‘Billion Dollar Whale’ to know more. Najib has many of these ‘friends’. Those in his party are only after his money.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 24, 2018 at 6:58 pm

Amazing how thugs like teksi drivers are trying to stage a protest to cripple the economy. Isn’t this National Security? 1 day people cannot go to work will results in billions lost in productivity.

These thugs are threatening our national security

• Why they protest? Becoz the new Gov does not care for them, just like they dun care for the rakyat. It’s time to vote back our old Gov.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Time to wakeup on Oct 24, 2018 at 11:51 am

They just need upgrade and improve themselves. Just take a look at the survey Mkini right after the taxi walkout protest. 90% of Malaysians support Grab

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • AliAhbengMuthu on Oct 24, 2018 at 4:05 pm

99%?

• John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 25, 2018 at 12:18 pm

Previous administration has really messed things up for the poor cabbies. One Minister controls all the licenses and they perah the cabby maximum with high rentals

• Kadir Salleh on Oct 24, 2018 at 11:52 am

Those days when we complain about teksi, nothing is done because Minister himself own all the teksi companies and lesens.

Now, times are different. No ore kroni running the show. So, teksi drivers are so scared about rules and regulations imposed by the new Government.

• Come on, even Proton gets ‘help’ from the past Gov. Why can’t the new Gov help the taxi drivers as they help our economy grow by helping the tourism industry? This show that the new Gov is not caring like the past Gov.

• Suggestion to PH Government on Oct 24, 2018 at 11:57 am

Just cancel all their license. There is a long queue of people waiting to take up their license.

Infact, once you cancel all their license, you can replace all of them within 1 week.

Trust me, thousands of people are waiting to get the license to drive a teksi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • I disagree. The problem comes from PH Gov. The transport minister shud resign.

• pengomen on Oct 24, 2018 at 11:58 am

Their efforts be paid off handsomely. Salute!

• The pic includes stopping Ezcab & Dacsee which is used by teksis themselves. Lolz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • Shahril on Oct 24, 2018 at 12:23 pm

Big Blue Taxi big boss should be in jail. He was convicted of cheating and was sentenced to about 20 yrs in jail.

I don’t know how the previous administration can alow him to walk and not follow the rule of law

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
      • BBT boss is now having dinners with the old man. They laugh all the way to the bank and fools such as yourself helped them there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • Gabriel on Oct 24, 2018 at 2:59 pm

Let’s take a few step back, and take a closer look what is at the heart of the matter.

Prior to GE14, the then opposition made a promise to taxi drivers that they will abolish GRAB/e-hailing services if they were given a chance to form the federal government. Now, the then opposition is helming the federal government.

Why are we bashing the taxi drivers for? They are just trying to get what was being promised to them. I pity those taxi drivers, they were lied upon and now they are getting bashed left, right and center for claiming what was being promised to them.

Shouldn’t we channel our anger to those that made the promises instead?

Just my point of view…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 37
      • Manifesto Dicapati on Oct 24, 2018 at 3:47 pm

Fully agree. PH made them a promise, they helped PH, PH won, so PH should help them back unless its yet another capati.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 21
        • U-Tun on Oct 24, 2018 at 6:03 pm

https://paultan.org/2016/12/07/cab-champion-makes-a-turnaround-supports-the-approval-of-uber-and-grab-ride-sharing-services/

• https://paultan.org/2018/05/22/big-blue-taxi-wants-the-govt-to-stop-supporting-grab/

• John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 24, 2018 at 7:00 pm

same capati like how we were promised 30% car price reduction and 5 years we waited but kena tipu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
          • RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Oct 24, 2018 at 9:52 pm

Why look at one thing when he honoured the other 99 things that he promised? As compared to none of the things that PH promised were kept. Where’s the Rm1.50 petrol? Where’s the toll free highways? Where’s the BR1M? Where’s the minimum wage of Rm1500? Where’s free tertiary education for everybody? Not one was done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 25
          • Copy Paste on Oct 24, 2018 at 9:55 pm

Only you support laziness and corruption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
          • fake news again. There is no PH manifesto promising RM1.50 petrol. Give me proof, I will give you RM10k reward.

No point lying in life. 30 million people kicked out a corrupted regime for a reason

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
          • RM19.4 Billion GST refund mana? on Oct 25, 2018 at 1:51 pm

Why look at the Gov promises when he can’t even refund the GST BN took from the rakyat? The rakyat is not done with him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • History Bender on Oct 24, 2018 at 3:56 pm

Those who are angry here mostly are PH troopers trying to deflect the blame from their Government that had made those promises to the taxis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 25
        • BN Bender on Oct 25, 2018 at 2:17 pm

“Some of these proposed regulations were made by then caretaker prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Abdul Razak.”

More like BN troopers trying to deflect blame from the past Government that promises made by their leader. Now BN cronies & their kawans can’t get their slice of the cake. What can they do? Protest.

