2020 Proton X70 CKD – full spec-by-spec comparison

The CKD locally-assembled 2020 Proton X70 has just been launched, and you would have read all about it in our comprehensive launch report. Although this isn’t the Boyue Pro facelift, there’s a fair bit that’s new, including powertrain changes as well as new comfort and convenience features.

Under the hood is the same 1.8 litre T-GDI turbocharged engine with 184 PS of power and 300 Nm of torque from 1,750 to 4,000 rpm. The max torque rating is up by 15 Nm – it was previously 285 Nm from 1,700 to 4,400 rpm. The big news under the hood however is the new seven-speed dual-clutch automatic transmission. As used in Geely and Volvo models, this wet DCT is claimed to have class-leading efficiency – full story on the new gearbox here.

There are four variants and they are the Standard 2WD, Executive 2WD, Premium 2WD and Premium 2WD X. The Executive AWD, previously the sole variant with all-wheel drive, has been dropped due to low demand. Design wise, only the new round Proton logo on the grille is new. Also, the welcome lights for the front doors (puddle lamps) project the new logo.

Inside, it’s pretty much the same as before save for the new logo on the steering wheel boss and a new gear selector with a prominent P button. New equipment include a recline function for the rear seats, a powered tailgate (Executive) and front ventilated seats (Executive onwards). The powered tailgate gets a foot sensor from the Premium onwards.

As for colours, five options – Snow White, Armour Silver, Jet Grey, Cinnamon Brown and Ruby Red (replaces the previous Flame Red) are available. There’s also a sixth and new Space Grey colour that reserved for the Premium and Premium X. Buyers of the Standard will only get a choice of white, silver and (Jet) grey.

The CKD 2020 Proton X70 is priced from RM94,800 for the Standard (RM5k cheaper), rising to RM106,800 for the Executive (RM3k cheaper). The Premium is yours for RM119,800, but if you want the panoramic sunroof, pay RM122,800 for the Premium X (RM1k cheaper). Prices are on-the-road excluding insurance. Here’s the spec-by-spec breakdown.

2020 Proton X70 Standard 2WD – RM94,800

Gets as standard:
Mechanicals

• 1.8 litre T-GDI DOHC engine
  • 1,799 cc turbocharged four-cylinder petrol
  • 184 PS (181 hp) at 5,500 rpm, 300 Nm from 1,750 to 4,000 rpm
  • Seven-speed (wet) dual-clutch automatic transmission with manual mode
  • Three drive modes – Normal, Eco and Sport
  • Electronic power assisted steering with Normal and Sport modes
  • Electronic parking brake
  • MacPherson struts (front), multi-link with stabiliser bar (rear)
  • Ventilated brake discs (front), solid discs (rear)

Exterior

• Halogen projector headlamps with automatic on/off function
  • LED rear combination taillights
  • LED front fog lamps
  • 17-inch alloy wheels with 225/65 profile tyres
  • Electronic power-folding side mirrors
  • Keyless entry

Interior

• Black leather-wrapped steering wheel with on-wheel controls
  • Tilt and telescopic steering wheel adjustment
  • Seven-inch LCD instrument cluster display
  • Push-button start
  • Electronic power windows with anti-trap for driver-side window
  • Black fabric seats and upholstery
  • Manually-adjustable front seats
  • 60:40 split-folding rear seats
  • Rear seat recline
  • Automatic dual-zone climate control with rear vents and air purification system
  • Eight-inch touchscreen infotainment with voice command, online music streaming, navigation, smartphone connectivity, Bluetooth and 4G Wi-Fi hotspot
  • Proton Link App to check vehicle status, remote functionality
  • Six speakers
  • Six USB ports – one for data, five for charging
  • Tonneau cover
  • 18-inch steel spare wheel with 155/85 profile tyre

