Works ministry to get RM90 million extra for slope maintenance works on federal roads – report

The works ministry will be receiving an additional allocation of RM90 million from the finance ministry for slope maintenance works to be carried out along federal roads throughout the country, reports Bernama.

Works minister Baru Bian said, with the additional allocation, it would bring the amount to RM110 million for the purpose, as the initial allocation received was only at RM20 million. The initial sum was announced in the 2019 Budget.

Bian added that the ministry would allocate between 10% to 15% of the total amount for maintenance and repair works to be carried out along the federal road FT059 (Jalan Tapah-Cameron Highlands). “The finance ministry has given assurance to provide additional allocation for slope maintenance works on federal roads throughout Malaysia,” he told the press recently after visiting the FT059 works site.

According to Bian, the works ministry has also identified a total of 10 sites for corrective works, as well as 59 other locations for preventive works along the Jalan Tapah-Cameron Highlands stretch. In total, the repair works would cost RM19.4 million.

“The ministry will continue to pay attention to Jalan Tapah-Cameron Highlands being the main road here, as well as other alternative roads in the area, namely, FT185 [Jalan Simpang Pulai-Blue Valley-Lojing-Gua Musang] and FT102 [Jalan Pos Betau, Lembah Bertam to Cameron Highlands],” explained Bian.

He said last year the ministry had completed the corrective works of a collapsed slope and preventive works at 30 sites costing RM9.3 million along Jalan Tapah-Cameron Highlands.

In the meantime, he said, to reduce the risk of landslides or slope movements, the ministry had also implemented the hazard and risk assessment mapping using the latest technologies such as the light detection and ranging (lidar) system and the real-time early warning system (EWS).

“These systems are able to detect the early signs of slope at risk and rapid mass movements and the information can be disseminated for the safety of road users in the area. Apart from Jalan Tapah-Cameron Highlands, the similar systems are also being used in Sabah,” he added.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• kelantan darul pedo on Jan 22, 2019 at 10:46 am

Lojing-Gua Musang mai

• Stan Ong on Jan 22, 2019 at 11:06 am

Good clean Government, always caring for the rakyat.

• Kasim on Jan 22, 2019 at 11:20 am

This is useful for the public. This PH Government got good direction

BN dulu make TRX, make tallest tower etc….for what? wasting money

• DonkeyKong on Jan 22, 2019 at 6:02 pm

Another ignorant comment. Bandar Malaysia and TRX is supposed to be Malaysia’s first internationally-connected Central Business District. It will be a satellite financial hub to Singapore, which is the financial service capital of Southeast Asia.

But of course, ignorant people like you don’t understand all these, right? You just care about whether teh tarik price went up by RM0.20 and whether Honda City prices can be reduced to RM40k.

• Spin Too Much on Jan 23, 2019 at 10:33 am

1MDB bought 70 acres of TRX land from the Govt for RM194m or RM64psf.

Then LTH bought 1.56 acre from 1MDB for RM188.5m or RM2,773psf. LTH win big.

• John Bin Palat on Jan 22, 2019 at 11:25 am

This will help reduce accidents. Thank you!

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 22, 2019 at 10:50 am

This is good. As of May 2018, If Government give RM90 million, we get the full RM90 million

Unlike before, Government give RM90 million, we get RM10 million. The RM80 mil masuk pocket

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Crony on Jan 22, 2019 at 2:35 pm

Agree. Previous gahmen, when they give us Rm90million, we have to spend Rm30million to show that we are working. Now with this gahmen, they give us Rm20million we can still say not enough and we will get the full Rm110million. Later when still not enough for our pockets, we can yet again demand for more. This gahmen sayang my pocket very much just like previous Dr M time. He he he he

• Aziz Mahmood on Jan 22, 2019 at 6:44 pm

And despite that, BN cybertroopers on this site never bersyukur

• JOACHIM on Jan 23, 2019 at 4:01 pm

I think no one in their right mind would bersyukur for Pakatan’s inability to count and make a proper real budget. 20mil to 110mil? Facepalm!

