Stay put compliance for MCO now 95%, but cops say many still attempt a cat-and-mouse game with the law

While driving is not completely restricted during the movement control order (MCO) period, many are still unwilling to comply with the call to stay home unless necessary. Sure, going out for necessities and food isn’t an issue, but not when you drive well out of the way for that.

Some may even be driving without a destination, just to get out of the house, and are prepared to hoodwink authorities for that purpose. The police has warned the public that they need to have a valid reason as to why they are out driving about, and to be truthful, as The Star reports.

According to Sentul OCPD ACP S. Shanmugamoorthy, some motorists are playing a cat-and-mouse game with police and army personnel manning roadblocks in the city, lying about reasons when questioned by the cops.

“We discovered there are still those who are stubborn and try to lie to the authorities. In one case, the person handed out a letter supposedly showing that he worked for an essential service business, but there was no phone number for his employer. Feeling suspicious, I checked with the companies commission of Malaysia (SSM) and discovered that the company was not listed under essential services,” he said.

“I also encountered a man who claimed to want to buy food at a nearby restaurant, but he could not name the restaurant,” he added.

Shanmugamoorthy urged the people to be honest about their purpose of being on the road, and urged those who really had no reason to be out to stay home. “Complying with the MCO is for the benefit of all as we want to break the chain of Covid-19. Cooperate with us and stay at home,” he said.

Meanwhile, defence minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob said that the level of stay put compliance from the public had now reached 95%, up from 60% last week, but reminded everyone to be diligent and stay where they are. He added that action will be taken against those who fail to comply with police orders.

Again, we remind everyone that if it is absolutely necessary for you to get provisions, medical supplies and food, please make it fast and limit the distance travelled for those purposes, and remember the one person per car rule. You can try switching to delivery services for food as much as possible, or at least on alternate occasions, in a bid to heed the government’s call to just stay at home.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Alredi told , Shoot-Them-On-Sight

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • Anti Kunta Trooper on Mar 24, 2020 at 7:29 pm

But then it is very uncertain that if government may extend for MCO, it will drag longer. Even the economy will sometimes may bullish or bearish. Well it all depends. Tbh, this will be sad year that car sales will not be better which will be worst than overall car sales in 2016 after weaker ringgit announcement in late 2015 & our economy market will not be soon to recover too that what “Brian” said. But the most priority is to fight against COVID-19 and again to save our lives.

• YB Albert on Mar 24, 2020 at 7:54 pm

300,000 johoreans were allowed to leave for Singapore.Now if the lockdown is over by end march,say 200,000 still, wants to return home,are u going to quarantine 200,000 for 2 weeks? Even at home..say 1 percent brings back the virus..2000 carriers..there may be another spike.
    Home quarantine is not easy,especially for large families.

• Dr Strange on Mar 24, 2020 at 9:46 pm

Still not good enough. It took us 1/2 a week to get up to compliance levels and we need another 2 weeks to ensure the contagion is contained. My advice is to extend the lockdown for another week to isolate the virus.

• Stubborn Malaysian on Mar 25, 2020 at 12:18 am

No wonder there are so many asshole drivers on the road during normal day and I came across those that purposely play trick, block or follow you to take over you or piss off you on the road. They seems like have no purpose or destination. Now I know, they are indeed without destination and only drive on the road to find their next victim or target to piss others off and feel they won. Even under MCO these bunch still loitering all over. Scary. Why have Malaysia fall to such low. Hope all these bad people Kenta covid and let the god or alien or whatever clear them away.

• Kesian them.. standing in the rain. Yet our rakyat still want to curi curi go out