Safety

• Six airbags (front, side and curtain)
  • Rear seat Isofix child seat anchors with top tethers
  • Anti-Lock Braking System (ABS)
  • Electronic Brake-Force Distribution (EBD)
  • Brake Assist
  • Auto brake hold
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Traction control
  • Hill Hold Assist (HHA)
  • Hill Descent Control (HDC)
  • Emergency Stop Signal (ESS)
  • Four rear parking sensors
  • Reverse camera

2020 Proton X70 Executive 2WD – RM106,800

Adds on:
Exterior

• LED projector headlamps with LED daytime running lights (DRL)
  • Automatic rain-sensing wipers
  • 18-inch alloy wheels with 225/60 profile tyres
  • Powered tailgate

Interior

• Ventilated front seats
  • Auto-dimming rear view mirror
  • Front welcome and footwell lamps
  • Leatherette seats
  • Eight speakers

Safety

• Two front parking sensors
  • 360-degree camera

2020 Proton X70 Premium 2WD – RM119,800

Adds on:
Exterior

• 19-inch alloy wheels with 225/55 profile tyres
  • Powered tailgate with foot sensor

Interior

• Black Nappa leather multi-function steering wheel
  • Remote open/close all windows and sunroof
  • Electronic power windows with anti-trap for all windows
  • Brown Nappa leather seats and upholstery
  • Eight-way powered front driver’s seat (with lumbar support), four-way powered front passenger seat (with additional ‘boss’ shoulder switches)
  • Additional voice command functionality for the infotainment system
  • Nine speakers (with amplifier and subwoofer)

Safety

• Advanced Driver Assistance System (ADAS)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Forward Collision Warning (FCW)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Lane Departure Warning (LDW)
  • Blind Spot Information System (BLIS)
  • Door Opening Warning System (DOW)
  • Intelligent High Beam Control (HBC)
  • Four front parking sensors

2020 Proton X70 Premium X 2WD – RM122,800

Adds on:
Interior
  • Panoramic sunroof

2020 Proton X70 CKD Infohub

GALLERY: 2020 Proton X70 Premium X 2WD

GALLERY: 2020 Proton X70 Executive 2WD

GALLERY: 2020 Proton X70 Standard 2WD

GALLERY: 2020 Proton X70 CKD official images

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• CBU RM123k CKD RM119k on Feb 12, 2020 at 5:29 pm

As above. Ha ha ha ha ha ha.

Malaysians are shocked!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 17
    • Ripcurl on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:10 pm

People will no rather buy Honda because of quality and aftersales is very cheapskate. This City Turbo definitely no AEB, no land departure warning, no blind spot monitor and etc. Rather buy other b segment car that has more safety features and more reliable

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 17
      • Veyron Owner on Feb 12, 2020 at 7:10 pm

Even the rich buys X70. Seen many of these car with exclusive number plates that would usually be on luxury cars. Kudos to Proton for attracting these type of customers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 12
        • Rich people buy Myvi as their second car. then they use their sports car for the weekend.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 20
          • Nian gao on Feb 12, 2020 at 8:34 pm

With Proton assembling the Boyue, we are expecting Proton to be more creative with their CKD X70 by redesigning the front and back design. Sadly, the only design difference we can see from the CBU version is only the logo. This is why Proton needs to learn a lot from Game-Changing Perodua about redesigning

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 36
          • Rosman on Feb 12, 2020 at 8:58 pm

Nope.Rich pipu Velfire Alphard blk kampung.

• CBU RM123k to CKD RM120k on Feb 12, 2020 at 9:20 pm

Boyue in China is RM60k. Proton X70 in Malaysia is RM120k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 15
          • CBU RM123k CKD RM122k = less 1K on Feb 12, 2020 at 9:50 pm

“panoramic sunroof, pay RM122,800 for the Premium X (RM1k cheaper)”

This is the best comment ever. CBU car is RM123k. CKD is RM122k

Malaysians can now save RM1k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
          • Rich of SH buy Myvi

• Said Ibrahim Yeop on Feb 13, 2020 at 8:42 am

I and many others are sorely disappointed. Our money now goes to other Jepunis brands.

