Tesla introduces Dog Mode to keep furry friends cool

Leaving your pet (or child) in a car on a hot day while you’re off running errands is a big no-no, as temperatures inside a car’s cabin can often reach dangerous levels. To address the issue, Tesla has introduced a new Dog Mode so your furry friend can remain cool while you’re popping by a store.

The new feature is part of a new software update (along with Sentry Mode) introduced by the electric carmaker, allowing owners to keep the climate control system running on their Teslas until they return.

To turn on Dog Mode, owners will first need to tap the fan icon at the base of the touchscreen when their car is parked. They will then need to tap “Keep Climate On to Dog,” set the desired temperature, and Dog Mode will be enabled after they leave the car.

As electric cars are quiet most of the time, a message on the screen will let other pedestrians know that the owner’s pets are fine. Should the owner be absent for an extended period of time, and the car’s battery reaches less than 20%, a notification will be sent to the owner’s mobile app.

Keep in mind that Dog Mode should not be confused with Tesla’s Cabin Overheat Prevention feature, which when active, prevents the cabin temperature from going beyond 40 degrees Celsius for up to 12 hours after you exit your vehicle. The idea for Dog Mode comes after a Twitter user posted the suggestion to Elon Musk, after Tesla release of Software Version 9.0 that includes the above-mentioned Cabin Overheat Prevention.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• kelantan darul pedo on Feb 14, 2019 at 3:10 pm

Macam Yesss

• meanwhile MY Tesla convert to Cat Mode.

• Convert to Child Mode, because MY parents alwiz leave their kids in the car for hours.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 15, 2019 at 8:32 am

And to make matters worse, each family got 6 to 8 kids.

So we need this to save our kids.

• Safety First on Feb 15, 2019 at 12:30 pm

Too many irresponsible LalaBeng parents not ready to be parents there.

• Farrizal on Feb 14, 2019 at 3:25 pm

Much ado about hotdog and dogmode…

• Humane on Feb 16, 2019 at 9:29 pm

While other car makers claim to be Tesla rival, they only comparing with battery charging speed, KM coverage in full cycle in general. They unable to study in very details on consumer need like Tesla.