Traffic police: Not giving discount for summons will result in police unable to collect revenue

Following transport minister Anthony Loke’s call for the ending of discounts for unpaid JPJ summonses, Bukit Aman has come out to say that if such a discount scheme was not applied, the police would be unable to collect revenue. Traffic police investigations and enforcement department director DCP Datuk Azisman Alias said this in a The Malay Mail report.

Azisman said he understood the intention of the minister’s statement but said the objectives of his department must also be taken into consideration. According to Azisman, only 30% of the five million summonses issued by police are settled every year.

“I would like to explain that these discounts only apply to past and minor offences committed in previous years,” said Azisman. He further clarified that discounts were not applicable to six major categories of traffic offences.

The six offences are speeding, driving in the emergency lane, using your mobile phone while driving, cutting queue, overtaking on double lines and running a red light. “I understand [the minister’s] intention in educating road users to comply with the law. However if only around 30% is paid for the current year, imagine the accumulated number of unpaid summonses,” he said.

For 2018, police issued 5.7 million traffic summonses, of which only 25% have been paid. “The number of unpaid summonses in our record is simply too much and if we do not promote discounts, then we will never be able to collect revenue for the government,” Azisman said.

“That is why JSPT is taking on this approach as a form of service to the community because we do not want to harass offenders who have outstanding arrest warrants like in Ops Warta previously and we do not want to burden road users when they renew their road tax,” he said.

During Ops Warta, offenders with warrants issued in their name would be visited by police, arrested and taken away in handcuffs. Azisman said he will be meeting with both Loke and the director-general of JPJ to discuss suitable methods of implementation.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Why not the police disband themselves, so as not to burden the road users…..?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 6
    • those wit outstanding saman. PDRM, Bukit Aman and JPJ must blacklist all of them in sistem with ‘SEKAT’. When the stubborn offenders tried to renew roadtax, driving lesen or buy new car ,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • YB Albert Kunci Kunta on Jan 30, 2019 at 10:03 pm

PTPTN loans….80 percent defaulters
        Traffic summons…more or less like above
        Local council/DBKL summons..like above +-
        Sooner hardcore smokers summons..like above
        So where is the rule of law,TUN ?
        Bolehland,in fact is getting more lawless cos they wait for last minute 70 to 80 percent rebates.
        Just talk 3 talk 4 this pakatan halangan.
        Just pathetic, gomen talking cancelling ECRL,but launch unwanted Protiga…it is getting into insanity.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 31, 2019 at 9:48 am

Singapore did this 25 years ago. they just bar the passport. Nobody can leave the country.

How can Singapore do this 25 years ago?

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 30, 2019 at 7:29 pm

This is how lembap the polis. Like that with criminals also, you must nego jail time is it to apprehend them?

• George Abdul on Jan 31, 2019 at 12:55 am

Saman and rotan with trafik offenders.
        Make them wear green fluoresen vest bertulis ‘Monyet’ and clean toilet kat construction site.

• John Bin Palat on Jan 31, 2019 at 9:16 am

Can we do the same to the polis officers who take dedak also?

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 30, 2019 at 7:33 pm

The problem with our PDRM is that they are very lazy to chase offenders for payment. They find it so cumbersome to go to each offenders house and threaten to arrest if payment is not made.

They rather sit in the balai, sembang and smoke in the back room.

The last time I went to balai in PJ Trafik, the whole office smelt of Durian. They were eating durian in the back room.

Welcome to our PDRM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
      • Rockleleh on Jan 31, 2019 at 8:30 am

DCP Datuk Azisman forgot he is a Bukit Aman officer, supposed to do police enforcement work without favour. Or maybe he aspire to join Jabatan Kebajikan Masyarakat, in charge of giving discounts for saman.

• John Cinta Dedak on Jan 30, 2019 at 8:18 pm

We need more people from Mainland to join the polis force. Then you will see it becomes more efficient just like Geely is

Pls bring in more Mainland people into Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
  • Then Police should go up to door step and start arresting offenders.. No one will obey if rules are not being enforced..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
    • Mr. Octopus on Jan 30, 2019 at 5:32 pm

This has been done before. The number of officers required for this is unrealistic. And the other issue is addresses that are not updated.

Think harder.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • Chicken and egg theory.. because police do not arrest them at door step, they don’t feel the obligation to pay the summons..
        Police don’t have to arrest every single one at one time, but the on going arrest action is good enough to influence the public to pay their summons.. or else they will be caught at random..

Think 2 times harder…

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 31, 2019 at 9:52 am

Our polis force is one of th elargest in the world. Somemore Polis can check with NRD department.

If they want to they can find

• Mr Hakim on Jan 31, 2019 at 2:24 pm

They can always find them if they want. Nowadays information is just at the tip of a finger.

• paratha cap sang neela oothama on Jan 30, 2019 at 5:33 pm

LOL police station lock ups will be severely overloaded with arrested offenders consist mainly of parking summon or minor offense.

