PLUS confirms CIMB arbitration notice, but says its RFID doesn’t breach any agreement, won’t back down

Yesterday, it was reported that Touch ‘n Go parent company CIMB Group Holdings had filed a notice of arbitration dated December 17 against PLUS in a bid to stop the highway concessionaire from introducing its own radio-frequency identification (RFID) toll collection system.

According to CIMB, PLUS’ introduction of its own RFID system breaches the obligations under the Touch ‘n Go joint venture, which CIMB, its wholly-owned subsidiary CIMB SI 1 and PLUS entered into an agreement with back in May 1998.

Now, PLUS has officially confirmed that it has been served the arbitration notice, but the concessionaire is not backing down on its decision to proceed with its own RFID system. In a press statement, PLUS said it firmly believes that the recent launch of the PLUS RFID targeted pilot will promote choices to the rakyat.

The company said it offers options and convenience for customers to pay as you use, with credit and debit cards, in addition to the existing e-wallet and prepaid mode of payment provided by Touch ‘n Go. Citing that Touch ‘n Go’s e-wallet and prepaid payment remains one of the options in the PLUS RFID targeted pilot, PLUS said it therefore believes that it is not in breach of any agreement.

It added that providing additional choices to highway users should be considered a virtue, in line with the spirit of the Touch ‘n Go agreement to provide users the best customer service, and said it was looking forward to making its case in the arbitration proceedings.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• U-Tun on Dec 18, 2018 at 8:48 pm

To end this argument just abolish the toll

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 0
    • John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 19, 2018 at 8:43 am

CIMB also got no malu. Yesterday got so much of breach and hacking. Instead of being like World Banks and acknowledge the problem, they try to cover up and pretend everything is OK.

This is typical GLC mentality. Any problem sweep under the carpet.

CIMB should sort their own hacking and security breach first before doing all this to PLUS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • The Truth about CIMB and Touch N Go on Dec 19, 2018 at 9:05 am

Touch and Go been sucking hundreds of million every year from earning interest in bank from the credit in the millions of Touch and Go cards owned by 30 million Malaysians.

CIMB earning billions from car loans from inflated car prices…highest car prices int he world.

Both companies untung gila gila. Same family.

EX PM also keep car prices high to benefit brother’s bank to untung more from high car loans

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
    • Untung on Dec 19, 2018 at 9:30 am

Taboulehh…toll feedings rakyat Kwsp..

• Manifesto Dicapati on Dec 18, 2018 at 9:11 pm

This won’t have happened if they fulfilled their promises in the Manifesto. Rakyat still need to pay for capati promises.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 17
    • John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 19, 2018 at 8:27 am

This is very normal. Both also GLC. You see, Political parties may change but it is still the same dolop mundane people running the show.

In other words, Government may change but the GLC still have the same type of people as before.

So you will see inefficiencies and inter-fighting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • johnwhat on Dec 19, 2018 at 8:49 am

PH already admit for tolls they janji capati. But they will work towards it.

Keyword, Admit. something prev gov would never do.

So sudah la, just move on from commenting the same thing in every toll-related posts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 24
    • John Cybertrooper on Dec 19, 2018 at 11:05 am

The previous corrupted government never fulfill their janji for the past 60 years. Only dedak supporters will complain about the new clean government

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
      • Angry Voters on Dec 19, 2018 at 4:17 pm

The previous G never promised all those wonderful and unrealistic janjis but the rakyat voted PH for it. So PH, please fulfill the janjis or shut up and get out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • Be strong PLUS, we support you! on Dec 18, 2018 at 9:30 pm

CnP my comments from 19th Nov with some edit, fed up with TnG:

