Bermaz Auto could have new CKD Mazda SUV planned for FY2021 – no additional assembly plans for FY2020

According to a report by The Edge, Bermaz Auto could introduce a new locally-assembled (CKD) Mazda SUV during its 2021 financial year (FY2021). The company, which is the authorised distributor of the brand in Malaysia, is currently in its 2020 financial year (FY2020), which will come to a close this end-April.

“CKD has been our bread-and-butter [business], as 75% of our cars are locally assembled. CKD is built in ringgit, so we are not exposed to the Japanese yen. With more CKD models, we should be able to mitigate the impact if the sales of one particular model are delayed,” said Datuk Francis Lee, CEO of Bermaz Auto.

On the topic of potentially new CKD projects, Lee said, “if anything, that would be FY2021. If we do, it will be another SUV. Ideally, if we can get the pricing right, it could be as big as the CX-5.” While no specific model was mentioned, the CX-30 could be the one going the CKD route, as speculated in the past. Currently, the CX-30 is being sold as a fully-imported (CBU) model from Japan, and is positioned between the CX-3 and CX-5.

Size-wise, the CX-30 measures 4,395 mm long, 1,795 mm wide, 1,540 mm tall and has a wheelbase of 2,655 mm. By comparison, the CX-5 is 4,550 mm long, 1,840 mm wide, 1,680 mm tall and its wheelbase spans 2,700 mm, while the CX-3 is even smaller with a length of 4,275 mm, width of 1,765 mm, height of 1,535 mm and wheelbase of 2,570 mm.

Another possibility, as suggested by an AmInvestment report, is the MX-30, which made its debut at last year’s Tokyo Motor Show. While the debut focused on the all-electric version of the SUV (the MX-30 is Mazda’s first EV), the carmaker plans to offer both hybrid and plug-in hybrid versions later on, although they’ve yet to be revealed.

Bermaz Auto’s current CKD line-up is assembled at Mazda Malaysia’s plant in Kulim, Kedah, and includes the CX-5 and CX-8. Other models like the Mazda 3, 6, CX-3, CX-9 and MX-5 RF come from Japan, while the Mazda 2 and BT-50 pick-up originate from Thailand.

However, Lee said that any CKD plans are subject to change depending on conditions, with particular reference to volume. “We and Mazda Japan have always been discussing how to expand our plants and get more vendors involved in the business. The main concern is not enough volume to justify the investments. Manufacturing is all about volume. If you don’t have the volume, nobody is going to invest,” he explained.

Lee also said that delivery of some vehicles has been delayed due to certain pricing issues, and noted that no CX-8 SUVs were sold during the second quarter of FY2020. “We had a pricing delay and, as a result, we were not able to capture the sales for 2QFY2020. Otherwise, we would have done better. The impact was quite significant because the CX-5 is our best-selling model. But it is what it is, we cannot change the situation; we can only learn from that,” he said.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• “….and noted that no CX-8 SUVs were sold during the second quarter of FY2020. “We had a pricing delay and, as a result, we were not able to capture the sales for 2QFY2020.

Now would be a good time to define what is FY2020 for Bermaz because 2nd quarter for 2020 is yet to arrive.

• Aikon on Feb 20, 2020 at 4:48 pm

Comparing SUV, X50 and X70 definitely better …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
      • Mr Visionary on Feb 20, 2020 at 7:34 pm

X70 is a bargain no doubts at all, but a baegain doesnt mean it’s better, i still believe cx5 is the segment leader with x70 close behind

• Snore… you’re like a broken record, forever trolling with the same comments.

• “…no cx8 were sold…”, because Bermaz is making big mistake for CKD 6-seaters instead of 7 for high specs which is not practical for family SUV

• Financial year

• kereta_lembu on Feb 20, 2020 at 4:16 pm

By logic, it should be the CX-30 instead of MX-30. If they intend to build in volume, they should target the group where more people can afford, which happens to be below the CX-5 with the pricing also expected to be lower than the local assembled CX-5.

The MX-30 is a fully electric, which may not appeal to many people at this time. Malaysians are not particularly into the hybrid hype due to the expensive battery replacement and plug in hybrids are not ideal for those who stays in apartments or condos.

• lilytan on Feb 20, 2020 at 4:18 pm

If u want more volume then u should aim for export like thailand. If the CKD business is just to satisfy local market than of course not worth the investment. Or can be like honda, make good value cars and u will dominate the market. Mazda 3 and CX-5 were good start, should continue CKD and build on the success. Mazda cars are really good. If the price is right people will surely buy.

• Yes, should ckd m3 with competitive price since not much c-segment sedan in the market…altis and sylphy are dying

• From this talk, I find Bermaz seriously don’t know how to do business.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • msia driver on Feb 20, 2020 at 7:57 pm

lolz until 2021 , by the time all already buy x50 which more high technology and spec and most important cheaper than anyone of yr car currenty line up..

• Commie on Feb 21, 2020 at 12:18 am

Lolz it’s a piece of crap compared to CX-30. Fits the people who can only afford right.

• Frozen on Feb 21, 2020 at 8:12 am

That’s what people said about Huawei phones until they beat iphones in product refinement, then they have nothing else to say except: Astounding & Speechless

• Mason on Feb 21, 2020 at 1:22 pm

It is a joke comparing mazda to proton. It like comparing Nike vs Bata or Tag heuer vs Seiko. Pesona is also cheaper than City n Vios. How comes we see City n Vios everywhere. It is different class ok.

• Just start the cx30 ckd and mazda will rule this segment. Beautiful looking car only issue is the price. Ckd models can get lower price and your sales will shoot up like 20.20 kfc

• maverick on Feb 22, 2020 at 12:20 pm

Just wondering…since we have upgraded all out petrol stations euro 4M, shouldnt mazda be bringing in skyactive-x engine?
    Inititally they said its due to petrol…skyactive x need euro 5/6M?