• Kenny Chan on Jan 31, 2019 at 7:43 am

Overload by this traffic offender is a good thing. At least everyone with not become a maron or road rage. Our lokap is still under utilize as our crime rate is drop year by year as according to the police key performance index. Now it was time to utilize it and collect more revenue. Since we are more peaceful, the officer is too free now. Let them do something.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 30, 2019 at 7:30 pm

Our enforcement is a joke. Every year polis give amnesty and 70 to 90% discount. What deterrent is this? Offenders will just keep on doing offenses again and again

• mazlanFriedRice on Jan 30, 2019 at 4:28 pm

Cannot collect revenue and bring them to court lah.
    What kind of excuse is this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
    • Cupidexcuse on Jan 30, 2019 at 5:26 pm

Yahhh…even tadika kids can think abt this lah…”if not pay ask polis catch” which always in kids mind.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 30, 2019 at 7:35 pm

How come Singapore can do it? In Singapore, if you don’t pay any saman, automatically your passport is blocked.

Here, they find it so difficult to intergrate immigresion, JPJ and PDRM.

Follow how Singapore does it. Pls send rombongan sambil belajar to Singapore and learn how to run things properly.

We always send PDRM to Europe for meetings and training but we can learn so much from our neighbour in Singapore

• IGP mom on Jan 30, 2019 at 4:29 pm

Any backlog summons then stop renewing the license or roadtax. Stop the mentality of not paying up and wait for discount then only pay up. It is very unfair to those who pay up as soon as they know it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
  • Do what other countries do – of you don’t settle your summons within a two week period, the penalty doubles… No such thing as discounts. Make sure you tie in with road tax renewals.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Lolwhut? on Jan 30, 2019 at 4:42 pm

Give discount = they don’t pay
    Don’t give discount = they won’t pay

Makes no difference. So instead of burdening the police with summon collection, the gomen should take the example from AES and just waive all summons.
    That will lighten their workload to do other things, like escorting VIPs, menteris & their wives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
    • you do the offense, you pay la. why waive the summons smh

• Lolwhut? on Jan 30, 2019 at 5:39 pm

Because this is what the new government is all about. Lawbreaking is no longer a crime as long got money.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 31, 2019 at 9:11 am

But..but..but.. we have been conditioned by our political idols to expect everything will cheaper or given free or waive like our AES summons as long we selected them, and now we did.

• breakLow4discount on Jan 30, 2019 at 4:56 pm

put value to summon, but then give discount because cannot collect! why dont just reduce the value? if they really do the job, a dollar is a dollar, so must be collected. by providing discount, they teach road offender to break the law to get discount…..

• Ben Yap on Jan 30, 2019 at 5:02 pm

Wow! DCP Datuk Azisman Alias talks like a salesman. if you don’t give incentives, i cannot hit my sales target kinda thing.

i would support Loke that we shouldn’t give discount and put these errant drivers into jail or blacklist them. they have to pay for their mistakes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Aniki Tan on Jan 30, 2019 at 5:08 pm

So police are paid by people to build up their sales to collect money from summons? why not they enforce the law with more strict rules rather than keep hiding behind bridge etc just to get more “sales target”?

• thepolygon on Jan 30, 2019 at 5:11 pm

Blacklist them from traveling and loan application.
    If they can travel, they can settle the saman.
    They didn’t settle the saman considered owe money… so blacklist from loan application.

• Ipaysummons on Jan 30, 2019 at 5:12 pm

The reason for issuing summons is to deter the offender from repeating the offense; not to collect revenue for the government.
    And people are not paying diligently due to lack of enforcement.

• Eternalgl0ry on Jan 30, 2019 at 5:24 pm

Why these clowns still unable to let those people fined to be able pay their fines online instead?

Even have discount also useless. Not everyone have that free time to queue for hours just to pay kopi fines

• Mahmood Razak on Jan 30, 2019 at 5:46 pm

This is a proper quote, or a joke? The laws are there for a reason.

You do the crime, you do the time. But over here, you do the crime, we reward you with lesser penalties than stated. This is absolute bull.

• tkhengong on Jan 30, 2019 at 5:51 pm

Like that ah? I suggest police stop using summons for obstructions that to me is discriminatory. You parked along a 2 lane
    road with low traffic, the police issues summon for obstruction. But you can see cars parked along busy roads even up to road junctions, no action taken at all.

• C.P. MOHAN on Jan 30, 2019 at 5:57 pm

Think the ‘polis-trafik, have their priorities wrong.

• The police are the enforcers, am i right? You have the power to punish the law breakers and your action is to just punish them lightly because afraid of not getting revenue for the government? Thats why singaporeans said Malaysians too nice. Our enforcers also nice and kind hearted. People whoever they are will always take advantages la like that…

• Policeman on Jan 30, 2019 at 7:27 pm

Why would PDRM care so much about generating revenue for the government? Their role is to do policing. If they enforce, people will stick to the rules.

