Qatar Sheikh to invest RM1.6 trillion in 3rd car project?

It appears that a Qatari Sheikh has expressed interest to invest in the new national car project (NNCP), said Federal Territories minister Khalid bin Abdul Samad. Without going into the details, Khalid said the Gulf entrepreneur is keen on investing as much as US$400 billion (RM1.6 trillion) in the project, which was first mooted earlier in June by the Malaysian Prime Minister, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamed, reports Bernama.

UPDATE: Entrepreneur development minister Datuk Seri Mohd Redzuan Yusof has denied that Qatar is investing in the NNCP. More here

“Tun Dr Mahathir has met with Sheikh Qatar of Qatar who plans to invest US$400 billion… Tun Dr Mahathir said, you have the money, we have the expertise. The Malaysian cabinet has mandated that no government fund will be used to build the third national car,” said Khalid, adding that “the government has no money.”

“But if it’s a private initiative, what’s wrong if Qatar wants to use its money to open a manufacturing facility in Malaysia using Malaysian expertise? It’s not like we can oppose if they can do it. In fact, more job opportunities will be created, and we already have the experience,” Khalid explained.

As for the plant, the federal government is currently considering Alor Gajah, Melaka as one of the suitable places, citing adequate infrastructure and entrepreneurs as the primary reasons. So far, MITI has received over 20 proposals for the project, and the prototype for the new car will reportedly be ready next year. The name of the vehicle will be announced by the end of this year, and it is expected to feature semi-autonomous driving capability.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• mazlanFriedRice on Dec 17, 2018 at 1:08 pm

Jokes about Middle Eastern prince incoming

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • jamal on Dec 17, 2018 at 2:13 pm

They using the same middleman agent

• lilytan on Dec 17, 2018 at 2:20 pm

One perfect 3rd car mirage with 1.6 trillion qatari camels.

• Abesla on Dec 17, 2018 at 2:20 pm

Abesla! Malaysia dah jual to Qatar! Soon Qataris will come and take our jobs! At Rm1.6tril we will be indebted to Qatar for 100 years!

*sarcasm

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 6
    • If I were Elon, I would sell to Saudis instead of Qatar… oh wait.

• sure or not 400 bil ???
    the story almost same as 1mdb

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • Gabriel on Dec 17, 2018 at 1:42 pm

MY greater again! The Qataris are invested into VW Group, Porsche and Fisker Automotive.

• typical malaysian on Dec 17, 2018 at 1:46 pm

no point in making new national car when there is no appreciation from the majority typical narrow-minded citizen. most of them can’t afford anything more than 80k. just let they worship P2 until the end. their famous saying, “once bitten twice shy”. it’s like once they fell down, they refuse to get up and walk afterwards. prefer to stay at one place until they die. queue the excuses in 3..2..1… bla bla bla bla…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
    • Extraordinary Malaysian on Dec 17, 2018 at 2:39 pm

What appreciation? We didn’t buy car to appreciate but to utilize. It’s an essential item nowadays not just for display. The so-called majority typical narrow-minded citizens were the ones who got up and brought down previous government. So, please appreciate people’s voice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
      • Darren on Dec 17, 2018 at 5:06 pm

Yep. People’s voice says they want P3 and jack up even more the prices of non-national cars. That’s why they brought back Madey for his pet projects.

• typical malaysian on Dec 18, 2018 at 9:01 am

appreciation towards the effort, not the product, mind you. “The so-called majority typical narrow-minded citizens were the ones who got up and brought down previous government” yeah, from that statement alone proves how narrow the mindset is, they brought up or down according to their so called “higher than thou” mentality. brought down previous government, and now not satisfied with current government also. TYPICAL CYCLE.

• benzs on Dec 17, 2018 at 5:37 pm

Good comment bro. I like your ending. Must be Eminem fan. Thanks for reminding me Eminem song.

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 17, 2018 at 1:51 pm

Now boys just calm down. Remember that key word, he only expressed ‘interest’ in investing ya. Nothing solid yet.

• BbalingBiru on Dec 17, 2018 at 5:23 pm

Ha ha ha… And the other keyword, ‘invest’, not ‘donate’ ya!

• Malaysia still a joke on Dec 17, 2018 at 1:53 pm

Guys and girls, this whole third national car project has been politicized and I think it has captivated the nation.
    Mahathir has used this topic brilliantly to divert attention away from current hot issue. No one is going to invest USD 400 bil in Malaysia for a national car when Toyota Motor Corp is worth USD 200 bil. This national car is DOA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • azrai on Dec 17, 2018 at 2:03 pm

Is Jho Low behind all this?

• jeghung on Dec 17, 2018 at 2:06 pm

400bil? Must be a typo. If US$4 bil, maybe. If US$40 bil, might as well buyover any of the existing (start-up or established) car companies. If it’s US$400 bil, the guy might as well jump off the bridge la – seriously something wrong up there. But before prince Alibabu jumps, please donate a few billion to my account ok. Thanks.

