Movement control order’s level of cooperation from public currently at 60%, army ready to assist, says IGP

How’s Day 3 of the movement control order (MCO) for you? Whether you’re feeling restless (like me) or making full use of the time at home to strike off tasks, remember the reason behind the MCO and stay home unless you really have to go out for supplies.

By now, you would have seen or heard of stubborn Malaysians refusing to temporarily change their daily routine, and the police is out in full force to ensure that we abide by the MCO. A total of 8,600 officers have been deployed nationwide for this purpose, inspector-general of police Tan Sri Abdul Hamid Bador said, reported by The Star.

“The personnel have been busy since Wednesday performing checks as well as setting up roadblocks. At this stage, we are advising people to maintain good hygiene as well as abiding the regulations on the control order. I hope the people will cooperate with the authorities as we don’t want the virus to spread further,” he said.

The IGP added that the level of awareness and cooperation from the public was at 60%, and 504 roadblocks had been set up since Wednesday to remind people to follow the rules during the MCO, which is from March 18-31. He said that more men and women in blue will be hitting the streets, such as those operating counters for traffic summonses for instance.

If more reinforcements are needed, the army will be roped in. “The armed forces are also ready to assist us in monitoring the situation during the control order period and I welcome their assistance. I will discuss with the armed forces chief in terms of deployment,” Abdul Hamid revealed, adding that he’s hoping for more awareness and cooperation from Malaysians.

“We will do analysis on the response from the public regarding the control order. I know I cannot get 100% (cooperation) but if we reach 95%, it is good enough. People must realise that the threat of the virus is real and it is not made up,” he said, adding that the police might have to resort to taking more drastic action such as detaining people if the situation worsens.

“Let’s cooperate and stop the spread of the virus.”

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• azrai on Mar 20, 2020 at 12:55 pm

Red Bean Army?

• Kb warrior on Mar 20, 2020 at 4:01 pm

Now with this tough time, all got to be strong. Pity all the car sales personnel. Their income is going to hit very badly from already bad sales.
      Lucky now the key board warrior has no income from employer to keep sending fake and copy and paste news.

• vivizurianti on Mar 20, 2020 at 12:59 pm

Syukur x1000 for the hardworking abang-abang and kakak-kakak polis at roadblocks. Please take care of health and be safe.

I hope PRDM will provide masks, safety gears to them while on duty.

• Underpaid police and army on Mar 20, 2020 at 1:09 pm

Ministry should introduce THE PURGE. Eager to kill now, it’s like an itch ready to be scratch. XD

• potato on Mar 20, 2020 at 1:52 pm

i wonder how many of these poor souls get infected because they were driving alone inside a car and suddenly roadblock need to wind down window and talk to the police officer who is obviously closer than the 1meter distance recommended by MOH who had to deal with thousands of random people at close range even though they maybe wearing a mask.

wouldn’t be surprised that the infection rate among PDRM spikes and now that the military is going to be deployed expect higher transmission rate because they stay in shared bunkers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Logical Deduction on Mar 20, 2020 at 2:26 pm

So you prefer police and army shoot to kill those still breaking curfew from minimum 1 meter distance to prevent them catching the virus? Well adviced.

• vivizurianti on Mar 20, 2020 at 4:04 pm

Shoot to kill?? You must be playing too much computer games, kiddo.

Ppl gotten shot then left dead on the street? Or send to hospital with their staffs too busy handling COVID19 cases now?

• It’s the ppl who still going out as usual with any real urgent purpose, disobey the order thought that they are playing games with their and others lifes

• Dredd on Mar 20, 2020 at 6:22 pm

Pipu go balik kampong is the best jalan.

• Zahid on Mar 20, 2020 at 7:22 pm

If they’re dead they don’t go to hospitals they straight go to the morgue. Let them rot there until this is over. That’s what they deserve for being an inconsiderate idiot.

• potato on Mar 21, 2020 at 3:29 pm

they can still communicate over 1meter distance. not like they are inside a disco. and guess what, when you wind down the window the polis gonna have his hands all over your door panel while sneaking his head into your car.