I wanted to be patriotic but if my own country car company cannot gip me cheap, sorry lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
          • Said Ibrahim Yeop on Feb 13, 2020 at 8:47 am

Too risky to buy a car that after 5 yrs warranty habis, the price might go down to RM20k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
          • Gomez on Feb 13, 2020 at 9:14 am

Proton, pls reduce your price…can?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
          • Chavez on Feb 13, 2020 at 1:49 pm

@Gomez
            Sure can! Just go to any Proton showroom and ask for discount. You might be lucky. Do it fast though!

• CBU RM123k to CKD RM120k on Feb 12, 2020 at 9:10 pm

The rich bought the X70 because it was CBU China. Majority had affiliations to China so in support of China products, they bought the CBU

Now CKD lain cerita lah. Sales will be down

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 46
          • False information. Most people who drive this cars are defo not Chinese Malaysians.
            As usual have to have something against someone. Can’t just be happy the national car brand did well.

• Kantoi But Still Wanna Defend on Feb 13, 2020 at 9:02 am

You told us X70 sales will be bad, but it went up.
            You told us Proton 2019 sales will be worse than the year before, but its not.
            You told us Proton won’t break 100k sales, but they did it.
            Now you telling us sales will be down.
            So tell us again why should we bilip you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
          • Champion keyboard warrior - best in lousy PT blog on Feb 13, 2020 at 3:04 pm

Honda and proton keyboard warrior here with many names work very hard to bash the car. Advise to them is to find a proper job, keyboard warriors earn only kacang commission. Work hard to get at least a motorbike, join Gojek or foodpanda to at least get a proper job.

• vEyRon oWnER yeah right on Feb 13, 2020 at 11:08 am

the rich buy mazda. those who bought x70 just havent realised they’ve made a mistake yet. but no worry since they paid cash anyway because they’re rich. they can just trade in the x70 in 2-3 years time and buy a cx-5 or cx-30. but seriously, mazdas will have no problem enticing the premium segment. its cars are already up there among german brands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
          • Accountant on Feb 14, 2020 at 9:13 pm

Mazda? lmao! how rich is your rich definition? those with only 40k permonth before deduction? most restaurant owner in shopping mall have gross profit more than 500k and net profit around 40%. yup those restaurant that u dont give a shit to, they look at u at beggar lvl but ofcourse will smile at u when u visit their shop. they spend 100k to buy a rolex but they will trade their life to avoid being seen in a Myvi, and cover their face if driving a mazda when bum into a friend. a bmw 318i or C180 is considered insult to them as well. normally their wife drive c300 or 330i, they drive 530i or E400 for normal daily and their children drive A200 or mini cooper s. their show car will be S400 and their hobby car will be a reckon porsche. the van like welfire or alphard is just for kids to school because they themselve reluctant to be seen driving a van. wake up. Im accountant and I have many mall restaurant boss client. their average annual gross profit is 6million normally net at 40% and they are normal restaurant owner with no branch. In my eye the restaurant boss is indeed the true invisible super rich as many of them easily have 100million cash reserve in bank after 20 years business. Many are young. one of them is just 34 age with 30million cash reserve at bank and he look like 20 yrs old kid that u dont give a damn walking pass.

• Accountalk on Feb 15, 2020 at 3:19 pm

Nice story. Better than hollywood

• newme on Feb 13, 2020 at 11:51 am

No doubt rich would buy cheap car as second car but they would not buy something that shows stupidity.

• Yeah, they would buy underspecced japanese suvs which shows their stupidity right?

• Ex VGM staff on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:39 pm

With only 11K units sold in 2019 (25k bookings delivered in 2019 were.actually bookings in 2018), it will be a challenging time for Proton.

Perodua Aruz was launched several.months later but sold more units making it the best selling SUV in Malaysia.