• Makin lama makin bangang. Kalau depa invest USD400b, negara depa pun boleh bankrap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • Facebook on Dec 17, 2018 at 2:18 pm

If someone who had USD$400 billion, will they invest on Protiga which only marketed in Malaysia?
    Let me set an extremely ideal profit & sales number for Protiga. Annual car sales 200,000 units, per car profits RM20,000, which is 200,000 x RM20,000 = RM4,000,0000,000 (RM4 billion). The Qatari invest USD$400 billion which is RM1680 Billion. So, 1 year Protiga earns RM4 billion but the investment is RM1680 billion which means you need 420 years to ROI. Which again I assume Protiga prospers in the future, every year their profit improves 20%. They will still requires 35 yrs to ROI. Are the Qatari idiots? Will they risk their USD400 billion on this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • fadzili Rahman on Dec 17, 2018 at 2:19 pm

another story by Gulf states . never happens. they are more busy fighting among each other in middle east.

• AkooIm on Dec 17, 2018 at 2:23 pm

Dont worry… they will make a u turn by saying ‘maaf, salah titik perpuluhan…”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • benzs on Dec 17, 2018 at 5:32 pm

Mungkin juak. Titik perpuluhan selalu salah. Mungkin Menteri Pendidikan keluarkan buku teks kita salah. Ragu juga saya.

• Wan mohamad on Dec 17, 2018 at 2:26 pm

Wow.. With 400 B USD you could takeover allToyota + Honda + Nissan + BMW + KIA + Hyundai + Tesla!

• Low2215 on Dec 17, 2018 at 2:31 pm

Looks like a bullshit statement from minister . The entire Malaysia has gdp of 300 plus billion USD and some one want to invest 400 b ??? Seriously ? I will believe if it is 4b. Btw the whole Qatar GDP is only 170b. And … We do not have expertise either . Just look at proton

• kzm (Member) on Dec 17, 2018 at 2:58 pm

I agree with u except the last one.. who say bolehland don’t have expertise? Why oni look at P1? We p2, Bufori n various car related tech company

• Red Jacket on Dec 17, 2018 at 4:23 pm

P1, expert in copy paste job. P2, expert in designing bumpers. Nothing to be proud of.

• kzm (Member) on Dec 17, 2018 at 2:54 pm

Arab again…haish

• In53cUr3 on Dec 17, 2018 at 2:56 pm

is it usd 400 billion worldwide n among them is the new national car? i think need to b careful with what is written

• VoidDance on Dec 17, 2018 at 3:09 pm

USD400 Billion?

Even as a supporter of 3rd National Car, this is bullcrap.

• benzs on Dec 17, 2018 at 5:33 pm

Not bull crap. But all sort of Crap… Such monies is insane for 3rd National car.

• Malaysian is so... on Dec 17, 2018 at 3:15 pm

People still believe?????? Still believe in what all these ministers talking???? STILLLLLLL BELIEVEEEEEE! WOW WTH MALAYSIAN PEOPLE……

• Not Toyota Fan on Dec 17, 2018 at 3:40 pm

Sarcasm mode on:

Sure later Khalid says “misquoted”. Syukur Malaysia aman. Ada Arab datang “invest” lagi.

• benzs on Dec 17, 2018 at 5:36 pm

Arab really likes Malaysia. We should be proud and in the end it went to Court Case. Point finger here and there. Next chapter pls, i’m bored with lame story using Arab

• Raja Rizal on Dec 17, 2018 at 5:00 pm

I think this has been misreported , from the video, Khalid said, Qatar has 400bil to invest..and the 3rd national car project is one of it.

• Jimmy on Dec 17, 2018 at 5:20 pm

1. I hope it’s not Bonecca.
    2. Bail-out in the beautiful name of R-D fund, true or not?

• guan yin ma on Dec 17, 2018 at 5:28 pm

400 BIL USD ? Why not build spacecraft with that money ? Can fly to Mars summore.

• benzs on Dec 17, 2018 at 5:29 pm

Malaysia 3rd National car.. Hemm…. P1 not doing well and sold to Geely. P2 selling well but rebadge all the time.. P3 in doubt. Fix P1 and P2 first then no need P3. In 2100, Malaysia will have many many P(1-infinite). P1 founded in 1983, P2 founded in 1993, P3 founded in 2019. P4-P(infinite) When?

• Lionking on Dec 17, 2018 at 8:44 pm

What rubbish… Does anybody believe that Qatar will invest USD 400 billion in a car project?! When the entire GDP of Qatar is USD 167 Billion!!! Another unnecessary bit of nonsense….

• Amran on Dec 18, 2018 at 9:34 am

If not true, can uturn. Salah titik perpuluhan. And still suci..

• Wan amir on Dec 19, 2018 at 6:38 pm

And they will be given RnD Grants for the project…emm.. those grants not from the gov money meh???

• Keep on dreaming the car price will go down. When there will be another new national car we can just keep dreaming on and on.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Dec 27, 2018 at 6:18 pm

Why is Khalid Samad so busy body poking his nose in a subject matter that is not under his portfolio and making announcements based on rumours? Does he know if Qatar would be interested to invest in KL city infrastructure development?