• IGP mom on Oct 25, 2018 at 8:56 am

Serve them right. The taxi drivers have been cheating customers for years. It is only right they get themselves cheated for once.

I will never forget my ride from Mid Valley to UiTM shah alam that cost me $84 … back in 2015. And the taxi driver dropped me at the gate. He said if want to reach faculty, another $5.

• Every government also the same. Promise this promise that. In the end empty promises.

• John Minum Teh 16x on Oct 24, 2018 at 9:58 pm

These bunch of thugs…in China…already faced the firing squad….The funny thing is Tun got over sympathetic with them and wanted to resign cos of them.
      Hello,these dudes are still using the manual type writer under the coconut tree to cari makan. Just pathetic… Might as well ride the becha ,no need pump petrol.

• In other words, they got what they wanted and all they need to do is wait it out while rideshare will be slowly strangled to death via regulations & bureaucracy. Bapak Kawans r happy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 40
    • Hussein on Oct 24, 2018 at 11:45 am

Only you support laziness and corruption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
      • Hafiz Hisham on Oct 24, 2018 at 3:00 pm

But that’s what you get when they supported TurnM and TurnM won. Now they demanded their rewards and got them at the expense of the rakyat. So why are you complaining? The rakyat has chosen this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • Ex Uber Cabbie on Oct 24, 2018 at 12:10 pm

Betui, they need to do is wait it out at Padang.
      Less jams in the city.

• Yes! Agree with your point.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 24, 2018 at 11:30 am

All these problems is because the lazy teksi drivers are making so much of noise, threats and walkouts. Jealousy is the No 1 cause here.

Hello teksi drivers, you guys are so lazy. All the time want to be pampered and want bantuan all the time. Typical Putrajaya mentality.

Try to work hard and if can, go join Grab. Nobody is stopping you from joining Grab. Why must you be jealous? Go join Grab and make money like the Grab drivers.

Don’t just lepak bawah pokok and sembang with other teksi drivers for hours. All the time smoking under the tree, chit chatting and looking at girls.

Be like the NTUC drivers in Singapore. They work non stop. 12 hours non stop they are driving looking for passengers.

You are lazy, how you expect money to come to you? If you spend like 6 hours in the day sleeping under the tree, smoking non stop inside a parked teksi……of course money won’t come to you.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 6
  • John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 24, 2018 at 11:30 am

Pity Grab drivers now subject to all sorts of regulations and fees just because teksi guys are jealous.

Grab and Uber gave the rakyat clean, not smelly teksis and honest system.

We the rakyat got fed up with cheating teksi drivers. Even I myself have been asked to pay RM300 for a ride from KL Sentral to KLCC which took a mere 10 minutes.

Malaysians were fed up with the cheating teksi drivers. All the time refuse to pick up passengers because of suka hati. Jam means or rain, tell the passenger don’t want to bring them. If bring them, even 1KM, they charge RM50

Rakyat got fed up with all these cheating. Then refuse to use meter. Those who use meter also, 9 out of 10 meters got gadget inside that can make the meter move faster. When JPJ want to inspect, then they remove the gadget, thus no detection.

We have had enough of cheating by the teksi abang abang.

Oh yeah, don’t forget about the huge number of dirty teksi drivers who talk dirty to women and try to peep into their skirts when they collect money.

Until today teksi drivers are non stop digging their nose and using 2 ten sen coins to cabut their bulu janggut at traffic lights…..time to change la

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 2
  • Alina on Oct 24, 2018 at 11:32 am

Nobody want to ride taxis anymore.
    we prefer grab and uber ya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Rakyat have been using Taxis since long before Uber Grab, which means the rakyat is hepi with them. Why would u say nobody want to ride Taxis anymore?

• Blue Taxi : Sorry, all our drivers are busy.

• kl fella on Oct 24, 2018 at 11:39 am

i think the consumers/riders/users and also Grab drivers should arrange a mega rally and demo to show that we do not want traditional taxi service anymore..

e-hailing & ride-sharing will be the future until autonomous vehicles come on the roads with a touch of a button..

• Poor old man on Oct 24, 2018 at 12:04 pm

This is backwards. What if today only teksi and no other. Rakyat kalah.

• Not Toyota Fan on Oct 24, 2018 at 12:22 pm

This botak Shamsubahrin, his Big Blue Taxi & his gangster teksi drivers can go to hell. You can try to threaten Tun & the rakyat but we will collectively make you regret your threats.

We’ll take Grab every chance we get. We will vote with our money. See how long you can tahan.