Proton can put some hopes in the X50.coming soon within 15 months from.now but p2 will.kill the sales again with its new smaller SUV based on daihatsu rocky

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 34
      • Edwin L on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:58 pm

Many said Proton won’t go back up but they did.
        Many said Proton won’t sell 100,000 cars but they did.
        Many said Proton won’t attract many to by >RM100k but they did.
        Many have said many things about Proton but they proved them wrong. Time will tell for Proton to prove you wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 13
        • CBU RM123k to CKD RM120k on Feb 12, 2020 at 9:11 pm

Malaysian National car company was created to give Malaysians cheaper and affordable car.

If like this, withdraw the local car status. Malaysians are still shocked that CKD is RM120k and CBU is RM123k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 27
          • Akoolm on Feb 13, 2020 at 12:33 am

Better buy now P2 Rocky turbo SUV Rm60k.

• Anonymous on Feb 13, 2020 at 1:24 am

The Malaysian “National Car Company” was made for profit, pure and simple. They never intended to make cars affordable for Malaysians, cars were just generally cheap back then and standards accross the globe weren’t what they are now. Proton was made to generate national income, and they can’t do that just by serving Malaysians.

There is absolutely no point for the government to waive the excessive duties and taxes for local car makers, and yet local car makers hardly get any profit to generate commercial tax income.

If the product is good it will be expensive, regardless who makes them. A very good “kain songket” can also be expensive and that thing is loally made through and through with a rich history. As with cars, there are also cheap variants. If you can’t afford something as nice as the X70, then buy something cheaper like the Aruz. The math is that simple.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
          • Never enough for you Malaysians. Proton should give every Malaysian a free x70. Why ? Because they are Malaysian of course!!!! If it’s too expensive go buy a cheaper car. You are upset you can’t afford the second most affordable SUV in its segment. This is why u are not rich. Complain complain complain. It’s not even proton made! Malaysians like you are the reason markets start to crumble because you don’t want to pay for it’s true value. It’s funny because plenty of Malaysians buy import cars from UK for nearly 1M Rm you think they sit here and complain. Shame on anyone that’s complaining about a car and the price it is. This is true value for money. How many countries even have a national car brand !

P.s proton please give every Malaysian a free car and free servicing because they will also complain they have to pay to service and pump petrol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
          • Gomorrah on Feb 13, 2020 at 8:19 am

What do you mean created to offer Malaysians a cheaper and affordable car? Before Proton was formed, the average Malaysian was able to afford Japanese/Euro cars. Once Proton came, all the other car prices were increased via duties to protect Proton.

• Where does it says so in Proton’s charter or mission? A proper business isn’t made to be cheap and affordable, it is meant to be profitable and that is what Proton’s doing right now. You don’t seem like you have business sense yet you commenting way too many here showing your ignorance.

• Said Ibrahim Yeop on Feb 13, 2020 at 8:42 am

Local car at Ringgit Malaysia 120k is absurd

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
          • Chavez on Feb 13, 2020 at 1:51 pm

When the market is willing to pay for it, why not?

• Gomez on Feb 13, 2020 at 9:18 am

When BMW or Mercedes launch car, their CKd always about RM30k to RM50k cheaper

• Cut cost.

• JOACHIM on Feb 13, 2020 at 5:56 pm

Axxx is right. When the CKD happens, they removed many of the specs from CBU cars. Even downgrading safety features by omitting active cruise control! WTH!!!!

• JOACHIM on Feb 13, 2020 at 5:58 pm

Axx is right. When the CKD happens, they cut cost by removing features from CBU car, even omitting safety features like active cruise control! WTH!!!!

• Aikon on Feb 14, 2020 at 8:56 am

Those got fat margins lah…of course can throw lah.

• MHK I on Feb 13, 2020 at 2:56 pm

Reality is, most X70 potential customers wouldn’t even look at Aruz as it’s just a basic family hauler. They would rather compare X70 too C-RV or CX-5.

The big sales generated from Aruz, most likely come from previous owners of Avanza, livina, Exora, and the like. Even if they have more money, their choice would be the X-Trail, Innova, Estima or Serena, and the like, not the X70. Though Aruz did well against it direct competitor, the B-RV.

