Army to assist police in enforcing MCO from March 22

From Sunday (March 22), the army will be mobilised to assist the police in ensuring that everyone adheres to the movement control order, which is aimed at curbing the Covid-19 outbreak. This was announced earlier by senior minister Ismail Sabri Yaakob, who added that the government has no intention of declaring an emergency or a curfew.

Authorities have been urging everyone to stay put where they are, and to just stay at home, unless you really have to go out for supplies or in an emergency. Even then, people have been asked to limit the movement and time spent out, and to not travel in groups.

The introduction of the army to aid enforcement looks to be necessary. Earlier, inspector-general of police Tan Sri Abdul Hamid Bador had said that the level of awareness and cooperation from the public was only at 60%. News reports today are still highlighting the lackadaisical attitude of many, who are still gathered in groups or loitering around in the streets.

The police have already deployed around 8,600 officers nationwide, and 504 roadblocks had been set up since Wednesday to remind people to follow the rules of the MCO. Abdul Hamid had earlier said that the army would be roped in if reinforcements are needed, and that looks to be the case now. If you refuse to listen to advice from the cops, you might want to think twice about doing the same with the tentera.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Shoot on sight, those still roaming outside…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
    • vivizurianti on Mar 20, 2020 at 3:59 pm

Come on. The situation we are dealing with is not video games or zombie-action movies.

What do you do after shoot ppl on sight? Send them hospital right? As if the hospital ppl currently very free, huh?

Worst come to worst, just apprehend the ignorants ppl and lock them up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
      • Zahid on Mar 20, 2020 at 7:18 pm

Why bother the hospital, if they shoot to kill the only place these idiots end up is the morgue. Only idiot M’sians can bother to ignore MCO and police despite ordering them to go back home they stubbornly want to argue with police. So what to do when citizens don’t heed the police? Send in the army with their big guns. That will make M’sians follow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Kb warrior on Mar 20, 2020 at 4:00 pm

Now with this tough time, all got to be strong. Pity all the car sales personnel. Their income is going to hit very badly from already bad sales.
      Lucky now the key board warrior has no income from employer to keep sending fake and copy and paste news. Serve them right.

• omegle on Mar 20, 2020 at 3:17 pm

well to the 40%, i hope you’re happy now that the army is involved.

• Smartess on Mar 21, 2020 at 3:37 am

Come on, we’ve apparently got 3,121,216 Rela members (myrela website figure). Where are these (phantoms) hiding when they’re needed?

• Come on la. Even polis they don’t bother to listen, whatmore to RELA folks. They will only heed once they stare into the barrel of a tank gun la. This is how stubborn Malaysians are. Stupidity at its best, even for a highly experienced doctor might be immune to virus but not to stupidity.

• vivizurianti on Mar 20, 2020 at 3:54 pm

This is not war time, only MCO.
    Army presence to aid MCO is adequate.

Please do not flash or show weapons in public. Your weapons are causing public scare and worries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 27
    • Hantu Raya on Mar 20, 2020 at 5:49 pm

Kalau you snowflake sgt, rasa takut sgt bila nmpak army personnel dgn peralatan diaorg, you boleh pi masuk your safe space and play with playdough or Lego. Adults here need to make sure kiddies like your self don’t put others at risk. You Tak payah nk memandai mengarah orang.

Pegi main jauh2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • noname on Mar 20, 2020 at 7:39 pm

they are here to ensure we stay at home..if you stay at home you won’t see them..paham ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Akhirnya on Mar 20, 2020 at 5:26 pm

Honestly, v did not perform good enough on this 3 days, wasted the chance. The Army should have involved at the begining, even our gov did not see it as the ultimate mission, thinking that v wil have good luck and v can rectify it later… too bad

• Zahid on Mar 20, 2020 at 7:15 pm

You don’t involve the army at first or else you get idiot paranoids like vivizurianti above. Its the exact reason why Govt resort to this action as a final recourse.

• Not Toyota Fan on Mar 20, 2020 at 5:55 pm

Support!!! Too many stubborn fools out there.

This MCO can help Flatten the Curve simply by Social Distancing and self isolation. It only works if everyone cooperate.

Let the Army deal with these stubborn fools.

• Benjamin Ong on Mar 20, 2020 at 9:15 pm

this i support, too many ignorant ppl outside think they are king.