2020 SST exemption: New Mazda price list announced – up to RM8,090 or 3.91% cheaper until December 31

Bermaz Motor has revealed its updated price list for Mazda models following the government’s announcement to drop the sales tax (SST) for cars, which sees a 100% sales tax exemption on locally-assembled (CKD) models and 50% on fully-imported (CBU) models until the end of the year.

The new prices are effective immediately and will remain that way until December 31, 2020, with savings across the entire Mazda line-up available in Malaysia. Starting with the Mazda 2, both body styles (hatchback and sedan) are now RM2,800 (or 2.7%) less than before.

Moving up to the Mazda 3, buyers will enjoy savings of up RM5,380 or 3.36% depending on which of the five variants they go for. Similarly, the Mazda 6, which is offered in four variants, sees price reductions of up to RM7,690 or 3.5%.

As for Mazda SUVs, the CX-3 now retails at RM126,829, making it RM3,330 or 2.56% cheaper than the SST-inclusive retail price of RM130,159. The more recent CX-30 also sells for less too, with savings of up RM5,600 or 3.18%, while the CX-5 sees prices drop by as much as RM6,808.30 or 3.91%.

The two Mazda models that come with seven seats, namely the CX-8 and CX-9, is now cheaper with less sales tax applied. The former gets a price cut of up to RM7,657.20 or 3.9%, while the CX-9, which curiously is missing a 4WD variant, sees the sole 2WD option retailing at RM282,520.40 – a reduction of RM8,090 or 2.78%.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• contifan on Jun 13, 2020 at 5:59 pm

Well Thank you for the sweets but after the Covid don’t expect people to have spending power like before.
    The incentive is too little and too late.
    Keep you sales tax but reduce the excise duties gradually.
    In the world we are top 10 country for highest price of cars. Now is the time to say NO. Enough is enough….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
    • Government wants us to spend rm100, then give us rm3…the subsidy only benefits to car sales, I don’t understand how can it boost the economy but the bad debt will be worse

• Fake News on Jun 15, 2020 at 3:18 pm

Govt gives you RM100 to spend but the seller says they will sell you at RM120. Not govt fault but its the greedy sellers. Once again our business community scammed our people

• Barry on Jun 14, 2020 at 11:31 am

Govt say 10% sales tax but see majority car company price drop between 2- 6 %, what happen to the rest? I don’t quite understand and believe many are in my situation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
    • Y and K Brothers on Jun 14, 2020 at 7:26 pm

Almost 90% in agreement with you here except those previous winner of 1000 votes group – Angelical’s PUBG Troopers, Game Under’s P1 paid Trolls and Honda Haters members using various of dupes usernames such as Apricot, Mario, John, Bro, Raj, AntiKunta, Gary, Brian, History Bender, Jeremy, LOL, Celup King, Copy&Paste, Lolwhut?, Spin Too Much, Engineer, English Teacher, Amir, plus infiniti dupes acc

• TS Moo Hindi on Jun 14, 2020 at 10:17 pm

There will never max 10% discount for buyer since car company shareholders pocketed the balance as bonuses.

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Jun 15, 2020 at 10:12 am

It’s partly simple mathematics. Percentages do not work the same way backwards – for example, 10% of RM100,000 is RM10,000, but RM10,000 is not 10% of RM110,000.

The sales and service tax is also only applied to the government-approved selling price, which does not include profit margins and other on-the-road costs (like handling/inspection fees and road tax). These costs are not taxed, so they are not affected by the SST exemption and thus remain the same.

• But when I buy car, they charge me full 10% on the final selling price wor…

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Jun 15, 2020 at 4:01 pm

No they don’t. They charge a 10% sales tax on the government-approved selling price, which is not the same as the on-the-road price that you pay and does not include all the on-the-road costs on top of it. Profit margins, registration fees, road tax and the like make up a significant portion of the price of a new car, and these items are all not taxed.

• Norlia on Jun 15, 2020 at 6:01 pm

I reckon Jonathan was too kind to entertain the shenanigans of PT resident troll, john and his dupes. Cheers abang john

• You can refer to this
            https://paultan.org/2018/10/05/sst-mazda-price-list-17-models-now-cheaper-including-all-in-cx-3-cx-5-mazda2-and-mazda3-range/

Jack is correct. Clearly the differences are stark. And unlike some are trying to insinuate otherwise, the SST discount is not tally at all.

• mason on Jun 15, 2020 at 12:11 pm

CX5 & CX8(both CKD models drop around 3.5% while it have the 100% SST exemption while CBU Mazda3 & CX-30 also drop around 3% but with only 50% SST exemption.

So I will translate this as CKD profit margin is higher than CBU unit.

• Angry Voters on Jun 15, 2020 at 1:01 pm

During GST tax holiday, we saw the full GST waived-pricing is cleanly discounted. During the swithback to SST not only the pricing didn’t change much, but some when up ridiculously high.

And now the kicker, when SST got exempted the discounts wasn’t a cleanly defined. The rakyat don’t enjoy much moreso for cars like Vios/Yaris with pitiful <2% reduced. So that begs a lot of questions from the rakyat, whether had we been cheated with SST implementation or did so far these brandholders took advantage of certain loopholes in SST to gain more profits under those pretext you've given?

• LOL, the pathetic Mazda2 is still more than 100k. Disgusting

• john is otak batu on Jun 14, 2020 at 5:06 pm

Simple word…. GIMMICK

• Alvin Lim on Jun 14, 2020 at 11:13 pm

Isn’t CKD supposed to be 10%?
    CX5 and CX 8 are CKD if I’m not mistake.
    What happened to CKD just less than 4% discount?

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Jun 15, 2020 at 8:58 am

Mazda is wayyy overpriced, Bermaz. Wake up, especially during this challenging time.

• dingdong on Jun 16, 2020 at 2:21 pm

So don’t buy. I’m sure there is plenty of cheaper car in Malaysia if you cant afford a Mazda.

• dimitriy on Jun 15, 2020 at 10:24 am

GST 6% abolished : car price reduced 6%.

then came 10% SST : car price up 10%.

suddenly SST 10% abolished : most of the car companies reduced only 3-6%. alasan : bla bla bla cost-kok things.

dulu orang suruh GST (lagi telus, efektif) semua bising. sekarang mesti rindu GST.

• Sick & Tired on Jun 15, 2020 at 2:34 pm

Saya rindu zaman GST dan zaman gomen telus & efektif bang najib dulu…

• Hello, do you have proton new car price list?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 15, 2020 at 12:07 pm

eh, apaasal mx-5 tak ada discount ini, no sst paid ke?

• Almost all of the dealers are stockless… No inventory, depleted.. thus SST reduction = bs to consumers.

• The price list shown here is misleading because it does not include the installed accessories which cost additional of rm2210 on top of the price show here.. add them in because buyer cannot opt to exclude the tinting and the blue illumination plate..

• Somebody on Aug 24, 2020 at 12:31 am

Yup Ykl, and add another rm3000 for the paint color (3 of 6 color available)