Thus, comparing price & sales number between X70 & Aruz is absurd.

For those lower income who want an SUV for what it is, shouldn’t even consider Aruz, and I believe that’s what they did. They better wait for X50 and P2 version of Daihatsu Rocky.

• Aruz sales at November 2019 and December 2019 only 1200 units each month.

• CBU RM123k CKD RM119k on Feb 12, 2020 at 5:39 pm

Why didn’t my National Car company negotiate lower prices for Malaysians?

We waited so long for this CKD. China our car is sold for RM60k.

But in MAlaysia, still RM120k.

I am so disappointed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 59
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:21 pm

Stop complaining and work harder to afford that X70 you dreamt to buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 32
      • what is the fault to ask reasonable price tag when it still claim as National Car when you put on a foreign price tag? It’s our tax and it’s our right to question.

So it meant you agree to unfair advantages as the Proton has but they still want to do things that are not benefit to our people?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
        • Edwin L on Feb 13, 2020 at 1:54 pm

Nope…. if you compare with other SUVs, the price is reasonable.

Proton is not a charity, so why should it make loss for the rakyat just to keep you idiots happy and then you later turn around to condemn Proton for making losses. Stupid isn’t it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
        • Logical Deduction on Feb 13, 2020 at 6:04 pm

I should go demand Jimmy Choo to sell me his famous shoes for RM30 and Battersea UK to sell me a house in London for RM100k all because they are Malaysian/ Malaysian owned. This is their duty as Malaysians right? Stupid logic.

• Said Ibrahim Yeop on Feb 13, 2020 at 8:50 am

After the CKD prices have come out, less people dream of buying this bro. Including me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
        • Depends on what you are comparing. you can get Honda HR-V 1.8L V for smaller room, lesser spec. Lousier build quality, other than the brand Honda.

• Kukukaka on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:41 pm

Habislah proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
      • Norlia on Feb 12, 2020 at 7:08 pm

Habislah stok X70! Dah lah sebab CNY semua stok CBU dah habis jual, ni sekarang CKD stok pun akan cepat habis jual! Cilaka, mana nak beli X70 CKD hah??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 16
      • Said Ibrahim Yeop on Feb 13, 2020 at 8:44 am

Not many Malaysians can afford RM$120k. Well done Proton!

• MHK I on Feb 13, 2020 at 3:12 pm

Don’t worry, they still have X50 up sleeve

• EDITOR on Feb 12, 2020 at 7:14 pm

Can I advise you something? Get out of this site, work harder, save your money, then you won’t feel so pressure when buying the X70.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 13
      • Panassssssssss on Feb 12, 2020 at 9:51 pm

LOL panas!!!! Nak tanya mana formula bro? Kalau marah sebab sendiri bodoh, janganlah marah orang lain pulak. maybe the advise suit you more as apparently you are very disappointed.

• Said Ibrahim Yeop on Feb 13, 2020 at 8:45 am

Many work 2 to 3 jobs actually but they find it hard to own a local made Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
        • Leong on Feb 13, 2020 at 11:20 am

Saga will be a good choice in this case, similar to X70, it can also sits 5 comfortably, with a boot for balik kampung luggages.

Get a hat that you can wear, not trying to grow your head to fit the hat.

• Aikon on Feb 13, 2020 at 2:17 pm

There is another brand that may suit their budget with cheaper, smaller cars that can still seat 5 people. Maybe they can look at that brand instead.

• Troll Hunter on Feb 13, 2020 at 6:07 pm

Many don’t seem to have a problem buying Protons, all 100,000 of them. If you still cannot upgrade from riding a kapcai you really need to get off that peanut paying trooper job.

• Copy Paste on Feb 12, 2020 at 10:05 pm

Copy paste: “If you need it to be lower, you can’t afford it. Go buy the cheaper local brand. They might have a low end SUV for you. Proton is a business now. No longer a charity. Value is offered. No longer bargain basement priced products with low margins which can’t even cover their own costs.”