• All they do is complain and protest. They should wake up and do something positive to improve and compete with grab. Go check the survey and stats and see who in Malaysia is in favour or taking taxi. The service is so bad and condition of some of the taxi is like it’s time to be thrown to the junk yard. They want to pick and choose the destination and everytime before we go up a taxi have to ask whether they are going to that location or not. Some don’t even want to use the meter and charge crazy fares. The government should not intervene because if they do then it is not helping them. For too Long we consumers have had very bad experience with taking taxis and it’s time for them to learn and improve if they want to survive in this business. To be honest I do not have a sympathy for them. Even in difficult times like now they are still acting like gangsters and don’t want to change their attitude.

• Doesn’t matter whether they protest or not. Customers won’t give a hoot. Wake up. It’s a new reality. The MY taxi biz model is defunct.

• Ksatria on Oct 24, 2018 at 12:50 pm

Before anything, gomen should check each taxi driver’s background..whether they have previous police record etc, looks like more & more of them already behaving like street thugs..Im worried of rakyat’s safety if we’re at their mercy

• kzm (Member) on Oct 24, 2018 at 12:57 pm

I do think current govt is tersepit that largely because they support taxi driver before becoming govt. They even ask taxi driver to vote for them (based on kinitv video).

• The K on Oct 24, 2018 at 1:29 pm

Tried a few of the e-hailing services shown. Quulo was the best n cheapest.

• Tin milo on Oct 24, 2018 at 1:32 pm

Awww taxi want to dominate market ,but want protection

• Ollie on Oct 24, 2018 at 1:48 pm

The rotten business practices of grab still not known by the general public. Their commission is higher than taxi companies, without bothering about any cost for the drivers. They take 25% and make the driver bear all the costs. Car breakdown cos too much driving – not grab responsibility. Driver falls sick from driving too much – grab asks to drive more. Drivers are exploited, they can’t quit as they need the income, can’t complain or they will be kicked out. A rotten company led by immoral people – grab.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
    • Grab Driver 2.0 on Oct 24, 2018 at 6:29 pm

I think you failed to understand basic idea. No one forcing you to drive Grab. You can go back to Taxi’s. I drive part-time and I dont find any issus with Grab management. I work according to my free time. No one ask you to overwork. They have 20% commissions too if you want to be hardworking. If no, just stick to 25%. The amount everyone earning is reasonable. Their system both customer and driver focused. Just follow the rules! It will be easier everyone.

• Ollie on Oct 24, 2018 at 10:33 pm

Mate, i drive grab part time. and im a platinum user of grab. digest that. talk to drivers who need to earn a living from grab. i don’t need grab money, i do it for fun since uber days. i know both sides, from passenger to driver. there are thousands of full-time drivers being exploited by grab. get your facts straight.

• stastasta on Oct 26, 2018 at 5:00 pm

nobody forcing you to drive for grab , you can switch to one of their app hailing competitor

• Leafable on Oct 24, 2018 at 2:33 pm

Let them protest. Grab will be even more busy ferrying their share of business.

• Why stop at protest? Why not strike and see just how many will miss you lot

• Teh satu on Oct 24, 2018 at 7:30 pm

If they are going to raise their hands, I suggest deodorant and breath mints for their bad breath…,

• autodriver (Member) on Oct 25, 2018 at 10:06 am

Old Iswara and Wira taxi still running around where Grab is only accept car below 10 years ago in service.

Most if not all the taxi driver using “second hand tyres”, using lowest grade of engine lubricant and always overdue the mileage for the service. Everything maintenance on your car you guys choosing the CHEAPEST or USED one. I was in automotive industry and I know it VERY WELL how you guys service your car at workshop.

Whereby driving for Grab the driver normally go for proper service because it is their OWN daily car. They are using better car than taxi and expensive fuel compare to taxi using gas, and yet taxi driver protest grab took their business. So you want consumers pay premium price to taxi while enjoy lowest quality of service, pls grow up the spoon feeding taxi driver.

• Masterjedi on Oct 25, 2018 at 12:17 pm

i suggest government force taxi Company to make it own APP or join APP with other company to help current taxi driver. APP Hailling is MUST for current and future. Only old Company thinking to drill taxi driver pocket money, not care their their earning. And end up use driver to protest government to protect them.
    To taxi Driver, Grab no longer cheaper than Taxi, they even more expensive than taxi when in Peak hour. Open you own eye and hear. Company only use driver and be their puppet.

• officeworker on Oct 25, 2018 at 12:45 pm

Bad experiences, the biggest scares of taking taxis are the uncertainty of fares and most of time kena chop like rm15 fares for a rm6 grab rides. Some said taxis cheaper than grab but when u really need a ride u just couldn’t get a empty taxi and when u finally got 1, the driver will said “rm30 boss, area u jam”. So grab really better, at least easier to get and u agreed the fix fares before ride even though grab also quite expensives in peak hours.

• Rokuth on Oct 25, 2018 at 3:27 pm

What?! This is not a protest against taxi drivers? Useless. No wonder they cannot get a permit.