TnG users:
    1. Need to top-up. Usually people have to top-up big amount due to the hassle;
    2. Those top-up amount is FREE ADVANCED MONEY for the TnG company i.e. hundreds of millions ringgit that’s invested and generating revenue;
    3. But users do not earn any dividens, only depreciation;
    4. To buy new TnG card, it costs RM10. If want full refund on card balance, still being charged RM5;
    5. If users want to buy SmartTag, then it’s another RM120 for a low quality product;
    6. If use TnG card for parking, most operators impose 10% surcharge. This is for “administrative” fee for claiming money from TnG, since TnG/parking operators couldn’t agree to absorb this miniscule cost and therefore charge their users instead. Isn’t IBG/TT transfer is free now? And why must this cost be based on percentage? Isn’t the cost to digitally transfer RM10 the same as RM20? Isn’t using digital payment REDUCES cost i.e. no more cost for paper parking tickets or spend time and resource to handle/rearrange cash from machines including cost for security escort? Anybody who has handled big amount of cash from machines know how tedious and relatively costly this is. The savings for going cashless is not being offset to TnG users.

Why can’t toll users be charged based on per usage, tied to our debit/credit cards?
    Why do we have to be contend with a monopoly? Is this not against the Competition Act? 
    For these reasons I applaud a system like PLUS.

If you’re worried about hold up at the toll gates, there can be a mechanism to ensure minimum balance or pre-authorized charge amount.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • If both companies had China CEOs like Li Chunrong, this problem won’t occur.

The problem with CIMB and PLUS, they have incompetent leaderships

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • fairorunfair on Dec 19, 2018 at 9:02 am

There’s no competition act in m’sia, because we said no to icerd.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
    • John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 19, 2018 at 9:16 am

Touch and Go make hundreds of millions from unclaimed money. So many people have their cards suddenly blacklisted.

Then we are told must go to KL Sentral HQ to sort out the matter.

But how many of us go? KL Sentral parking alone is RM5 per hour. By time we settle the matter, at least 2 hours would have gone cause got super long queue. So we ask why waste RM10 just on parking alone.

So many of us just buang our so called blacklisted card or just let it be.

I had RM50 in my card. Suddenly one day stop working. I go to touch and GO counter at toll both, they tell me blacklisted and must go KL Sentral HQ to sort it out.

This happened to me 3 times and has happened to nearly everyone I know.

All of us just let the matter go and buy new card cause we are too busy to sort the matter out.

• Leonardo on Dec 19, 2018 at 11:12 am

Number 2. is false. The ‘advanced money’ goes into a Third Party account and will only be drawn out as and when used by us.

• Horizon Sailor on Dec 18, 2018 at 9:53 pm

since their rfid sticker were sucks to the max, it is better if they can adapt the In-Vehicle Unit (IU) like Singapore ERP system where we can simply insert our TnG card and use it just like a upgraded smart tag system.

• oh weally on Dec 19, 2018 at 10:17 am

bro, u just keep sailing to horizon cos even free RFID malaysians lose their head, imagine IU where installation cost could come to RM 1,500 plus…

• Korean Fan on Dec 20, 2018 at 4:11 pm

Apa susah, beli je MyVi :-P

• Ahmadjr on Dec 19, 2018 at 12:28 am

Semenjak adik najib takde ni haru biru cimb. Bukan semua kroni tak bagus. Robert kuok pun kroni yang bagus juga. Dorang cuma cari makan saja. Kalau kita ada peluang nak jadi kroni pun kita confirm ambil

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Hafiz Hisham on Dec 19, 2018 at 8:17 am

He thought he will be made Finance Minister if he sided with the other team. Mana tau le….

• Azuan on Dec 19, 2018 at 12:42 am

Dongibab PLUS! Lawan tatap lawan

• Ben Yap on Dec 19, 2018 at 9:54 am

when the lawsuit coming in?

• Leonardo on Dec 19, 2018 at 11:09 am

These two are strange bedfellows who have an illicit relationship with other (business) partners?
    It would be interesting to see what ugly facts will be presented in court.

• Not Toyota Fan on Dec 19, 2018 at 11:23 am

T&G was given a monopoly by Samy. Today it has transformed into an uncontrollable monster. Competition is a dirty word for monopolies. Screw the consumers, it’s my way or no way. Take it or leave it.

Nah, middle finger to T&G.

Sapport PLUS.

• I thought pipu sapoted abolishing tolls? What happen to that? Capati again? Lolz!