• Tahniah P1! HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Jaswant Singh Ahluwalia on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:14 pm

but but but you told us it will be RM80k for highest end model

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 39
      • Spin Too Much on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:54 pm

Nope. I never seen him telling us that ever. More fake news from Kunta again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 19
        • RM123k CBU to RM120k CKD on Feb 12, 2020 at 9:23 pm

Just like GLC mentality, blame whole world, then go into financial difficulty and then crawl to China for help.

Don’t blame Kunta for your problems. He is no more here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 27
          • 26,000 never blamed Proton for X70 price but you here are blaming Proton because you cannot afford what 26,000 X70 owners can pay.

Can I advice you something, Kunta? Work harder to buy this car you wanted.

• Lolwhut? on Feb 12, 2020 at 10:43 pm

The only one I see blaming left right and center is you, for being a poorfag while many others can easily afford it.

• Common sense on Feb 13, 2020 at 8:36 am

Use commonsense la …. If every statement need to show proof might as well go live in North Korea…
          Just use commonsense CKD where got 2-3% reduction only one…it’s clearly done to enrich the oldman’s cronies laaaa…..

• Said Ibrahim Yeop on Feb 13, 2020 at 8:46 am

BN Cybertroopers make so much of noise in this site until finally Proton give this kind of high pricing for CKD

Cybertrooper also shock sakit jantung

• Troll Hunter on Feb 13, 2020 at 6:09 pm

If you have to complain about not affording even a Saga, you really need to find a better job than your peanut paying PH Cybertrooper gig. Good luck Kunta! I hope you leave us in peace then.

• Dilbert on Feb 12, 2020 at 10:46 pm

Proton did an impressive job with the CKD. Well done

• Walau! CKD Car is RM120k on Feb 12, 2020 at 5:50 pm

How is saving RM4k going to help me?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Invest that Rm4k. In 10 years time, that 4k is going to be higher than the difference in RV compared to buying CRV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • CBU RM123k to CKD RM120k on Feb 12, 2020 at 9:25 pm

Malaysians were expecting less RM30k. At least sell it at RM90k instead of RM120k

Top model the biggest joke. CKd but less RM1k

• Anonymous on Feb 13, 2020 at 1:11 am

The “top model” you are referring to is the one with the added sunroof, yes? Well I wouldn’t exactly call it a top-spec because it only adds one optional feature; the sunroof. You already have the top spec X70 with the non – ‘X’ version. I guess they held customer feedback surveys, and the sunroof is the least popular “luxury” feature. They still reserved it as a RM3000 option. The CKD savings is being used to add some extra features the CBU never had.

So the X70 really only has 3 variants. I wouldn’t have designated the one with the sunroof into a different category, but it’s the norm with less exclusive consumer cars. If you were to buy an Aston Martin DBS for example, bog standard or with every options installed it would still be called plain ‘DBS’. But, I suppose it would be less prone to error at the factory having a designated variant even if it only has one extra accessory.

• Said Ibrahim Yeop on Feb 13, 2020 at 8:49 am

I got to pay a hefty RM$120k price and Proton thinks giving me RM$3k discount will make me happy?

My depreciation first year already 50% lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
        • maseratista on Feb 13, 2020 at 5:51 pm

can u show me if there is any x70 with rm60k price in market right now? want to buy if depreciation really 50%

• Don't Cry for me Proton on Feb 12, 2020 at 5:56 pm

Don’t get too excited about the problematic DCT gearbox. Once warranty expires, to repair it, it might cost RM70k

Volvo owners are rich. They can afford such prices because their Volvo is RM400k

Proton X70 owners will cry cry cry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 31
    • Nameless on Feb 12, 2020 at 10:28 pm

Volvo is not proton. even if they share same engine or even chassis, look at who assembles the cars.z

swedish workers vs local workers.. im not trying to bring anyone down but we arent on par with the swedes.