• Celup King on Jan 30, 2019 at 9:58 pm

They learned from their new Transport Minister boss. He always thinking new ideas to generate revenue instead of doing their real jobs. They see these examples so they just follow.

• Funniest ever reply from a group of enforcement folks…lmao…Joke of the year 2019.

• Red Jacket on Jan 30, 2019 at 9:05 pm

So many holy drivers commenting today. I have 2 outstanding summons. 600. :(

• Slimbk on Jan 30, 2019 at 9:07 pm

PDRM is supposed to enforce the law, and not trying to chase “revenue”, like a business. If offenders don’t pay up, then there are legal avenues to seek a remedy.

• Stinky on Jan 30, 2019 at 10:08 pm

This is really a stupid excuse. If I don’t pay income tax, give discount la.
    Offenders should not be given discount. I paid all my summonses Without discount. Just block road tax la, case settle.

• Stinky on Jan 30, 2019 at 10:13 pm

Enforcement director asking to implement discount so he just sit and happily money will come. Dear Anthony, if he can’t do the job there are thousands of people In queue to replace him.

• Cedric on Jan 30, 2019 at 10:27 pm

the habit of giving discount, is what is causing people to hold back from paying the summons.

• Andrew Loh on Jan 31, 2019 at 12:21 am

Bukit Aman just make it affordable to break the law. since the summonses will be discounted anyway. bravo Bukit Aman.

• FireAce on Jan 31, 2019 at 12:26 am

Looks like our traffic police get their priorities totally wrong. They are supposed to enforce the traffic rules to ensure the road are safe for everyone!!

How hard is it to ensure offenders paid up? We already have portals to check summons, just extend it to JPJ/myEG/Post office/Agents to block offenders from
    1. Renew/replace lost/get new license
    2. Renew/replace lost/get roadtax
    3. Buy/sell car (cannot transfer/add name)
    4. If caught driving without license/roadtax due to outstanding summons, straight one night at the lockup.

• StopFavoritism on Jan 31, 2019 at 7:36 am

Are summons audited? If summons can be cancelled this encourages corruption. ‘Connected’ repeat offenders will break rules as they can continue to make a call and have summons ‘deleted’. No one should be allowed to cancel summons. The rich and connected get away scot-free while majority pay.

• hazzif on Jan 31, 2019 at 8:24 am

this is extremely kelakar to use summon as source of revenue..
    how do you expect transparency when they actually intended to use the summon as revenue????

• newme on Jan 31, 2019 at 8:47 am

Using the same logic. Don’t catch criminals otherwise there won’t be anymore criminals on the street and the police will be out of job.

• azrai on Jan 31, 2019 at 9:59 am

DCP Datuk Azisman Alias, you dare to call yourself a law enforcer?

• hklee on Jan 31, 2019 at 11:42 am

“and we do not want to burden road users when they renew their road tax”, but guess what, they gonna block becos you didn’t do the Recalls *eyeroll*

• An unbelievable report !!

I had to check the date to make sure it wasn’t April 1st, April Fools Day.

If this is the level of intelligence in regards to having a summons issued and it being paid, then we are in big trouble.

• Law Abiding on Jan 31, 2019 at 6:03 pm

Aiyo.. Just arrest the top 100 offenders and make a good example out of them. That will make sure the people know the gomen is not fooling around. No enforcement then you get no disciplined road users.

• Malaysian on Jan 31, 2019 at 7:36 pm

Public transport in malaysia is not up to singapore standard. So dnt compare. D gov should create online payment option. There are b40 group who r struggling to pay d summons. So d discount will be helpful for those getting lower salary.

• Anthony also looking for revenue for government. You want tinted windows, pay la. So all gangster can tint dark dark and commit robberies. Stupid isn’t it.

• Giving discounts for fines is stupid and irresponsible. Bar defaulters from renewing licence and road tax. Arrest those with outstanding summonses for speeding, DUI and other types of dangerous driving.

• Dennis Lee on Apr 23, 2019 at 1:14 pm

I just recently found out that i have a summon from 2018, that was when my friend intro me to myeg app and i checked and was shocked.. how come i was not notified of it? i remember last time there was a letter sent to my home informing me of it..

• I'm also a traffic offender on May 29, 2019 at 4:14 pm

You have to give discount in order to get revenue? You are actually begging the traffic offenders to pay by giving discount. DCP Datuk Azisman, really?

• Cakcibor on Jul 10, 2019 at 4:12 pm

Wow. Sounds like goverment doing business through tickets. Imagine 5million tickets x 150 every year. Thats equivalent to 750mil. Goddam stop feeding government with your offences guys. They buncit already

• jason on Dec 28, 2019 at 6:07 pm

A=got many saman and need B pay
    B=no money pay saman
    C=got money and need more delivery guy(GrabFood,DHL,Pos office)
    Mistake create on the road,End on the road strategy

B as delivery boy,send out package to settle saman,then C pay to A.