Govt won’t give in to taxi groups, and ban Grab – Loke

Taxi groups have lately raised the pressure on the government with the same old demand – stop ride hailing, stop Grab. To no one’s surprise, that’s not going to happen. Not under the previous administration, not now.

According to The Star, transport minister Anthony Loke has reiterated that the government will not give in to the demands of taxi groups who want them to ban ride hailing or e-hailing services using private cars, such as Grab.

Loke said the government was aware of the problems faced by taxi drivers, but the issues need to be looked at more thoroughly – not only from the perspective of the cabbies but also that of passengers, who are all for more options. He also had a message for the taxi groups, which essentially reads “if you can’t beat them, join them.”

“Our purpose is to encourage taxi drivers to use e-hailing applications, whether it is from Grab or other companies, (we should) not focus on Grab only as there are 20 to 30 e-hailing companies in the country, there are many more options,” he said when winding up the half-term review of the 11th Malaysia Plan for the ministry yesterday night.

Loke also urged MPs to use allocations in their respective parliamentary constituencies to jointly assist taxi driver associations in using smartphones, which will enable them to use e-hailing technology.

Last month, a group of cabbies behaved in a rude manner as they uttered harsh words and created a ruckus before walking out on prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad in Langkawi. The PM was explaining the issue of e-hailing and had said that Grab drivers would be asked to use vehicles approved by the government, as well as pay insurance and taxes like taxis to ensure a level playing ground.

“I have brought this up in cabinet. I told the (transport) minister to fix it, but unfortunately, there has been no progress. I will try again, I too feel it’s unfair,” Mahathir was quoted as saying by the NST.

The following day, deputy transport minister Datuk Kamarudin Jaffar explained that the process of creating a level playing field will be implemented in stages to ensure smooth operation for all parties. The process will begin on January 1 next year and will take six months, he said.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Just let these rude and gangster-like taxi drivers “die” already.
    I am happy that most of them are in dire straits. Before e-hailing, we the people were bullied by these drivers. That is how karma works.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 1
    • Pity those honest & good taxi drivers in the minority.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
    • John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 01, 2018 at 7:02 pm

All these problems is because the lazy teksi drivers are making so much of noise, threats and walkouts. Jealousy is the No 1 cause here.

Hello teksi drivers, you guys are so lazy. All the time want to be pampered and want bantuan all the time. Typical Putrajaya mentality.

Try to work hard and if can, go join Grab. Nobody is stopping you from joining Grab. Why must you be jealous? Go join Grab and make money like the Grab drivers.

Don’t just lepak bawah pokok and sembang with other teksi drivers for hours. All the time smoking under the tree, chit chatting and looking at girls.

Be like the NTUC drivers in Singapore. They work non stop. 12 hours non stop they are driving looking for passengers.

You are lazy, how you expect money to come to you? If you spend like 6 hours in the day sleeping under the tree, smoking non stop inside a parked teksi……of course money won’t come to you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
      • The taxis should be happy that they can relax so much under the coconut tree. But for e-hailing drivers, they have to do it almost non stop, you know? That can be reason why taxi drivers don’t want to join them. No rest, they feel.

• Rayyan on Nov 02, 2018 at 3:07 am

John pukimak…….jgn suruh taxi driver join grab,kalau u x tau cerita u duduk main sama lu punya mak la bodo,dulu my teksi,baru tukar ker grab…….sama company la tu sohai…..klau lu mau bikin business bikin cantek2….jangan main hentam je…….kita ada undang2 taw…..ikut rules…..psv,insurance,inspection,attend a course as a public driver……kalau lu mau…..nanti saya bukak disko depan lu punya rumah…….x payah angkat lesen……lu mau ka sohai……itu macam jugak grab……suka2 pacak pot……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 34
        • i akan guna Grab dan apa2 aplikasi e-hailing…lantaklah orang macam ko ni…i sebagai pengguna, suka hati aku la nak Grab ke, nak naik teksi ke…x suka jangan pandu teksi

• Teksi Lawak on Nov 02, 2018 at 11:23 am

Lol, nice joke. Even after Grab drivers are regulated with the same requirements as taxis, people will still take Grab. Why? Because Grab drivers use own car, Which means the cars will be taken care of nicely. And fares are all pre-determined fairly, not like you clowns always over-charge as you like.