• Toothless on Feb 13, 2020 at 11:12 am

according to most people, x70 is actually volvo xc90 in proton’s skin. which is fake news. there was no direct input from volvo whatsoever but being malaysians they still believe fake news. in actuality, it’s a geely car in a proton’s skin.

• Said Ibrahim Yeop on Feb 13, 2020 at 8:51 am

Only very rich people can afford to baiki dual clutch. Kesian Proton owners falling into this trap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
      • Lolwhut? on Feb 13, 2020 at 9:40 pm

Honda City hybrid owners must be very rich then, according to your logic. Lol!

• Myvi1.5S on Feb 12, 2020 at 5:59 pm

I think the price is not attractive enough for a CKD. Price drop is just unthinkable la. Come on, is the best pricing you can give to the rakyat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 18
    • Aikon on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:19 pm

If you need it to be lower, you can’t afford it. Go buy the cheaper local brand. They might have a low end SUV for you. Proton is a business now. No longer a charity. Value is offered. No longer bargain basement priced products with low margins which can’t even cover their own costs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 13
      • If u can’t afford to buy, mean u can’t afford to maintain it also… insurance, road tax, tyres replacement not cheap bro…

• Myvi1.5s on Feb 13, 2020 at 7:49 am

Dead right. It’s not about affordability. CKD at CBU price no way.

• macampondan on Feb 13, 2020 at 10:30 am

typical ppl who can afford to buy car but can’t afford fuel

• Bye Bye Honda on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:02 pm

Habislah Honda with poor quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
  • After CKD still very expensive…..sighhhhhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
  • vivizurianti on Feb 12, 2020 at 6:52 pm

High price tag = more sales tax = more revenue for the govt.

Janji dicapati or what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Dong gor on Feb 12, 2020 at 8:02 pm

Was the Cbu unit at 99800 without insurance ( take standard for comparison)? Just want to get the facts right that it is really a 5k reduction in price

• Don't spoilt the Markets on Feb 12, 2020 at 8:18 pm

After first devasting P-wave, the even stronger second S-wave shockwave came a year later. ripples thru all top and mid segments cars, inducing motion-sickness among the competitors. Google search indicates life threatening symptons, some competitors may NOT survive.

• Fildaus on Feb 12, 2020 at 8:51 pm

Harap proton akan kembalikan X70 AWD utk version CKD ni

• Gerard G on Feb 12, 2020 at 8:57 pm

I feel that this ‘X70 CKD launching’ is like Liverpool winning the League after 30 years! It is like your team has been mediocre all the while and then suddenly on the brink of total domination.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 12, 2020 at 9:04 pm

Is it just me or the basic one and the premium is the one to get. the 12k premium to the Executive doesn’t seem to bring much in terms of actual value from the extra options?

The premium of course has the USP of radar cruise and more active safety, something that can’t be fitted aftermarket.

Looks like the Executive trim will be the unloved middle child.

• Bob_B78 on Feb 12, 2020 at 9:16 pm

Overall good package but proton is taking a huge risk with DCT. Volvo did not bring any of their models with DCT to Malaysia so basically its reliability is unknown here. I would say purchase with caution

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
  • chrome badge at the steering wheel.
    yep, no doubt its local OEM content on that…chrome mania…

• Raja Kamarul on Feb 12, 2020 at 9:25 pm

Danny,

Are you sure the second variant onwards ADDS speakers? Does the second variant get 6 + 8 speakers? Wow!

• NagaOne on Feb 13, 2020 at 7:08 am

So the hype of the SUV being injected with proton drive being engineered into the car was all just…a hype? Come on PROTON, you could have done better instead of changing the badge!

Such a disappointment after so much of waiting & keeping us on our toes for this launch.

Perhaps you should just close down your engineering dept & let the real experts in China carry out this task. Even my grandma can drive up & down Genting & 100K KM’s on Proton’s “sponsor” & be a dumb behind the wheel – I don’t need an Engineer for that sort of poop!!!

