Works ministry hoping for bigger budget allocation to maintain federal roads – repairs and upgrades needed

The works ministry is hoping for a bigger budget allocation from the government when Budget 2020 is tabled in parliament on October 11. It says the funds are sorely needed to upgrade federal roads, as Bernama reports.

According to deputy works minister Mohd Anuar Mohd Tahir, there have been many complaints about the quality of federal roads, but these have not been addressed due to budget constraints. “So, (hopefully, there will be) increased budget, more than last year, because federal roads, highways, and bridges, people use every day, every hour, and they need to be upgraded,” he said.

Mohd Anuar said the additional funding will ensure that states with long federal roads, such as Pahang, Kedah and Perak, will see much needed road repairs and upgrades. “For instance, in Pahang, there are long federal roads and they are not in good condition, so they must be given priority,” he said.

A year ago, prior to Budget 2019, works minister Baru Bian said that while the yearly cost for maintaining federal roads was around RM2 billion, the ministry only received between RM600 million and RM800 million a year. He said the allocation for maintenance had to be increased.

“It is important to make road maintenance a priority as it is related to safety for the users,” he said. He added that according to the ministry’s officers and experts, federal roads needed to be resurfaced every seven years, but this practice had yet to be carried out.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Not Toyota Fan on Sep 30, 2019 at 11:08 am

Isn’t the road tax we pay suppose to also go towards this? Then we pay road tax for what? Then gotta pay toll some more!!

Kapchai the best. Road tax zero, toll zero, insurance pun buat dunno. Just isi minyak dan jalan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Also not Toyota fan (except Altezza) on Sep 30, 2019 at 11:49 am

U pay roadtax to JKR or JPJ?

• kuarters on Sep 30, 2019 at 2:38 pm

U pay roadtax to JPJ. But JKR used the public hot tar+bitumen to upgrade Datuk factory carpark and Banglo car porch…. for free.

• Zaman Khan on Sep 30, 2019 at 12:43 pm

road tax and income tax mainly used to support the overbloated civil service we have of 1.6 million people. The highest in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
      • Birubling on Sep 30, 2019 at 2:14 pm

Our P1 CEO Dr Li Chun rong can teach them to work

• Edwin L on Sep 30, 2019 at 3:58 pm

That 1.6mil servants is mainly to keep you safe, keep you healthy, and keep you from harm of fire or criminals. You want to remove them no problem, but you better have backup plan because in those situations, snowflake idiots like you are the easiest meat when the crunch comes. Don’t go regretting and peeing in your pants when it comes.

• redpilled on Sep 30, 2019 at 5:28 pm

I say remove them servants, I wanna see how this wanker bleeds.

• lilytan on Sep 30, 2019 at 6:25 pm

I say giv more love them servants, giv job training and higher elaun. Even them who IT illiterate and dunno how to forward email

• Oh you can bet this joker will cry and wet himself before he even bleed.

• Sick & Tired on Sep 30, 2019 at 5:00 pm

There is a reason why Selangor is known as pothole state after 10 years of PH rule. Selangor was once the most prosperous state but now…..what has changed back then? PH.

• Ah Chong on Sep 30, 2019 at 11:12 am

Just curious, anyone here willing to pay more for unsubsidized petrol but have good quality road? I know I would.

• JagV8 on Sep 30, 2019 at 1:27 pm

But first gotta aligned our roadtax to bil api bulanan. and not how big our enjin cc.

• Ah Chong on Sep 30, 2019 at 3:11 pm

Road tax should be based on weight of car + emission. I just don’t see why a 30 year old carburetor 1.3L old car can pay less than a modern 2L engine, no way the old engine is less polluting than new things.

Don’t say it’s about subsidizing the poor either. If you really want to help, subsidize education so they don’t stuck being poor.

• Ah Mad on Sep 30, 2019 at 3:41 pm

how about pay no subsidize petrol and still having trunk road full with pothole???

• Siam kap on Sep 30, 2019 at 11:27 am

Easy to ask for more money, even small kid know how to do it. But wait, isn’t this gomen told us they have no money?

• Sick & Tired on Sep 30, 2019 at 1:48 pm

Those Highly paid Senior govt engineers more preferred sitting in their aircond ofis, surfing fesbuk… then turun padang, make inspection on road condition. And got all sweaty dusty & dirty, like their bangla workers. So much for experienced Engineer, fully sponsored uni degree by bn gahmen.

• Ok what. Soon roads will be obsolete thanks to our premier dementic told us we will have flying cars soon.

