October 2018 Malaysian vehicle sales up by 35%

The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) has announced sales and production figures for the month of October 2018, in which things picked up after a soft month in September following the end of the three-month zero-rated goods and services tax (GST) period.

A total of 42,273 vehicles were delivered in October, which was a 35.31% increase (mistakenly listed as 51% by MAA in its press release) over the 31,241 units recorded in September. The sales volume for October this year was also 0.5% or 232 units higher than the corresponding month in 2017.

The association attributed the increase in sales volume to the availability of fresh stock, these having being replenished after being depleted at the end of the zero-GST period due to overwhelming demand.

Meanwhile, the total industry volume (TIV) as of October 2018 stood at 502,244 units, a 6.25% increase from the 472,719 units registered during the same period last year. The association said that it expects the sales volume for November to be slightly better than October, aided by new model launches and aggressive year-end promotional campaigns.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Jiben on Dec 03, 2018 at 6:32 pm

MYR jatuh, kreta laku kuat bhai

• John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 03, 2018 at 6:57 pm

I hope Proton sales go up. Because in 2010, their sales was 200,000. This year, it might be 50,000.

Don’t know how it can drop so badly despite so much of Government help and Government orders.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • 2018 Jan to Oct, Proton sales already 54k.

• Latest news, Jan to Nov 2018, Proton sales accumulated 59146 units. So, this years will be more than 60,000 units.
      10k units more than your expectation.

• Most of the Proton cars are rent to Government.

• N55B30 on Dec 03, 2018 at 7:21 pm

How does 11032 increase in October from September equates to 51%? 11032/31241 x 100 = 35%.

• 12,000 X70s contributed the bulk of the sales.

P1, Geely, Mesidis, VolvoCar, VolvoTrucks, Lotus > all

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Dec 04, 2018 at 9:23 am

First year always like that for Proton. You see Waja, Iswara all like that.

Wait till all the complains and the lazy attitude of SC appears, then 2nd year onwards you will see sales ZERO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Dec 04, 2018 at 9:25 am

Every new car Proton launches always got high sales.

But the secret is…..whether they can sustain that for 7 years (life of a model)

Usually 2nd year onwards, the sales will kaput.

This has been like this the past 30 years for Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • A high volume seller life of a model is 5-6 years. Not 7 like u claimed (unless u referring to Alza). If u wanna create more fake stories, use brain abit lor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
        • John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 04, 2018 at 11:31 am

another fake news by john, wira was 10 years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
          • Another fake news by basher. Wira stopped selling long time ago. Wake up, boy!

• Samamu on Dec 03, 2018 at 7:34 pm

Inb4 Msia ekonomi gawat …Rakyat menyesal pileh salah, takdak keja hidup sengsara .

• I predict :
    Perodua 14755 units; actual: 19528 units
    Honda 7616 units; actual: 7246 units
    Proton 5093 units (confirmed)
    Toyota 4760 units; actual: 4757 units
    Nissan 3332 units; actual 2500 units

• Why nobody buy Toyota? Because:-

2018 Vios RM75k
    2018 Persona RM60k

Two years later you want to sell

2020 Vios RM40k
    2020 Persona RM40k

When the bank ask you to top up the loan by few thousand ringgit, you will ask yourself this, “What have I been paying for the past 48x months?”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 9
  • Batu makan john on Dec 03, 2018 at 10:05 pm

Proton no sales? When did Proton close shops?

• Same L0rr on Dec 03, 2018 at 10:16 pm

Proton?

• alcatrez on Dec 03, 2018 at 10:27 pm

Try reporting export sales vs Local Sales.

Then we will know how well each brand is doing….

• Proton export 22 units;
      Perodua export 19 units.

Proud to own national cars?

• Volvo> all on Dec 04, 2018 at 7:11 am

Very keen to see Volvo and Audi sales. Hope no dissapointment again

• Shahril on Dec 04, 2018 at 9:06 am

I am waiting to see individual car brand sales. I want to have my monthly laugh at Proton sales and Perodua sales

Perodua is 10 years younger than Proton yet it can sell 220,00 cars VS Proton’s 50,000 cars

• Shahril on Dec 04, 2018 at 9:07 am

I don’t know why we maintain the 10,000 workers in Proton when sales are so low. Waste of resources

• Proton fighter on Dec 04, 2018 at 11:20 am

You think it’s easybto design a grille? It takes 2 month for drawing, 3 months research and 3 months engineering, requiring a total number of 2,800 individual staff with specific work scopes.

• camtakpro on Dec 05, 2018 at 9:20 pm

More like 5 months of meeting (with breakfast, lunch, tea-break included), 2 months of budget approval, 20 days documenting and task planning, and 10 days to get a prototype from subcon.

• John Doe on Dec 04, 2018 at 10:34 am

I believe Proton was intended to launch its X70 right after the election. Post election everything was on hold due to meddling in the Proton. This has caused great losses to Proton. Removing GST also created significantly higher import (trade deficit), with most expected to have a tough time paying off the next 5 years at least.