Going out to get your favourite food is a no go – IGP

Malaysians love food and will go out of their way to find it. Apparently, this practice hasn’t stopped even with the movement control order (MCO) in place, because quite a few people are still attempting to satisfy their food cravings.

As Bernama reports, this persistent behaviour has drawn the ire of the inspector-general of police, Tan Sri Abdul Hamid Bador, who said that going out for the sake of buying one’s favourite food is a lame excuse. He said that stern action can be taken on those who use such a line as a reason for being out when questioned at a roadblock.

He urged the public to remain at home and comply with the MCO, and repeated that cooperation from all quarters was crucial to ensure that the Covid-19 infection chain could be broken. He added that being out unneccesarily increased the risk, and anyone can be infected by it, regardless of their skin colour, race, religion or status.

“Now is the time for people to ‘sacrifice’ by refraining themselves from leaving their home as they could be at risk. Just be patient. Once the situation improves, we might see less rigid restrictions,” he said, adding that whether or not there would be a further extension to the MCO would all depend on public compliance with it.

In a related incident, 24 people were detained in Penang in the wee hours of the morning for flouting the MCO, all because they had a craving for nasi lemak and were trying to satisfy that fix, the New Straits Times reports.

Police personnel patrolling around the area stumbled upon the group at the back of a house at Mukim 3, Sungai Pinang at 2am. They were patronising a nasi lemak stall operated by a 23-year-old, who had no licence to operate the business. The cops detained everyone, including the nasi lemak stall operator.

Eleven of them were remanded until today, while the rest have been remanded until tomorrow (Tuesday). According to southwest district police chief Superintendent A. A. Anbalagan, the seller claimed that he operated the stall since last year but did not possess any business operating license from the local council. The police also said that he violated the MCO for operating his stall beyond the hours allowed.

So, folks, we all have to eat, yes, but make those travel distances to bungkus your food short if you really have to go out to get breakfast, lunch or dinner. Be mindful of the 10 km limit for the radius of travel and adhere to the one-person-per-car rule. If you can, just stay at home and makan. Most importantly, skip that illegal supper.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Ayamxx on Apr 06, 2020 at 3:20 pm

My favourite food there in selatan Siam, sodapp.

• vivizurianti on Apr 06, 2020 at 3:36 pm

No doubt everyone needs to go out to buy food, however do it minimally…..like go out once but buy 2 or 3 meals for later of the day. Keep in fridge and reheat the food. Save time, save petrol and safe life (for staying home more).

To go out to buy nasi lemak, to satisfy craving is just plain dumb and ignorance. It’s not like no more nasi lemak coz end of the world, ok?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Auntie, 2packs nasi lemak on Apr 06, 2020 at 5:40 pm

If you dont know how or too lazy to cook, someone nearby will, just arrange with your familiar neighbourhood whatapps group etc.Get to know more the underated homecook chefs, someone else auntie/makcik/ahlian/kakak to cook for you, buy all the ingredients and let her cook for you and others. 2nd option since you have so many free time now, why not just learn how to prepare and cook by yourself, learn it from youtube videos and written articles across online plats, hundred of different kind of nasi lemak variations available, its free btw.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3