• Ghani on Sep 30, 2019 at 11:45 am

Based on work culture and local pipu mindset from past 60 years. Our brilliant Pegawai2 town planning, today JKR repair and patch up. Tomoro TNB korek and do uneven patch up. Next day, Telekom korek…and then its Jabatan Air turn. Pastu…. Majlis Perbandaran korek and then its MRT and some other contractors.

I guess we must send our brilliant Pegawai2 town planning to many more overseas Lawatan kerja dan belajar to improve road repair and hapgred

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Escapee on Sep 30, 2019 at 11:51 am

Actually there is a spec to resurface whenever someone ‘korek’ for whatever reason. All this while they got away by resurfacing the ‘korek’ area only when its actually the whole road for certain type of ‘korek’.

• correcto bro. Tidak ape laa, janji duit keje subcon kite masok. rilek ye, jom hisap rokok luu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Jougan on Sep 30, 2019 at 11:55 am

@Ghani , No need for lawatan sambil belajar. Just terminate them all on the pretext of incompetence. After seeing a few top heads rolled, the remaining will work their asses off to ensure their jobs are secured…

• Pakulupapito on Sep 30, 2019 at 12:35 pm

+less corruption (minimise markup) + all strictly must follow sop + better communication between agencies + less “not my problem” mindset

• lilytan on Sep 30, 2019 at 12:48 pm

Build the road with right spec and quality at the first time so less repair needed next time. PH says no more corruption so all roads should be perfect. Go to thailand and learn. Even rural roads there are smoother than our highway.

• Not Toyota Fan on Sep 30, 2019 at 4:31 pm

See the outstation highways. Decent quality (but sometimes they use concrete) but toll free. Only outstation toll highway is the Bangkok – Pattaya

• Road builder on Sep 30, 2019 at 5:10 pm

Things are not really what we thought. Corruption aside, building a road is not as simple of flattening the surface and laying down the crusher run then tarmac according to spec.
      Even a road built to spec wont last long if the foundation is not suitable. LPT is a good example.

Even built to spec, all road still require regular maintenance. Ours are badly maintained….or to be exact almost no maintenance.

• Max291 on Oct 02, 2019 at 4:26 pm

Cannot la. Sultan company won’t bother.

• Robinhood on Sep 30, 2019 at 1:12 pm

Too bad. Your budget for roads have gone to 3rd National Car Project in the form of tax incentives. More cars will roll out and do expect MORE HOLES on the road and also the govt’s pocket!!! LOL

• lut you on Sep 30, 2019 at 1:37 pm

Just wait until before GE

• plenty of money spent on speed humps, Taman Desa better known as Taman speed bump, one 2km stretch have 11. Going uphill also have speed bump, contractor most happy.

Plenty of potholes as well….great job

• transformer on Sep 30, 2019 at 2:08 pm

road line(surface marking that divides) also no budget to repaint now Msian still hope Gov to patch pot holes?????

so many road surface markings faded away….. duno where budget allocations went???

• Kenny Tan on Sep 30, 2019 at 2:18 pm

Allocation is another issue but the govt need to inculcate new and efficient method in repairing/resurfacing any potholes. The current method is outdated and mostly ended up few days where the potholes being damaged again.

Please review all resurfacing /repairing potholes method and awarded to qualified firm and not any Tom, Dick and Harry from yesteryear.

• Clever god on Sep 30, 2019 at 5:14 pm

Sohai ministers sohai brains come out with sohai policies… so damn 7 sohai

• Tuan Baru Bian, u know that 600-800mil not enough but did u try to justify the sum u need?

When you fail to do that, just leave it and used whatever u got? Shouldnt u be able to spend less on other things amd used the cost saving for road surfacing….Oh shoot, what am i talking abt…this is the gomen working not some efficient private sector.

• huang on Oct 01, 2019 at 4:04 am

JKR Zero Pothole policy has fail to comply at after 20th century until todate.

Minister Baru Bian TIDO – 2020 Malaysia’s road.
    1. Uneven road surface/ bumpy everywhere-
    Massive damage to vehicle’s drive-trains, and heavy repair cost, if possible please sue them after 20years.
    and you see bloated tire left on the roadside (port klang) just cant wait to see loading lorries terbalik.

2. Potholes- number 1 motorcyclist Killer / GOJEK finger cross.

Source:
    1. https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/nation/2019/05/10/potholes-kill-ngo-takes-petaling-jaya-city-council-to-task-for-death/
    https://www.themalaysianinsight.com/s/107648

• Max291 on Oct 02, 2019 at 4:21 pm

INCREASE ROAD TAX FOR FUEL GUZZLER. Every year, raise the efficiency threshold, so you will never hàve short supply of non efficient vehicles.