• Cobra on Nov 02, 2018 at 1:13 pm

Teksi drivers mostly idiots

• u are entitled to your opinion but main dengan emak tu show your level of adab …

• Kenny Tan on Nov 03, 2018 at 10:46 am

pity a idiot like you so uneducated using all the fouls word to express your anger on no agreed terms.

• Malaysiannn on Nov 04, 2018 at 1:34 pm

The problem is not with e-hailing.
          It’s the mostly new clean car that the rakyat likes.
          It’s the comparably better experience.
          Even the kids of some teksi drivers may be using grab at some point.
          And the rakyat don’t have to pay for teksi organisation’s failure.
          Everything is changing now.

• Darus on Nov 02, 2018 at 9:42 am

macam Tun M sudah kata, kalau malas dan suka curi, macam mana nak jadikan Malaysia maju????

• Gabriel on Nov 01, 2018 at 12:30 pm

Pity the taxi drivers.
    The then opposition made a promise to taxi drivers that e-hailing/grab will be banned if they are elected to power. Taxi drivers supported them based on that promise, and now those taxi drivers are being treated like a fool for demanding what was being promised.
    Feel really sorry for all those taxi drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 57
    • Turn M on Nov 01, 2018 at 3:15 pm

Inkambing Uturn later.

• Adnan on Nov 01, 2018 at 4:55 pm

Bantu la taxi

https://paultan.org/2018/04/16/spad-sediakan-kad-bantuan-teksi-1malaysia/

• Edwin L on Nov 01, 2018 at 5:48 pm

SPAD gone liao! Nobody help them now. Kecian.
          https://paultan.org/2018/06/07/goodbye-spad-hello-apad-new-agency-to-be-formed/

• John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 01, 2018 at 7:03 pm

Pity Grab drivers now subject to all sorts of regulations and fees just because teksi guys are jealous.

Grab and Uber gave the rakyat clean, not smelly teksis and honest system.

We the rakyat got fed up with cheating teksi drivers. Even I myself have been asked to pay RM300 for a ride from KL Sentral to KLCC which took a mere 10 minutes.

Malaysians were fed up with the cheating teksi drivers. All the time refuse to pick up passengers because of suka hati. Jam means or rain, tell the passenger don’t want to bring them. If bring them, even 1KM, they charge RM50

Rakyat got fed up with all these cheating. Then refuse to use meter. Those who use meter also, 9 out of 10 meters got gadget inside that can make the meter move faster. When JPJ want to inspect, then they remove the gadget, thus no detection.

We have had enough of cheating by the teksi abang abang.

Oh yeah, don’t forget about the huge number of dirty teksi drivers who talk dirty to women and try to peep into their skirts when they collect money.

Until today teksi drivers are non stop digging their nose and using 2 ten sen coins to cabut their bulu janggut at traffic lights…..time to change la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
    • John Snow on Nov 01, 2018 at 3:48 pm

Can you show us the news that show PH will abolish GRAB etc. if they are elected to power.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
      • kzm (Member) on Nov 01, 2018 at 4:17 pm

They don’t mention in manifesto but they do support taxi driver before becoming govt n ask them to vote. Eg join taxi driver demo n help sending memorandum to previous govt to outlaw e-hailing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
        • Darus on Nov 02, 2018 at 9:43 am

macam Tun M sudah kata, kalau malas dan suka curi, macam mana nak jadikan Malaysia maju????

• Akmal on Nov 01, 2018 at 10:21 pm

Please be smarter for the rest of your life. Neither the issue written or not in their manifestos, today’s gov is ignorance..