• Bye Bye Cybertrooper John on Jan 22, 2019 at 11:03 am

Hope fake john does not come here and say this is fake news. We are fed up with his fak enews and dupes

• john is sohai on Jan 22, 2019 at 6:44 pm

john is a BN cybertrooper. anything our new govt do, he go bash. he only wants dedak from the useless pembangkang.

• Safety First on Jan 23, 2019 at 11:43 am

This is utter stupidity. How is it additional when going from 20mil to 110mil? Totally wrong calculation! I have lost faith in Pakatan and their troll here.

• Stan Ong on Jan 22, 2019 at 11:08 am

Good clean Government, always caring for the rakyat.

• John Bin Palat on Jan 22, 2019 at 11:33 am

Baru Bian works hard. He never lepak or minum teh all the time or keep gf

• Usually supplementary budget is a topup when insufficient, but from 20million topup 90million?! Thats 4.5x more than initial budget!

How bad r they at calculating? Was their budget just for show that they r “poor” but then later piled on more supplementary extras when no one noticed? What other parts of PH budget got 4.5x extras as well?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 22, 2019 at 3:53 pm

yes we believe you, like how we believe you told us Malaysia has cheapest petrol in the world and cheapest car prices in the world

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
      • Steven Law on Jan 22, 2019 at 6:48 pm

Haha! john is good at making jokes

• Engineer on Jan 23, 2019 at 12:08 am

Yes we believe you, like how we believe you told us latest smartphones will have decrease in performance and battery after every OTA updates.

• P. Alyanna on Jan 23, 2019 at 9:01 am

Ish. Apa kebodohan ini la? Main fitnah orang pulak. Tak baik ni.

• redpilled on Jan 22, 2019 at 4:28 pm

abis, …nak pecah projek bagi kat ketua2 bahagian…

• Hafiz Hisham on Jan 22, 2019 at 11:38 am

Wow. Just wow. 20million to 110million? Is this Government for real or do they make budgets just for fun? Much like their unfufilled promises, buat sekadar cantik saja tapi isi kandung tak boleh dipercayai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 22, 2019 at 3:52 pm

Too many fake news and fake names by our regular troll john. Still trying to cari makan

• JOACHIM on Jan 23, 2019 at 4:03 pm

You think everyone is like you so free to do that? Get a real job.

• Sick & Tired on Jan 22, 2019 at 11:50 am

Was Baru sleeping when they made that allocation? Why make such a huge additional allocation now? What were they thinking?

Day by day, Pakatan ministers are showing how incapable they are at running a government. Please bring back the old one! The country can’t afford anymore of these shenanigans and goof ups.

• Crony on Jan 22, 2019 at 11:59 am

Initial allocation 20mil. Addition of 90mil, but goes into pockets is 70mil. Left 20mil insufficient for the job so another round of allocation this time 150mil. We see what you did there…… he he he he

• Avenger on Jan 22, 2019 at 12:06 pm

More BS from this untrustworthy gomen. Rm20million to 110million? Who is running the Works Ministry? Nobita as well? The entire PH cabinet should just quit and go back to school to brush up on their maths!

• lilytan on Jan 22, 2019 at 12:20 pm

This announcement is somehow coincide with the Cameron Highlands by-election. What a coincidence. Hope the next by-election is near my place so the works ministry can fix the poorly maintained federal highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Gabriel on Jan 22, 2019 at 12:46 pm

We do not want a repeat similar to the Penang tunnel feasibility report fiasco. Paid money to the contractors, but no result and output at all.
    Once bitten, twice shy. I will not blindly put my trust to this new government just yet.
    We are watching you…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • xoxox on Jan 22, 2019 at 2:38 pm

Hope it’s not janji election and become kosong later…