GALLERY: Ford Ranger – new 2019 facelift vs old 2016

The Ford Ranger T6 may be a good six years old now, but the Blue Oval pick-up truck is still going strong. Having received its first facelift in late 2015, it’s now undergone a second nip and tuck, and while the new model looks relatively identical, it hides a raft of updates under the skin. How better, then, to elucidate the various changes than with a good ol’ new versus old gallery?

Well, we’ve put the new Ranger in range-topping (for now, before the Raptor comes in) Wildtrak 4×4 form, side-by-side with the equivalent variant from 2016. As you can see, the aesthetic revisions are relatively minor, with a new twin-louvre grille and a downturned central air intake at the front being the most prominent.

As befits the Wildtrak, both cars get a larger grille, a silver underguard, roof rails and an integrated sports bar with built-in LED bed lighting, but the new one also gets larger fog light surrounds. The new truck continues to get dark grey highlights around the grille, wing mirrors and door handles.

GALLERY: Ford Ranger – new 2019 facelift vs old 2016

Meanwhile, the 18-inch alloy wheels are of the same design as before, but they can now be found on the XLT+ (without the two-tone finish) as well. Both cars wear orange hero colours, although the previous model gets Pride Orange and the new one is painted in the lighter Saber.

Look closely and you’ll find a few more detail changes. The headlights, which were halogen projectors on the XLT and Wildtrak, are now xenons on the XLT+ and Wildtrak, with LED daytime running lights offered on the XLT and up. The new Wildtrak also features LED fog lights, while keyless entry and push-button start finally make their way to the Ranger on the XLT+ and Wildtrak, as do an easy-lift tailgate.

The interior of the WildTrak again features few changes, limited to an all-black colour scheme (versus the old grey lower dashboard), gloss grey decorative trim, full leather seats (the old model had orange fabric centres) and new gearshift buttons on the gearknob. There’s also active noise cancellation on the 4×4.

2019 Ford Ranger (left), 2016 Ranger (right)

You still get a soft-touch upper dash with real orange stitching as well as the SYNC 3 infotainment system with an eight-inch touchscreen and Apple CarPlay and Android Auto connectivity. SYNC 3 was introduced on the Wildtrak in late 2016, and has now found its way to the XLT+ as well. One big change is that the latest dash design has been carried over to the base XL, which had hitherto used the same unit since 2012.

It’s under the bonnet where you’ll find the biggest differences between old and new. The XL and XLT models still get a 2.2 litre Puma four-cylinder turbodiesel, but the high-output variable geometry turbo (VGT) version has been standardised across the two models, making 160 PS and 385 Nm of torque instead of the 125 PS and 370 Nm in the old XL variant. This is paired to six-speed manual and automatic gearboxes.

While the old 2.2 litre mill remains, the 3.2 litre five-cylinder variant has been thoroughly kicked to the kerb. Replacing it is a new 2.0 litre EcoBlue unit from the Panther family, available in two variants – the XLT+ and the Wildtrak 4×2 get a single-turbo (Si-Turbo) version producing 180 PS and 420 Nm.

2019 Ford Ranger (left), 2016 Ranger (right)

The one you’ll want is the twin-turbo (Bi-Turbo) unit in this Wildtrak 4×4, churning out 213 PS and 500 Nm – yes, the same output figures as the Raptor. Both the 2.0 litre engines are paired to a Getrag 10-speed automatic transmission, with the XLT+ and the Wildtrak 4×4 receiving four-wheel drive.

Safety is another area where the new Ranger has taken great strides. The previous Wildtrak was the first pick-up truck to come with forward collision warning, adaptive cruise control and lane keeping assist, but the new 4×4 version goes one better with autonomous emergency braking and parking assist. The 4×2 continues to get six airbags and stability control, but does away with the driver assistance systems.

Pricing of the new 2019 Ford Ranger starts at RM90,888 for the 2.2L XL Single Cab manual and tops out at RM144,888 for this Wildtrak 4×4. You can check out our full spec-by-spec comparison here, and watch our men Hafriz and Matthew explain the changes visually in the video above.

GALLERY: 2019 Ford Ranger 2.0 Bi-Turbo Wildtrak 4×4
GALLERY: 2015 Ford Ranger 3.2 Wildtrak 4×4

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 07, 2018 at 7:32 pm

The car may look good and the spec maybe good but the past few postings of Ranger in PT had so many negative comments by owners.

Most owners are complaining that gearbox always rosak and parts take 3 months to come.

Pity, such a good car but wasted by lembap GLC attitude after sales service by Sime Darby

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Where is Anti-Ford John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 08, 2018 at 12:34 pm

Ford Service is good but Perodua Service is damn lousy. Perodua Bezza, Perodua Axia and Perodua Alza have 2 airbags without VSC and other safety features

• Fordist on Nov 07, 2018 at 7:51 pm

I am a Ford owner. But I and all Ford owners keep our regular tow truck on speed dial for a reason.

This year alone I tow my car 3 times to the workshop. So fed up with all these unreliability issues

• Steven Kwong on Nov 07, 2018 at 7:57 pm

My 2017 Ford rangers spends more time in the SC than in my porch

I count the number of days, it actually spends more time in the SC than in my house.

Whenever it comes back to my house, my neighbours always ask me whether I bought a new car despite seeing it many times

• Eternalgl0ry on Nov 07, 2018 at 8:34 pm

For those noobs who keep saying hilux is better. You are wrong

First hilux have their own problems. They are not problem free

Second people say spare parts are easier to get. It is made in Malaysia ckd. Not import from Thailand

Third hilux specs are rubbish at 138k if compare with wildtrak

• Mario and Bros on Nov 08, 2018 at 12:36 pm

Good bro. Must as well buy Ford Ranger so it will be safe for u

• Pakulupapito on Nov 08, 2018 at 3:59 pm

Dont ever said rubbish about hilux. Hilux can do ‘backflip’. No other 4×4 pickup can do that. Hooray for toyota engineer

• I owned 3.2L at East Malaysia, the road tax only Rm340 not Rm1k +. Only West Malaysia cost abut Rm2k.

• Pick up trucks are just a passing phase for most in Bolehland, influenced by the USA where they actually need it for utilitarian use.

Here rich, short and stumpy guys who cant even drive a Myvi properly, own these trucks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • bernie on Nov 08, 2018 at 10:13 am

What happened to all the other presenters? It was fun watching them.

Did they resign?

• benzs on Nov 08, 2018 at 12:43 pm

When it come to Ford vehicles. Headache! IDK why people complaining their quality and reliability is bad. Spending money into Ford? I rather spend into Korean, Japanese or Malaysia cars.