• Abolish GRAB on Nov 01, 2018 at 11:13 pm

Go see yourself

https://sg.news.yahoo.com/mahathir-abolish-grab-ride-sharing-043350147.html

• Gabriel on Nov 02, 2018 at 2:42 pm

Thank you for sharing this link here.
          It will be an eye opener for a lot of people.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Nov 01, 2018 at 10:00 pm

Not sorry. They, like the rest the rakyat, were easily fooled with sweet promises to support Pakatan and now they are stuck between a fire & frying pan. That will teach everyone never to believe sweet lies and to make that same mistake in next 4 years.

• Peter c on Nov 02, 2018 at 12:15 am

Why should the government help the taxi drivers that the majority of the riders do not want? Can you tell me how many taxi drivers voted for PH and how many riders that do not want to ride on taxi voted for PH? If taxi cannot evolve to complete with e-hailing, they might as well close down.

• Optimus on Nov 02, 2018 at 9:53 am

Taxi drivers were the megaphone of PH, every customer that they took, were bombarded with negative fake news and their “poor” life stories, leading to the masses believing in PH instead. They were seduced by the promise of secured livelihood if they do this. Propaganda at its best, and it worked for PH. Now they are trying to distance themselves from the vile tactics and tools that they used to grab power. Insincere, despicable, dishonest and disloyal bunch of politicians.

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 01, 2018 at 12:51 pm

Duhhhhh, who do these cabbies think they are? They are but a small nose booger compared to the rest of the society who is also struggling to survive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Deepak on Nov 01, 2018 at 5:03 pm

Totally agree. those sombong cabbies thot Gov can be bullied.

• Norjazlan on Nov 01, 2018 at 12:55 pm

AP issue more critical.

• Sohai (not ori) on Nov 01, 2018 at 1:03 pm

Losers always complain..and most of them drive like mad causing accidents

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 01, 2018 at 1:06 pm

Let taxi group improve and have the consumers choose. Why ban?

It’s like saying must ban all car brands when Proton is not popular.

Logic 404.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • To level up playing field, instead of asking Grab driver to pay this and that, better reduce taxis drivers cost which will ensure lower cost for consumer. Adding cost to Grab will cost us consumer at last.

• Jho Kow on Nov 01, 2018 at 4:25 pm

Taxi main issue is the rental they pay, which can come to about 1.5k a month unless they own the taxis themselves. That is an average of between rm40-60 per day no matter it’s working day or off day for the drivers.

• SALang on Nov 01, 2018 at 8:02 pm

If 1.5k rental need to pay.. better convert to Grab driver… 1.5k can use to pay new car instalment. Nobody stop those taxi driver to buy new car and join Grab.
        It’s all about the driver themself.. they lazy.. they rather shout for help instead of looking at themself.. why rakyat choose Grab and not you.
        If they can answer this simple question, they should able to find ways to overcome it.

• Problem is these people can’t simply get loan to buy a new car and become Grab driver. To get loan, they need to have good financial standing, which i doubt they have at all. Chicken & egg situation..

• hondaman on Nov 02, 2018 at 7:47 am

Couldn’t agree more, the main issue is that most of them are lazy and want easy money, take note that the Langkawi taxi drivers are 99% individual permit holders & with no more bank loans to service as their cars were mostly proton wira,waja & persona & they are not renting their cab .

• Ollie on Nov 01, 2018 at 8:37 pm

And grab charges 1500 a month for drivers to use a bezza. Get it right who is exploiting who.

• Stevejobbing on Nov 01, 2018 at 1:17 pm

There’s mastermind person behind all the poor cabbies trying to sabo because his benefits sucking from the cabbies gonna disappear with e-hailing in play. Just keep up the good work reassuring the cabbies its not to take away their living but open up their income possibilities without getting sucked by certain individuals.

• johnnas on Nov 01, 2018 at 2:13 pm

Good that gomen do not give in to these taxi ‘pirates’.
    It is already a level playing field for everyone. Even more so if only gomen would make it mandatory for e-hailing drivers to declare their income or additional income.
    Taxi drivers are exempted from excise duty and they mostly run on NGV. What more do they want

• Alina on Nov 01, 2018 at 2:40 pm

let them rot in their old & un-maintained taxis.