• azrai on Feb 13, 2020 at 8:36 am

The one thing to be delighted on this X70’s CKDed is Proton for the first time are measuring customers needs and demand for the new product (no more AWD due to low demand, less tahn 5%). Totally opposes from previous syok sendiri product launch especially during Tengku Mahaleel stint. Came out with sporty 3 door Satria, renault sourced Savvy, a no butt Gen2. This is a huge leap in product offering, just like what P2 did since Kancil’s inception.

• Amran on Feb 13, 2020 at 9:42 pm

Just like what P2 did? I hope X70 doesn’t into what Nautica became or did you selectively forgot about P2 bad mistakes?

• Perdana V2 on Feb 13, 2020 at 9:02 am

After 30 years we finally have perdana version 2.

• Mason on Feb 13, 2020 at 9:05 am

I see many disappointed with the CKD price.
    I understand that majority of the potential X70 buyer are price orientated.

But please dont forget that this is not the 100% CBU to CKD. It is consider an upgrade version of X70 as well.

Just to name a few:
    1) The transmission 7DCT is new.
    2) The CKD car is now more power.
    3) 1 sec faster on 0-100.
    4) More power and yet still give more fuel efficient(13%) compare to the CBU unit.
    5) Power tailgate with foot sensor….etc…

• y not on Feb 13, 2020 at 11:15 am

1) realiability is a concern
      2) true
      3) who cares
      4) still worst fc among the contenders in this segment
      5) true

• Mason on Feb 13, 2020 at 1:29 pm

Agree with you that reliability is a concern. Time will tell.

If wan to buy a reliability car, get a Toyota which have a good track of record on reliability.

Btw, I am not a proton supporter, I am not a Toyota supporter also and definitely not Honda too!

• 360 ADM on Feb 13, 2020 at 7:05 pm

Besides getting Toyota, you can also buy Proton, Perodua, Mazda as well

• with less price you get sophisticated DCT found in volvo that offer fuel & power efficiency. That should justify the price. & with other upgrades such as better tuned body control, power boot, ventilated seat & some more… That is enough for me.

Malaysian people always want the cheapest price but want the best highest quality.

Sigh…

• macampondan on Feb 13, 2020 at 10:34 am

so many otak kosong ppl… want big car, want super fuel saving, want to pay little, want cheap fuel, want cheap car, want all gadgets and accessories, want the greatest and best-est, want high pay, want low tax (if not no tax), want everything but but but but

don’t want to work hard and blame the whole world.

That’s the mentality of no integrity, no accountability, no ownership. Tongkat still needed till end of the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 16
    • tokmoh. on Feb 14, 2020 at 2:18 am

Entitled bunch of leeches. All they know is demand, dunno what they ever contribute.

Nothing Proton do will ever be right, so don’t ever bother to please them.

They think X70 CKD is overpriced, let the market decide that. It will also prove just how pathetic they are.

Same story last year, “who gonna pay rm123k for a bloody Proton? The Chinese are dumb conmen!” Who’s laughing now?

This year, it’s “CKD is overpriced! The Chinese are dumb conmen!” Don’t need to predict what happens at X70 2021 launch, and if these sourgrapes still have poor mentality.

• Tokmoh sister twin on Feb 15, 2020 at 3:18 pm

Thank you for your imagination and good in creating story

• Malaysian on Feb 13, 2020 at 5:33 pm

A bit disappointed with the small price reduction even when CKD in Tg Malim. Or Proton should consider to continue offer AWD & X70 CKD with non-DCT model for those who prefer 6AT and lower price X70.

• Dante on Feb 29, 2020 at 8:51 am

CX-5 – small cabin, seat small and hard, armrest located place(WTF?!), overprice.
    Honda CR-V – QC low & accessory easily break, cabin good, seat small, price slightly high.
    X70 premium – spec given like premium car with this kind of price range, you can enjoy the premium facility in this car with affordable price. how ridiculous???! low loan interest somehow? but just because of brand, many have judged, what a waste.