FIRST LOOK: 2019 Ford Ranger Wildtrak 4×4 – RM145k

A total of eight new variants of the Ford Ranger were launched today, and the current crowning model is this, the 2019 Ranger Wildtrak 4×4. While the new Ranger range starts from RM90,888, this top-of-the-line model is priced at RM144,888.

If you’re eyeing the Wildtrak, this is probably the one to get. To start, it gets the new 2.0 litre bi-turbo EcoBlue engine (the Wildtrak 4×2 gets a lower-tuned, single turbo 2.0L engine) that produces 213 PS and 500 Nm of torque from 1,750 to 2,000 rpm. That’s the same output as the highly anticipated Ranger Raptor, which will only be launched next month at the Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show (KLIMS 2018).

While the updated Wildtrak looks aesthetically similar to the 2015 model, the changes are actually quite massive, as you’ll find out in the video. It’s also the most advanced pick-up truck currently on sale in Malaysia, both mechanically and in terms of safety. Is it for you? Let us know, below.

GALLERY: Ford Ranger 2.0L Wildtrak 4×4 Automatic

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Offroaders on Oct 25, 2018 at 6:03 pm

Great to drive, but potentially blown turbo & burst intercooler failures.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 22
    • Fordist on Oct 25, 2018 at 7:09 pm

Those are odd cases where the owners overtuned their engines. Fords are known to Built Tough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 26
      • Do u own one?? Mine is stock standard – cracked IC hose, bloated intercooler and blown turbo all within first and 2nd year

• Murphy on Oct 26, 2018 at 12:28 am

Sure or not…so many ranger with gearbox kong, turbo hose koyak, even door cannot close… Is it tough or not?

• Lokman Saad on Oct 26, 2018 at 2:23 pm

ask workshop la, so many gearbox kong and kaput. lousy brand

• Fordist on Oct 26, 2018 at 4:00 pm

Gearbox on Wildtrak yes, but not the engines. And they have settled the problem with the new Wildtrak as above. Where did you get those stories from?

• John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 26, 2018 at 8:17 am

I don’t think so because Ford is always breaking down due to its dry dual clutch problems in other cars and also customers are frustrated with the 3 month wait for parts. Just side mirror and bumbper also I have to wait 3 months for my Fiesta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
        • Fordist on Oct 26, 2018 at 9:57 am

More lies from the perennial liar. When are you going to give up? In all your comments, it’s incredulous that you seem to claim having problems in all the cars in all the brands. All except your precious Toyota. That itself showed the lie bare face. I suspect you’re a Toyota salesman with boredom on your hands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
          • Sayingsaying on Oct 26, 2018 at 12:19 pm

And u probably ford salesman who wanna lies people ask to buy ford, then after sales service is so terok, u make ur buyer rugi alot. Parts expensive, no RV. I suspect u no sale at all, cant sell ur ford so u so boring no customer u come here n angkat bakul.

• Lokman Saad on Oct 26, 2018 at 2:18 pm

Fordist are you scare your RV drop? Dont worry, already drop so much. nobody wants ford in msia nowdays

• Steven Kwong on Oct 26, 2018 at 2:26 pm

so many pipu say Ford kaki breakdown….i think we know who is the liar here

• Sallehuddin on Oct 26, 2018 at 1:55 pm

My Focus broke down 3 times already because gearbox problem. Gearbox jam middle of Federal Highway. Fed up of Ford brand. Auta brand

• Lim See Leng on Oct 26, 2018 at 1:58 pm

Ford is bad service. So slow at doing anything. Yes, 3 months for waiting for parts is normal. They hold your car for 3 months until parts come in.

Will they pay my 3 months Grab money?

• Notestdrive on Oct 26, 2018 at 8:00 am

Will the 10 spd gb will have potential problem in mesia too? Now quite alot of issues abt this 10 spd gb. Check it online in filipin almost all 10 spd gb ranger there with potential transmission problem. And abt 1000 everest too have problem with 10 spd gb. 350000 recall on this 10 spd gb issues in us alone.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 26, 2018 at 8:15 am

Rm145k for a mere truck is shocking. This shows how the ringgit has fallen due to 60 years of plundering and corruption.

In overseas, trucks are so cheap. Infact trucks are for the working class overseas and considered biasa. Super affordable.

Here RM145k? These were BMW pric regions just few years ago

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • thefact on Oct 25, 2018 at 6:13 pm

The 2.0 Biturbo runs on Euro 2 diesel?
    or it can use only euro 5 diesel?

• Murphy on Oct 25, 2018 at 6:40 pm

Heard from a fellow ranger enthusiast that the 10-speed gbox kuat rosak and has been subject to several recalls already overseas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • Actually it will be better than the current ZF sources 6 speeder.. why? Because my Ranger 3.2 Wildtrak has changed the gearbox TWICE! It is prone to overheating

• Fordist on Oct 26, 2018 at 10:22 am

The gearbox were problematic due to the high output of 3.2L engine, but the engines themselves were bulletproof. I have no idea where those above get their stories of engine failures because this is not commonly heard around Ford kakis.

• Murphy on Oct 26, 2018 at 2:24 pm

Fordist not really ford kaki. Ford kaki all very strong after many times standing waiting for tow truck.

• Roarrr on Oct 26, 2018 at 2:30 pm

Are u still living in the stone age? Wake up dude this 2018! U dont have internet? Google? Youtube? Or u never even like reading news, review? Owh u did read PT lols. U go google.com, and then simply type any keyword u like, try to type ford 10 transmisson gearbox issues i suggest, u will suprise by the result…dude!

• Fordist on Oct 26, 2018 at 3:59 pm

Excuse me? Are you even a registered Ford club member like me? Google? Youtube? Why not get the real facts from users themselves? Those who killed their engines are by their own fault. My stock Focus Ecoboost have served me well for years.

• Oh really? What were the early symptoms. I’m getting a hard knock when down shifting sometimes at 40k mileage. 3.2 wildtrak 2016

• timlee on Oct 25, 2018 at 7:17 pm

Friz noticeably leaner. Hitting the gym eh

• KarleySan on Oct 25, 2018 at 8:08 pm

Yay

• You heard 100% wrong. This is the 6r80, co-developed with GM. It holds up fine behind the 650 bhp ZL1 Camaro and the 3000+kg Cadillac Escalade.

• Im using wildtrak t7 since december 2015 and now clocked 82k km with no issue.20 inch rim since new.40 days to 3 years old with full throttle at north south expressway