• Vader on Nov 01, 2018 at 3:33 pm

I foresee a Uturn incoming. I can feel it in the Force.

• Ah beng Level 2 on Nov 01, 2018 at 4:27 pm

Balik tongsan

• Lousy Grab on Nov 01, 2018 at 4:38 pm

Yes! Just ban the lousy Grab. Teksi will live longer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • Amran on Nov 01, 2018 at 5:41 pm

Persatuan teksi sokong pakatan utk hapuskan Grab. Rupanya pakatan nak hapuskan teksi! Kahkahkah!

• Ban all taxis. The rakyat hates them. The rakyat wants Grab!

Anthony Loke please listen to the rakyat ONLY.

• sweeswee on Nov 01, 2018 at 8:05 pm

who cares about these gangster taxi drivers? haggling is prohibited ya…no bargain with taxi driver, he said 100 u gave 100…puiii

• harga tambang e-hailing ialah harga tambang teksi 10 tahun lepas, itu masa tayar 1 biji baru rm80-100, sekarang 1 biji tayar sudah rm150-180, kena komision 20%, 1/1/2019 lagi kena bayar commercial insurance, lagi kena psv dan puspakom dan lain lain. boleh hidup kah pemandu e-hailing? kesian pemandu e-hailing…

• Ahmed on Nov 01, 2018 at 8:32 pm

Taxi group u re racist and selective , grab is here to stay forever ,your days of glory has come and gone. By , to hell with your racist and sabotage attitude

• Ollie on Nov 01, 2018 at 8:35 pm

Well and fine, but Grab runs an large scale exploitative business with zero regard on the welfare of its drivers. Built a billion dollar business through exploiting drivers. No competitor, any other service gets into the business, grab throws out freebies until they die. Drivers can’t quit, most of the time they need the money due to circumstances, out of a job etc. I know them in and out, being both a platinum user of grab and a driver for 4 years with uber and grab.

• EdwardH on Nov 01, 2018 at 8:42 pm

I use MyCar and GrabCar, say NO to Taxi.

• Slirh on Nov 01, 2018 at 9:23 pm

dear Transport minister, the Industry Revolution 4.0 is about higher productivity and lower cost to the users/consumers. In our current taxi industry, we have found a disruptor to the value chain ie e-hailing. Instead of banning it or put even more restrictions, can our Ministry of Transport embrace e-hailing and opened it up to all existing players and maybe even future players e.g Go Jek. e-hailing democratise taxi selection and it rewards those taxi drivers who has done good and punishes those who didnt. By allowing all players to participate, control will be back to the consumers, and I for one, would welcome it.

• Akmal on Nov 01, 2018 at 10:22 pm

Please be smarter for the rest of your life. Neither the issue written or not in their manifestos, today’s gov is ignorance..

• Nathen on Nov 02, 2018 at 1:40 am

Its all the customer preference. Why grab is doing well than cab? Not only in Malaysia but even in the other nation. The answer is with the public.

• Fong Mun Cheng on Nov 02, 2018 at 8:50 pm

The only constant is change. So in every field, not only taxi, if you refuse to change, you will die.

• Jimho on Nov 03, 2018 at 8:37 am

I agree with dj. I took a taxi fr PuduRaya-the Indian driver seemed like a quiet, normal guy. On the way, I requested repeatedly (but politely) that he use the meter. He ignored me & he drove way past my destination, stopped & shouted, ‘Get lost’! I remained quiet, paid him + left.
    Since then I had avoided taxis for more than 20 yrs. I walk & take public transport mostly.
    2 yrs ago I was rushing to take a long distance bus. My bro called a taxi & the ‘nice, friendly’ Malay driver deliberately took a long time to reach the bus station. It would have been 10 minutes quicker if I had walked. I paid him rm15 for the short 2.5km trip – no trf jam, + RM2 tip.
    Perhaps there r some rare good ones.

• Grab Driver on Nov 03, 2018 at 1:52 pm

Kena kencing dah.. Hahaha.