SPYSHOTS: Next-gen Jaguar XJ EV starts road-testing

Following the appearance of the next-generation Jaguar XJ in January, The British flagship sedan has made another appearance, this time taking to the snow-covered roads itself for testing. This is the fully electric successor to the outgoing model, and it is based on the Jaguar Land Rover MLA platform that will be shared with the upcoming Range Rover.

This ‘skateboard’ platform won’t be confined to only using a fully electric drivetrain as it will also accommodate hybrid, petrol and diesel powertrain layouts, and it is set to offer weight savings over the outgoing D-series platform, said Jaguar Land Rover.

Official information on the EV flagship has yet to surface, though for comparison, the Mercedes-Benz EQS is expected to feature a 90 kWh battery pack for an estimated range of between 400 km to 500 km, Autocar reported previously. With JLR and BMW working on next-gen electric drive systems together, there could be some technology sharing between the XJ and the electric 7 Series, though the British firm will built its next-gen electric drive units at its Engine Manufacturing Centre (EMC) in Wolverhampton.

Contenders in this fully electric flagship segment from the traditional luxury establishment includes the aforementioned Mercedes-Benz EQS, the EV BMW 7 Series, the Porsche Taycan and the Audi e-tron GT. Dimensions for the forthcoming XJ have yet to be revealed, though from these images it certainly looks big, and will almost certainly grow larger than the outgoing X351 model which arrived in 2009.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Kerajaan Pintu Belakang on Mar 12, 2020 at 7:39 pm

Everyone is moving towards EV. Those sleeping pls wake up. Europe will be fully EV by 2035. That is just 15 years time.

How to export our combustion cars to world markets if world markets are moving to EV?

• Kerajaan Pintu Belakang on Mar 12, 2020 at 7:57 pm

Most Malaysians waiting for our own Iriz EV to buy. 7 years have passed since its debut but until today habuk pun tarak ada. Proton took billions of ringgit from Gomen to do further research on Iriz EV…..where is it? Pakai duit rakyat ni

Perodua also stated they wanted to launch EV but they never took one sen of gomen money, so, we don’t expect anything from them as they tak pakai duit rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 28
    • Lolwhut? on Mar 12, 2020 at 11:11 pm

Are you stupid or something? This is a Jaguar news article not anything to do with Proton. Enough of your senseless hatred polluting this blog. Jeez I wish PT can get rid off you permanently. You just seem to have such a disability to contribute constructively, you probably qualify for OKU status.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Celup King on Mar 12, 2020 at 11:27 pm

Don’t talk about Proton EV, your Perodua CEO had promised to sell us gamechanging Kenari hybrid since 2003 and that is 17 years ago. Even my new born then is going to take SPM now and still I cannot see your gamechanging Kenari hybrid. Your empty talk here about gamechanger is now gameover edy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • Please argue with me, Im so lonely on Mar 13, 2020 at 1:35 am

And it is You Again, just enough of your rants of copy paste argument, obviously all is fake and blatantly backed with no fact plus based on an outdated old issue. You’re just a lonely guy live in a sad, small and dark corner of this world. You’re just waiting impatiently – Keeps refreshing the article that you’re commenting before, scroll down straightaway to the space below your comment, really Hoping for the opposing argument from someone else, more than one person or a group of resident here to counter your argument asap. Finally when they come and reply to your comment, you screams “oh thank you God”, you’re jumping with joy, you read it with a lively big smile on your face, as if your lonely, dark and twisted world turns into a fire and meaningfull again. You just told yourself it is normal to go on keep doing this as those reply and argument keeps you going. What a sad and lonely person masquerading through multiple of usernames in PT here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1